DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 08/28/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Examiner notes the following amendments made in the most recent edition of the claims:
Claims 1-2, 4-10, and 15-18 amended
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 4-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Specifically, the previous office action was an allowance due to the fact that at the time there was no discovered art which taught all of the limitations of amended claim 1, specifically regarding the composition taught by formula 1. However, after reviewing the IDS submitted on 08/28/2026 along with additional search and consideration, examiner cites Shin (KR10-2018-0095688, US 20210210787 A1 used as translation), which teaches the use of a composition meeting all of the limitations of formula 1 from amended claim 1. Shin, in combination with the previously cited references, teaches all of the limitations of amended claim 1. Since no arguments are presented in the previous correspondence regarding the patentability of the dependent claims other than their dependence on claim 1, the rejections of those claims from the most recent rejection is maintained and unchanged other than being further in view of Shin. Thus, there is currently not considered to be any allowable subject matter present in the claims. Examiner acknowledges that Shin is from the same inventors/assignee as the instant invention, and is only published 10 months before the instant invention. However, examiner believes it qualifies under 102(a)(1) since there has not been a translation of FP docs, and additionally under 102(a)(2) since the inventorship is not the same, and the inventive concept of the prior art is overall different, it just happens to teach a composition meeting the limitations of formula one.
Examiner further rejects claims 1-2, 4-18 in view of Kobayashi (JPH08295715A), which also teaches the limitations of amended claim 1 regarding formula 1, and does not come from the same assignee/inventors. Rejections of all pending claims are provided below both further in view of Shin and further in view of Kobayashi.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20160126591 A1) in view of Shin (KR10-2018-0095688, US 20210210787 A1 used as translation), and further in view of Kushida (US 20200243903 A1). Examiner notes that Shin shares an inventor(s) with the instant application, but was published prior to the earliest filing date as the instant application, and therefore can be used as prior art under 35 USC 102 (a)(1) unless a statement of common ownership is provided.
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches the following elements: Specifically, Zhang teaches a precursor composition containing a lithium salt, a non-aqueous organic solvent, an initiator, an oligomer, and an additional monomer additive. While Zhang does not teach the specific compounds used in the instant application, it teaches analogous compounds used for the same purpose, which then can be substituted with similar compounds from other pieces of prior art, such as the oligomer of Shin and the fluorinated monomer of Kushida, in order to provide the claimed invention:
A precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte, the precursor composition comprising: a lithium salt, a non-aqueous organic solvent, (“A precursor material is polymerized (gelled) in the presence of an electrolyte material. A liquid electrolyte material is illustratively a carbonate based electrolyte. Illustratively, the liquid electrolyte material optionally includes a lithium salt and a non-aqueous organic solvent.” Zhang [0024])
a polymerization initiator, an oligomer (“Illustrative components of a precursor material include a monomer or oligomer and an initiator, and optionally a crosslinking agent.” Zhang [0020]) and a compound (“The precursor material optionally includes a flame retardant additive, a current collector protection agent, a protection agent, or any combination thereof.” Zhang [0012])
wherein the oligomer and the compound are included in a weight ratio of 1:0.01 to 1:4: (“Illustratively, a flame retardant is provided at a concentration of 5% to 50%, or any value or range therebetween relative to the precursor materials.” Zhang [0031]. In this case, if the oligomer is considered to be the precursor material, as implied in paragraph [0027], then including the flame retardant additive, i.e. the compound represented by formula 2, in the range of 5 to 50% based on the oligomer, would anticipate the claimed range regarding the ratio between oligomer and compound. When combined with Shin and Kushida to include the specific oligomer and compound as claimed, all of the limitations of claim 1 would be met.)
Zhang is silent on the following elements of claim 1:
an oligomer represented by Formula 1,
[Formula1]:
wherein, in Formula 1, R, R1, and R2 are each independently an alkylene group having 1 to 5 carbon atoms, A and A' are each independently a unit containing one or more (meth)acrylate groups, B is a unit represented by formula B-1, and n, m, and k are the numbers of repeating units, wherein n is an integer of 1 to 10,000, m is an integer of 2 to 1,000, and k is an integer of 1 to 100.
