DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Claims 1-6, 9-19, and 22 are presently pending.
1. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 9, 12-13, 15, 18, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (US 20220110184, hereinafter, “Jeon”) in view of Jeon et al. (US 20200146054, hereinafter, “RefJ”).
Claim 1. Jeon teaches: A method performed by a User Equipment (UE) for random access to a Radio Access Network (RAN) of a cellular communications system, the method comprising: - See Fig. 1A, 13A- 13C, ¶ [0190], (“The UE may determine the preamble”)
transmitting a first random access transmission in a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) occasion, - See Fig. 13A, ¶ [0190], (“the UE may determine the preamble to include in Msg 1 1311 based on the association. The Msg 1 1311 may be transmitted to the base station via one or more PRACH occasions.”); See Fig. 30A, ¶ [0375], (“the wireless device may start the msgB RAR window after or in response to transmitting MsgA (or transport block of MsgA))
the first random access transmission being either a random access preamble or a MsgA; - in ¶ [0234], (“a wireless device may transmit, e.g., to a base station, at least one Random Access Preamble”); See Fig. 30A, ¶ [0375], (“the wireless device may start the msgB RAR window after or in response to transmitting MsgA”)
determining a reference symbol for a start of a response window, - in ¶ [0375], (“the wireless device may start the msgB RAR window with a first time offset…the first time offset may be a reference symbol (e.g., first symbol or firstly located symbol in time) of a CORESET. For example, the CORESET is the earliest CORESET that is at least one or more symbols (e.g., at least one symbol) after a last symbol of a preamble transmission occasion of the preamble. For example, the CORESET is the earliest CORESET that is at least one or more symbols (e.g., at least one symbol) after a last symbol of a transport block (and/or MsgA) transmission occasion of the transport block (and/or MsgA).”, the reference symbol is used to define the start of the response window.); ¶ [0192], (“the UE may start the time window one or more symbols after a last symbol of the preamble (e.g., at a first PDCCH occasion from an end of a preamble transmission). The one or more symbols may be determined based on a numerology.”)
the response window being either a Random Access Response (RAR) window or a MsgB response window; - in ¶ [0375], (“the wireless device may start the msgB RAR window with a first time offset for a contention-free two-step RA procedure…the wireless device may start the msgB RAR window after or in response to transmitting MsgA”); ¶ [0192], (“The Msg 2 1312 received by the UE may include an RAR.”) and
monitoring for a response during the response window, - See Fig. 13A, ¶ [0192], (“After transmitting a preamble, the UE may start a time window (e.g., ra-ResponseWindow) to monitor a PDCCH for the Msg 2…The UE may determine when to start the time window based on a PRACH occasion that the UE uses to transmit the preamble…The UE may identify the RAR”); ¶ [0375], (“The wireless device may stop the msgB RAR window in response to receiving a response (e.g., a PDSCH comprising an MsgB) of the MsgA. The wireless device may stop the msgB RAR window in response to receiving a PDCCH comprising a DL assignment. The wireless device may receive, based on the DL assignment, the response (e.g., a PDSCH comprising an MsgB) of the MsgA.”, the wireless device monitors the PDCCH/PDSCH for reception of a response message (RAR or MsgB) during the response window) the start of the response window being defined relative to the reference symbol, - in ¶ [0375], (“the wireless device may start the msgB RAR window with a first time offset…the first time offset may be a reference symbol (e.g., first symbol or firstly located symbol in time) of a CORESET”, the reference symbol is used to define the start of the MsgB RAR window (response window))
wherein the reference symbol is a downlink symbol having a same frame number, slot number, and symbol number as a last uplink symbol of the PRACH occasion in which the first random access transmission was transmitted. - in ¶ [0375], (“the wireless device may start the msgB RAR window after or in response to transmitting MsgA (or transport block of MsgA)…the first time offset may be a reference symbol (e.g., first symbol or firstly located symbol in time) of a CORESET”); ¶ [0192], (“the UE may start the time window one or more symbols after a last symbol of the preamble (e.g., at a first PDCCH occasion from an end of a preamble transmission).”)
