Response to Remarks
Regarding the 112b rejection:
Based on the amendments to the claims, the outstanding 112b rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Regarding claims 1, 5, 7, 20, 21 and 22:
Regarding the claims, the applicant states in page 12 of the remarks “Casaccia fails to disclose or suggest, at least, the UE is adapted to do both uplink and downlink reception via WLAN and downlink reception via VLC”. As stated in paragraph 114, “Exemplary downlink signals transmitted by macro wireless base station 1704 via antenna 1705 and received by wireless radio module 1756 of UE device 1748 via antenna 1758 include synchronization signals, light channel transmission scheduling signals, radio channel transmission scheduling signals, and downlink radio traffic signals. Exemplary uplink signals transmitted by wireless radio module 1756 of UE device 1748 via antenna 1758 and received by macro wireless base station 1704 via antenna 1705 include uplink traffic signals, acknowledgment signals corresponding to downlink light channel signals, and acknowledgment signals corresponding to downlink radio channel signals”. This shows that the UE is adapted to perform both uplink and downlink communication via wireless communication. Although the term WLAN is not explicitly recited in paragraph 114, a look at paragraph 141 shows “Some embodiments are well suited for…WiFi signaling protocol…Various embodiments are well suited for communications in indoor environments” and paragraph 142 states “While described in the context of an LTE system, at least some of the methods and apparatus of various embodiments are applicable to a wide range of communications systems including many non-LTE and/or non-cellular system”. One of ordinary skill in the art can glean from these paragraphs that the teachings of paragraph 114 are applicable to WLAN uplink and downlink communications. Thus, Casaccia teaches all the limitations of the claims.
Regarding claim 19:
The examiner considers the applicants’ position. Based on further search and/or consideration and the applicants’ remarks, the outstanding rejection is hereby withdrawn since the prior arts of record don’t teach all the limitations of the claim. Claim 19 is thereby allowable of the prior art of record.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12, 13 and 17, 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Similarly, independent claims 1, 5, 7 and 21 will also be allowable after including all the limitations of the allowable subject matter of claims 12, 13/ 17, 18.
Claim 19 is allowed over the prior arts of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7 and 20-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Casaccia (US 2014/0153923).
Regarding claim 1, Casaccia teaches a method for communications in a customer premise equipment (CPE), said method comprising: receiving a downlink cellular mobile signal from an outdoor base station (paragraph [0108], Macro base station 1704, e.g., a cellular base station, includes a wireless transmitter, a wireless receiver and one or more antennas, e.g., corresponding antenna 1705, for transmitting and receiving wireless signals to UE devices. Macro base station 1704 has a corresponding wireless radio coverage area 1706. Macro base station 1704 further includes a network interface module which couples the macro base station 1704 to other networks and/or the Internet via link 1707); and transforming the downlink cellular mobile signal to a power line communications (PLC) signal (Fig. 17, using PLC module 1708) and sending the downlink PLC signal to a visible light communications (VLC)-enabled illuminating device when the downlink cellular mobile signal is handled by VLC link (paragraph [0113], UE device 1748, which is located within the VLC coverage area 1744, may receive downlink VLC signals from VLC access point 1712 communicating information from gateway 1702. In some embodiments, the information conveyed via the downlink VLC signals was communicated between gateway 1702 and VLC access point 1712 via PLC module 1716 and powerline 1717 prior to VLC communication of the information to UE device 1748); wherein the UE is adapted to do both uplink transmission and downlink reception via WLAN (paragraph [0114], Exemplary downlink signals transmitted by macro wireless base station 1704 via antenna 1705 and received by wireless radio module 1756 of UE device 1748 via antenna 1758 include synchronization signals, light channel transmission scheduling signals, radio channel transmission scheduling signals, and downlink radio traffic signals. Exemplary uplink signals transmitted by wireless radio module 1756 of UE device 1748 via antenna 1758 and received by macro wireless base station 1704 via antenna 1705 include uplink traffic signals, acknowledgment signals corresponding to downlink light channel signals, and acknowledgment signals corresponding to downlink radio channel signals) and downlink reception via VLC (Fig. 17, using receiver 1754).