Formula B-1
wherein, in Formula B-1, R' is an unsubstituted or substituted alkylene group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms, an unsubstituted or substituted cycloalkylene group having 3 to 10 carbon atoms, an unsubstituted or substituted bicycloalkylene group having 6 to 20 carbon atoms, or an unsubstituted or substituted arylene group having 6 to 20 carbon atoms,
and a compound represented by Formula 2, [Formula 2]:
wherein, in Formula 2, R3 is -CR5=CH2 (wherein, RS is hydrogen or an alkyl group having 1 to 3 carbon atoms) or -R6-CF3 (wherein, R6 is an alkylene group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms substituted with at least one fluorine element), R4 is an alkylene group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms unsubstituted or substituted with at least one fluorine, p is an integer of 0 or 1, and when R3 is -R6-CF3, p is 0, and R4 is an alkyl group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms unsubstituted with fluorine.
Shin teaches the following elements of claim 1:
an oligomer represented by Formula 1,
[Formula1]:
wherein, in Formula 1, R, R1, and R2 are each independently an alkylene group having 1 to 5 carbon atoms, A and A' are each independently a unit containing one or more (meth)acrylate groups, B is a unit represented by formula B-1, and n, m, and k are the numbers of repeating units, wherein n is an integer of 1 to 10,000, m is an integer of 2 to 1,000, and k is an integer of 1 to 100.
Formula B-1
wherein, in Formula B-1, R' is an unsubstituted or substituted alkylene group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms, an unsubstituted or substituted cycloalkylene group having 3 to 10 carbon atoms, an unsubstituted or substituted bicycloalkylene group having 6 to 20 carbon atoms, or an unsubstituted or substituted arylene group having 6 to 20 carbon atoms, (Shin formula 2a-1 on page 7 meets all of the above limitations. Specifically, it teaches a structure that meets all of the structural limitations of formula 1 above, including the use of formula B-1 at the B portion, and where the m value can be in the range of 2-1000. See below for comparison between Shin formula 2a-1 vs the instant specification.)
Shin and Zhang are silent on the following elements of claim 1:
and a compound represented by Formula 2, [Formula 2] wherein, in Formula 2, R3 is -CR5=CH2 (wherein, RS is hydrogen or an alkyl group having 1 to 3 carbon atoms) or -R6-CF3 (wherein, R6 is an alkylene group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms which is substituted with at least one fluorine element), R4 is an alkylene group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms which is unsubstituted or substituted with at least one fluorine, p is an integer of 0 or 1, and when R3 is -R6-CF3, p is 0, and R4 is an alkyl group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms which is unsubstituted with fluorine.
However, Kushida teaches the use of a compound identical to that claimed in claim 1 (and more specifically, claim 9) used in a polymer electrolyte:
and a compound represented by Formula 2, [Formula 2]
wherein, in Formula 2, R3 is -CR5=CH2 (wherein, RS is hydrogen or an alkyl group having 1 to 3 carbon atoms) or -R6-CF3 (wherein, R6 is an alkylene group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms which is substituted with at least one fluorine element), R4 is an alkylene group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms which is unsubstituted or substituted with at least one fluorine, p is an integer of 0 or 1, and when R3 is -R6-CF3, p is 0, and R4 is an alkyl group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms which is unsubstituted with fluorine. (The compound represented by A-39 on page 13 of Kushida matches the formula provided in formula 2, and more specifically, that of formula 2-5 provided in claim 9. By meeting the limitations of dependent claim 9, this formula must also meet those of formula 2 in claim 1. “Examples of the monomer used for polymerization of the binder in the present invention are shown below, but the present invention is not limited thereto. n represents an integer of 1 to 80.” Kushida [0148]. By using the claimed compound as a binder within a polymer electrolyte, it would therefore be obvious to include this compound in the polymer electrolyte of Zhang.)
Shin and Kushida are considered to be analogous to Zhang because they are all within the same field of polymer electrolytes for usage in electrochemical devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the precursor composition of Zhang to include both the oligomer or Shin and the fluorinated compound of Kushida, as they are both known materials in the art for being used in polymer electrolytes, the former as an oligomer to be polymerized with an initiator, and the latter being used as a binder. This provides a case of obviousness for the modification of Zhang, as the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding claims 2-7, 9-12, the only modifications required to meet all of the additional limitations are to use specific compositions and quantities of the oligomer of Shin and monomer of Kushida, which both would not require any further motivation than what is required to meet claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang is silent on the following elements:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein, in Formula 1, the units A and A' are each independently at least one selected from units represented by Formulae A-1 to A-6: [Formula A-1]
[Formula A-2]
[Formula A-3]
[Formula A-4]
[Formula A-5]
[Formula A-6]
However, Shin teaches all of the elements of claim 2 that are not found in Zhang. Specifically, Shin teaches the same units to be used at the end of the oligomer to be polymerized in the polymer electrolyte:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein, in Formula 1, the units A and A' are each independently at least one selected from units represented by Formulae A-1 to A-6: [Formula A-1] (Shin formula 2a-1, among its other formulae, includes an A and A’ that include the units included in formulae A-1 to A-6, thus meeting all of the additional limitations of claim 2.
