DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 26, 2025 and July 30, 2025 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed August 14, 2025 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claims 1, 5. 10. 14, 16, 31, 33, and 49 have been amended.
Claim 3 has been canceled.
Claims 1-2, 4-23, 31, 33, and 49 are pending in this application.
In view of the amendment filed August 14, 2025, the previous objection to claim 5 has been withdrawn. Further, in view of the amendment, the previous rejections to claims 10, 14 and 16 have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 14, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. More specifically, Applicant argues that Matsumura et al. does not teach “the uplink channel is a Physical Uplink Control Channel, PUCCH, and both the first spatial relation and the second spatial relation or both the first TCI state and the second TCI state are activated for the uplink channel resource” because “D1 merely teaches that the spatial relations for PUCCH transmission repetitions are derived from one or more TCI states associated with the corresponding PDSCH reception occasions from TRPs, rather than being directly received from the base station” (pages 10-11). Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant.
Claim 1 recites. “receiving, from a base station in the wireless communication network, a configuration of a first spatial relation and a second spatial relation or a configuration of a first TCI state and a second TCI state for an uplink channel resource”. There is nothing in claim that requires the configuration of the spatial relations for PUCCH transmission repetitions to be directly received. Rather, deriving the PUCCH configuration indicates that such information is implicitly received, as it would not be determined without the received configuration. Therefore, deriving from the received configuration still reads on receiving a configuration for an uplink channel resource.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., directly received) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Additionally, Matsumura et al. teaches that a plurality of default spatial relations for a plurality of transmission occasions are derived by the order of TCI state IDs/spatial IDs indicated by RRC (para. [0112][0114]), indicating that the order of TCI state IDs are received via RRC. Therefore, Matusumura et al. teaches “the uplink channel is a Physical Uplink Control Channel, PUCCH, and both the first spatial relation and the second spatial relation or both the first TCI state and the second TCI state are activated for the uplink channel resource” recited in claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-10, 12-16, 20, 31, 33, and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0171045) and further in view of Matsumura et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0262707, hereinafter Matsumura’ 707).
Regrading Claim 1, Matsumura et al. teaches A method of uplink transmission (Matsumura et al. teaches uplink transmission (FIGS. 2B, 8B)), performed by a User Equipment, UL, in a wireless communication network that includes two or more Transmission and Receiving Points, TRPs, each associated with a spatial relation or a Transmission Configuration Indication, TCI, state (Matsumura et al. teaches a terminal, a radio communication method, and aa base station in next generation mobile communication systems (para. [0001]); UE performs repeated UL transmission using four transmission occasions to four TRPs (para. [0082]; FIG. 1)), the method comprising: receiving, from a base station in the wireless communication network, a configuration of a first spatial relation and a second spatial relation or a configuration of a first TCI state and a second TCI state for an uplink channel resource, and an indication of N transmission repetitions of the uplink channel (Matsumura et al. teaches that a default spatial relation is different between transmission occasions (para. [0111]; FIG. 2B, 8B); a plurality of default spatial relations for a plurality of transmission occasions are derived by the order of TCI state IDs/spatial IDs indicated by RRC (para. [0112][0114]); the order is specified by a list including a plurality of sets of an index that indicates what position in the order the spatial relation corresponds to the transmission occasion of and a TCI state ID corresponding to the index (para. [0120])[Examiner’s Note: TCI state IDs/spatial IDs are indicated by RRC]; that UE semi-statically receives indicating the repetition factor K by RRC signaling (para. [0028])), wherein: the uplink channel is a Physical Uplink Control Channel, PUCCH (Matsumura et al. teaches that uplink is repeated PUCCH over a plurality of TRPs (para. [0095]; FIGS. 2B, 8B)), and both the first spatial relation and the second spatial relation or both the first TCI state and the second TCI state are activated for the uplink