DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 6 and 14 have been cancelled; Claims 1-4, 10 and 15 have been amended; claims 19 and 20 have been newly added; and claims 1-5, 7-13, and 15-20 are currently pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9-10, 15-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 10-2020-0075549 A, hereinafter “Kim”) in view of Kim et al. (KR 2014-0093139 A, hereinafter “Kim’139”) and Kim et al. (KR 102051604 B1, however its equivalent US PG PUB 2020/0194539 A1 is relied upon for the rejection below, hereinafter “Kim’604”)
In regards to claim 1, KIM discloses (Figs. 1, 7, 9 and 10) a display device comprising:
a display panel (32);
a cover shield (31) disposed on a rear surface of the display panel (32);
a magnetic unit (33, See, for example, Par [0057]) disposed on the rear surface of the display panel (32), and having a magnetic property;
a first packaging member (40/31) disposed on a first side surface of the display panel (32) and the cover shield (31);
a second packaging member (40/31) disposed on a second side surface of the display panel (32), the second side surface being an opposite surface to the first side surface;
a third packaging member (40/31) disposed on a third side surface of the display panel (32) and the cover shield (31);
a fourth packaging member (40/31) disposed on a fourth side surface of the display panel (32), the fourth side surface being an opposite surface to the third side surface; and
wherein the first packaging member (40/31), the second packaging member (40/31), the third packaging member (40/31) are disposed to surround (See, for example, Fig. 7) the first to fourth side surfaces of the display panel (32), and the fourth packaging member (40/31) have grooves (See, abstract) at positions corresponding respectively to the first to fourth side surfaces of the display panel (32).
Kim fails to explicitly teach a fixing plate fixing the first packaging member and the second packaging member to the magnetic unit.
Kim’139 while disclosing a display apparatus teaches (See, for example, Fig. 22) a fixing plate (700) fixing the first packaging member and the second packaging member to the magnetic unit (500).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kim by Kim’139 because this would help provide a display device having a thin thickness and excellent visibility.
Kim as modified above is silent about
wherein each of the plurality of magnetic units includes a panel magnet and a panel ferromagnetic material; and wherein the display device is configured to be connected with a plurality of other display devices to form a tiling display device.
Kim’604 while disclosing a display device teaches (See, for example, Figs. 1-4) wherein each of the plurality of magnetic units includes a panel magnet (131-134) and a panel ferromagnetic material (141-144); and wherein the display device is configured to be connected with a plurality of other display devices to form a tiling display device (“Each of the plurality of display devices 100 is attached to the wall portion 200 to be disposed as if it is one display device. For example, the plurality of display devices 100 is attached on the wall portion 200 in the form of tiles to implement the tiling display device TD.”, See Par [0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the magnetic unit of Kim as modified by Kim’139 into a plurality of magnetic units each including a panel magnet and a panel ferromagnetic material of Kim’604 because this would help enable front-side attachment, realignment, and detachment of each tiled display module and to simplify installation, maintenance, and repair.
In regards to claim 2, Kim as modified above discloses (See, for example, Figs. 16/22, Kim’139) a frame (1600) supporting the display panel (100), wherein the magnetic unit (500) is disposed on the frame (1600) and exposed to outside through a hole (H2) of the cover shield (130).
In regards to claim 3, Kim as modified above discloses (See, for example, Figs. 16/22, Kim’139) the fixing plate (700) is fixed to the magnetic unit (500) by the magnetic property of the magnetic unit.
In regards to claim 4, Kim as modified above discloses all limitations of claim 3 except that the fixing plate fixed to the magnetic unit is detached from the magnetic unit by a magnetic force applied from the outside.
The claimed limitation requiring detaching “by a magnetic force applied from the outside” would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention because the prior art already establishes a magnetic force attachment mechanism between the fixing plate and the magnetic unit which would make it obvious to apply an external magnetic force to overcome or counteract the existing magnetic attraction for detaching the fixing plate from the magnetic unit. As a result of this, applying external magnetic force to manipulate magnetic attachment mechanism is within the skill of the ordinary person in the art, and the claimed detachment mechanism is merely an obvious application of the magnetic principles already disclosed in Kim’139.
In regards to claim 5, Kim as modified above discloses (See, for example, Fig. 7, Kim) the first to fourth side surfaces of the display panel (32) are spaced apart (See, “Gap”, annotated Fig. 10(b) attached below) from the first packaging member (40/31), the second packaging member (40/31), the third packaging member (40/31), and the fourth packaging member (40/31), respectively.
In regards to claim 9, Kim as modified above discloses (See, for example, Fig. 7, Kim) the display device is in one of the following states: a first state (note: packaging members 40 are placed on all four sides of the display panel 32) in which the first packaging member (40/31), the second packaging member (40/31), the third packaging member (40/31), and the fourth packaging member (40/31) cover the first to fourth side surfaces of the display panel (32); and a second state in which the first packaging member (40/31), the second packaging member (40/31), the third packaging member (40/31), and the fourth packaging member (40/31) are disposed below the display panel (32).
In regards to claim 10, Kim as modified above (See, for example, Fig. 22, Kim’139) in the first state, the fixing plate (700) is spaced apart from the magnetic unit (500), and in the second state, the fixing plate is in contact with the magnetic unit.
In regards to claim 15, Kim as modified above discloses (See, for example, Fig. 22, Kim’139) that the magnetic unit (500) is located at an edge of the display panel (100).
In regards to claim 16, Kim as modified discloses (See, for example, Fig. 1, 7, 9 and 10) that the display panel (32) is located inside of the grooves (see, for example, abstract) of the first packaging member (40/31), the second packaging member (40/31), the third packaging member (40/31), and the fourth packaging member (40/31).
