DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the FWHM of the photoluminescence spectrum of the first emitting layer is narrower than a FWHM of the photoluminescence spectrum of the third emitting layer of claim 1 (Examiner notes the disclosure of the instant application describes Fig 6 is a spectrogram of a photoluminescence spectrum showing a first and second emitting layer. The remaining spectrograms are described as being electroluminescence spectrums) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7, , and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et. al. (US 20210074945 A1), hereinafter Kim, in view of Stoessel (US 20240101560 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a light emitting substrate (Fig 1), comprising: a first base substrate (Fig 1 Fig 2B substrate 100, [0069]); a plurality of light emitting devices (Fig 2B emission portions E1, E2, E3, [0069]) on the first base substrate (Fig 1 Fig 2B substrate 100, [0069]), wherein the plurality of light emitting devices (Fig 2B emission portions E1, E2, E3, [0069]) comprise a first light emitting device (Fig 2B emission portion E1, [0069]), a second light emitting device (Fig 2B emission portion E2, [0069]) and a third light emitting device (Fig 2B emission portion E3, [0069]), each of the plurality of light emitting devices (Fig 2B emission portions E1, E2, E3, [0069]) comprises a first electrode layer (Fig 2B reflective electrode structure 111, [0069]), a light emitting functional layer (Fig 2B OLED structure, [0069]) and a second electrode layer (Fig 2B transmission electrode 140, [0069]) which are stacked (Fig 2B), the light emitting functional layer (Fig 2B OLED structure, [0069]) comprises an emitting layer (Fig 2B light emitting layer 132a, 132b, 132c, [0069]), the emitting layer comprises a first emitting layer (Fig 2B light emitting layer 132a, [0069]) in the first light emitting device (Fig 2B emission portion E1, [0069]), a second emitting layer (Fig 2B light emitting layer 132b, [0069]) in the second light emitting device (Fig 2B emission portion E2, [0069]) and a third emitting layer (Fig 2B light emitting layer 132c, [0069]) in the third light emitting device(Fig 2B emission portion E3, [0069]) ; wherein a material (blue light emitting layer, [0236]) of the first emitting layer (Fig 2B light emitting layer 132a, [0069]) is different from a material (red light emitting layer, [0236]) of the second emitting layer (Fig 2B light emitting layer 132b, [0069]), and a material (blue light emitting layer, [0236]) of the first emitting layer (Fig 2B light emitting layer 132a, [0069]) is different from a material (green light emitting layer, [0236]) of the third emitting layer (Fig 2B light emitting layer 132c, [0069]), a photoluminescence spectrum of the first emitting layer comprises a first main peak and a first shoulder peak, a photoluminescence spectrum of the second emitting layer comprises a second main peak and a second shoulder peak, and a photoluminescence spectrum of the third emitting layer comprises a third main peak and a third shoulder peak, wherein a Full Width At Half-Maximum (FWHM) of the photoluminescence spectrum of the first emitting layer is narrower than a FWHM of the photoluminescence spectrum of the second emitting layer, and a FWHM of the photoluminescence spectrum of the first emitting layer is narrower than a FWHM of the photoluminescence spectrum of the third emitting layer.
Kim fails to teach a photoluminescence spectrum of the first emitting layer comprises a first main peak and a first shoulder peak, a photoluminescence spectrum of the second emitting layer comprises a second main peak and a second shoulder peak, and a photoluminescence spectrum of the third emitting layer comprises a third main peak and a third shoulder peak, wherein a Full Width At Half-Maximum (FWHM) of the photoluminescence spectrum of the first emitting layer is narrower than a FWHM of the photoluminescence spectrum of the second emitting layer, and a FWHM of the photoluminescence spectrum of the first emitting layer is narrower than a FWHM of the photoluminescence spectrum of the third emitting layer.
However, Stoessel teaches a photoluminescence spectrum (Fig 1) of a material (host material and emitting dopant invention, [0311]) used in an emitting layer (not shown emitting layer EML, [0311]) comprises a main peak (Fig 1 main peak, [0303]) and a shoulder peak (Fig 1 shoulder peak, [0303]). Further, Stoessel teaches that the material used for the emitting layer can be used for different colors (emitters can have different colors, [0217]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim to incorporate the teachings of Stoessel by using the emitting materials of Stoessel. This would allow for color purity and favorable low viewing angle dependence ([0217]-[0218]). In doing so there would a photoluminescence spectrum of the first emitting layer comprising a first main peak and a first shoulder peak (for the first color), a photoluminescence spectrum of the second emitting layer comprising a second main peak and a second shoulder peak (for the second color), and a photoluminescence spectrum of the third emitting layer comprising a third main peak and a third shoulder peak (for the third color). Examiner notes that It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the different colors the materials used for the emitting layers would have to be different from each other.
Kim and Stoessel fail to teach wherein a Full Width At Half-Maximum (FWHM) of the photoluminescence spectrum of the first emitting layer is narrower than a FWHM of the photoluminescence spectrum of the second emitting layer, and a FWHM of the photoluminescence spectrum of the first emitting layer is narrower than a FWHM of the photoluminescence spectrum of the third emitting layer.