channel resource (Matsumura et al. teaches that spatial relation #0, and spatial relation #1 are activated for the uplink channel resource (FIGS. 2B, 8B); the spatial relations of the first to fourth transmission occasions for the PUCCH/PUSCH are determined on the basis of the TCI states of the first to fourth reception occasions for the PDSCH (para. [0176])); N is an integer greater than one (Matsumara et al. teaches that the repetition is more than 1 (see FIGS. 2B. 8B)); and the first spatial relation and the second spatial relation or the first TCI state and the second TCI state are configured to form a mapping pattern over the transmission repetitions of the uplink channel (Matsumura et al. teaches that spatial relations form a mapping pattern over the transmission repetitions of the uplink channel (para. [0178]; FIGS 2B, 8B)), wherein the mapping pattern is cyclic mapping or sequential mapping (Matsumura et al. teaches that the spatial relations of the first to fourth transmission occasions for the PUCCH are determined on the basis of the TCI states of the first, second, first, and second reception occasions for the PDSCH, respectively (the cyclic mapping method)(para. [0152][0178]); the spatial relations of the first to fourth transmission occasions for the PUCCH are determined on the basis of the TCI states of the first, first, second, and second reception occasions for the PDSCH, respectively(sequential mapping method)(para. [0178]; FIG. 8A)); receiving a Downlink, DL, Control Information, DCI, that indicates the uplink channel resource used for the transmission repetitions of the uplink channel (Matsumura et al. teaches that a parameter regarding a notification of a PUCCH resource, PUCCH resource set, part of a field that performs notification of the number of PUCCH repetitions indicated by DCI (para. [0198]); part of PUCCJ resource indicator field included in DCI (para. [0298])); and transmitting the uplink channel in N consecutive sub-slots in the uplink channel resource (Matsumura et al. teaches N consecutive sub-slots in the UL channel resource (see FIGS. 2B, 8B)), and according to the mapping pattern, applying the first spatial relation or the first TCI state to the uplink channel transmission repetitions in a first subset of the sub-slots and applying the second spatial relation or the second TCI state to the uplink channel transmission repetitions in a second subset of the sub-slots (Matsumura et al.; teaches that applying the first spatial relation and second spatial relation in each sub-slots, respectively (FIGS. 7B, 8B)).
Although teaching that RRC signaling is used to indicate repetition factor as noted above, Matsumura et al. does not explicitly teach receiving, from a base station in the wireless communication network, a configuration of a first spatial relation and a second spatial relation or a configuration of a first TCI state and a second TCI state for an uplink channel resource, and an indication of N transmission repetitions of the uplink channel. Matsumura’ 707 teaches such a limitation.
Matsumura’707 is directed to terminal, radio communication method, and base station. More specifically, Matsumura’707 teaches receiving, from a base station in the wireless communication network, a configuration of a first spatial relation and a second spatial relation or a configuration of a first TCI state and a second TCI state for an uplink channel resource, and an indication of N transmission repetitions of the uplink channel (Matsumura’707 teaches that UE determines the number of PUCCH repetitions on the basis of the number of configured/activated/specified spatial relations, e.g., number of pieces of spatial relations (SRI) included in an SRI sequence (para. [0048]); SRI applied to PUCCH repetition is configured for the UE by RRC signaling (para. [0049]); RRC parameter is configured an SRI sequence).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Matsumura et al. so that the configuration of a first spatial relation and a second spatial relation or a configuration of a first TCI state and a second TCI state for an uplink channel resource and an indication of N transmission repetitions of the uplink channel is received, as taught by Matsumura et al. The modification would have allowed the system to achieve preferable repetitive PUCCH transmission (see Matsumura’707, para. [0010]).
Regarding Claim 2, the combined teachings of Matsumura et al. and Matsumura’707 teach The method of claim 1, and further, the references teach wherein each of the first TCI state and the second TCI state is one of: a unified TCI state that can be used for both downlink and uplink channel transmissions (Matsumura et al. teaches that TCI state is a unified TCI state (para. [0062]); UE determines the N TCI states from the TCI states of the reception occasions of repeated PDSCH (para. [0179])); and an uplink TCI state that can be used only for uplink channel transmissions.
