DETAILED ACTION
REJECTIONS WITHDRAWN
All previous rejections have been withdrawn.
REJECTIONS REPEATED
There are no repeated rejections.
NEW REJECTIONS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP0472908.
EP0472908 discloses a resin pellet having and evaporation residue, wherein the resin pellet has been washed with a fluorine-containing cleaning agent comprising at least one selected from tetrafluoroethylene homopolymers or copolymers, wherein an evaporation residue after evaporating and drying the extract obtained by dissolving and extracting the fluorine-containing substance contained in or adhering to the resin pellet, wherein the tetrafluoroethylene (TFE) copolymer is at least one of a TFE/hexafluoropropylene (HFP) copolymer (FEP), a TFE/perfluoro(alkyl vinyl ether) (PAVE) copolymer (PFA), an ethylene/TFE copolymer (ETFE), a TFE/HFP/PAVE copolymer, a TFE/HFP/vinylidene fluoride copolymer (THV), a TFE/ethylene/perfluorodimethyldioxole copolymer, a TFE/CF2=CFOCF2CF(CF3)OCF2CF2SO2F copolymer, or a mixture of any of these copolymers, wherein the fluorine-containing extractant is decafluoropentane (since the fluorine containing solvent can be compounds having 1 to 5 carbon atoms comprising at least one fluorine atom, page 3, lines 10-24) (page 2, line 45 through page 3, line 56, Example 1, claims 1-5).
EP0472908 does not specifically disclose wherein the evaporation residue after evaporating and drying the extract obtained by dissolving and extracting the fluorine-containing substance contained in or adhering to the resin pellet in a fluorine- containing extractant is in a range from 0 to 1.0 x 10-6 mg/mm2. EP0472908 discloses that when the amount of removed impurities increases, the properties, such as moldability, cleanness and mechanical properties, of the copolymer pellet are improved (abstract, page 3, lines 50-56). In other words, as the purity of the copolymer increases, said properties improve. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided applicant’s recited evaporation residue to improve the purity of said copolymer either by extracting more impurities or by using starting materials of increased purity thus resulting in less extracted materials in order to improve moldability, cleanness and mechanical properties as taught or suggested by EP0472908.
The limitation “and filtering the extract through a polypropylene filter
membrane having a pore size of 0.2 µm” is method of treating the extract which is not germane to the patentability of the resin pellet since the claimed invention is drawn to the resin pellet not the extract.
ANSWERS TO APPLICANT’S ARGUMENTS
Applicant’s arguments of 1/5/26 have been carefully considered but are deemed unpersuasive.
Applicant argues, “As explained in the application, it was discovered that use of particular fluorine-containing cleaning agents may achieve such levels of cleanliness in the resin pellets. In particular, by using as the fluorine-containing solvent a (unsaturated) perfluoroolefin or alkoxyperfluoroalkene having a double bond and a boiling point difference of 10°C or more from the boiling point of the fluorine-containing substance contained in or attached to the pellets, the pellets can be washed at a high washing temperature. It is also clear from the comparison of Examples 2 and 3 of the present specification that the evaporation residue of the obtained pellet is reduced by washing at a high temperature.
In contrast, the fluorine-based solvent used in EP '908 is a saturated fluorine-based solvent having no double bond and has improved detergency by containing chlorine or the like. The cited reference provides no disclosure of selecting of a fluorine-based cleaning agent based on the boiling point. That is, the prior art provides no recognition that the fluorine-based solvent used in the present invention would achieve cleaning to the intended level. Additionally, the amount of low molecular weight components contained in the fluororesin itself, which is the object of cleaning in EP
'908, is also significantly different from that of the resin pellet at the time of filing of the present application, and it is considered that a large amount of impurities are contained.”
However, applicant does not recite an unsaturated fluorine. Moreover, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided applicant’s recited evaporation residue to improve the purity of said copolymer either by extracting more impurities or by using starting materials of increased purity thus resulting in less extracted materials in order to improve moldability, cleanness and mechanical properties as taught or suggested by EP0472908.
Applicant argues, “In summary, it would not be obvious one of skill in the art to arrive at the claimed invention based on the prior art. The claimed invention requires that the evaporation residue after evaporating and drying the extract obtained by dissolving and extracting the fluorine-containing substance from the resin pellet is 0 to 1.0 X 10⁻⁶ mg/mm², whereas EP '908 neither describes nor suggests this feature. Further, it is clear that the resin pellets of the cited reference could not be cleaned to such low levels of evaporation residue, nor would it be obvious how to achieve such levels, because EP '908 fails to disclose or suggest the use of a fluorine-containing solvent comprising a (unsaturated) perfluoroolefin or alkoxyperfluoroalkene having a double bond and a boiling point difference of 10°C or more from the boiling point of the fluorine-containing substance contained in or attached to the pellets, such that the pellets can be washed at a high washing temperature. Such characteristics enable high-temperature washing necessary to achieve the claimed level of cleanliness suitable for
semiconductor manufacturing, which EP '908 does not teach or suggest.”
However, applicant does not recite an unsaturated fluorine. Moreover, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided applicant’s recited evaporation residue to improve the purity of said copolymer either by extracting more impurities or by using starting materials of increased purity thus resulting in less extracted materials in order to improve moldability, cleanness and mechanical properties as taught or suggested by EP0472908.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL C MIGGINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782
MCM
March 10, 2026