DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to applicant's response filed under 37 C.F.R. §1.111, dated August 4, 2025 in response to a non-final office action. Claims 132, 150, and 151 have been amended. Claims 132-151 are subject to examination and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 132-135, 139-142, and 148-151 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cozzo et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20210360660, hereinafter, “Cozzo”) in view of Rastegardoost et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20210051672, hereinafter, “Rastegardoost”).
Regarding claim 132, Cozzo teaches:
A method implemented at a terminal device comprising (Cozzo: [0087] FIGS. 6 and 7 illustrate example methods 600 and 700, respectively, for determining a number of repetitions for Msg3 PUSCH transmission according to embodiments of the present disclosure. For example, the steps of the methods 600 and 700 can be performed by any of the UEs 111-116 of FIG. 1, such as the UE 116 of FIG. 3):
receiving a configuration of repetition of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission for a message in a random access procedure from a network node (Cozzo: [0090] As illustrated in FIG. 7, the method 700 describes a UE procedure for determining a number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission. In step 702, a gNB configures the UE with a CE level and with a number of repetitions for the Msg3 PUSCH transmission by higher layers such as for example in pusch-ConfigCommon. For example, a UE (such as the UE 116) is configured by a gNB (such as the BS 102) with a CE level and a number of repetitions for the Msg3 in RRC.); and
transmitting a PUSCH to the network node, based on the configuration of repetition of PUSCH transmission (Cozzo: … in step 708, the UE transmits Msg3 with the configured number of repetitions in pusch-ConfigCommon);
wherein the message is a message 3 in a four-step random access procedure (Cozzo: [0077] A random access procedure, also known as a Type-1 L1 random access procedure includes 4-step … In step-3 the UE transmits a contention resolution message and when applicable, the transmission of a PUSCH scheduled by a RAR UL grant (Msg3));
wherein the configuration of repetition of PUSCH transmission comprises information related to determination of available slots for the repetition of PUSCH transmission (Cozzo: [0116] ... In certain embodiments, for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission with repetitions that is scheduled by an UL grant in a RAR message, a number of consecutive PUSCH allocations within a slot and a number of consecutive slots allocated for the Msg3 transmission can be provided by higher layers. In case of an allocation of multiple slots, a same start symbol and length for PUSCH repeats over the allocated slots. In each slot, one (PUSCH repetition Type A) or more (PUSCH repetition Type B) Msg3 repetitions can be transmitted).
Although Cozzo teaches a gNB configuring the UE with a number of repetitions for the Msg3 PUSCH transmission by higher layers such as for example in pusch-ConfigCommon, and a number of consecutive PUSCH allocations within a slot and a number of consecutive slots allocated for the Msg3 transmission can be provided by higher layers, Cozzo does not explicitly teach:
wherein the available slots are slots not configured as downlink slots, and/or slots in each of which a set of symbols allocated for the repetition of PUSCH transmission is not configured as downlink, and/or slots configured as uplink slots, and/or slots in each of which a set of symbols allocated for the repetition of PUSCH transmission is configured as uplink, and wherein the available slots include slots that are not contiguous with others of the available slots.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Rastegardoost teaches:
wherein the available slots are slots in each of which a set of symbols allocated for the repetition of PUSCH transmission is configured as uplink, and wherein the available slots include slots that are not contiguous with others of the available slots (Rastegardoost: [0355] FIG. 32 shows an example of valid PUSCH occasion allocation with repetitions. The base station may configure uplink resources (e.g., MsgA PUSCH resources) comprising one or more PUSCH occasion groups (PO groups) with the number/quantity of repetitions (R)=4 PUSCH occasions (POs) associated with repetitions across R=4 consecutive slots (e.g., slots n, n+1, n+2, and n+3), starting from time t1 ... The PO1 3201 of PO group #1 shown in FIG. 32 may be allocated on the first two symbols of the slot n. The PO1 3202 of PO group #1 shown in FIG. 32 may be allocated on the first two symbols of the slot n+1. The PO1 3203 of PO group #1 shown in FIG. 32 may be allocated on the first two symbols of the slot n+2. The PO1 3204 of PO group #1 shown in FIG. 32 may be allocated on the first two symbols of the slot n+3. FIG. 32 shows eight different PO groups ... As shown in FIG. 32, the PO1 3201 in slot n, the PO1 3202 in slot n+1, and the PO1 3204 in slot n+3 are valid and available for UL transmission, for example, because they are assigned with ‘U’ and/or ‘F’ symbols. The PO1 3203 in slot n+2 is invalid and not available for UL transmission, for example, because it overlaps with a ‘D’ symbol [i.e., the available slots for uplink are NOT contiguous/consecutive] ... Fig. 32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Cozzo to include the features as taught by Rastegardoost above in order to provide a minimum number/quantity of guaranteed/reserved POs [PUSCH Occasions] for UL transmission. (Rastegardoost, ¶ [0355]).