Jeon does not explicitly teach:
wherein the reference symbol is a downlink symbol having a same frame number, slot number, and symbol number as a last uplink symbol of the PRACH occasion in which the first random access transmission was transmitted.
However, RefJ teaches:
wherein the reference symbol is a downlink symbol having a same frame number, slot number, and symbol number as a last uplink symbol of the PRACH occasion in which the first random access transmission was transmitted. - in ¶ [0415 -0416], (“A wireless device may start an RAR window with a time offset that may be measured based on a last symbol of PRACH resource in which the RAP is transmitted…The RAR window 3906-1 for slot 0 in SFN k may correspond to an RAR window for an RAP transmitted in slot 0 in SFN k”); ¶ [0440], (“s_id may be an index of a first OFDM symbol of a specified PRACH…t_id may be an index of a first slot of the specified PRACH in a first system frame…SFN_id may be an index of the first system frame…for example, a system frame in which an RAP is transmitted.”); ¶ [0483], (“The time and frequency resources correspond to an OFDM symbol number (e.g., s_id), a slot number (e.g., t_id)…an SFN…A wireless device may send (e.g., transmit), to a base station, a preamble (e.g., an RAP)…the OFDM symbol number (e.g., s_id), the slot number (e.g., t_id)…and the SFN indicated by the downlink control message are the same time and frequency resources in which the wireless device transmits the preamble.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeon with RefJ to include having a same frame number, slot number, and symbol number, as taught by RefJ. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve time alignment between uplink and downlink, as suggested by RefJ, A communication device may send (e.g., transmit) a random access preamble to another communication device, for example, to establish timing synchronization between the communication devices. - ¶ [0002]
Claim 2. Combination of Jeon and RefJ teaches The method of claim 1 - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Jeon teaches:
wherein determining the reference symbol comprises determining the reference symbol based on an uplink symbol related to the PRACH occasion in which a first random access response transmission was transmitted. - in ¶ [0375], (“the wireless device may start the msgB RAR window after or in response to transmitting MsgA (or transport block of MsgA)…the first time offset may be a reference symbol (e.g., first symbol or firstly located symbol in time) of a CORESET…the CORESET is the earliest CORESET that is at least one or more symbols (e.g., at least one symbol) after a last symbol of a preamble transmission occasion of the preamble.”, The “preamble transmission occasion” refers to the uplink PRACH. The CORESET timing (which gives the response window) is calculated relative to this last (uplink) symbol, thus the reference symbol is based on an uplink symbol related to PRACH.)
Claim 3. Combination of Jeon and RefJ teaches The method of claim 2 - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Jeon teaches:
wherein the uplink symbol related to the PRACH occasion in which the first random access response transmission was transmitted is a last uplink symbol of the PRACH occasion in which the first random access response transmission was transmitted. - in ¶ [0375], (“the wireless device may start the msgB RAR window after or in response to transmitting MsgA (or transport block of MsgA). The first time offset may be predefined as a first value (e.g., zero). For example, the first time offset may be a reference symbol…the first time offset may be a reference symbol (e.g., first symbol or firstly located symbol in time) of a CORESET…the CORESET is the earliest CORESET that is at least one or more symbols (e.g., at least one symbol) after a last symbol of a preamble transmission occasion of the preamble.”); ¶ [0192], (“The UE may determine when to start the time window based on a PRACH occasion that the UE uses to transmit the preamble. For example, the UE may start the time window one or more symbols after a last symbol of the preamble (e.g., at a first PDCCH occasion from an end of a preamble transmission).”)
Claim 4. Combination of Jeon and RefJ teaches The method of claim 2 - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Jeon further teaches:
wherein determining the reference symbol comprises determining the reference symbol based on an assumed timing advance of zero. - in ¶ [0375], (“The first time offset may be predefined as a first value (e.g., zero). For example, the first time offset may be a reference symbol (e.g., first symbol or firstly located symbol in time) of a CORESET.”)