However, Stoessel teaches low FWHM values lead to pure color emissions ([0303]). The FWHM of the photoluminescence spectrum is therefore a result-effective variable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to vary, through routine optimization, the FWHM of the photoluminescence spectrum as Stoessel has identified the FWHM of the photoluminescence spectrum as a result-effective variable. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at a FWHM of the photoluminescence spectrum of the first emitting layer being narrower than a FWHM of the photoluminescence spectrum of the second emitting layer, and a FWHM of the photoluminescence spectrum of the first emitting layer being narrower than a FWHM of the photoluminescence spectrum of the third emitting layer, in order to achieve the desired balance between color purity and materials cost, as taught by Stoessel. MPEP 2144.05.
Furthermore, the applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the claimed FWHM relationship is for a particular purpose that is critical to the overall claimed invention (i.e., that the invention would not work without the specific claimed FWHM relationships).
Regarding claim 4, Kim as modified in claim 1 fails to teach a ratio of the FWHM of the photoluminescence spectrum of the first emitting layer to the FWHM of the photoluminescence spectrum of the second emitting layer is 0.6:1 to 0.85:1, and a ratio of the FWHM of the photoluminescence spectrum of the first emitting layer to the FWHM of the photoluminescence spectrum of the third emitting layer is 0.6:1 to 0.85:1.
However, Stoessel teaches FWHM of the electroluminescence spectrum of the different emitter materials ([0309]-[0357]). Examiner notes that Stoessel teaches FWHM of the electroluminescence spectrum for better comparability over the entire spectral range ([0309]). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that once light exits the emission layer the spectra is independent of the triggering mechanism. Further, Stoessel teaches different emitter and host combinations have different FWHM (Tables 3-8). The ratio of the FWHM of the photoluminescence spectrum of the first emitting layer to the FWHM of the photoluminescence spectrum of the second or third emitting layer is therefore a result-effective variable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to vary, through routine optimization, the materials used in the emission layer to affect the FWHM ratios as Stoessel has identified the FWHM ratios as a result-effective variable. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at a ratio of the FWHM of the photoluminescence spectrum of the first emitting layer to the FWHM of the photoluminescence spectrum of the second emitting layer is 0.6:1 to 0.85:1, and a ratio of the FWHM of the photoluminescence spectrum of the first emitting layer to the FWHM of the photoluminescence spectrum of the third emitting layer is 0.6:1 to 0.85:1, in order to achieve the desired balance between the color purity and the materials used, as taught by Stoessel. MPEP 2144.05.
Furthermore, the applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the claimed ratios are for a particular purpose that is critical to the overall claimed invention (i.e., that the invention would not work without the specific claimed ratios).
Regarding claim 5, Kim as modified in claim 4 fails to teach the FWHM of a photoluminescence spectrum of the first emitting layer is 20 +2nm, the FWHM of the photoluminescence spectrum of the second emitting layer is 28 +2nm, and the FWHM of the photoluminescence spectrum of the third emitting layer is 28 +2nm.
However, Stoessel teaches FWHM of the electroluminescence spectrum of the different emitter materials ([0309]-[0357]). Examiner notes that Stoessel teaches FWHM of the electroluminescence spectrum for better comparability over the entire spectral range ([0309]). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that once light exits the emission layer the spectra is independent of the triggering mechanism. Further, Stoessel teaches different emitter and host combinations have different FWHM (Tables 3-8). The FWHM of the photoluminescence spectrum of the emitting layers is therefore a result-effective variable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to vary, through routine optimization, the materials used in the emission layer to affect the FWHM as Stoessel has identified the FWHM as a result-effective variable. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at the FWHM of a photoluminescence spectrum of the first emitting layer is 20 +2nm, the FWHM of the photoluminescence spectrum of the second emitting layer is 28 +2nm, and the FWHM of the photoluminescence spectrum of the third emitting layer is 28 +2nm, in order to achieve the desired balance between the color purity and the materials used, as taught by Stoessel. MPEP 2144.05.
Furthermore, the applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the claimed FWHM of the emitting layers are for a particular purpose that is critical to the overall claimed invention (i.e., that the invention would not work without the specific claimed FWHMs).
Regarding claims 6, Kim as modified in claim 1 fails to teach a ratio of a proportion of an area of the first shoulder peak in the photoluminescence spectrum of the first emitting layer to a proportion of an area of the second shoulder peak in the photoluminescence spectrum of the second emitting layer is 0.5:1 to 0.9:1, and a ratio of the proportion of the area of the first shoulder peak in the photoluminescence spectrum of the first emitting layer to a proportion of an area of the third shoulder peak in the photoluminescence spectrum of the third emitting layer is 0.5:1 to 0.9:1.