Regarding claim 5, Casaccia teaches a method for communications in a visible light communications (VLC)-enabled illuminating device (Fig. 17, device 1712), comprising: receiving a downlink power line communications (PLC) signal from a customer premise equipment (CPE) (Fig. 17, using PLC module 1708); and transforming the downlink PLC signal to a downlink VLC signal, and sending the downlink VLC signal to a user equipment(UE) (paragraph [0113], UE device 1748, which is located within the VLC coverage area 1744, may receive downlink VLC signals from VLC access point 1712 communicating information from gateway 1702. In some embodiments, the information conveyed via the downlink VLC signals was communicated between gateway 1702 and VLC access point 1712 via PLC module 1716 and powerline 1717 prior to VLC communication of the information to UE device 1748), wherein the UE is adapted to do both uplink transmission and downlink reception via WLAN (paragraph [0113], UE device 1748, which is located within the VLC coverage area 1744, may receive downlink VLC signals from VLC access point 1712 communicating information from gateway 1702. In some embodiments, the information conveyed via the downlink VLC signals was communicated between gateway 1702 and VLC access point 1712 via PLC module 1716 and powerline 1717 prior to VLC communication of the information to UE device 1748) and downlink reception via VLC (Fig. 17, using receiver 1754).
Regarding claim 7, Casaccia teaches a method for communications in a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 17, UE 1748), wherein the UE is adapted to do both uplink transmission and downlink reception via wireless local area network (WLAN) (paragraph [0114], Exemplary downlink signals transmitted by macro wireless base station 1704 via antenna 1705 and received by wireless radio module 1756 of UE device 1748 via antenna 1758 include synchronization signals, light channel transmission scheduling signals, radio channel transmission scheduling signals, and downlink radio traffic signals. Exemplary uplink signals transmitted by wireless radio module 1756 of UE device 1748 via antenna 1758 and received by macro wireless base station 1704 via antenna 1705 include uplink traffic signals, acknowledgment signals corresponding to downlink light channel signals, and acknowledgment signals corresponding to downlink radio channel signals) and downlink reception via visible light communications (VLC) (Fig. 17, using receiver 1754), comprising: receiving a downlink VLC signal from a VLC-enabled illuminating device from a customer premise equipment (CPE), wherein the downlink VLC signal is transformed from a downlink power line communications (PLC) signal sent from the CPE (paragraph [0113], UE device 1748, which is located within the VLC coverage area 1744, may receive downlink VLC signals from VLC access point 1712 communicating information from gateway 1702. In some embodiments, the information conveyed via the downlink VLC signals was communicated between gateway 1702 and VLC access point 1712 via PLC module 1716 and powerline 1717 prior to VLC communication of the information to UE device 1748).
Regarding claim 20, Casaccia teaches a customer premise equipment (CPE) for communications, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code; the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the CPE at least to perform: receiving a downlink cellular mobile signal from an outdoor base station (paragraph [0108], Macro base station 1704, e.g., a cellular base station, includes a wireless transmitter, a wireless receiver and one or more antennas, e.g., corresponding antenna 1705, for transmitting and receiving wireless signals to UE devices. Macro base station 1704 has a corresponding wireless radio coverage area 1706. Macro base station 1704 further includes a network interface module which couples the macro base station 1704 to other networks and/or the Internet via link 1707); transforming the downlink cellular mobile signal to a downlink power line communications (PLC) signal (Fig. 17, using PLC module 1708) and sending the downlink PLC signal to a visible light communications (VLC) enabled illuminating device when the downlink cellular mobile signal is handled by VLC link (paragraph [0113], UE device 1748, which is located within the VLC coverage area 1744, may receive downlink VLC signals from VLC access point 1712 communicating information from gateway 1702. In some embodiments, the information conveyed via the downlink VLC signals was communicated between gateway 1702 and VLC access point 1712 via PLC module 1716 and powerline 1717 prior to VLC communication of the information to UE device 1748); wherein the UE is adapted to do both uplink transmission and downlink reception via WLAN (paragraph [0114], Exemplary downlink signals transmitted by macro wireless base station 1704 via antenna 1705 and received by wireless radio module 1756 of UE device 1748 via antenna 1758 include synchronization signals, light channel transmission scheduling signals, radio channel transmission scheduling signals, and downlink radio traffic signals. Exemplary uplink signals transmitted by wireless radio module 1756 of UE device 1748 via antenna 1758 and received by macro wireless base station 1704 via antenna 1705 include uplink traffic signals, acknowledgment signals corresponding to downlink light channel signals, and acknowledgment signals corresponding to downlink radio channel signals) and downlink reception via VLC (Fig. 17, using receiver 1754).