RefJ further teaches:
wherein determining the reference symbol comprises determining the reference symbol based on an assumed timing advance of zero. - in ¶ [0406], (“FIG. 39A shows an example of a first numerology (e.g., numerology ta=0) using system frames 3902.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeon with RefJ to include based on an assumed timing advance of zero, as taught by RefJ. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to simplify the system, as suggested by RefJ, A communication device may send (e.g., transmit) a random access preamble to another communication device, for example, to establish timing synchronization between the communication devices. - ¶ [0002]
Claim 6. Combination of Jeon and RefJ teaches The method of claim 2 - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Jeon further teaches:
wherein the reference symbol is a downlink symbol having a same frame number, slot number, and symbol number as a last uplink symbol of the PRACH occasion in which the first random access transmission was transmitted. - in ¶ [0375], (“the wireless device may start the msgB RAR window after or in response to transmitting MsgA (or transport block of MsgA)…the first time offset may be a reference symbol (e.g., first symbol or firstly located symbol in time) of a CORESET”); ¶ [0192], (“the UE may start the time window one or more symbols after a last symbol of the preamble (e.g., at a first PDCCH occasion from an end of a preamble transmission). The one or more symbols may be determined based on a numerology.”)
RefJ further teaches:
wherein the reference symbol is a downlink symbol having a same frame number, slot number, and symbol number as a last uplink symbol of the PRACH occasion in which the first random access transmission was transmitted. - in ¶ [0483], (“The time and frequency resources correspond to an OFDM symbol number (e.g., s_id), a slot number (e.g., t_id)…an SFN…A wireless device may send (e.g., transmit), to a base station, a preamble (e.g., an RAP)…the OFDM symbol number (e.g., s_id), the slot number (e.g., t_id)…and the SFN indicated by the downlink control message are the same time and frequency resources in which the wireless device transmits the preamble.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeon with RefJ to include having a same frame number, slot number, and symbol number, as taught by RefJ. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve time alignment between uplink and downlink, as suggested by RefJ, A communication device may send (e.g., transmit) a random access preamble to another communication device, for example, to establish timing synchronization between the communication devices. - ¶ [0002]
Claim 9. Combination of Jeon and RefJ teaches The method of claim 1 - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
RefJ further teaches:
wherein uplink and downlink in the RAN share a common timing structure. - in ¶ [0483], (“The time and frequency resources correspond to an OFDM symbol number (e.g., s_id), a slot number (e.g., t_id)…an SFN…A wireless device may send (e.g., transmit), to a base station, a preamble (e.g., an RAP)…the OFDM symbol number (e.g., s_id), the slot number (e.g., t_id)…and the SFN indicated by the downlink control message are the same time and frequency resources in which the wireless device transmits the preamble.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeon with RefJ to include uplink and downlink in the RAN share a common timing structure, as taught by RefJ. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve time alignment between uplink and downlink, as suggested by RefJ, A communication device may send (e.g., transmit) a random access preamble to another communication device, for example, to establish timing synchronization between the communication devices. - ¶ [0002]
Claim 12. Combination of Jeon and RefJ teaches The method of claim 1 - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Jeon teaches:
wherein the start of the response window is a start of a first Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) monitoring occasion occurring at least one symbol after the reference symbol. – in ¶ [0192], (“The UE may determine when to start the time window based on a PRACH occasion that the UE uses to transmit the preamble…the UE may start the time window one or more symbols after a last symbol of the preamble (e.g., at a first PDCCH occasion from an end of a preamble transmission).”); ¶ [0375 - 0376], (“the wireless device may start the msgB RAR window with a first time offset…the first time offset may be a reference symbol…the CORESET is the earliest CORESET that is at least one or more symbols (e.g., at least one symbol) after a last symbol of a preamble transmission occasion of the preamble…The wireless device may determine the active time (and/or stop the active time) until or in response to receiving a PDCCH…”)
Claim 13. Combination of Jeon and RefJ teaches The method of claim 1 - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Jeon teaches:
wherein there is at least one symbol gap between the reference symbol and the start of the response window. - in ¶ [0192], (“the UE may start the time window one or more symbols after a last symbol of the preamble (e.g., at a first PDCCH occasion from an end of a preamble transmission).”); ¶ [0375], (“the CORESET is the earliest CORESET that is at least one or more symbols (e.g., at least one symbol) after a last symbol of a transport block (and/or MsgA) transmission occasion”)
Claim 15. Combination of Jeon and RefJ teaches The method of claim 1 - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Jeon teaches:
wherein a minimum symbol gap between the reference symbol and the start of the response window is configurable. - in ¶ [0375], (“The first time offset may be predefined as a first value (e.g., zero). For example, the first time offset may be a reference symbol…the first time offset may be a reference symbol (e.g., first symbol or firstly located symbol in time) of a CORESET…the CORESET is the earliest CORESET that is at least one or more symbols (e.g., at least one symbol) after a last symbol of a preamble transmission occasion of the preamble.”, at least one symbol (minimum gap) can be configured); ¶ [0192], (“the UE may start the time window one or more symbols after a last symbol of the preamble (e.g., at a first PDCCH occasion from an end of a preamble transmission).”)
Claim 18. Combination of Jeon and RefJ teaches The method of claim 1 - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Jeon teaches:
wherein the start of the response window is aligned with a start of a PDCCH monitoring occasion. - in ¶ [0192], (“the UE may start the time window one or more symbols after a last symbol of the preamble (e.g., at a first PDCCH occasion from an end of a preamble transmission).”)
Claim 22 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim of Claim 1 and is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 1 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claims 5, 10, 14, 16-17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (US 20220110184, hereinafter, “Jeon”) in view of Jeon et al. (US 20200146054, hereinafter, “RefJ”), and further in view of CHOI et al. (US 20220116968, hereinafter, “CHOI”).
Claim 5. Combination of Jeon and RefJ teaches The method of claim 2 - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Jeon teaches:
wherein determining reference symbol as
n
∙
2
μ
D
L
2
μ
U
L
, where n is the uplink symbol related to the PRACH occasion,
μ
D
L
is a downlink subcarrier spacing, and
μ
U
L
is an uplink subcarrier spacing. - in ¶ [0192], (“The RA-RNTI may be associated with PRACH occasions in which the UE transmits a preamble. For example, the UE may determine the RA-RNTI based on: an OFDM symbol index; a slot index; a frequency domain index; and/or a UL carrier indicator of the PRACH occasions.”)
Combination of Jeon and RefJ does not explicitly teach:
wherein determining reference symbol as
n
∙
2
μ
D
L
2
μ
U
L
, where n is the uplink symbol related to the PRACH occasion,
μ
D
L
is a downlink subcarrier spacing, and
μ
U
L
is an uplink subcarrier spacing
However, CHOI teaches:
wherein determining reference symbol as
n
∙
2
μ
D
L
2
μ
U
L
, where n is the uplink symbol related to the PRACH occasion, - in ¶ [0500], (“If the first symbol of CORESET is symbol n of a slot of the cell in which PDCCH is received, the reference symbol index in the cell in which PDSCH is received is floor (n*2u1-u0) mod Nsymbol. Here, the SCS of the cell in which PDCCH is received is 2u1 kHz, the SCS of the cell in which PDSCH is received is 2u2 kHz, and Nsymbol is the number of symbols included in one slot.”, this directly teaches the computation “floor (n*2u1-u0)” and the “mod Nsymbol” is an additional formatting step (practical adjustment to fit within one slot))