However, Kim teaches using a resonant cavity tuned for a wavelength ([0008]). Kim further teaches changing the cavity properties from fully constructive interference to fully destructive interference ([0103]). Kim teaches changing the interference type changes the shoulder peak (Fig 4, [0110]) and transmittance of the light emitting substrate (Fig 3, [0108]-[0109]). The shoulder peak and subsequent proportion of the area of the shoulder peak is therefore a result-effective variable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to vary, through routine optimization, the interference type and ultimately the shoulder peak as Kim has identified the shoulder as a result-effective variable. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at a ratio of a proportion of an area of the first shoulder peak in the photoluminescence spectrum of the first emitting layer to a proportion of an area of the second shoulder peak in the photoluminescence spectrum of the second emitting layer is 0.5:1 to 0.9:1, and a ratio of the proportion of the area of the first shoulder peak in the photoluminescence spectrum of the first emitting layer to a proportion of an area of the third shoulder peak in the photoluminescence spectrum of the third emitting layer is 0.5:1 to 0.9:1, in order to achieve the desired balance between light transmission and ease of manufacturing, as taught by Kim. MPEP 2144.05.
Furthermore, the applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the claimed ratio is for a particular purpose that is critical to the overall claimed invention (i.e., that the invention would not work without the specific claimed dimensions).
Regarding claim 7, Kim as modified in claim 6 fails to teach the area of the first shoulder peak accounts for 23%±4% of the area of the photoluminescence spectrum of the first emitting layer, the area of the second shoulder peak accounts for 34%±4% of the area of the photoluminescence spectrum of the second emitting layer, and the area of the third shoulder peak accounts for 34%±4% of the area of the photoluminescence spectrum of the third emitting layer.
However, Kim teaches using a resonant cavity tuned for a wavelength ([0008]). Kim further teaches changing the cavity properties from fully constructive interference to fully destructive interference ([0103]). Kim teaches changing the interference type changes the shoulder peak (Fig 4, [0110]) and transmittance of the light emitting substrate (Fig 3, [0108]-[0109]). The shoulder peak and subsequent area percentage of the spectrum is therefore a result-effective variable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to vary, through routine optimization, the interference type and ultimately the shoulder peak as Kim has identified the shoulder as a result-effective variable. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at the area of the first shoulder peak accounts for 23%±4% of the area of the photoluminescence spectrum of the first emitting layer, the area of the second shoulder peak accounts for 34%±4% of the area of the photoluminescence spectrum of the second emitting layer, and the area of the third shoulder peak accounts for 34%±4% of the area of the photoluminescence spectrum of the third emitting layer, in order to achieve the desired balance between light transmission and ease of manufacturing, as taught by Kim. MPEP 2144.05.
Furthermore, the applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the claimed area percentage is for a particular purpose that is critical to the overall claimed invention (i.e., that the invention would not work without the specific claimed dimensions).
Regarding claim 10, Kim as modified in claim 1 fails to teach the material of the first emitting layer, the material of the second emitting layer, and the material of the third emitting layer may each independently comprises any one or more of oxadiazole and its derivative light emitting materials, triazole and its derivative light emitting materials, rhodamine and its derivative light emitting materials, 1, 8-naphthalimide and its derivative light emitting materials, pyrazoline and its derivative light emitting materials, triphenylamine and its derivative light emitting materials, porphyrin and its derivative light emitting materials, carbazole and its derivative light emitting materials, pyrazine and its derivative light emitting materials, thiazole and its derivative light emitting materials, perylene and its derivative light emitting materials, silole and its derivative light emitting materials, tetraphenylethylene and its derivatives light emitting materials, polyphenylene ethylene and its derivative light emitting materials, polythiophene and its derivative light emitting materials, polyfluorene and its derivative light emitting materials, polyacetylene and its derivative light emitting materials, polycarbazole and its derivative light emitting materials, polypyridine and its derivative light emitting materials.
However, Stoessel teaches the material of the first emitting layer, the material of the second emitting layer, and the material of the third emitting layer may each independently comprises any one or more of oxadiazole and its derivative light emitting materials, triazole and its derivative light emitting materials ([0037]), rhodamine and its derivative light emitting materials, 1, 8-naphthalimide and its derivative light emitting materials, pyrazoline and its derivative light emitting materials, triphenylamine and its derivative light emitting materials, porphyrin and its derivative light emitting materials, carbazole and its derivative light emitting materials, pyrazine and its derivative light emitting materials, thiazole and its derivative light emitting materials, perylene and its derivative light emitting materials, silole and its derivative light emitting materials, tetraphenylethylene and its derivatives light emitting materials, polyphenylene ethylene and its derivative light emitting materials, polythiophene and its derivative light emitting materials, polyfluorene and its derivative light emitting materials, polyacetylene and its derivative light emitting materials, polycarbazole and its derivative light emitting materials, polypyridine and its derivative light emitting materials.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim to incorporate the teachings of Stoessel by having the materials of the light emitting layers comprised of certain heteroaromatic ring systems, in this case triazole and its derivative light emitting materials. This would allow for the substitution of the heteroaromatic ring systems in the compounds used for electroluminescent devices to improve lifetime and color purity of the devices ([0013]).
Regarding claim 11, Kim as modified in claim 1 fails to teach a difference between a thickness of the first emitting layer and a thickness of the second emitting layer is 10nm to 20nm, and a difference between the thickness of the first emitting layer and a thickness of the third emitting layer is 10nm to 20nm.