Regarding Claim 4, the combined teachings of Matsumura et al. and Matsumura’707 teach The method of claim 1 and further, the references teach wherein each of the first spatial relation and the second spatial relation comprises one or more of: a Synchronization Signal Block, SSB, index, a Channel State Information Reference Signal, CSI-RS, index, or a Sounding Reference Signal, SRS, index, used to determine a spatial filter to be used for uplink channel transmission (Matsumura et al. teaches when spatial relation information regarding the SSB or CSI-RS and the SRS is configured for a given SRS resource, the UE transmits the SRS resource by using the same spatial domain filter as a spatial domain filter for receiving the SSB or CSI-RS (para. [0058])); a pathloss reference signal index, and one or more power control parameters.
Regarding Claim 6, the combined teachings of Matsumura et al. and Matsumura’707 teach The method of claim 1 and further, the references teach wherein a total number of sub-slots in the first subset of the sub-slots and the second subset of the sub-slots is equal to the number of transmission repetitions (Matsumura et al. teaches that a total number of the first subset of the sub-slots (i.e., sub-slot #0, #2) and the second subset (i.e., sub-slot #1, $3) is equal to the number of transmission repetitions (see FIGS. 2B, 8B)).
Regarding Claim 7, the combined teachings of Matsumura et al. and Matsumura’707 teach The method of claim 1 and further, the references teach wherein the first subset of the sub-slots and the second subset of the sub-slots are in a same slot (Matsumura et al. teaches that the sub-slot #0, #2, and the sub-slot #1, #3 are in the same slot (FIGS. 2B, 8B)).
Regarding Claim 8, the combined teachings of Matsumura et al. and Matsumura’707 teach The method of claim 1 and further, the references teach wherein each of the sub-slots comprises a number of Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing, OFDM, symbols (Matsumura et al. teaches that the each sub-slot includes one or more OFDM symbols (para. [0297][0298])).
Regarding Claim 9, the combined teachings of Matsumura et al. and Matsumura’707 teach The method of claim 1 and further, the references teach wherein the first subset of the sub-slots and the second subset of the sub-slots are non-overlapping in time (Matsumura et al. teaches that sub-slots #0 to #3 are non-overlapping (FIGS. 2B, 8B)).
Regarding Claim 10, the combined teachings of Matsumura et al. and Matsumura’707 teach The method of claim 1 and further, the references teach wherein the same uplink channel resource is allocated in each of the sub-slots (Matsumura et al. teaches that the each sub-slot includes one or more OFDM symbols (para. [0297][0298])).
Regarding Claim 12, the combined teachings of Matsumura et al. and Matsumura’707 teach The method of claim 1 and further, the references teach wherein the first subset of the sub-slots includes one or more sub-slots (Matsumura et al. teaches that the first subset includes sub-slots #0, #2 (FIG. 8B)), and the second subset of the sub-slots includes one or more sub-slots (Matsumura et al. teaches that the second subset includes sub-slots #1, #3 (FIG. 8B)).
Regarding Claim 13, the combined teachings of Matsumura et al. and Matsumura’707 teach The method of claim 1 and further, the references teach wherein the cyclic mapping of the first spatial relation and the second spatial relation or the cyclic mapping of the first TCI state and the second TCI state is configured over the repetitions of the uplink channel (Matsumura et al. teaches that the spatial relations of the first to fourth transmission occasions for the PUCCH/PUSCH are determined on the basis of TCI states of the first, second, first and second reception occasions for the PDSCH, respectively, e.g., cyclic mapping (para. [0178]; FIG. 8B)), wherein the first spatial relation or the first TCI state is applied to every other repetition of the uplink channel starting from the first repetition and the second spatial relation or the second TCI state is applied to the remaining repetitions (Matsumura et al. teaches the mapping of first, second, first and second (FIG. 8B)).
