DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanazawa et al (JP 2019165668 A) in view of Wilson et al (US 20020018840 A1).
In regard to claim 6, Kanazawa et al discloses a method for suppressing “ejection” of carbonated beverage ([0001]).
In regard to the recitation of carbonated beverages and the suppression of effervescence in the carbonated beverage, Kanazawa et al discloses:
Carbonated beverages are generally known as palatability beverages that allow consumers to taste a unique carbonation due to carbon dioxide gas in beverages when they drink. On the other hand, in carbonated beverages, carbon dioxide gas is dissolved in a supersaturated state, and carbonated beverages may foam and erupt when filling a container such as a plastic bottle or when a consumer opens the bottle ([0002]).
Carbonated beverages are generally known as palatability beverages that allow consumers to taste a unique carbonation due to carbon dioxide gas in beverages when they drink. On the other hand, in carbonated beverages, carbon dioxide gas is dissolved in a supersaturated state, and carbonated beverages may foam and erupt when filling a container such as a plastic bottle or when a consumer opens the bottle ([0004]).
Kanazawa et al discloses that effervescence is suppressed by addition of the compound having LogP of 3 or more:
According to the present invention, the following aromatic components (a) and (b) are contained, and the mass ratio ((a) / (b)) between the aromatic component (a) and the aromatic component (b) is 0.1 or more, A carbonated beverage that is 5 or less is provided. (A) LogP is 3 or more, Comprising : The total amount of the aromatic component contained in the said carbonated beverage 0.5ppm or more. (B) LogP is 0.5 or more and less than 3, and the total amount of aromatic components contained in the carbonated beverage by 0.5 ppm or more ([0005]).
LogP can be calculated based on, for example, a database "ChemSpider" (URL: http://www.chemspider.com/) on a website [0013].
The aromatic component (a) has a Log P of 3 or more and is contained in the carbonated beverage by 0.5 ppm or more. Examples of the fragrance component having LogP of 3 or more include fragrance components having LogP of 3 or more detected by the above-mentioned "ChemSpider". Specific examples thereof include citral , limonene, nootkaton, geraniol , and linalool. It is done. Among these, it is preferable that it is 1 type, or 2 or more types selected from citral, limonene, nootkatone, and linalool [0014].
In regard to the concentration of LogP of 3 or more compounds, Kanazawa et al discloses:
The total amount of the fragrance component (a) is preferably 1 ppm or more, more preferably 3 ppm or more, and further preferably 5 ppm or more in the carbonated beverage, while preferably 25 ppm or less, more preferably 20 ppm or less [0015].
Kanazawa et al does not disclose specific compounds as recited in claim 6.
Wilson et al discloses addition of octanol to beer as an anti-foaming agent ([0029]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify Kanazawa et al in view of Wilson et al and to employ octanol as an anti-foaming agent/additive to a carbonated beverage in order to improve its foam properties as suggested by Wilson et al.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the Reply to the Non-Final Office action mailed October 1st, 2025, filed October 30, 2025, with respect to claim 6 have been fully considered and are persuasive.
The rejection of claim(s) 5 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kanazawa et al (JP 2019165668 A) has been withdrawn because claim 5 has been canceled.
The rejection of claim(s) 6 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanazawa et al (JP 2019165668 A) in view of Pisnjachevskij et al (RU 2140175 C1) because claim 6 has been amended to exclude benzyl benzoate. Pisnjachevskij et al was relied upon as a teaching of addition of benzyl benzoate.
Claim(s) 6 is now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanazawa et al (JP 2019165668 A) in view of Wilson et al (US 20020018840 A1). Wilson et al discloses addition of octanol to beer as an anti-foaming agent ([0029]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify Kanazawa et al in view of Wilson et al and to employ octanol as an anti-foaming agent/additive to a carbonated beverage in order to improve its foam properties as suggested by Wilson et al.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VERA STULII/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791