).
[Formula A-2]
[Formula A-3]
[Formula A-4]
[Formula A-5]
[Formula A-6]
Regarding claim 4, Zhang is silent on the following elements:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 3, wherein R' is at least one selected from units represented by Formulae R'-1 to R'-6: [Formula R'-1]
[Formula R'-2]
[Formula R'-3]
[Formula R'-4]
[Formula R'-5]
[Formula R'-6]
However, Shin teaches all of the elements of claim 4 not found in Zhang. Specifically, Shin teaches a composition containing the claimed units of claim 4:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 3, wherein R' is at least one selected from units represented by Formulae R'-1 to R'-6: [Formula R'-1] (Shin formula 2a-1 includes a unit that is equivalent to formula R’-2 in the above claim, thus meeting all of the limitation of claim 4 that are not found in Zhang. See above for Shin formula 2a-1 structure.)
[Formula R'-2]
[Formula R'-3]
[Formula R'-4]
[Formula R'-5]
[Formula R'-6]
Regarding claim 5, Zhang is silent on the following elements:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the oligomer is represented by Formula 1A:
Formula 1A:
wherein, in formula 1A, R, R’, R1, R1, A, A’, n, m, and k are as defined in Formula 1:
However, Shin teaches all of the elements of claim 5 that are not found in Zhang:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the oligomer is represented by Formula 1A: (Shin formula 2a-1, as shown above, depicts an oligomer that is the same as that required by claim 5. Additionally, R, R’, R1, R2, A, A’, n, m, and k are all met, also as described above in claim 1.)
Formula 1A:
wherein, in formula 1A, R, R’, R1, R2, A, A’, n, m, and k are as defined in Formula 1:
Regarding claim 6, Zhang is silent on the following elements:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the oligomer is represented by Formula 1A-1:[Formula 1A-1]
wherein, in Formula 1A-1, n1, m1, and k1 are the numbers of repeating units, wherein n1 is an integer of 1 to 10,000, m1 is an integer of 2 to 1,000, and k1 is an integer of 1 to 100, a and a' are each independently an integer of 1 or 2, and b and b' are each independently an integer of 1 to 3.
However, Shin teaches all of the elements of claim 5 that are not found in Zhang:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the oligomer is represented by Formula 1A-1:[Formula 1A-1]
wherein, in Formula 1A-1, n1, m1, and k1 are the numbers of repeating units, wherein n1 is an integer of 1 to 10,000, m1 is an integer of 2 to 1,000, and k1 is an integer of 1 to 100, a and a' are each independently an integer of 1 or 2, and b and b' are each independently an integer of 1 to 3. (Shin formula 2a-1, as shown above, meets all of the additional limitations of claim 6, including the amended integer for m1, as well as the rest of the structure. Thus, all of the limitations of claim 6 are met.)
Regarding claim 7, Zhang teaches all of the following elements:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the oligomer is included in an amount of 0.1 wt% to 30 wt% based on a total weight of the precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte. (“The precursor materials are added to an electrolyte material at a concentration of between 1 wt % to 20 wt %” Zhang [0027] and “Without being limited to one particular theory, when greater than 10% monomer is present, it becomes difficult to obtain full polymerization leaving excess monomer in the gel.” Zhang [0027]—this implies that the wt% of precursor is referring to the amount of monomer or oligomer present in the overall electrolyte composition, which would anticipate the claimed limitation.)
Regarding claim 9, Zhang is silent on the following elements:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the compound represented by Formula 2 is at least one compound selected from the group consisting of compounds represented by Formulae 2-1 to 2-8: [Formula 2-1]
[Formula 2-2]
[Formula 2-3]
[Formula 2-4]
[Formula 2-5]
[Formula 2-6]
[Formula 2-7]
[Formula 2-8]
However, Kushida teaches all of the elements of claim 9 that are not found in Zhang. Specifically, Kushida teaches a compound identical to formula 2-5 of claim 9.
