DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant states that the effective filing date of the present invention is August 3, 2020. However, even though the certified copy of the foreign application was provided, the priority of the application was not perfected as the certified copy is not in English. Therefore, absent a certified translation of the foreign priority document, the effective filing date of the present invention is July 27, 2021.
Double Patenting
The below claims are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the corresponding claims in the charg of copending Application No. 18/571,874 (reference application).
Current application claim
Copending application claim
15
15 and 18
16
16
17
17
18
19
20
21
22
22
23
23
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the concentration ranges of the different components are not identical, however, they do overlap significantly. Further, It is clear that all the elements of the application claim 15 are to be found in the copending application claim 15 (as the application claim 15 fully encompasses the copending application claim 15). The difference between the application claim 15 and the copending application claim 15 lies in the fact that the patent claim includes many more elements and is thus much more specific. Thus the invention of claim 15 of the copending application is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claim 15. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since application claim 15 is anticipated by claim 15 of the copending application, it is not patentably distinct from claim 15 of the copending application.
Finally claim 15 of the copending application does not include the specific limitations of the organic additive. However, claim 18 of the copending application adds such limitation.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dohmen et al (US 2024/0279507) .
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
With Regards to claim 15, Dohmen teaches a sinter powder that contains a thermoplastic urethane in an amount from 58.5 to 99.95%, a flow agent in an amount of 0.05 to 1.5%, an additive in an amount of 0 to 5%, a further additive in an amount from 0 to 5%, a reinforcer in an amount from 0 to 30% (abstract) wherein the additive is a polypropylene wax, maleic acid and/or maleic anhydride grafted polypropylene wax (0195).
With Regards to claim 16, Dohmen teaches the flow agent to be selected from silicon dioxide (silica), silicates, silicas, metal oxides, minerals, borates, phosphates, sulfates, and carbonates (0179).
With Regards to claim 17, Dohmen teaches the amount of the thermoplastic polyurethane to be from 73.3 to 99.9%, the amount of the flow agent to be from 0.1 to 1.2%, the amount of additive to be from 0 to 3%, the amount of further additive to be from 0 to 2.5%, and the amount of reinforcer to be from 0 to 20% (0033).
With Regards to claim 18, Dohmen teaches the organic additive to include an N,N’-alkylene fatty acid diamide (0196) and has a dropping point that satisfies the following equation:
(0199) wherein
(0200).
With Regards to claim 19, Dohmen teaches the sinter powder to have a particle size (D50) is 10 to 150 µm (0041), a melting temperature from 90 to 220°C (0050), and a bulk density of 250 to 700 g/L (0053).
With Regards to claim 20, Dohmen teaches the flow agent to have a D90 of < 10 µm (0188).
With Regards to claim 21, Dohmen teaches the further additive to include antinucleating agents, stabilizers, conductive additives, end group functionalizer, dyes, antioxidants, flame retardants, and color pigments (0228).
With Regards to claim 22, Dohmen teaches the reinforcer to be selected from glass beads and aluminum silicates (0243).
With Regards to claim 23, Dohmen teaches the procuess of making the sinter powder to include providing the following components:
Dohmen teaches a sinter powder that contains a thermoplastic urethane in an amount from 58.5 to 99.95%, a flow agent in an amount of 0.05 to 1.5%, an additive in an amount of 0 to 5%, a further additive in an amount from 0 to 5%, a reinforcer in an amount from 0 to 30% (abstract) wherein the additive is a polypropylene wax, maleic acid and/or maleic anhydride grafted polypropylene wax (0195).
Dohmen teaches the powder to be formed from grinding (0057) wherein
(0076).
With Regards to claim 24, Dohmen teaches the process of producing a three-dimensional shaped article that involves providing a sinter powder (0263) followed by exposing the layer of the sinter powder (0275).
With Regards to claim 25, Dohmen teaches the sintering powder to be used to make a three dimensional shaped article (262).
With Regards to claim 26, Dohmen teaches the addition of a flow agent (0176) and an organic additive (0193) that includes maleic acid- and/or maleic anhydride grafted polypropylene wax (0195).
With Regards to claim 27, Dohmen teaches the powder to be used in a sintering method (0250).
With Regards to claim 28, Dohmen teaches the sintering powder to be used to make a three dimensional shaped article (262).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-10, filed March 11, 2026, with respect to the specification and the rejection of claim 27 under 35 USC 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection to the specification and the rejection of claim 27 under 35 USC 112 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed March 11, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Argument - Applicant argues that the art of Dohmen can not be used as prior art because the priority date is after the effective filing date of the present invention.
Response - As stated above, foreign priority of the current application has not been perfected as the certified document is not in English. Therefore, the effective filing date of the present invention is July 27, 2021. The priority date of the Dohmen is June 21, 2021. Therefore, Dohmen still qualifies as prior art under 102(a)(2).
Argument - Applicant argues that because the art of Dohmen cannot be used as prior art it cannot be used for a double patenting rejection.
Response - The MPEP states that conflicting patent or application does not need to meet the date requirements for 35 U.S.C. 102 to be available under ODP. Further, as stated above, the art does qualify as prior art under 102, therefore, this argument is moot.
Argument - Applicant argues that the application used for ODP must be filed before the effective filing date in order to be used for an ODP rejection.
Response - As stated above, the foreign priority date of the present invention has not been perfected. Therefore, the art of Dohmen does qualify as being filed before the effective filing date of the present invention.
However, this ODP rejection is a provisional rejection and, therefore, if this application is considered to be in condition for allowance before the copending application, a Terminal Disclaimer is not needed. However, if the copending application is deemed to be in condition for allowance first, a Terminal Disclaimer will be needed in order to overcome the ODP rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA WHITELEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763