Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the connector part having a channel, the channel having the shape of a helicoidal spring, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Applicant argues that Figure 6 illustrates a channel 111, and that this is the helicoidal spring shaped channel. Examiner cannot concur, the channel shape in Figure 6 does not appear to be helicoidal at all, and the line 111 in no way illustrates or even suggests such a shape.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. No. 8,979,553 (“Lloyd”).
Regarding claim 1, Lloyd discloses a connector part (20) for a cable (22) having specific parameters and/or features, wherein said cable comprises at least a pair of wires (51) and wherein the connector part (20) is configured to maintain within the connector at least one parameter and/or feature of the cable (22) so as to limit the introduction of discontinuity in by in the connector (the paths 63 guide the cables so as to maintain the cables as stable differential signal cables, by gently curving the cables to limit the chance of breaking, see col. 6, lns. 30 – 33, and to maintain a desired level of impedance so as to not induce interference within the connector, see col. 5, ln. 57 – col. 6, ln. 8).
Regarding claim 2, Lloyd discloses the connector part wherein said parameter of the cable comprises material, electrical and EM properties of a conductor and insulation of 51/54.
Regarding claim 3, Lloyd discloses said connector part (20) is a plug (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Lloyd discloses wherein said connector part comprises a channel (63).
Regarding claim 5, Lloyd discloses wherein a channel (63) has a shape of a helicoidal spring (63 has a spiral shape, see Fig. 4C).
Regarding claim 6, Lloyd discloses wherein said connector part (20) is combined with the cable (see Fig. 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the connector introduces discontinuities and thus does not satisfy the claims. Examiner cannot concur. The connector part joins the cable to the terminals, and guides the cables through the connector so as to maintain the stability of the cable and the signal traveling through the cable. Thus, the physical and electrical properties of the wire are maintained through the connector.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PAUL D BAILLARGEON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2831
/renee s luebke/ Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2831