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the compound represented by Formula 2 is at least one compound selected from the group consisting of compounds represented by Formulae 2-1 to 2-8: [Formula 2-1]
[Formula 2-2]
[Formula 2-3]
[Formula 2-4]
[Formula 2-5]
[Formula 2-6]
[Formula 2-7]
[Formula 2-8]
(The compound represented by A-39 on page 13 of Kushida matches the formula provided in formula 2, and more specifically, that of formula 2-5 provided in claim 9. By meeting the limitations of dependent claim 9, this formula must also meet those of formula 2 in claim 1. “Examples of the monomer used for polymerization of the binder in the present invention are shown below, but the present invention is not limited thereto. n represents an integer of 1 to 80.” Kushida [0148]. By using the claimed compound as a binder within a polymer electrolyte, it would therefore be obvious to include this compound in the polymer electrolyte of Zhang.)
Regarding claim 10, Zhang is silent on the following elements:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the compound represented by Formula 2 is included in an amount of 0.01 wt% to 40 wt% based on a total weight of the precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte.
However, Kushida teaches all of the elements of claim 10 not found in Zhang. Specifically, Kushida teaches a range of the weight % of the compound represented by formula 2 which anticipates the claimed range:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the compound represented by Formula 2 is included in an amount of 0.01 wt% to 40 wt% based on a total weight of the precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte. (“a content of the binder (B) used in the present invention in the solid electrolyte composition is preferably 0.01% by mass or more, more preferably, 0.1% by mass or more, and still more preferably 1% by mass or more with respect to 100% by mass of the solid component. From the viewpoint of battery characteristics, the upper limit is preferably 10% by mass or less, more preferably 5% by mass or less, and still more preferably 3% by mass or less.” Kushida [0157] and “a polymer constituting the binder (B)” Kushida [0010]. Based on this, the binder consists of the polymer, and since the polymer of Kushida can be formed from a monomer having the same composition of formula 2 in the instant application, the range of the total weight of compound 2 based on the total weight of the polymer electrolyte anticipates the claimed range.)
Regarding claim 11, Zhang teaches all of the following elements:
A polymer electrolyte prepared by using the precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1. (“A process includes providing a substrate such as electrode, a separator, or both and contacting the substrate with a precursor material and a first electrolyte material including one or more lithium salts. The precursor material is subject to polymerizing for a polymerization time to form a gel in contact with the substrate. A precursor material includes one or more components that are incorporated into or form a gel electrolyte material.” Zhang [0020])
Regarding claim 12, Zhang teaches all of the following elements:
A lithium secondary battery comprising a positive electrode; a negative electrode; a separator disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode; and the polymer electrolyte of claim 11. (“Methods of forming a gel electrolyte for an electrochemical cell are provided. The invention has utility for improving the performance and safety of secondary batteries such as lithium ion batteries.” Zhang [0019] and “Some embodiments of a formation process include polymerizing through the use of thermal curing or ultraviolet curing. The substrate is optionally an electrode, a separator, or a combination of an electrode or electrodes and separator material(s). The separator is optionally included before the polymerization process with the precursor material or after the polymerization process. Optionally, an electrode includes a cathode material including a lithium metal oxide, or a lithium metal phosphate. Optionally, an electrode includes an anode material of or including: graphite; silicon; a transition metal oxide; or combination thereof.” Zhang [0012]. These teach that the polymer electrolyte of Zhang can be used in a secondary battery containing a cathode, anode, and separator.)
Regarding claim 13, Zhang teaches all of the following elements:
A polymer electrolyte including a polymerized product of the precursor composition of claim 1. (“A precursor material is polymerized (gelled) in the presence of an electrolyte material. A liquid electrolyte material is illustratively a carbonate based electrolyte. Illustratively, the liquid electrolyte material optionally includes a lithium salt and a non-aqueous organic solvent. A lithium salt is optionally LiPF.sub.6, LiBF.sub.4, LiSbF.sub.6, LiAsF.sub.6, LiN(SO.sub.2C.sub.2F.sub.5).sub.2, Li(CF.sub.3SO.sub.2).sub.2N, LiN(SO.sub.3C.sub.2F.sub.5).sub.2, LiC.sub.4F.sub.9SO.sub.3, LiClO.sub.4, LiAlO.sub.2, LiAlCl.sub.4, LiCl, LiI, or LiB(C.sub.2O.sub.4).sub.2 (lithium bis(oxalato)borate; LiBOB). The lithium salt is optionally present in a concentration of 0.1, 0.2, 0.3, 0.4, 0.5, 0.6, 0.7, 0.8, 0.9, 1.0, 1.1, 1.2, 1.3, 1.4, 1.5, 1.6, 1.7, 1.8, 1.9, or 2.0 M. Optionally, a lithium salt concentration ranges from about 0.1 M to about 2.0 M or any value or range therebetween. When the lithium salt is included at the above concentration range, an electrolyte may have excellent performance and lithium ion mobility due to optimal electrolyte conductivity and viscosity.” Zhang [0024]. By modifying Zhang to meet the limitations of claim 1, the additional limitations of claim 13 would also be met.)
