DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 45 and 48-50 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC§ 102
Claims 45 and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jang et al(US 2022/0183101 A1).
Regarding claim 45, Jang ‘101 teaches, a method, in a network node configured to communicate with a wireless device ([0022], [0030], [0034] and Figs. 1-2, base station configured to communicate with UE) the method comprising:
transmitting, to the wireless device, a control command in the form of a Medium Access Control Control Element (MAC CE) ([0030], [0114], [0116] and Fig. 2A, the base station transmitting a MAC CE (change DRX MAC CE) to the UE)
wherein the control command is associated with one or more conditions that determine whether the wireless device is to trigger a starting or restarting of an inactivity timer after receiving the control command ([0110], [0115], [0134] and Fig. 2, the MAC CE transmitted from the base station to the UE indicating whether to start or restart DRX short cycle timer or specific inactivity timer, and the UE starting or restarting the timer after receiving the MAC CE).
Regarding claim 50, Jang ‘101 teaches, a network node comprising radio circuitry configured to communicate with wireless devices and processing circuitry operatively coupled to the radio circuitry ([0147]-[0151] and Fig. 2D, base station configured to communicate with a UE comprising RF processor and multi connectivity processors )and configured to carry out a method according to claim 45( see rejection of claim 45 above).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC§ 103
Claim 48 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang ‘101 in view of Malkamaki et al (US 9386625 B2).
Regarding claim 48, Jang ‘101 teaches all of the claim limitations except, wherein the method comprises configuring the wireless device, prior to said transmitting, with one or more conditions comprising an indication of one or more types of medium access control control elements, MAC CEs that should not trigger starting or restarting of the inactivity timer by the wireless device.
Malkamaki ‘625 teaches, wherein the method comprises configuring the wireless device, prior to said transmitting( col 7 lines 45-54, configuring the apparatus 10 such that reception of a MAC PDU containing only MAC CE does not start the inactivity timer), with one or more conditions comprising an indication of one or more types of medium access control control elements, MAC CEs that should not trigger starting or restarting of the inactivity timer by the wireless device(col 7 lines 36-54, apparatus 10 can be configured such that reception of the TA command MAC CE alone does not start the inactivity timer, as shown in Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Jang ‘101 by incorporating the teaching of Malkamaki ‘625, since such modification enables to minimize UE power consumption while still updating the TA, as suggested by Malkamaki ‘625(abstract).
Claim 49 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang ‘101 in view of Yi et al(US 2021/0203468 A1).
Regarding claim 49, Jang ‘101 teaches all of the claim limitations except, wherein the method comprises selecting one of a plurality of predetermined bandwidth parts (BWPs) in which to transmit the control command, based on whether the wireless device is to trigger starting or restarting the inactivity timer in response to the control command according to the one or more conditions associated with the control command.
Yi ‘468 teaches, wherein the method comprises selecting one of a plurality of predetermined bandwidth parts (BWPs) in which to transmit the control command ([0276], [0383],[0434], base station configuring a wireless device with a set of BWPs(e.g. four BWP) and selecting specific BWP active BWP), based on whether the wireless device is to trigger starting or restarting the inactivity timer in response to the control command according to the one or more conditions associated with the control command([0384-[0386], [0437], [0488] the selection of BWP for transmitting control command being associated with the BWP inactivity timer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Jang ‘101 by incorporating the teaching of Yi ‘468, since such modification would enable a wireless device to efficiently utilize its battery power resources, as suggested by Yi ‘468([0440]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 32-44 and 51 are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AWET HAILE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474