μ
D
L
is a downlink subcarrier spacing, and
μ
U
L
is an uplink subcarrier spacing. – in ¶ [0484], (“A length of the symbol of the second cell, which overlaps CORESET of the first cell may be obtained by multiplying a length of CORESET of the first cell by SCS2/SCS1. Specifically, if the length of one symbol in the first cell is T, the length of one symbol in the second cell is T*SCS2/SCS1…when SCS2 is 15 KHz and SCS1 is 30 KHz, CORESET of the first cell, which has a length of 2 symbols, overlaps 1 symbol (2*15 KHz/30 KHz) of the second cell.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeon and RefJ with CHOI to include the formula for determining a reference symbol, as taught by CHOI. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to ensure precise timing alignment and reduce latency in time critical random access procedures, as suggested by CHOI, The advantages of the NR system are to have a higher throughput and a lower latency…For more efficient data processing…a method for varying the number (OFDM) symbols that may be used in an uplink and downlink. - ¶ [0004 - 0005]
Claim 10. Combination of Jeon and RefJ teaches The method of claim 1 - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
CHOI further teaches:
wherein the RAN comprises a Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN). - in ¶ [0006], (“non-terrestrial network communication (NTN)”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeon with CHOI to include the RAN comprises a Non-Terrestrial Network, NTN, as taught by CHOI. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to specify NTN, as suggested by CHOI, for network improvement of the system, in the 5G communication system, technology developments related to…non-terrestrial network communication (NTN)…are being developed. - ¶ [0006]
Claim 14. Combination of Jeon and RefJ teaches The method of claim 1 - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Jeon further teaches:
wherein the start of the response window is a symbol occurring immediately after the reference symbol. - in ¶ [0375], (“the wireless device may start the msgB RAR window with a first time offset for a contention-free two-step RA procedure…the wireless device may start the msgB RAR window after or in response to transmitting MsgA”)
CHOI further teaches:
wherein the start of the response window is a symbol occurring immediately after the reference symbol. - in ¶ [0483], (“Accordingly, a symbol in which the terminal can be scheduled with PUSCH transmission earliest is a symbol immediately subsequent to CORESET. Therefore, an index of a symbol immediately subsequent to CORESET may be used as a reference symbol index…the terminal may obtain a reference symbol index R via K+D…Y is the number of gap symbols”, when no Tx/Rx switching or preparation time is applied (Y=0), the response window (start of PUSCH scheduling) begins immediately after the reference symbol)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeon and RefJ with CHOI to include a symbol occurring immediately after the reference symbol, as taught by CHOI. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce latency, as suggested by CHOI, The advantages of the NR system are to have a higher throughput and a lower latency. - ¶ [0004 - 0005]
Claim 16. Combination of Jeon and RefJ teaches The method of claim 1 - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Jeon further teaches:
wherein a minimum symbol gap between the reference symbol and the start of the response window is a function of symbol duration. - in ¶ [0375], (“The first time offset may be predefined as a first value (e.g., zero). For example, the first time offset may be a reference symbol…the first time offset may be a reference symbol (e.g., first symbol or firstly located symbol in time) of a CORESET…the CORESET is the earliest CORESET that is at least one or more symbols (e.g., at least one symbol) after a last symbol of a preamble transmission occasion of the preamble.”, at least one symbol (minimum gap) can be configured); ¶ [0192], (“The one or more symbols may be determined based on a numerology.”)