Regarding claim 21, Casaccia teaches a visible light communications (VLC)-enabled illuminating device (Fig. 17, device 1712) for communications, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code; the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the VLC-enabled illuminating device at least to perform: receiving a downlink power line communications (PLC) signal from a customer premise equipment (CPE) (Fig. 17, using PLC module 1708); transforming the downlink PLC signal to a downlink VLC signal, and sending the downlink VLC signal to a user equipment (UE) (paragraph [0113], UE device 1748, which is located within the VLC coverage area 1744, may receive downlink VLC signals from VLC access point 1712 communicating information from gateway 1702. In some embodiments, the information conveyed via the downlink VLC signals was communicated between gateway 1702 and VLC access point 1712 via PLC module 1716 and powerline 1717 prior to VLC communication of the information to UE device 1748), wherein the UE is adapted to do both uplink transmission and downlink reception via wireless local area network (WLAN) (paragraph [0113], UE device 1748, which is located within the VLC coverage area 1744, may receive downlink VLC signals from VLC access point 1712 communicating information from gateway 1702. In some embodiments, the information conveyed via the downlink VLC signals was communicated between gateway 1702 and VLC access point 1712 via PLC module 1716 and powerline 1717 prior to VLC communication of the information to UE device 1748) and downlink reception via VLC (Fig. 17, using receiver 1754).
Regarding claim 22, Casaccia teaches a user equipment(UE) for communications, wherein the UE (Fig. 17, UE 1748) is adapted to do both uplink transmission and downlink reception via wireless local area network (WLAN) (paragraph [0114], Exemplary downlink signals transmitted by macro wireless base station 1704 via antenna 1705 and received by wireless radio module 1756 of UE device 1748 via antenna 1758 include synchronization signals, light channel transmission scheduling signals, radio channel transmission scheduling signals, and downlink radio traffic signals. Exemplary uplink signals transmitted by wireless radio module 1756 of UE device 1748 via antenna 1758 and received by macro wireless base station 1704 via antenna 1705 include uplink traffic signals, acknowledgment signals corresponding to downlink light channel signals, and acknowledgment signals corresponding to downlink radio channel signals) and downlink reception via visible light communications (VLC) (Fig. 17, using receiver 1754), comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code; the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the UE at least to perform: receiving a downlink VLC signal from a VLC-enabled illuminating device, wherein the downlink VLC signal is transformed from a downlink power line communications (PLC) signal sent from the CPE (paragraph [0113], UE device 1748, which is located within the VLC coverage area 1744, may receive downlink VLC signals from VLC access point 1712 communicating information from gateway 1702. In some embodiments, the information conveyed via the downlink VLC signals was communicated between gateway 1702 and VLC access point 1712 via PLC module 1716 and powerline 1717 prior to VLC communication of the information to UE device 1748).
Regarding claim 23, Casaccia teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising program instructions for causing a device to perform at least the following the method claim 1 (paragraph [0136], non-transitory computer readable medium…).
Regarding claim 24, Casaccia teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising program instructions for causing a device to perform at least the following the method of claim 5 (paragraph [0136], non-transitory computer readable medium…).
Regarding claim 25, Casaccia teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising program instructions for causing a device which is adapted to do both uplink transmission and downlink reception via wireless local area network (WLAN) and downlink reception via visible light communications (VLC) to perform the method of claim 7 (paragraph [0136], non-transitory computer readable medium…).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 11 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casaccia (US 2014/0153923) in view of Ann (US 2008/0281515).
Regarding claim 2, Casaccia teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: sending uplink cellular mobile signal to the outdoor base station (paragraph [0108], Macro base station 1704, e.g., a cellular base station, includes a wireless transmitter, a wireless receiver and one or more antennas, e.g., corresponding antenna 1705, for transmitting and receiving wireless signals to UE devices. Macro base station 1704 has a corresponding wireless radio coverage area 1706. Macro base station 1704 further includes a network interface module which couples the macro base station 1704 to other networks and/or the Internet via link 1707; paragraph [0109], Gateway 1702 further includes a network interface module 1709 which couples the gateway 1702 to other networks and/or the Internet via link 1711; the base station both transmits and receives signals and is also connected to Gateway 1702 which communicates in both directions using backhaul link 1753).