However, Kim teaches using a resonant cavity tuned for a wavelength ([0008]). Kim further teaches capping layers to further improve the cavity effect in conjunction with the cavity formed between the electrodes ([0077]). One having ordinary skill in the art before ethe effective filing date of the claimed invention would know that one of the parameters that can be changed in order to form a cavity is the light emitting layer thickness. The thickness of the light emitting layers is therefore a result-effective variable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to vary, through routine optimization, the thickness of the light emitting layers as Ran has identified the thickness as a result-effective variable. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at a difference between a thickness of the first emitting layer and a thickness of the second emitting layer is 10nm to 20nm, and a difference between the thickness of the first emitting layer and a thickness of the third emitting layer is 10nm to 20nm, in order to achieve the desired balance between improving light emission efficiency and ease of manufacturing, as taught by Kim. MPEP 2144.05.
Furthermore, the applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the claimed difference in thicknesses is for a particular purpose that is critical to the overall claimed invention (i.e., that the invention would not work without the specific claimed dimensions).
Regarding claim 12, Kim as modified in claim 11 fails to teach the thickness of the first emitting layer is 15nm to 25nm, the thickness of the second emitting layer is 15nm to 35nm, and the thickness of the third emitting layer is 15nm to 35nm.
Regarding the thickness of the first emitting layer is 15nm to 25nm, the thickness of the second emitting layer is 15nm to 35nm, and the thickness of the third emitting layer is 15nm to 35nm. Kim teaches using a resonant cavity tuned for a wavelength ([0008]). Kim further teaches capping layers to further improve the cavity effect in conjunction with the cavity formed between the electrodes ([0077]). One having ordinary skill in the art before ethe effective filing date of the claimed invention would know that one of the parameters that can be changed in order to form a cavity is the light emitting layer thickness. The thickness of the light emitting layers is therefore a result-effective variable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to vary, through routine optimization, the thickness of the light emitting layers as Ran has identified the thickness as a result-effective variable. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at the thickness of the first emitting layer is 15nm to 25nm, the thickness of the second emitting layer is 15nm to 35nm, and the thickness of the third emitting layer is 15nm to 35nm, in order to achieve the desired balance between improving light emission efficiency and ease of manufacturing, as taught by Kim. MPEP 2144.05.
Furthermore, the applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the claimed difference in thicknesses is for a particular purpose that is critical to the overall claimed invention (i.e., that the invention would not work without the specific claimed dimensions).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et. al. (US 20210074945 A1), hereinafter Kim, in view of Stoessel (US 20240101560 A1), in further view of Cheng et.al. (CN106784354A), hereinafter Cheng.
Regarding claim 13, Kim as modified in claim 1 teaches the light emitting functional layer (Fig 2B OLED structure, [0069]) further comprises a hole transport layer (Fig 2B first common layer 131 has hole transporting property, [0090]), and the hole transport layer (Fig 2B first common layer 131 has hole transporting property, [0090]) comprises a first hole transport layer (Fig 2B first common layer 131 in E1) located in the first light emitting device (Fig 2B emission portion E1, [0069]), a second hole transport layer (Fig 2B first common layer 131 in E2) located in the second light emitting device (Fig 2B emission portion E2, [0069]) and a third hole transport layer (Fig 2B first common layer 131 in E3) located in the third light emitting device (Fig 2B emission portion E3, [0069]).
Kim as modified in claim 1 fails to teach a thickness of the first hole transport layer is less than a thickness of the second hole transport layer, and the thickness of the first hole transport layer is less than a thickness of the third hole transport layer.
However, Cheng teaches a thickness (115nm-125nm, [0058] of translation) of the first hole transport layer (Fig 3B first functional layer 140 in B corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B first common layer 131 in E1) is less than a thickness (140nm-155nm, [0058] of translation) of the second hole transport layer (Fig 3B first functional layer 140 in R corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B first common layer 131 in E2), and the thickness (185nm-200nm, [0058] of translation) of the first hole transport layer (Fig 3B first functional layer 140 in B corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B first common layer 131 in E1) is less than a thickness (140nm-155nm, [0058] of translation) of the third hole transport layer (Fig 3B first functional layer 140 in G corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B first common layer 131 in E3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim and Stoessel to incorporate the teachings of Cheng by having a thickness of the first hole transport layer is less than a thickness of the second hole transport layer, and the thickness of the first hole transport layer is less than a thickness of the third hole transport layer. This would allow for the optimization of the microcavity for each respective color ([0059] of translation).
Regarding claim 14, Kim as modified in claim 13 teaches the thickness (115nm-125nm, [0058] of translation) of the first hole transport layer (Cheng: Fig 3B first functional layer 140 in B corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B first common layer 131 in E1) is 10nm to 30nm less (125nm to 140nm) than the thickness (140nm-155nm, [0058] of translation) of the third hole transport layer (Cheng: Fig 3B first functional layer 140 in G corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B first common layer 131 in E3).