Regarding claim 133, Cozzo-Rastegardoost discloses on the features with respect to claim 132 as outlined above.
Cozzo further teaches:
wherein the configuration of repetition of PUSCH transmission is received in a random access response (RAR) (Cozzo: [0116] ... In certain embodiments, for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission with repetitions that is scheduled by an UL grant in a RAR message, a number of consecutive PUSCH allocations within a slot and a number of consecutive slots allocated for the Msg3 transmission can be provided by higher layers. In case of an allocation of multiple slots, a same start symbol and length for PUSCH repeats over the allocated slots. In each slot, one (PUSCH repetition Type A) or more (PUSCH repetition Type B) Msg3 repetitions can be transmitted).
Regarding claim 134, Cozzo-Rastegardoost discloses on the features with respect to claim 133 as outlined above.
Cozzo further teaches:
wherein the configuration of repetition of PUSCH transmission comprises a configured number of repetitions (Cozzo: [0090] … a gNB configures the UE with a CE level and with a number of repetitions for the Msg3 PUSCH transmission by higher layers such as for example in pusch-ConfigCommon. For example, a UE (such as the UE 116) is configured by a gNB (such as the BS 102) with a CE level and a number of repetitions for the Msg3 in RRC).
Regarding claim 135, Cozzo-Rastegardoost discloses on the features with respect to claim 134 as outlined above.
Cozzo further teaches:
wherein the configured number of repetitions is one of the followings: a specific number of repetitions (Cozzo: [0090] … a gNB configures the UE with a CE level and with a number of repetitions for the Msg3 PUSCH transmission by higher layers such as for example in pusch-ConfigCommon. For example, a UE (such as the UE 116) is configured by a gNB (such as the BS 102) with a CE level and a number of repetitions for the Msg3 in RRC).
Regarding claim 139, Cozzo-Rastegardoost discloses on the features with respect to claim 132 as outlined above.
Cozzo further teaches:
wherein the configuration of repetition of PUSCH transmission is received in downlink control information (DCI) (Cozzo: [0089] In step 604, the UE determines whether the number of Msg3 repetitions is present in the DCI. If the number of repetitions is indicated in a field of the DCI format scheduling a PDSCH reception that provides a corresponding RAR message, then in step 606, the UE transmits Msg3 with the number of repetitions that the UE determines from the indication provided by the field …).
Regarding claim 140, Cozzo-Rastegardoost discloses on the features with respect to claim 139 as outlined above.
Cozzo further teaches:
wherein the configuration of repetition of PUSCH transmission comprises a specific number of repetitions (Cozzo: [0089] In step 604, the UE determines whether the number of Msg3 repetitions is present in the DCI. If the number of repetitions is indicated in a field of the DCI format scheduling a PDSCH reception that provides a corresponding RAR message, then in step 606, the UE transmits Msg3 with the number of repetitions that the UE determines from the indication provided by the field …).
Regarding claim 141, Cozzo-Rastegardoost discloses on the features with respect to claim 132 as outlined above.
Cozzo further teaches:
wherein the information related to determination of available slots for the repetition of PUSCH transmission indicates which slot is an available slot for the repetition (Cozzo: [0116] ... In certain embodiments, for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission with repetitions that is scheduled by an UL grant in a RAR message, a number of consecutive PUSCH allocations within a slot and a number of consecutive slots allocated for the Msg3 transmission can be provided by higher layers. In case of an allocation of multiple slots, a same start symbol and length for PUSCH repeats over the allocated slots. In each slot, one (PUSCH repetition Type A) or more (PUSCH repetition Type B) Msg3 repetitions can be transmitted).
Regarding claim 142, Cozzo-Rastegardoost discloses on the features with respect to claim 132 as outlined above.
Cozzo further teaches:
wherein the information related to determination of available slots for the repetition of PUSCH transmission is included in at least one of the followings: a random access response (RAR) (Cozzo: [0116] ... In certain embodiments, for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission with repetitions that is scheduled by an UL grant in a RAR message, a number of consecutive PUSCH allocations within a slot and a number of consecutive slots allocated for the Msg3 transmission can be provided by higher layers …).