Regarding Claim 14, the combined teachings of Matsumura et al. and Matsumura’707 teach The method of claim 13 and further, the references teach wherein the every other repetition of the uplink channel starting from the first repetition is transmitted in the first subset of the sub-slots (Matsumura et al. teaches that the first repetition is transmitted in the first subset including sub-slots #0, #2 (FIG. 8B)), and the remaining repetitions are transmitted in the second subset of the sub-slots (Matsumura et al. teaches that the remaining repetition is transmitted in the second subset including sub-slots #1, #3 (FIG. 8B)).
Regarding Claim 15, the combined teachings of Matsumura et al. and Matsumura’707 teach The method of claim 1 and further, the references teach wherein the sequential mapping of the first spatial relation and the second spatial relation or the sequential mapping of the first TCI state and the second TCI state is configured over the repetitions of the uplink channel (Matsumura et al. teaches that the spatial relations of the first to fourth transmission occasions for the PUCCH are determined on the basis of the TCI states of the first, first, second, and second reception occasions for the PDSCH, respectively(sequential mapping method)(para. [0178]; FIG. 8A)), wherein the first spatial relation or first TCI state is applied to every other two consecutive repetitions in time of the uplink channel starting from the first two consecutive repetitions and the second spatial relation or second TCI state is applied to the remaining repetitions (Matsumura et al. teaches that the spatial relations of the first to fourth transmission occasions for the PUCCH are determined on the basis of the TCI states of the first, first, second, and second reception occasions for the PDSCH, respectively(sequential mapping method)(para. [0178]; FIG. 8A)).
Regarding Claim 16, the combined teachings of Matsumura et al. and Matsumura’707 teach The method of claim 15 and further, the references teach wherein the every other two consecutive repetitions of the uplink channel starting from the first repetition are transmitted in the first subset of the sub-slots (Matsumura et al. teaches that the TCI states of the first, first comprise a first subset of sub-slot #0, #1 (FIG. 8A)), and the remaining repetitions are transmitted in the second subset of the sub-slots (Matsumura et al. teaches that the TCI states of the second, second comprise a second subset of sub-slot #2, #3 (FIG. 8A)).
Regarding Claim 20, the combined teachings of Matsumura et al. and Matsumura’707 teach The method of claim 1 and further, the references teach wherein an Uplink Control Information, UCI, is carried by the uplink channel (Matsumura et al. teaches that HARQ-ACK is carried by the uplink channel (FIGS. 8A, 8B)).
Regarding Claim 31, Matsumura et al. teaches A User Equipment, UE (UE (FIG. 11)), adapted to communicate in a wireless communication network that includes two or more Transmission and Receiving Points, TRPs, each associated with a spatial relation or Transmission Configuration Indication, TCI state (Matsumura et al. teaches a terminal, a radio communication method, and aa base station in next generation mobile communication systems (para. [0001]); UE performs repeated UL transmission using four transmission occasions to four TRPs (para. [0082]; FIG. 1)), the UE comprising: one or more transmitters (transmitting /receiving section (FIG. 11)); one or more receivers (transmitting /receiving section (FIG. 11)); and processing circuitry (control section (FIG. 11)) associated with the one or more transmitters and the one or more receivers, the processing circuitry configured to cause the UE to perform recited steps that are similar to those recited in claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection). Therefore, claim 31 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 33, Matsumura et al. teaches A method of uplink transmission (Matsumura et al. teaches uplink transmission (FIGS. 2B, 8B)), performed by a base station, in a wireless communication network that includes two or more Transmission and Receiving Points, TRPs, each associated with a spatial relation or Transmission Configuration Indication, TCI state (Matsumura et al. teaches a terminal, a radio communication method, and aa base station in next generation mobile communication systems (para. [0001]); UE performs repeated UL transmission using four transmission occasions to four TRPs (para. [0082]; FIG. 1)), the method comprising: providing, to a user equipment, UE, in the wireless communication network, a configuration of a first spatial relation and a second spatial relation or a configuration of a first TCI state and a second TCI state for an uplink channel resource, and an indication of N transmission repetitions for