Kim as modified in claim 13 fails to teach the thickness of the first hole transport layer is 10nm to 30nm less than the thickness of the second hole transport layer.
However, Kim teaches using a resonant cavity tuned for a wavelength ([0008]). Cheng teaches the thickness parameters of the hole transport layer include but are not limited to the ranges listed, and when the organic light-emitting display device includes a pixel area of any luminous color, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention can set the thickness of the hole transport layer and the electron transport layer according to product requirements ([0059] of translation). The thickness of the first and second hole transport layers is therefore a result-effective variable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to vary, through routine optimization, the thickness of the first and second hole transport layers as Cheng has identified the thickness as a result-effective variable. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at the thickness of the first hole transport layer being 10nm to 30nm less than the thickness of the second hole transport layer, in order to tune the cavity effect, as taught by Kim and Cheng. MPEP 2144.05.
Furthermore, the applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the claimed difference in thicknesses is for a particular purpose that is critical to the overall claimed invention (i.e., that the invention would not work without the specific claimed dimensions).
Claims 15-17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et. al. (US 20210074945 A1), hereinafter Kim, in view of Stoessel (US 20240101560 A1), in further view of Cheng et.al. (CN106784354A), hereinafter Cheng, in further view of Mizusaki et. al. (US 20220158111 A1), hereinafter Mizusaki.
Regarding claim 15, Kim as modified in claim 13 fails to teach the hole transport layer comprises a first sub-hole transport layer and a second sub-hole transport layer which are stacked, the first sub-hole transport layer is disposed between the first electrode layer and the light emitting functional layer, the second sub-hole transport layer is disposed between the first sub-hole transport layer and the light emitting functional layer, the first sub-hole transport layer comprises a first sub-layer of the first hole transport layer, a first sub-layer of the second hole transport layer and a first sub-layer of the third hole transport layer respectively located in the first light emitting device, the second light emitting device and the third light emitting device, the second sub-hole transport layer comprises a second sub-layer of the first hole transport layer, a second sub-layer of the second hole transport layer and a second sub-layer of the third hole transport layer respectively located in the first light emitting device, the second light emitting device and the third light emitting device, the first sub-layer of the first hole transport layer and a the second sub-layer of the first hole transport layer constitute the first hole transport layer, the first sub-layer of the second hole transport layer and the second sub-layer of the second hole transport layer constitute the second hole transport layer, and the first sub-layer of the third hole transport layer and the second sub-layer of the third hole transport layer constitute the third hole transport layer.
However, Mizusaki teaches the hole transport layer (Fig 1 layer comprised of first hole transport layer 10 and second hole transport layer 12, [0037] corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B first common layer 131 has hole transporting property, [0090]) comprises a first sub-hole transport layer (Fig 1 first hole transport layer 10, [0037]) and a second sub-hole transport layer (Fig 1 second hole transport layer 12, [0037]) which are stacked (Fig 1), the first sub-hole transport layer (Fig 1 first hole transport layer 10, [0037]) is disposed between the first electrode layer (Fig 2B reflective electrode structure 111, [0069]) and the light emitting functional layer (Fig 1 layer comprising second hole transport layer 12 and light emitting layer 14 corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B OLED structure, [0069]), the second sub-hole transport layer (Fig 1 second hole transport layer 12, [0037]) is disposed between the first sub-hole transport layer (Fig 1 first hole transport layer 10, [0037]) and the light emitting functional layer (Fig 1 layer comprising light emitting layer 14 corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B OLED structure, [0069]), the first sub-hole transport layer (Fig 1 first hole transport layer 10, [0037]) comprises a first sub-layer (Fig 1 first hole transport layer 10, [0037]) of the first hole transport layer (Fig 1 first hole transport layer 10 in 6B, [0037] corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B first common layer 131 in E1), a first sub-layer (Fig 1 first hole transport layer 10, [0037]) of the second hole transport layer (Fig 1 first hole transport layer 10 in 6R, [0037] corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B first common layer 131 in E2) and a first sub-layer (Fig 1 first hole transport layer 10, [0037]) of the third hole transport layer (Fig 1 first hole transport layer 10 in 6G, [0037] corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B first common layer 131 in E3) respectively located in the first light emitting device (Fig 1 6B corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B emission portion E1, [0069]), the second light emitting device (Fig 1 6R corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B emission portion E2, [0069]) and the third light emitting device (Fig 1 6G corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B emission portion E3, [0069]), the second sub-hole transport layer (Fig 1 second hole transport layer 12, [0037]) comprises a second sub-layer (Fig 1 second hole transport layer 12, [0037]) of the first hole transport layer (Fig 1 first hole transport layer 10 in 6B, [0037] corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B first common layer 131 in E1), a second sub-layer (Fig 1 second hole transport layer 12, [0037]) of the second hole transport layer (Fig 1 first hole transport layer 10 in 6R, [0037] corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B first common layer 131 in E2) and a second sub-layer (Fig 1 second hole transport layer 12, [0037]) of the third hole transport layer (Fig 1 first hole transport layer 10 in 