Regarding claim 148, Cozzo-Rastegardoost discloses on the features with respect to claim 132 as outlined above.
Cozzo further teaches:
wherein transmitting the PUSCH to the network node based on the configuration of repetition of PUSCH transmission comprises:
determining a number of repetitions to be used for the PUSCH transmission based on the configuration of repetition of PUSCH transmission; and
transmitting the PUSCH based on the determined number of repetitions (Cozzo: [0089] In step 604, the UE determines whether the number of Msg3 repetitions is present in the DCI. If the number of repetitions is indicated in a field of the DCI format scheduling a PDSCH reception that provides a corresponding RAR message, then in step 606, the UE transmits Msg3 with the number of repetitions that the UE determines from the indication provided by the field …).
Regarding claim 149, Cozzo-Rastegardoost discloses on the features with respect to claim 148 as outlined above.
Cozzo further teaches:
wherein the configuration of repetition of PUSCH transmission is received in the RAR or DCI, and
wherein determining a number of repetitions to be used for the PUSCH transmission comprises:
when the configuration of repetition of PUSCH transmission comprises the specific number of repetitions, determining the number of repetitions to be the specific number of repetitions (Cozzo: [0089] ... If the number of repetitions is indicated in a field of the DCI format scheduling a PDSCH reception that provides a corresponding RAR message, then in step 606, the UE transmits Msg3 with the number of repetitions that the UE determines from the indication provided by the field …).
Regarding claim 150, Cozzo teaches:
A terminal device comprising (Cozzo: [0087] FIGS. 6 and 7 illustrate example methods 600 and 700, respectively, for determining a number of repetitions for Msg3 PUSCH transmission according to embodiments of the present disclosure. For example, the steps of the methods 600 and 700 can be performed by any of the UEs 111-116 of FIG. 1, such as the UE 116 of FIG. 3):
one or more processors (Cozzo: [0050] … a processor 340 ... Fig. 3); and
one or more memories comprising computer program codes (Cozzo: [0050] ... The memory 360 includes an operating system (OS) 361 and one or more applications 362. Fig. 3),
the one or more memories and the computer program codes being configured to, with the one or more processors, cause the terminal device to (Cozzo: [0054] The processor 340 is also capable of executing other processes and programs resident in the memory 360, such as processes for beam management ... Fig. 3):
receive a configuration of repetition of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission for a message in a random access procedure from a network node (Cozzo: [0090] As illustrated in FIG. 7, the method 700 describes a UE procedure for determining a number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission. In step 702, a gNB configures the UE with a CE level and with a number of repetitions for the Msg3 PUSCH transmission by higher layers such as for example in pusch-ConfigCommon. For example, a UE (such as the UE 116) is configured by a gNB (such as the BS 102) with a CE level and a number of repetitions for the Msg3 in RRC.); and
transmit a PUSCH to the network node, based on the configuration of repetition of PUSCH transmission (Cozzo: … in step 708, the UE transmits Msg3 with the configured number of repetitions in pusch-ConfigCommon);
wherein the message is a message 3 in a four-step random access procedure (Cozzo: [0077] A random access procedure, also known as a Type-1 L1 random access procedure includes 4-step … In step-3 the UE transmits a contention resolution message and when applicable, the transmission of a PUSCH scheduled by a RAR UL grant (Msg3));
wherein the configuration of repetition of PUSCH transmission comprises information related to determination of available slots for the repetition of PUSCH transmission (Cozzo: [0116] ... In certain embodiments, for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission with repetitions that is scheduled by an UL grant in a RAR message, a number of consecutive PUSCH allocations within a slot and a number of consecutive slots allocated for the Msg3 transmission can be provided by higher layers. In case of an allocation of multiple slots, a same start symbol and length for PUSCH repeats over the allocated slots. In each slot, one (PUSCH repetition Type A) or more (PUSCH repetition Type B) Msg3 repetitions can be transmitted).