transmitting the uplink channel (Matsumura et al. teaches that a default spatial relation is different between transmission occasions (para. [0111]; FIG. 2B, 8B); a plurality of default spatial relations for a plurality of transmission occasions are derived by the order of TCI state IDs/spatial IDs indicated by RRC (para. [0112][0114]); the order is specified by a list including a plurality of sets of an index that indicates what position in the order the spatial relation corresponds to the transmission occasion of and a TCI state ID corresponding to the index (para. [0120])[Examiner’s Note: TCI state IDs/spatial IDs are indicated by RRC]; that UE semi-statically receives indicating the repetition factor K by RRC signaling (para. [0028])), wherein: the uplink channel is a Physical Uplink Control Channel, PUCCH (Matsumura et al. teaches that uplink is repeated PUCCH over a plurality of TRPs (para. [0095]; FIGS. 2B, 8B)), and both the first spatial relation and the second spatial relation or both the first TCI state and the second TCI state are activated for the uplink channel resource (Matsumura et al. teaches that spatial relation #0, and spatial relation #1 are activated for the uplink channel resource (FIGS. 2B, 8B); the spatial relations of the first to fourth transmission occasions for the PUCCH/PUSCH are determined on the basis of the TCI states of the first to fourth reception occasions for the PDSCH (para. [0176])); N is an integer greater than one (Matsumura et al. teaches that the repetition is more than 1 (see FIGS. 2B. 8B)); and the first spatial relation and the second spatial relation or the first TCI state and the second TCI state are configured to form a mapping pattern over the transmission repetitions of the uplink channel (Matsumura et al. teaches that spatial relations form a mapping pattern over the transmission repetitions of the uplink channel (para. [0178]; FIGS 2B, 8B)), wherein the mapping pattern is cyclic mapping or sequential mapping (Matsumura et al. teaches that the spatial relations of the first to fourth transmission occasions for the PUCCH are determined on the basis of the TCI states of the first, second, first, and second reception occasions for the PDSCH, respectively (the cyclic mapping method)(para. [0152][0178]); the spatial relations of the first to fourth transmission occasions for the PUCCH are determined on the basis of the TCI states of the first, first, second, and second reception occasions for the PDSCH, respectively(sequential mapping method)(para. [0178]; FIG. 8A)); and providing a Downlink, DL, Control Information, DCI, to the UE, that indicates the uplink channel resource used for the transmission repetitions of the uplink channel (Matsumura et al. teaches that a parameter regarding a notification of a PUCCH resource, PUCCH resource set, part of a field that performs notification of the number of PUCCH repetitions indicated by DCI (para. [0198]); part of PUCCJ resource indicator field included in DCI (para. [0298])).
Although teaching that RRC signaling is used to indicate repetition factor as noted above, Matsumura et al. does not explicitly teach providing, to a user equipment, UE, in the wireless communication network, a configuration of a first spatial relation and a second spatial relation or a configuration of a first TCI state and a second TCI state for an uplink channel resource, and an indication of N transmission repetitions for transmitting the uplink channel. Matsumura’ 707 teaches such a limitation.
Matsumura’707 is directed to terminal, radio communication method, and base station. More specifically, Matsumura’707 teaches providing, to a user equipment, UE, in the wireless communication network, a configuration of a first spatial relation and a second spatial relation or a configuration of a first TCI state and a second TCI state for an uplink channel resource, and an indication of N transmission repetitions for transmitting the uplink channel (Matsumura’707 teaches that UE determines the number of PUCCH repetitions on the basis of the number of configured/activated/specified spatial relations, e.g., number of pieces of spatial relations (SRI) included in an SRI sequence (para. [0048]); SRI applied to PUCCH repetition is configured for the UE by RRC signaling (para. [0049]); RRC parameter is configured an SRI sequence).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Matsumura et al. so that the configuration of a first spatial relation and a second spatial relation or a configuration of a first TCI state and a second TCI state for an uplink channel resource and an indication of N transmission repetitions of the uplink channel is provided, as taught by Matsumura et al. The modification would have allowed the system to achieve preferable repetitive PUCCH transmission (see Matsumura’707, para. [0010]).