6G, [0037] corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B first common layer 131 in E3) respectively located in the first light emitting device (Fig 1 6B corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B emission portion E1, [0069]), the second light emitting device (Fig 1 6R corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B emission portion E2, [0069]) and the third light emitting device (Fig 1 6G corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B emission portion E3, [0069]), the first sub-layer (Fig 1 first hole transport layer 10, [0037]) of the first hole transport layer (Fig 1 layer comprised of first hole transport layer 10 and second hole transport layer 12 in 6B, [0037] corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B first common layer 131 in E1) and a the second sub-layer (Fig 1 second hole transport layer 12, [0037]) of the first hole transport layer (Fig 1 layer comprised of first hole transport layer 10 and second hole transport layer 12 in 6B, [0037] corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B first common layer 131 in E1) constitute the first hole transport layer (Fig 1 layer comprised of first hole transport layer 10 and second hole transport layer 12 in 6B, [0037] corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B first common layer 131 in E1), the first sub-layer (Fig 1 first hole transport layer 10, [0037]) of the second hole transport layer (Fig 1 layer comprised of first hole transport layer 10 and second hole transport layer 12 in 6R, [0037] corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B first common layer 131 in E2) and the second sub-layer (Fig 1 second hole transport layer 12, [0037]) of the second hole transport layer (Fig 1 layer comprised of first hole transport layer 10 and second hole transport layer 12 in 6R, [0037] corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B first common layer 131 in E2) constitute the second hole transport layer (Fig 1 layer comprised of first hole transport layer 10 and second hole transport layer 12 in 6R, [0037] corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B first common layer 131 in E2), and the first sub-layer (Fig 1 first hole transport layer 10, [0037]) of the third hole transport layer (Fig 1 layer comprised of first hole transport layer 10 and second hole transport layer 12 in 6G, [0037] corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B first common layer 131 in E3) and the second sub-layer (Fig 1 second hole transport layer 12, [0037]) of the third hole transport layer (Fig 1 layer comprised of first hole transport layer 10 and second hole transport layer 12 in 6G, [0037] corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B first common layer 131 in E3) constitute the third hole transport layer (Fig 1 layer comprised of first hole transport layer 10 and second hole transport layer 12 in 6G, [0037] corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B first common layer 131 in E3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim, Stoessel, and Cheng to incorporate the teachings of Mizusaki by having a transport layer comprised of a first and second sub-hole transport layer. This would improve the luminous efficiency ([0006]).
Regarding claim 16, Kim as modified in claim 15 teaches thicknesses of the first sub-layer (Mizusaki: Fig 1 first hole transport layer 10, [0037]) of the first hole transport layer (Mizusaki: Fig 1 layer comprised of first hole transport layer 10 and second hole transport layer 12 in 6B, [0037] corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B first common layer 131 in E1), the first sub-layer (Mizusaki: Fig 1 first hole transport layer 10, [0037]) of the second hole transport layer (Mizusaki: Fig 1 layer comprised of first hole transport layer 10 and second hole transport layer 12 in 6R, [0037]) corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B first common layer 131 in E2) and the first sub-layer (Mizusaki: Fig 1 first hole transport layer 10, [0037]) of the third hole transport layer (Mizusaki: Fig 1 layer comprised of first hole transport layer 10 and second hole transport layer 12 in 6G, [0037]) corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B first common layer 131 in E3) are all the same (Mizusaki: Fig 1 formed in common, [022]), and a thickness H12 (Mizusaki: Fig 1 12B) of the second sub-layer (Fig 1 second hole transport layer 12, [0037]) of the first hole transport layer (Mizusaki: Fig 1 layer comprised of first hole transport layer 10 and second hole transport layer 12 in 6B, [0037] corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B first common layer 131 in E1), thickness H22 (Mizusaki: Fig 1 12R) of the second sub-layer (Fig 1 second hole transport layer 12, [0037]) of the second hole transport layer (Mizusaki: Fig 1 layer comprised of first hole transport layer 10 and second hole transport layer 12 in 6R, [0037]) corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B first common layer 131 in E2), and a thickness H32 (Mizusaki: Fig 1 12G) of the second sub-layer (Fig 1 second hole transport layer 12, [0037]) of the third hole transport layer (Mizusaki: Fig 1 layer comprised of first hole transport layer 10 and second hole transport layer 12 in 6G, [0037]) corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B first common layer 131 in E3).
Kim, Stoessel, Cheng and Mizusaki fail to teach H12<H22, H12<H32, 0≤H12<50nm, 0<H22≤50nm, 0<H32≤50nm.
However, Kim teaches using a resonant cavity tuned for a wavelength ([0008]). Cheng teaches the thickness parameters of the hole transport layer include but are not limited to the ranges listed, and when the organic light-emitting display device includes a pixel area of any luminous color, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention can set the thickness of the hole transport layer and the electron transport layer according to product requirements ([0059] of translation). The thickness of the second sub-layer of the hole transport layers is therefore a result-effective variable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to vary, through routine optimization, the thickness of the second sub-layer of the hole transport layers as Cheng has identified the thickness as a result-effective variable. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at thickness of the second sub-layer of the hole transport layers satisfying the conditions of H12<H22, H12<H32, 0≤H12<50nm, 0<H22≤50nm, 0<H32≤50nm, in order to meet the product requirements as taught by Kim and Cheng. MPEP 2144.05.