CHOI further teaches:
wherein a minimum symbol gap between the reference symbol and the start of the response window is a function of symbol duration. - in ¶ [0483], (“T is a value indicating the PUSCH preparation time by using the number of symbols.”); ¶ [0500], (“the reference symbol index in the cell in which PDSCH is received is floor (n*2.sup.u1-u0) mod N.sub.symbol.”); ¶ [0484], (“Specifically, if the length of one symbol in the first cell is T, the length of one symbol in the second cell is T*SCS2/SCS1...a symbol duration in which PUCCH in the second cell is scheduled is 2*SCS2/SCS1.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeon and RefJ with CHOI to include a function of symbol duration, as taught by CHOI. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to ensure precise timing alignment and reduce latency in time critical random access procedures, as suggested by CHOI, The advantages of the NR system are to have a higher throughput and a lower latency…For more efficient data processing…a method for varying the number (OFDM) symbols that may be used in an uplink and downlink. - ¶ [0004 - 0005]
Claim 17. Combination of Jeon and RefJ teaches The method of claim 1 - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Jeon further teaches:
wherein a minimum symbol gap between the reference symbol and the start of the response window is a function of subcarrier spacing. - in ¶ [0375], (“The first time offset may be predefined as a first value (e.g., zero). For example, the first time offset may be a reference symbol…the first time offset may be a reference symbol (e.g., first symbol or firstly located symbol in time) of a CORESET…the CORESET is the earliest CORESET that is at least one or more symbols (e.g., at least one symbol) after a last symbol of a preamble transmission occasion of the preamble.”, at least one symbol (minimum gap) can be configured)
CHOI further teaches:
wherein a minimum symbol gap between the reference symbol and the start of the response window is a function of subcarrier spacing. - in ¶ [0483], (“T is a value indicating the PUSCH preparation time by using the number of symbols.”); ¶ [0500], (“the reference symbol index in the cell in which PDSCH is received is floor (n*2.sup.u1-u0) mod N.sub.symbol.”); ¶ [0484], (“Specifically, if the length of one symbol in the first cell is T, the length of one symbol in the second cell is T*SCS2/SCS1...a symbol duration in which PUCCH in the second cell is scheduled is 2*SCS2/SCS1.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeon and RefJ with CHOI to include a function of subcarrier spacing, as taught by CHOI. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to ensure precise timing alignment and reduce latency in time critical random access procedures, as suggested by CHOI, The advantages of the NR system are to have a higher throughput and a lower latency…For more efficient data processing…a method for varying the number (OFDM) symbols that may be used in an uplink and downlink. - ¶ [0004 - 0005]
Claim 19. Combination of Jeon and RefJ teaches The method of claim 1 - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Jeon further teaches:
wherein the start of the response window is independent of PDCCH monitoring occasions. - in ¶ [0375], (“the wireless device may start the msgB RAR window with a first time offset for a contention-free two-step RA procedure…the wireless device may start the msgB RAR window after or in response to transmitting MsgA”)
CHOI further teaches:
wherein the start of the response window is independent of PDCCH monitoring occasions. - in ¶ [0483], (“However, if the base station configures/indicates the terminal to transmit PUSCH by using a slot other than the slot in which PDCCH for scheduling of PUSCH is received, the terminal may assume that R=0.”, R=0 is taken as a default reference symbol index and the response window (PUSCH transmission) can start with a known offset (R), independent from PDCCH monitoring occasions)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeon and RefJ with CHOI to include independent of PDCCH monitoring occasions, as taught by CHOI. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce latency, as suggested by CHOI, The advantages of the NR system are to have a higher throughput and a lower latency. - ¶ [0004 - 0005]
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (US 20220110184, hereinafter, “Jeon”) in view of Jeon et al. (US 20200146054, hereinafter, “RefJ”), and further in view of TAO et al. (US 20220345961, hereinafter, “TAO”).
Claim 11. Combination of Jeon and RefJ teaches The method of claim 1 - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Combination of Jeon and RefJ does not explicitly teach:
wherein a cell to which the UE is performing random access is a cell served by a non-terrestrial base station.
However, TAO teaches:
wherein a cell to which the UE is performing random access is a cell served by a non-terrestrial base station. - See Fig. 11, ¶ [0184], (“an NTN scenario is assumed, where the UE is communicating via a satellite in a source radio cell, and also the neighboring radio cell as the possible target of the handover is a non-terrestrial network”); ¶ [0180], (“the UE can perform a random access procedure directly after completing the handover procedure.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeon and RefJ with TAO to include a cell to which the UE is performing random access is a cell served by a non-terrestrial base station, as taught by TAO. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve random access in non-terrestrial networks, as suggested by TAO, there is a need for improving the time alignment…especially for NTN scenarios. - ¶ [0157]
Conclusion
/SHIMA WASEL/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475