Regarding Claim 49, Matsumura et al. teaches A base station (base station (FIG. 10)) adapted to communicate in a wireless communication network that includes two or more Transmission and Receiving Points, TRPs, each associated with a spatial relation or Transmission Configuration Indication, TCI state (Matsumura et al. teaches a terminal, a radio communication method, and aa base station in next generation mobile communication systems (para. [0001]); UE performs repeated UL transmission using four transmission occasions to four TRPs (para. [0082]; FIG. 1)), the base station comprising processing circuitry (control section (FIG. 10)) configured to cause the base station to:
perform recited steps that are similar to those recited in claim 33 (see claim 33 rejection). Therefore, claim 49 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 33.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0171045), Matsumura et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0262707, hereinafter Matsumura’ 707), and further in view of He (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0394503).
Regarding Claim 5, the combined teachings of Matsumura et al. and Matsumura’707 teach The method of claim 1 however, the references do not explicitly teach wherein each of the first TCI state and the second TCI state comprises one or more of: a Synchronization Signal Block, SSB, index, a Channel State Information Reference Signal, CSI-RS, index, or a Sounding Reference Signal, SRS, index, used to determine a spatial filter to be used for uplink channel transmission; a pathloss reference signal index; and one or more power control parameters. He teaches such a limitation.
He is directed to wireless communication method and device. More specifically, He teaches that the spatial information corresponding to TCI state identification represents the spatial information corresponding to SSB index contained in a TCI state configuration, such as the corresponding spatial filter (para. [0087]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Matsumura et al. and Matsumura’707 so that each of the first TCI state and the second TCI state comprises one of more of SSB index, CSI=RS index, or SRS index used to determine a spatial filter to be used for uplink channel transmission, as taught by He. The modification would have allowed the system to listen channel (see He, para. [0075]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0171045), Matsumura et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0262707, hereinafter Matsumura’ 707), and further in view of Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0180243).
Regarding Claim 11, the combined teachings of Matsumura et al. and Matsumura’707 teach The method of claim 1 however, the references do not explicitly teach wherein the uplink channel is one of Physical Uplink Control Channel, PUCCH, formats 0 to 4. Chen et al. teaches such a limitation.
Chen et al. is directed to method and apparatus for transmitting uplink control information and communication system. More specifically, Chen et al. teaches PUCCH format 1 is used to transmit corresponding HARQ-ACK feedback (para. [0075]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Matsumura et al. and Matsumura’707 so that the uplink channel is one of PUCCH formats 0 to 4, as taught by Chen et al. The modification would have allowed the system to obtain higher reliability (see Chen et al., para. [0071]).
Claims 17-19 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0171045), Matsumura et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0262707, hereinafter Matsumura’ 707), and further in view of Cozzo et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0006575).
Regarding Claim 17, the combined teachings of Matsumura et al. and Matsumura’707 teach The method of claim 1 however, the references do not explicitly teach further comprising: receiving, from the base station, a second configuration of multiple numbers of transmission repetitions for the uplink channel, wherein the number of transmission repetitions of the uplink channel is selected from the multiple numbers of transmission repetitions for the uplink channel depending on whether one or more of the following conditions are met: two TCI states are indicated in a transmission configuration indication field of a DCI format scheduling an associated Physical Downlink Shared Channel, PDSCH, for which a corresponding Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request Acknowledgement, HARQ- ACK, is carried on the uplink channel; an associated PDSCH corresponds to a particular PDSCH scheme; a priority indicator field of a DCI scheduling an associated PDSCH is set to "1"; an associated PDSCH is scheduled by DCI format 1_2; the resource for the uplink channel is activated with two TCI states; and a certain Uplink, UL, Control Information, UCI, type is carried by the uplink channel. Cozzo et al. teaches such limitations.