Although Cozzo teaches a gNB configuring the UE with a number of repetitions for the Msg3 PUSCH transmission by higher layers such as for example in pusch-ConfigCommon, and a number of consecutive PUSCH allocations within a slot and a number of consecutive slots allocated for the Msg3 transmission can be provided by higher layers, Cozzo does not explicitly teach:
wherein the available slots are slots not configured as downlink slots, and/or slots in each of which a set of symbols allocated for the repetition of PUSCH transmission is not configured as downlink, and/or slots configured as uplink slots, and/or slots in each of which a set of symbols allocated for the repetition of PUSCH transmission is configured as uplink, and wherein the available slots include slots that are not contiguous with others of the available slots.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Rastegardoost teaches:
wherein the available slots are slots in each of which a set of symbols allocated for the repetition of PUSCH transmission is configured as uplink, and wherein the available slots include slots that are not contiguous with others of the available slots (Rastegardoost: [0355] FIG. 32 shows an example of valid PUSCH occasion allocation with repetitions. The base station may configure uplink resources (e.g., MsgA PUSCH resources) comprising one or more PUSCH occasion groups (PO groups) with the number/quantity of repetitions (R)=4 PUSCH occasions (POs) associated with repetitions across R=4 consecutive slots (e.g., slots n, n+1, n+2, and n+3), starting from time t1 ... The PO1 3201 of PO group #1 shown in FIG. 32 may be allocated on the first two symbols of the slot n. The PO1 3202 of PO group #1 shown in FIG. 32 may be allocated on the first two symbols of the slot n+1. The PO1 3203 of PO group #1 shown in FIG. 32 may be allocated on the first two symbols of the slot n+2. The PO1 3204 of PO group #1 shown in FIG. 32 may be allocated on the first two symbols of the slot n+3. FIG. 32 shows eight different PO groups ... As shown in FIG. 32, the PO1 3201 in slot n, the PO1 3202 in slot n+1, and the PO1 3204 in slot n+3 are valid and available for UL transmission, for example, because they are assigned with ‘U’ and/or ‘F’ symbols. The PO1 3203 in slot n+2 is invalid and not available for UL transmission, for example, because it overlaps with a ‘D’ symbol [i.e., the available slots for uplink are NOT contiguous/consecutive] ... Fig. 32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Cozzo to include the features as taught by Rastegardoost above in order to provide a minimum number/quantity of guaranteed/reserved POs [PUSCH Occasions] for UL transmission. (Rastegardoost, ¶ [0355]).
Regarding claim 151, Cozzo teaches:
A method implemented at a network node, comprising (Cozzo: [0090] … a gNB configures the UE with a CE level and with a number of repetitions for the Msg3 PUSCH transmission ...):
transmitting a configuration of repetition of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission for a message in a random access procedure to a terminal device (Cozzo: [0090] As illustrated in FIG. 7, the method 700 describes a UE procedure for determining a number of repetitions for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission. In step 702, a gNB configures the UE with a CE level and with a number of repetitions for the Msg3 PUSCH transmission by higher layers such as for example in pusch-ConfigCommon. For example, a UE (such as the UE 116) is configured by a gNB (such as the BS 102) with a CE level and a number of repetitions for the Msg3 in RRC.); and
receiving a PUSCH from the terminal device (Cozzo: … in step 708, the UE transmits Msg3 with the configured number of repetitions in pusch-ConfigCommon);
wherein the message is a message 3 in a four-step random access procedure (Cozzo: [0077] A random access procedure, also known as a Type-1 L1 random access procedure includes 4-step … In step-3 the UE transmits a contention resolution message and when applicable, the transmission of a PUSCH scheduled by a RAR UL grant (Msg3));
wherein the configuration of repetition of PUSCH transmission comprises information related to determination of available slots for the repetition of PUSCH transmission (Cozzo: [0116] ... In certain embodiments, for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission with repetitions that is scheduled by an UL grant in a RAR message, a number of consecutive PUSCH allocations within a slot and a number of consecutive slots allocated for the Msg3 transmission can be provided by higher layers. In case of an allocation of multiple slots, a same start symbol and length for PUSCH repeats over the allocated slots. In each slot, one (PUSCH repetition Type A) or more (PUSCH repetition Type B) Msg3 repetitions can be transmitted).