Casaccia doesn’t teach receiving an uplink PLC signal sent from the VLC-enabled illuminating device, and transforming the uplink PLC signal to an uplink cellular mobile signal, wherein the uplink PLC signal is generated at the VLC-enabled illuminating device by transforming the uplink VLC signal sent from the UE that also adapted to do uplink transmission via VLC.
Ann teaches receiving an uplink PLC signal sent from the VLC-enabled illuminating device, and transforming the uplink PLC signal to an uplink cellular mobile signal, wherein the uplink PLC signal is generated at the VLC-enabled illuminating device by transforming the uplink VLC signal sent from the UE that also adapted to do uplink transmission via VLC (paragraph [0057], In an exemplary embodiment of the present invention, the uplink from the mobile terminal 606 to the group of lamps 603-1 through 603-n exists in addition to the downlink. Thus, by using the uplink, the group of lamps 603-1 through 603-n receives, from the mobile terminal 606, the visible signal 605 which includes the destination information and the ID information of the mobile terminal, the relevant lamp ID information and the relevant lamp group ID information in the received information. The group of lamps 603-1 through 603-n then transfers, to the map server 601, the received information including the relevant lamp ID information and the relevant lamp group ID information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method taught by Casaccia and incorporate the functionality of uplink transmission as taught by Ann in order to provide location identification information for the UE (Ann: paragraph [0035]).
Regarding claim 11, Casaccia teaches the CPE of claim 20, comprising the at least one memory and computer program code, when executed by the at least one processor.
Casaccia doesn’t teach further performing: receiving an uplink PLC signal sent from the VLC-enabled illuminating device; and transforming the uplink PLC signal to an uplink cellular mobile signal, wherein the uplink PLC signal is generated at the VLC-enabled illuminating device by transforming the uplink VLC signal sent from the UE that also adapted to do uplink transmission via VLC.
Ann teaches receiving an uplink PLC signal sent from the VLC-enabled illuminating device and transforming the uplink PLC signal to an uplink cellular mobile signal, wherein the uplink PLC signal is generated at the VLC-enabled illuminating device by transforming the uplink VLC signal sent from the UE that also adapted to do uplink transmission via VLC (paragraph [0057], In an exemplary embodiment of the present invention, the uplink from the mobile terminal 606 to the group of lamps 603-1 through 603-n exists in addition to the downlink. Thus, by using the uplink, the group of lamps 603-1 through 603-n receives, from the mobile terminal 606, the visible signal 605 which includes the destination information and the ID information of the mobile terminal, the relevant lamp ID information and the relevant lamp group ID information in the received information. The group of lamps 603-1 through 603-n then transfers, to the map server 601, the received information including the relevant lamp ID information and the relevant lamp group ID information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings taught by Casaccia and incorporate the functionality of uplink transmission as taught by Ann in order to provide location identification information for the UE (Ann: paragraph [0035]).
Regarding claim 15, Casaccia teaches the VLC-enabled illuminating device of claim 21, comprising the at least one memory and computer program code, when executed by the at least one processor.
Casaccia doesn’t teach further cause the device to perform: receiving an uplink VLC signal sent from the UE, wherein the UE is also adapted to do uplink transmission via VLC; and transforming the uplink VLC signal to an uplink PLC signal, and sending the uplink PLC signal to the CPE.
Ann teaches to cause the device to perform: receiving an uplink VLC signal sent from the UE, wherein the UE is also adapted to do uplink transmission via VLC; and transforming the uplink VLC signal to an uplink PLC signal, and sending the uplink PLC signal (paragraph [0057], In an exemplary embodiment of the present invention, the uplink from the mobile terminal 606 to the group of lamps 603-1 through 603-n exists in addition to the downlink. Thus, by using the uplink, the group of lamps 603-1 through 603-n receives, from the mobile terminal 606, the visible signal 605 which includes the destination information and the ID information of the mobile terminal, the relevant lamp ID information and the relevant lamp group ID information in the received information. The group of lamps 603-1 through 603-n then transfers, to the map server 601, the received information including the relevant lamp ID information and the relevant lamp group ID information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings taught by Casaccia and incorporate the functionality of uplink transmission as taught by Ann in order to provide location identification information for the UE (Ann: paragraph [0035]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the notice of reference cited (PTO-892).
/PRANESH K BARUA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635