Cozzo et al. is directed to mechanisms and conditions for supporting repetitions for a PUCCH transmission. More specifically, Cozzo et al. teaches further comprising: receiving, from the base station, a second configuration of multiple numbers of transmission repetitions for the uplink channel (Cozzo et al. teaches that a PUCCH transmission can be repeated over a number of slots (para. [0213]); a gNB configures a UE with a set of numbers for a PUCCH transmission and a parameter N (para. [0290]; FIG. 39); gNB configures a number of repetitions for a first PUCCH carrying a HARQ-ACK report and independently configure another number of repetitions for a second PUCCH carrying a CSI report (para. [0277])), wherein the number of transmission repetitions of the uplink channel is selected from the multiple numbers of transmission repetitions for the uplink channel depending on whether one or more of the following conditions are met: two TCI states are indicated in a transmission configuration indication field of a DCI format scheduling an associated Physical Downlink Shared Channel, PDSCH, for which a corresponding Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request Acknowledgement, HARQ- ACK, is carried on the uplink channel; an associated PDSCH corresponds to a particular PDSCH scheme; a priority indicator field of a DCI scheduling an associated PDSCH is set to "1"; an associated PDSCH is scheduled by DCI format 1_2; the resource for the uplink channel is activated with two TCI states; and a certain Uplink, UL, Control Information, UCI, type is carried by the uplink channel (Cozzo et al. teaches that a procedure for a UE to determine a number of repetition for a PUCCH transmission depending on a UCI type (para. [0277][0291]; FIG. 40)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Matsumura et al. and Matsumura’707 so that the number of transmission repetitions for the uplink channel depends on a UCI type being carried by the uplink channel, as taught by Cozzo et al. The modification would have allowed the system to meet reliability and latency requirements (see Cozzo et al., para. [0271]).
Regarding Claim 18, the combined teachings of Matsumura et al. and Matsumura’707 teach The method of claim 1 however, the references do not explicitly teach further comprising: receiving, from the base station, a second configuration of multiple numbers of the transmission repetitions for the uplink channel, wherein the number of transmission repetitions of the uplink channel is selected from the multiple numbers of transmission repetitions for the uplink channel depending on a traffic type that the uplink channel is associated with. Cozzo et al. teaches such limitations.
Cozzo et al. is directed to mechanisms and conditions for supporting repetitions for a PUCCH transmission. More specifically, Cozzo et al. teaches further comprising: receiving, from the base station, a second configuration of multiple numbers of the transmission repetitions for the uplink channel (Cozzo et al. teaches that a PUCCH transmission can be repeated over a number of slots (para. [0213]); a gNB configures a UE with a set of numbers for a PUCCH transmission and a parameter N (para. [0290]; FIG. 39); gNB configures a number of repetitions for a first PUCCH carrying a HARQ-ACK report and independently configure another number of repetitions for a second PUCCH carrying a CSI report (para. [0277])), wherein the number of transmission repetitions of the uplink channel is selected from the multiple numbers of transmission repetitions for the uplink channel depending on a traffic type that the uplink channel is associated with (Cozzo et al. teaches that a procedure for a UE to determine a number of repetitions for a PUCCH transmission depending on a UCI type (para. [0277][0291]; FIG. 40)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Matsumura et al. and Matsumura’707 so that the number of transmission repetitions of the uplink channel is selected from the multiple numbers of transmission repetitions for the uplink channel depending on a traffic type that the uplink channel is associated with, as taught by Cozzo et al. The modification would have allowed the system to meet reliability and latency requirements (see Cozzo et al., para. [0271]).
Regarding Claim 19, the combined teachings of Matsumura et al. and Matsumura’707 teach The method of claim 1 however, the references do not explicitly teach further comprising receiving, from the base station, one or more configurations for selecting the number of transmission repetitions of the uplink channel, wherein one of the one or more configurations is dynamically indicated in the DCI. Cozzo et al. teaches such limitations.