Although Cozzo teaches a gNB configuring the UE with a number of repetitions for the Msg3 PUSCH transmission by higher layers such as for example in pusch-ConfigCommon, and a number of consecutive PUSCH allocations within a slot and a number of consecutive slots allocated for the Msg3 transmission can be provided by higher layers, Cozzo does not explicitly teach:
wherein the available slots are slots not configured as downlink slots, and/or slots in each of which a set of symbols allocated for the repetition of PUSCH transmission is not configured as downlink, and/or slots configured as uplink slots, and/or slots in each of which a set of symbols allocated for the repetition of PUSCH transmission is configured as uplink, and wherein the available slots include slots that are not contiguous with others of the available slots.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Rastegardoost teaches:
wherein the available slots are slots in each of which a set of symbols allocated for the repetition of PUSCH transmission is configured as uplink, and wherein the available slots include slots that are not contiguous with others of the available slots (Rastegardoost: [0355] FIG. 32 shows an example of valid PUSCH occasion allocation with repetitions. The base station may configure uplink resources (e.g., MsgA PUSCH resources) comprising one or more PUSCH occasion groups (PO groups) with the number/quantity of repetitions (R)=4 PUSCH occasions (POs) associated with repetitions across R=4 consecutive slots (e.g., slots n, n+1, n+2, and n+3), starting from time t1 ... The PO1 3201 of PO group #1 shown in FIG. 32 may be allocated on the first two symbols of the slot n. The PO1 3202 of PO group #1 shown in FIG. 32 may be allocated on the first two symbols of the slot n+1. The PO1 3203 of PO group #1 shown in FIG. 32 may be allocated on the first two symbols of the slot n+2. The PO1 3204 of PO group #1 shown in FIG. 32 may be allocated on the first two symbols of the slot n+3. FIG. 32 shows eight different PO groups ... As shown in FIG. 32, the PO1 3201 in slot n, the PO1 3202 in slot n+1, and the PO1 3204 in slot n+3 are valid and available for UL transmission, for example, because they are assigned with ‘U’ and/or ‘F’ symbols. The PO1 3203 in slot n+2 is invalid and not available for UL transmission, for example, because it overlaps with a ‘D’ symbol [i.e., the available slots for uplink are NOT contiguous/consecutive] ... Fig. 32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Cozzo to include the features as taught by Rastegardoost above in order to provide a minimum number/quantity of guaranteed/reserved POs [PUSCH Occasions] for UL transmission. (Rastegardoost, ¶ [0355]).
Claims 136-137 and 143-147 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cozzo-Rastegardoost in view of Ly (US Patent Application Publication, 20210084689, hereinafter, “Ly”).
Regarding claim 136, Cozzo-Rastegardoost discloses on the features with respect to claim 132 as outlined above.
Cozzo-Rastegardoost does not explicitly teach:
wherein the configuration of repetition of PUSCH transmission is received in system information.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ly teaches:
wherein the configuration of repetition of PUSCH transmission is received in system information (Ly: [0078] The UE 115 may determine the aggregation parameter and number of repetitions for MSG3 through various ways. For example, the UE 115 may receive the aggregation parameter through cell specific PUSCH parameters (e.g., PUSCH-ConfigCommon) via RRC signaling … the base station 105 may indicate the aggregation parameter as part of transmission of system information. For example, the base station 105 may transmit the aggregation parameter as part of RACH configuration parameters in a first system information block (SIB1) before the start of a RACH procedure …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Cozzo-Rastegardoost to include the features as taught by Ly above in order to improve coverage and reliability. (Ly, ¶ [0026]).
Regarding claim 137, Cozzo-Rastegardoost-Ly discloses on the features with respect to claim 136 as outlined above.
Ly further teaches:
wherein the configuration of repetition of PUSCH transmission is indicated in PUSCH-ConfigCommon information element in system information block1 (SIB1) (Ly: [0078] The UE 115 may determine the aggregation parameter and number of repetitions for MSG3 through various ways. For example, the UE 115 may receive the aggregation parameter through cell specific PUSCH parameters (e.g., PUSCH-ConfigCommon) via RRC signaling … the base station 105 may indicate the aggregation parameter as part of transmission of system information. For example, the base station 105 may transmit the aggregation parameter as part of RACH configuration parameters in a first system information block (SIB1) before the start of a RACH procedure ...).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Ly is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 136.
Regarding claim 143, Cozzo-Rastegardoost discloses on the features with respect to claim 132 as outlined above.
Cozzo-Rastegardoost does not explicitly teach:
wherein the configuration of repetition of PUSCH transmission further comprises priority information for collision handling between the repetition of PUSCH transmission and other uplink transmission from the terminal device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ly teaches:
wherein the configuration of repetition of PUSCH transmission further comprises priority information for collision handling between the repetition of PUSCH transmission and other uplink transmission from the terminal device (Ly: [0083] Various priority rules may be defined to address situations where aggregated slots collide with preconfigured resources or any scheduled downlink measurement event. In some instances, a UE 115 may prioritize the scheduled downlink measurement or conflicting event over a MSG3 repetition. In the example of FIG. 4, although slot 410c is intended to include a repetition of MSG3, the slot 410c is also configured for a downlink measurement. Using this priority rule, the UE 115 may determine not to repeat the MSG3 transmission in slot 410c and perform the scheduled downlink measurement instead. In contrast, the UE 115 may prioritize the MSG3 repetition over the scheduled downlink measurement or conflicting event. In this case, the UE 115 may transmit the MSG3 repetition in slot 410c while ignoring the preconfigured resources or scheduled downlink measurements for slot 410c.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Cozzo-Rastegardoost to include the features as taught by Ly above in order to improve coverage and reliability. (Ly, ¶ [0026]).