Furthermore, the applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the claimed conditions for thicknesses is for a particular purpose that is critical to the overall claimed invention (i.e., that the invention would not work without the specific claimed conditions).
Regarding claim 17, Kim as modified in claim 15 teaches a difference (Mizusaki: E4, [0044]) between a band gap (Mizusaki: Figs 4-7) of the second sub-hole transport layer (Fig 1 second hole transport layer 12, [0037]) and a band gap (Mizusaki: Figs 4-7) of the first sub-hole transport layer (Mizusaki: Fig 1 first hole transport layer 10, [0037]) does not exceed 0.25 eV (Mizusaki: Table 1); and/or (optional so not considered) a refractive index of the second sub-hole transport layer is less than a refractive index of the first sub-hole transport layer and a refractive index of the emitting layer.
Regarding claim 19, Kim as modified in claim 13 fails to teach a material of the hole transport layer comprises any one or more of a poly (p-phenylene vinylene) hole transport material, a polythiophene hole transport material, a polysilane hole transport material, a triphenylmethane hole transport material, a triarylamine hole transport material, a hydrazone hole transport material, a pyrazoline hole transport material, a chewazole hole transport material, a carbazole hole transport material and a butadiene hole transport material.
However, Mizusaki teaches a material of the hole transport layer comprises any one or more of a poly (p-phenylene vinylene) hole transport material, a polythiophene hole transport material, a polysilane hole transport material, a triphenylmethane hole transport material, a triarylamine hole transport material, a hydrazone hole transport material, a pyrazoline hole transport material, a chewazole hole transport material, a carbazole hole transport material ([0091]) and a butadiene hole transport material.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim, Stoessel, and Cheng to incorporate the teachings of Mizusaki by have the material of the hole transport layer comprising a carbazole hole transport material. This would ensure carriers are transported more efficiently ([0006]).
Claims 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et. al. (US 20210074945 A1), hereinafter Kim, in view of Stoessel (US 20240101560 A1), in further view of Joo et. al. (US 20210328172 A1), hereinafter Joo.
Regarding claim 20, Kim as modified in claim 1 teaches a display panel (not shown, [0055]), has a plurality of repeated pixel units (Fig 1 emission portion E (P), [0055]), and at least one pixel unit (Fig 1 emission portion E (P), [0055]) comprises a first sub-pixel (Fig 1 first color emission portion E1, [0056]), a second sub-pixel (Fig 1 second color emission portion E1, [0056]), and a third sub-pixel (Fig 1 third color emission portion E1, [0056]) displaying different colors ([0056]), wherein the display panel (not shown, [0055]) comprises the light emitting substrate (Fig 1) according to claim 1.
Kim fails to teach a thin film encapsulation layer, a color conversion layer and a color filter layer; wherein, the first light emitting device of the light emitting substrate is located in the first sub-pixel, the second light emitting device of the light emitting substrate is located in the second sub-pixel, and the third light emitting device of the light emitting substrate is located in the third sub-pixel; the thin film encapsulation layer is disposed at a side of the light emitting substrate away from the first base substrate; the color conversion layer is disposed at a side of the thin film encapsulation layer away from the first base substrate, the color conversion layer comprises a transmission pattern, a first color conversion pattern and a second color conversion pattern, the transmission pattern is located in the first sub-pixel, the first color conversion pattern is located in the second sub-pixel, and the second color conversion pattern is located in the third sub-pixel; the color filter layer is positioned at a side of the color conversion layer away from the first base substrate and at least comprises a first light shielding pattern, a first color filter pattern and a second color filter pattern, the first light shielding pattern defines a plurality of light transmitting areas, and the light transmitting areas comprise a first light transmitting area corresponding to the first sub-pixel, a second light transmitting area corresponding to the second sub-pixel and a third light transmitting area corresponding to the third sub-pixel.