Cozzo et al. is directed to mechanisms and conditions for supporting repetitions for a PUCCH transmission. More specifically, Cozzo et al. teaches further comprising receiving, from the base station, one or more configurations for selecting the number of transmission repetitions of the uplink channel (Cozzo et al. teaches that a PUCCH transmission can be repeated over a number of slots (para. [0213]); a gNB configures a UE with a set of numbers for a PUCCH transmission and a parameter N (para. [0290]; FIG. 39); gNB configures a number of repetitions for a first PUCCH carrying a HARQ-ACK report and independently configure another number of repetitions for a second PUCCH carrying a CSI report (para. [0277])), wherein one of the one or more configurations is dynamically indicated in the DCI (Cozzo et al. teaches that the first PUCCH transmission with a HARQ-ACK report can be triggered by a first DCI format that indicates a first PUCCH resource and a first number of repetitions for the first PUCCH transmission (para. [0277])).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Matsumura et al. and Matsumura’707 so that one or more configuration for selecting the number of transmission repetitions of the uplink channel is received, as taught by Cozzo et al. The modification would have allowed the system to meet reliability and latency requirements (see Cozzo et al., para. [0271]).
Regarding Claim 21, the combined teachings of Matsumura et al. and Matsumura’707 teach The method of claim 20 and further, the references teach wherein the number of transmission repetitions of the uplink channel varies with a type of the UCI (Cozzo et al. teaches that a PUCCH transmission can be repeated over a number of slots (para. [0213]); a gNB configures a UE with a set of numbers for a PUCCH transmission and a parameter N (para. [0290]; FIG. 39); gNB configures a number of repetitions for a first PUCCH carrying a HARQ-ACK report and independently configure another number of repetitions for a second PUCCH carrying a CSI report (para. [0277])).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Matsumura et al. and Matsumura’707 so that the number of transmission repetitions of the uplink channel varies with a type of the UCI, as taught by Cozzo et al. The modification would have allowed the system to meet reliability and latency requirements (see Cozzo et al., para. [0271]).
Regarding Claim 22, the combined teachings of Matsumura et al., Matsumura’707, and Cozzo et al. teach The method of claim 21 and further, the references teach where the type of the UCI is one of: Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request, HARQ, Acknowledgement, ACK, Scheduling Request, SR, Channel State Information, CSI, or two or more of HARQ-ACK, SR, and CSI multiplexed together (Cozzo et al. teaches that UCI includes HARQ-ACK and SR, and HARQ-ACK, CSI, and SR (para. [0274][0292])).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Matsumura et al. and Matsumura’707 so that the type of the UCI is one of HARQ-ACK, SR, CSI, or two or more of HARQ-ACK, SR, CSI multiplexed together, as taught by Cozzo et al. The modification would have allowed the system to meet reliability and latency requirements (see Cozzo et al., para. [0271]).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0171045), Matsumura et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0262707, hereinafter Matsumura’ 707), and further in view of Gao et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0156709).
Regarding Claim 23, the combined teachings of Matsumura et al. and Matsumura’707 teach The method of claim 1 however, the references do not explicitly teach further comprising dropping one transmission repetition of the uplink channel when such transmission repetition of the uplink channel is overlapping with another uplink channel with a higher priority. Gao et al. teaches such a limitation.
Gao et al. is directed to methods for communication, terminal device, network device, and computer readable media. More specifically, Gao et al. teaches that if the time domain and/or frequency domain resource for transmission of one repetition overlaps with other uplink transmissions with higher priority, the transmission of this repetition is dropped (para. [0123]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Matsumura et al. and Matsumura’707 so that one transmission repetition of the uplink channel is dropped when such transmission repetition of the uplink channel is overlapping with another uplink channel with a higher priority, as taught by Gao et al. The modification would have allowed the system to reasonably arrange the transmission of control information to be performed, thereby improving the reliability and robustness of transmissions of control information (see Gao et al., para. [0047]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417