In regards to claim 19, Kim as modified above discloses (see, for example, Fig. 4, Kim’604) the panel ferromagnetic material (See, for example, 141, 142) is disposed on both sides of the panel magnet (See, for example, 131, 132).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Kim’139 and Kim’604 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (KR 20190064114 A, its US equivalent PG Pub 2021/0202892 A1 is used for the rejection, hereinafter “Kim’892”).
In regards to claim 8, Kim as modified above discloses all limitations of claim 1 except that the-side surfaces of the first packaging member and the second packaging member include inclined protrusions, and side surfaces of the third packaging member and the fourth packaging member have inclined surfaces corresponding to the protrusions.
Kim’892 while disclosing a display device teaches (See, for example, Figs. 4, 6, and 7) the-side surfaces of the first packaging member and the second packaging member include inclined protrusions (31a, see, for example, Fig. 7), and side surfaces of the third packaging member and the fourth packaging member have inclined surfaces (See, for example, Fig. 4 and 6a) corresponding to the protrusions (31a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kim by Kim’892 because the device securely holds both the mainframe and display panel in place, allows the inner plate and display to be easily separated and replaced when needed, and maintaining stability across all environmental conditions including varying temperatures, humidity levels, and over time.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Kim’139 and Kim’604 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Watanabe et al. (US 2017/0293067 A1, hereinafter “Watanabe”).
In regards to claim 17, Kim as modified above discloses all limitations of claim 1 above except that that a protective plate disposed at a rear of the display panel, the protective plate being disposed in the grooves of the first packaging member, the second packaging member, the third packaging member, and the fourth packaging member.
Watanabe while disclosing a display device teaches (See, for example, Figs. 1 and 2) a protective plate (12) disposed at a rear of the display panel (11D), the protective plate (12) being disposed in the grooves (see, 14a) of the first packaging member (14), the second packaging member (14), the third packaging member (14), and the fourth packaging member (14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kim by Watanabe because this would help restrict deterioration of brightness while having a reduction in frame width.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 7 and 18 are allowed over the prior art of record.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
In regards to claim 7, See Office action mailed on 11/25/2025. In regards to claim 18, See, applicant’s remarks filed on 08/29/2025, pp. 7-8.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended limitations of claim are moot in view of the new ground of rejection, and the remaining arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant makes the following arguments:
“The sidewalls of the back cover 31 in Kim are interposed between the alignment members 40 and the side surfaces of the display panel 32. In other words, the alignment members 40 in Kim are separated from the side surfaces of the display panel 32 by the sidewalls of the back cover 31, and thus the alignment members 40 do not face or surround the side surfaces of the display panel 32. The Office Action's position that the alignment members 40 collectively surround the side surfaces of the display panel 32 merely by virtue of being disposed on the exterior of the back cover 31 sidewalls conflates the sidewalls of the back cover 31 with the claimed packaging members, and does not establish that the alignment members 40 themselves surround the side surfaces of the display panel 32, as required by claim 1.” (Remarks pp. 8-9)
This is not persuasive. The rejection does not map the packaging members to alignment members 40 alone. Each packaging member is mapped to the combination of an alignment member and the adjacent sidewall of the back cover (40/31, See the office action mailed 3/6/2026, page 5). The sidewall portions of back cover 31 are therefore part of the claimed packaging members, not something interposed between the packaging members and the display panel. The cover shield is read on the rear (bottom) portion of back cover 31.
Claim 1 uses the open transitional term “comprising.” Nothing in the claim precludes a packaging member from being formed of more than one component.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the four sidewall/alignment member combinations (40/31) lie along the four side surfaces of the display panel (32) and together surround them (See, for example, Figs. 3A, 7).
Even if alignment members 40 alone were considered, Applicant’s specification defines “disposed on” to permit intervening elements. It states that when an element is disposed “on” another element, another element “can be interposed directly on the other element or therebetween.” The claim does not recite that the packaging members are “directly” on, or in contact with, the side surfaces.
“Specifically, in the Claim Rejections section (see page 5 of the Office Action), the Office Action cites merely to the abstract of Kim for the grooves feature, without any discussion of the directional requirement that those grooves be "opposed to" - i.e., positioned at a height corresponding to and directly facing - the side surfaces of the display panel.” (Remarks page 9), and
“In this regard, the "gap" annotated in Fig. 10(b) of Kim as pointed out by the Office Action is not positioned at a height corresponding to the side surface of the display panel 32, and does not oppose the side surface thereof.” (Remarks pp. 9-10).
This is not persuasive. The ”opposed to” limitation is addressed here in full.
Kim discloses a plurality of support grooves (310) formed through each sidewall of back cover 31 that forms part of the packaging members (40/31)(See, for example, Figs. 3A, 5). The support grooves are provided along the sides of the back cover at positions corresponding to the fastening parts arranged around the perimeter of the display panel 32 (See, for example, Figs. 1-2, 7; claim 2).
The grooves open inwardly, toward the interior of back cover 31 in which display panel 32 is received. They therefore face, and are opposed to, the side surfaces of display panel 32 (See, for example, Fig. 3A).
In addition, display panel 32 is inserted into the back cover 31 stepwise, from one support groove to the next, along the insertion (Z) direction (See, for example, Figs. 3-4, 10). In the inserted state, the side surfaces of display panel 32 are received within the sidewalls of back cover 31 and face the sidewall region where grooves 310 are formed. [Examiner: confirm panel position relative to grooves 310 in Figs. 4(a) and 10(b).]
The asserted requirement that the grooves be “positioned at a height corresponding to and directly facing” the side surfaces is not recited in the claim. Limitations from specification are not read into the claims. In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/ERMIAS T WOLDEGEORGIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893