DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments/Remarks
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 04/09/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-10, 12, 14, 16-19, 21-22 and 28 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made Baek et al Patent Application No. :( US 2022/0053455 A1) hereinafter referred as Baek, in view of LI Patent Application No. :( US 2023/0164521 A1) hereinafter referred as LI. This is No Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
17. Claims 1-5, 7-10, 12, 14, 16-19, 21-22 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable over Baek et al Patent Application No. :( US 2022/0053455 A1) hereinafter referred as Baek, in view of LI Patent Application No. :( US 2023/0164521 A1) hereinafter referred as LI.
For claim 1, Baek comprises a method for providing Multicast Broadcast (MB) service in a local service area, the method comprising:
a) determining that a terminal device is out of the local service area (Paragraph [0132], lines 1-5 discloses the local Multicast Broadcast (MBS) service moves out of the local MBS area (operation 315), the UE 30 may no longer receive the local MBS service ) and;
c) notifying the terminal device that the MB session is unavailable (Paragraph [0176], lines 1-7). However, Baek disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the “as a result of determining that the terminal device is out of the local service area, removing the terminal device from an MB session” as recited in claim 1.
Li from the same or analogous art teaches the as a result of determining that the terminal device is out of the local service area, removing the terminal device from an MB session (Paragraph [0015], lines 4-17). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the as a result of determining that the terminal device is out of the local service area, removing the terminal device from an MB session as taught by Li into the method and device for providing local MBS in wireless communication system of Baek.
The as a result of determining that the terminal device is out of the local service area, removing the terminal device from an MB session can be modify/implemented by combining the as a result of determining that the terminal device is out of the local service area, removing the terminal device from an MB session with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Li into the method and device for providing local MBS in wireless communication system of Baek. As disclosed in Li, the motivation for the combination would be to use the remove the terminal device from an MB session when the terminal device is out of the local service that will help to manage the communication more efficiently.
For claim 2, Baek comprises the method, wherein the step
a) comprises:
comparing a location of the terminal device with location-related criteria for the local service area to determine whether the terminal device is out of the local service area (Paragraph [0132], lines 1-5).
For claim 3, Baek comprises the method, further comprising: as a result of determining that the terminal device is out of the local service area, notifying a Radio Access Network (RAN) node that the terminal device is out of the local service area or the terminal device shall be removed from the MB session (Paragraph [0136]-[0138], lines 1-6).
For claim 4, Baek comprises the method, wherein the step
a) comprises: sending to a RAN node a request for setting up MB session resource, the request for setting up MB session resource including location-related criteria for the local service area (see 215 fig 2b) (Paragraph [0106], lines 1-8); and receiving from the RAN node a message that the terminal device is out of the local service area or the terminal device shall be removed from the MB session (see 222d, 222f, 223a and 223f fig 2b) and (Paragraph [0121], lines 1-10).
For claim 5, Baek comprises the method, wherein the step
a) comprises: during a handover from a source RAN node to a target RAN node, in response to a MB Session Command from the target RAN node (Paragraph [0132], lines 1-5), comparing a location of the terminal device with location-related criteria for the local service area to determine whether the terminal device is out of the local service area (Paragraph [0121], lines 1-10).
For claim 7, Baek comprises the method, wherein the step
a) comprises: before a handover from a source RAN node to a target RAN node, receiving from the source RAN node a message that the terminal device is out of the local service area or the terminal device shall be removed from the MB session (Paragraph [0132], lines 1-5) and (Paragraph [0138], lines 1-6).
For claim 8, Baek disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the a) comprises: during a handover from a source RAN node to a target RAN node, sending to the target RAN node a request for setting up MB session resource, the request for setting up MB session resource including location-related criteria for the local service area; and receiving from the target RAN node a message that the terminal device is out of the local service area or the terminal device shall be removed from the MB session as recited in claim 8.
Li from the same or analogous art teaches the a) comprises: during a handover from a source RAN node to a target RAN node, sending to the target RAN node a request for setting up MB session resource (see figure 14 S1402-S1404) (paragraphs [0515]-[0517], line 1), the request for setting up MB session resource including location-related criteria for the local service area (paragraphs [0518]-[0521]; and receiving from the target RAN node a message that the terminal device is out of the local service area or the terminal device shall be removed from the MB session (paragraphs [0375] and [0539], lines 1-8). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the a) comprises: during a handover from a source RAN node to a target RAN node, sending to the target RAN node a request for setting up MB session resource, the request for setting up MB session resource including location-related criteria for the local service area; and receiving from the target RAN node a message that the terminal device is out of the local service area or the terminal device shall be removed from the MB session as taught by Li into the method and device for providing local MBS in wireless communication system of Baek.