However, Joo teaches a thin film encapsulation layer (Fig 5 thin-film encapsulation layer 400, [0059]), a color conversion layer (Fig 5 layer with quantum conversion layers QD1 and QD2, [0085] and transmission layer TW, [0086]) and a color filter layer (Fig 5 layer with color filter layers CF1, CF2, and CF3, [0130]); wherein, the first light emitting device (Fig 5 P3, [0083] corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B emission portion E1, [0069]) of the light emitting substrate (Fig 5 substrate 100, [0049] corresponds to Kim: Fig 1) is located in the first sub-pixel (Fig 5 P3, [0083] corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B emission portion E1, [0069]), the second light emitting device (Fig 5 P2, [0083] corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B emission portion E2, [0069]) of the light emitting substrate (Fig 5 substrate 100, [0049] corresponds to Kim: Fig 1) is located in the second sub-pixel (Fig 5 P2, [0083] corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B emission portion E2, [0069]), and the third light emitting device (Fig 5 P1, [0083] corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B emission portion E3, [0069]) of the light emitting substrate (Fig 5 substrate 100, [0049] corresponds to Kim: Fig 1) is located in the third sub-pixel (Fig 5 P1, [0083] corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B emission portion E3, [0069]); the thin film encapsulation layer (Fig 5 thin-film encapsulation layer 400, [0059]) is disposed at a side of the light emitting (Fig 5 substrate 100, [0049] corresponds to Kim: Fig 1) substrate away from (Fig 5) the first base substrate (Fig 5 substrate 100, [0049] corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B substrate 100, [0069]); the color conversion layer (Fig 5 layer with quantum conversion layers QD1 and QD2, [0085] and transmission layer TW, [0086]) is disposed at a side of the thin film encapsulation layer (Fig 5 thin-film encapsulation layer 400, [0059]) away from (Fig 5) the first base substrate (Fig 5 substrate 100, [0049] corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B substrate 100, [0069]), the color conversion layer (Fig 5 layer with quantum conversion layers QD1 and QD2, [0085] and transmission layer TW, [0086]) comprises a transmission pattern (Fig 5 transmission layer TW, [0086]), a first color conversion pattern (Fig 5 quantum conversion layer QD2, [0085]) and a second color conversion pattern (Fig 5 quantum conversion layer QD1, [0085]), the transmission pattern (Fig 5 transmission layer TW, [0086]) is located in the first sub-pixel (Fig 5 P3, [0083] corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B emission portion E1, [0069]), the first color conversion pattern (Fig 5 quantum conversion layer QD2, [0085]) is located in the second sub-pixel (Fig 5 P2, [0083] corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B emission portion E2, [0069]), and the second color conversion pattern (Fig 5 quantum conversion layer QD1, [0085]) is located in the third sub-pixel (Fig 5 P1, [0083] corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B emission portion E3, [0069]); the color filter layer (Fig 5 layer with color filter layers CF1, CF2, and CF3, [0130]) is positioned at a side of the color conversion layer (Fig 5 layer with quantum conversion layers QD1 and QD2, [0085] and transmission layer TW, [0086]) away from (Fig 5) the first base substrate (Fig 5 substrate 100, [0049] corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B substrate 100, [0069]) and at least comprises a first light shielding pattern (Fig 5 light blocking pattern 205, [0131]), a first color filter pattern (Fig 5 color filter layer CF2, [0130]) and a second color filter pattern (Fig 5 color filter layer CF1, [0130]), the first light shielding pattern (Fig 5 light blocking pattern 205, [0131]) defines a plurality of light transmitting areas (Fig 5 emission area EA, [0083]), and the light transmitting areas (Fig 5 emission area EA, [0083]) comprise a first light transmitting area (Fig 5 emission area EA, [0083]) corresponding to the first sub-pixel (Fig 5 P3, [0083] corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B emission portion E1, [0069]), a second light transmitting area (Fig 5 emission area EA, [0083]) corresponding to the second sub-pixel (Fig 5 P2, [0083] corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B emission portion E2, [0069]) and a third light transmitting area (Fig 5 emission area EA, [0083]) corresponding to the third sub-pixel (Fig 5 P1, [0083] corresponds to Kim: Fig 2B emission portion E3, [0069]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim and Stoessel to incorporate the teachings of Joo by having a color conversion layer and color filter layer over the sub-pixels. The color conversion layer would allow the conversion of the wavelength of light from the emission layer to the desired wavelength ([0133]). The color filters would improve the color purity ([0130]).
Regarding claim 21, Kim as modified in claim 20 teaches the display panel (Kim: not shown, [0055]) according to claim 20.
Kim fails to teach a display apparatus, a drive integrated circuit, and a power supply circuit.
However, Joo teaches a display apparatus (Fig 1, [0049]), a drive integrated circuit (Fig 1 data driving circuit 60, [0058]), and a power supply circuit (Fig 1 first power supply line 10 and second power supply line 20, [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim and Stoessel to incorporate the teachings of Joo by having a display apparatus, a drive integrated circuit, and a power supply circuit. This would allow for driving the pixels and a package for consumer use ([0002]-[0003]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see 35 USC §112 section on page 10, filed October 16, 2025, with respect to the 35 USC §112 rejection of claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC §112 rejection of claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see first paragraph of 35 USC §103 section on page 13, filed October 16, 2025, with respect to Kim not mentioning photoluminescence spectrum of the emission portion, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the 35 USC §103 rejection of claim 1 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Stoessel. Stoessel teaches a photoluminescence spectrum of the emitter material used in the emission portion.
Applicant's arguments, see first paragraph of 35 USC §103 section on page 14, filed October 16, 2025, with respect to table 2 of Kim being irrelevant to the photoluminescence spectrum, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the 35 USC §103 rejection of claim 1 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Stoessel. Stoessel teaches a photoluminescence spectrum of the emitter material used in the emission portion. Further, Stoessel teaches when the material is incorporated into a light-emitting device, the electroluminescence spectrum of the device is used for comparability among the different wavelengths.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALVIN L LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813