Regarding claim 144, Cozzo-Rastegardoost-Ly discloses on the features with respect to claim 143 as outlined above.
Ly further teaches:
wherein the priority information is predetermined or predefined (Ly: [0083] Various priority rules may be defined to address situations where aggregated slots collide with preconfigured resources or any scheduled downlink measurement event. In some instances, a UE 115 may prioritize the scheduled downlink measurement or conflicting event over a MSG3 repetition. In the example of FIG. 4, although slot 410c is intended to include a repetition of MSG3, the slot 410c is also configured for a downlink measurement. Using this priority rule [i.e., predetermined or predefined], the UE 115 may determine not to repeat the MSG3 transmission in slot 410c and perform the scheduled downlink measurement instead. In contrast, the UE 115 may prioritize the MSG3 repetition over the scheduled downlink measurement or conflicting event. In this case, the UE 115 may transmit the MSG3 repetition in slot 410c while ignoring the preconfigured resources or scheduled downlink measurements for slot 410c).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Ly is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 143.
Regarding claim 145, Cozzo-Rastegardoost-Ly discloses on the features with respect to claim 143 as outlined above.
Ly further teaches:
wherein the priority information is based on a type of scheduling signaling (Ly: [0083] Various priority rules may be defined to address situations where aggregated slots collide with preconfigured resources or any scheduled downlink measurement event. In some instances, a UE 115 may prioritize the scheduled downlink measurement or conflicting event over a MSG3 repetition ...).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Ly is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 143.
Regarding claim 146, Cozzo-Rastegardoost-Ly discloses on the features with respect to claim 143 as outlined above.
Ly further teaches:
wherein the collision handling is based on the priority information received prior to transmission of the first repetition of PUSCH transmission (Ly: [0083] Various priority rules may be defined …).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Ly is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 143.
Regarding claim 147, Cozzo-Rastegardoost-Ly discloses on the features with respect to claim 146 as outlined above.
Ly further teaches:
wherein the collision handling is further based on the priority information received during transmission of the repetitions of PUSCH transmission (Ly: [0084] Further, the priority rules for UE behavior in the case of collision during MSG3 repetition may be based on an RRC state of the UE 115. For example, during a handover event, the network may benefit from uninterrupted connections among the UE 115 and the base stations 105 that the UE 115 is transitioning from and to. As such, the UE 115 may maintain repetitions during the handover procedure to improve the chances for uninterrupted connections. In an example, the UE 115 may maintain MSG3 repetitions in slot 410c in the event of collision if the UE 115 is in an RRC Connected state during handover. In contrast, the UE 115 may determine not to maintain MSG3 repetitions during slot 410c in the event of collision if the UE 114 is in an RRC Idle/Inactive state …).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Ly is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 143.
Claim 138 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cozzo-Rastegardoost-Ly in view of Choi (US Patent Application Publication, 20220271880, hereinafter, “Choi”).
Regarding claim 138, Cozzo-Rastegardoost-Ly discloses on the features with respect to claim 136 as outlined above.
Cozzo-Ly-Rastegardoost does not explicitly teach:
An wherein the configuration of repetition of PUSCH transmission comprises at least one of the followings: one or more candidate numbers of repetitions, a default number of repetitions, and a maximum number of repetitions
However, in the same field of endeavor, Choi teaches:
wherein the configuration of repetition of PUSCH transmission comprises at least one of the followings: a default number of repetitions, and a maximum number of repetitions (Choi: [0036] According to another aspect of the present disclosure, the information on the repetition number of transmission includes at least one of a maximum repetition number of transmission and the default repetition number of transmission as a radio resource control (RRC) message, wherein the PUSCH repetition is configured according to the maximum repetition number of transmission or the default repetition number of transmission.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Cozzo-Rastegardoost-Ly to include the features as taught by Choi above in order to transmit data with stability and a short delay. (Choi, ¶ [0004]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LIEM H. NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416