Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings remain objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the connector part having a channel, the channel having the shape of a helicoidal spring, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
Applicant argues that Figures 5 and 6 illustrate the channel being a shape of a helicoidal spring. Examiner cannot concur. Figure 5 merely illustrates a helicoidal spring shape in schematic form and Fig. 6 shows a linear channel 111. Claim 5 requires a channel having such a shape; thus, such a channel with such a shape must be shown in the figures.
Furthermore, the connector part “plug” recited in claim 3 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). While the figures illustrate a housing with a socket opening, the figures do not illustrate a plug as recited in the claims.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 4, the claims reference numeral (10) which is indicated as the cable in the specification, but the reference numeral is not located at the cable claim element.
In claim 2, the “at least one additional parameter or feature” limitation includes a list of features. This list is being treated as a list of alternatives; line 10 should end in “or” to clearly indicate that the list is a list of alternatives.
In claim 5, “the channel” lacks antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, it is recited that the connector part is configured to maintain “a same twist interval or an equivalent twist interval.” It is unclear what an “equivalent” twist interval would be, as this term is undefined in the specification and does not appear to be a known term of art. For examination purposes here, an “equivalent twist interval” is interpreted as requiring a twist interval of the same amount or quality as the twisted pair. There is no indication on how to determine whether a twist interval is the same amount or quality other than comparing the intervals and determining that the intervals are identical. Thus, the claim language is repetitive, at best, and is indefinite as presented because it is unclear why the two alternative intervals (“same” and “equivalent”) are presented, and a person of ordinary skill would not be able to differentiate the alternatives in any meaningful way because the “equivalent” twist interval term is confusing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2017-147170 A (“Matsui”)
Regarding claim 1, Matsui discloses a connector part (H) for a cable (3), wherein said cable comprises at least a twisted pair of wires (1, see Fig. 1) and wherein the connector part is configured to maintain throughout the connector a same twist interval or an equivalent twist interval as in the cable (see Figs. 6 and 9) so as to limit the introduction of a discontinuity in transmission by the connector (the twist shape helps the connector maintain the reduced electrical noise function of the twisted wires of the cable, see at least the abstract and paragraph 4 of page 7 of the translation).
Regarding claim 2, Matsui discloses the connector part wherein the connector part is further configured to maintain at least one additional parameter or feature of the cable, said additional parameter or feature of the cable comprises a distance between the pair of wires (the distance between the wires is maintained, see Fig. 6 and 9). Examiner again notes that the list of features of claim 2 is being treated as a list of alternatives and that the presence of at least one alternative meets the claim.
Regarding claim 3, Matsui discloses said connector part (H) is a plug or socket (see Figs. 6 - 8).
Regarding claim 4, Matsui discloses wherein said connector part comprises a channel (10/11).
Regarding claim 5, Matsui discloses wherein said channel (10/11) has a shape of a helicoidal spring (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Matsui discloses wherein said connector part (H) is combined with the cable (3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are not applicable to the current rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Fitzpatrick discloses a connector with a twisted pair cable, the connector maintains the twist interval through the connector housing.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PAUL D BAILLARGEON/Examiner, Art Unit 2831
/renee s luebke/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2831