The a) comprises: during a handover from a source RAN node to a target RAN node, sending to the target RAN node a request for setting up MB session resource, the request for setting up MB session resource including location-related criteria for the local service area; and receiving from the target RAN node a message that the terminal device is out of the local service area or the terminal device shall be removed from the MB session can be modify/implemented by combining the a) comprises: during a handover from a source RAN node to a target RAN node, sending to the target RAN node a request for setting up MB session resource, the request for setting up MB session resource including location-related criteria for the local service area; and receiving from the target RAN node a message that the terminal device is out of the local service area or the terminal device shall be removed from the MB session with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Li into the method and device for providing local MBS in wireless communication system of Baek. As disclosed in Li, the motivation for the combination would be to use the handover that includes location-related criteria for the local service area when the terminal device is out of the local service area from the MB session becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 9, Baek comprises the method, wherein the step
a) comprises: during a handover from a source RAN node to a target RAN node, comparing a location of the terminal device with location-related criteria for the local service area to determine whether the terminal device is out of the local service area (Paragraph [0138]-[0139], lines 1-5).
For claim 10, Baek comprises the method, wherein at the step
c), the notifying is performed by requesting a target node configured to manage access and mobility to notify the terminal device that the MB session is unavailable after the handover or upon determining that the terminal device is out of the local service area, or the notifying is performed by sending to the terminal device a message that the MB session is unavailable (Paragraphs [0046] and [0166], lines 1-7).
For claim 12, Baek comprises the method, wherein the location-related criteria is derived from local service area information included in an MB Session announcement or an Allocate Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI) Request sent from an Application Function (AF) node to a Network Exposure Function/MB Service Function (NEF/MBSF) node, and the local service area information is represented as one of the following lists or the combination thereof: a cell Id list, a Gnode BId list, a tracking area list, a geographic area list, a civic address list, or a service area list (Paragraphs [0134]-[0136], lines 1-8).
For claim 14, Baek comprises an apparatus for providing Multicast Broadcast (MB) service in a local service area, the apparatus in comprising: a storage device configured to store a computer program comprising computer instructions; and a processor coupled to the storage device and configured to execute the computer instructions to perform the method of claim1 (Paragraph [0151], lines 1-8).
For claim 16, Baek comprises a method for providing Multicast Broadcast (MB) service in a local service area, the method comprising:
a) determining whether a terminal device is out of the local service area (Paragraph [0132], lines 1-5 discloses the local MBS service moves out of the local MBS area (operation 315), the UE 30 may no longer receive the local MBS service ); and
c) notifying a node configured to manage access and mobility that the terminal device is out of the local service area or the terminal device shall be removed from the MB session (Paragraph [0176], lines 1-7). However, Baek disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the “as a result of determining that the terminal device is out of the local service area, removing the terminal device from an MB session” as recited in claim 16.
Li from the same or analogous art teaches the as a result of determining that the terminal device is out of the local service area, removing the terminal device from an MB session (Paragraph [0015], lines 4-17). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the as a result of determining that the terminal device is out of the local service area, removing the terminal device from an MB session as taught by Li into the method and device for providing local MBS in wireless communication system of Baek.
The as a result of determining that the terminal device is out of the local service area, removing the terminal device from an MB session can be modify/implemented by combining the as a result of determining that the terminal device is out of the local service area, removing the terminal device from an MB session with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Li into the method and device for providing local MBS in wireless communication system of Baek. As disclosed in Li, the motivation for the combination would be to use the remove the terminal device from an MB session when the terminal device is out of the local service that will help to manage the communication more efficiently.
For claim 17, Baek comprises the method, wherein the step
a) comprises: receiving a request for setting up MB session resource from the node configured to manage access and mobility, the request for setting up MB session resource including location-related criteria for the local service area (see 215 fig 2b) (Paragraph [0106], lines 1-8); comparing a location of the terminal device with the location-related criteria to determine whether the terminal device is out of the local service area (see 222d, 222f, 223a and 223f fig 2b) and (Paragraph [0121], lines 1-10).
For claim 18, Baek comprises the method, wherein the step
a) comprises: before or during a handover from the RAN node to a target RAN node, determining whether the terminal device will be out of the local service area after the handover, wherein the node configured to manage access and mobility is a source RAN node (Paragraph [0138]-[0139], lines 1-5).
For claim 19, Baek comprises the method, wherein the location-related criteria is derived from local service area information included in an MB Session announcement or an Allocate Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI) Request sent from an Application Function (AF) node to a Network Exposure Function/MB Service Function (NEF/MBSF) node, and the local service area information is represented as one of the following lists or the combination thereof: a cell Id list, a gnode BId list, a tracking area list, a geographic area list, a civic address list, or a service area list (Paragraphs [0134]-[0136], lines 1-8).
For claim 21, Baek comprises a method for providing Multicast Broadcast (MB) service in a local service area, the method comprising:
a) receiving from a node configured to manage access and mobility a message (Paragraph [00012], lines 1-10) and (Paragraph [0018], lines 1-5)
b) determining, based on information included in the message, that the terminal device is out of the local service area or the terminal device shall be removed from an MB session (Paragraph [0132], lines 1-5 discloses the local MBS service moves out of the local MBS area (operation 315), the UE 30 may no longer receive the local MBS service ). However, Baek disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the “as a result of determining that the terminal device is out of the local service area or the terminal device shall be removed from an MB session, removing the terminal device from the MB session” as recited in claim 21.
Li from the same or analogous art teaches the as a result of determining that the terminal device is out of the local service area or the terminal device shall be removed from an MB session, removing the terminal device from the MB session (Paragraph [0015], lines 4-17). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the as a result of determining that the terminal device is out of the local service area or the terminal device shall be removed from an MB session, removing the terminal device from the MB session as taught by Li into the method and device for providing local MBS in wireless communication system of Baek.
The as a result of determining that the terminal device is out of the local service area or the terminal device shall be removed from an MB session, removing the terminal device from the MB session can be modify/implemented by combining the as a result of determining that the terminal device is out of the local service area or the terminal device shall be removed from an MB session, removing the terminal device from the MB session with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Li into the method and device for providing local MBS in wireless communication system of Baek. As disclosed in Li, the motivation for the combination would be to use the remove the terminal device from an MB session when the terminal device is out of the local service that will help to manage the communication more efficiently.
For claim 22, Baek comprises an apparatus for providing Multicast Broadcast (MB) service in a local service area, be characterized in comprising: a storage device configured to store a computer program comprising computer instructions; and a processor coupled to the storage device and configured to execute the computer instructions to perform (Claims 22 has been analyzed and rejected with the same rationale as claim 16 applied above).
For claim 28, Baek comprises an apparatus for providing Multicast Broadcast (MB) service in a local service area, be characterized in comprising: a storage device configured to store a computer program comprising computer instructions; and a processor coupled to the storage device and configured to execute the computer instructions (Paragraph [0151], lines 1-8).
Claim 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable over Baek et al Patent Application No. :( US 2022/0053455 A1) hereinafter referred as Baek, in view of LI Patent Application No. :( US 2023/0164521 A1) hereinafter referred as LI, in further view of Nandy Patent Application No. :( US 2019/0238569 A1) hereinafter referred as Nandy.
For claim 6, Baek disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the prohibiting the terminal device from joining the MB session by not sending a MB Session Join message to the to a target RAN node as recited in claim 6.
Nandy from the same or analogous art teaches the multicast source device in the blacklist of multicast source devices, including blocking (at 308) multicast traffic data of each such multicast source device. Blocking a multicast traffic data of a multicast source device can refer to dropping the multicast traffic data or otherwise not processing the multicast traffic data. The processor 404 include a multicast communication restriction task 406 to apply a restriction on multicast communication associated with an entity on the interface 402. The multicast communication restriction task includes a multicast communication pattern detecting task 408 to detect, on the interface 402, a multicast communication pattern associated with the entity. The multicast communication restriction task 406 additionally includes a blocking task 412 to block processing of the multicast communication associated with the entity in response to indicating that the entity is malicious (Paragraphs [0060] and [0063], lines 4-17). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the prohibiting the terminal device from joining the MB session by not sending a MB Session Join message to the to a target RAN node as taught by Nandy into the method and device for providing local MBS in wireless communication system of Baek.
The prohibiting the terminal device from joining the MB session by not sending a MB Session Join message to the to a target RAN node can be modify/implemented by combining the prohibiting the terminal device from joining the MB session by not sending a MB Session Join message to the to a target RAN node with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Nandy into the method and device for providing local MBS in wireless communication system of Baek. As disclosed in Li, the motivation for the combination would be to use the prohibiting the terminal device from joining the MB session by blocking the communication. One skilled in the art know that if a block communication is generated any communication message is delivered, helping to manage the communication more efficiently.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH AREVALO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642