Regarding claim 14, Zhang teaches all of the following elements:
A lithium secondary battery comprising a positive electrode; a negative electrode; a separator disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode; and the polymer electrolyte of claim 13. (“The cathode and anode were stacked with a separator of porous polyethylene (20 μm thick) and vacuum dried at 70° C. for 2 days before transferring to a glove box. A gel electrolyte precursor material is formed” Zhang [0039] and “A substrate is optionally an electrode, a separator, or both. Any electrode or separator material known for use in batteries, optionally lithium ion secondary batteries, may be used” Zhang [0021]. Zhang teaches the formation of a lithium ion secondary battery comprising a positive electrode, cathode, separator, and polymer electrolyte. Thus, by using the modified electrolyte meeting the limitations of claim 1, the additional limitations of claim 14 would all be met via the teachings of Zhang.)
Regarding claim 15, Zhang is silent on the following elements:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the oligomer
wherein, in
However, Shin teaches all of the elements of claim 15 that are not found in Zhang:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the oligomer
wherein, in 2 to 1,000, and k2 is an integer of 1 to 100. (Shin formula 2b-1 teaches all of the elements required by claim 15. Thus, by modifying Zhang with Shin, all of the elements of claim 15 regarding the oligomer used to prepare the polymer electrolyte would be met.)
Regarding claim 18, Zhang is silent on the following elements:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the compound includes a compound represented by Formula 2-7:
However, Kushida meets all of the limitations of claim 18 that are not found in Zhang:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the compound includes a compound represented by Formula 2-7: (Formula A-42 of Kushida is the exact structure as required by formula 2-7 in the instant claims. Thus, by modifying Zhang to include this compound, as taught by Kushida, all of the limitations of claim 18 would be met.)
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20160126591 A1) in view of Shin (KR10-2018-0095688, US 20210210787 A1 used as translation), further in view of Kushida (US 20200243903 A1), and further in view of Hwang (US 20130136998 A1)
Regarding claim 8, Zhang, Shin, and Kushida are silent on the following elements:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein, in Formula 2, R3 is -CRS=CH2 (wherein, R5 is hydrogen or an alkyl group having 1 to 3 carbon atoms) or -R6-CF3 (wherein, R6 is an alkylene group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms which is substituted with at least one fluorine element), R4 is an alkylene group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms which is unsubstituted or substituted with at least one fluorine, p is an integer of 0 or 1, and, when R3 is -R6-CF3, p is 0, and R4 is an alkyl group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms which is unsubstituted with fluorine.
(depiction of formula 2, provided in claim 1)
However, Hwang teaches all of the elements of claim 8 that are not found in Zhang, Shin, or Kushida. Specifically, Hwang teaches 2,2,2-trifluoroethyl acrylate as a monomer to be used in a polymer electrolyte.
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein, in Formula 2, R3 is -CRS=CH2 (wherein, R5 is hydrogen or an alkyl group having 1 to 3 carbon atoms) or -R6-CF3 (wherein, R6 is an alkylene group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms which is substituted with at least one fluorine element), R4 is an alkylene group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms which is unsubstituted or substituted with at least one fluorine, p is an integer of 0 or 1, and, when R3 is -R6-CF3, p is 0, and R4 is an alkyl group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms which is unsubstituted with fluorine. (“The acrylate monomer of Formula 3 above may include at least one selected from the group consisting of methyl acrylate, methyl methacrylate, ethyl acrylate, ethyl methacrylate, propyl acrylate, propyl methacrylate, butyl acrylate, butyl methacrylate, hexyl acrylate, hexyl methacrylate, ethylhexyl acrylate, ethylhexyl methacrylate, 2,2,2-trifluoroethyl acrylate” Hwang [0082]. As seen below, the structure of Hwang can be identical to that described in claim 8,as 2,2,2 trifluoroethyl acrylate meets all of the claimed limitations of claim 8.)
Hwang is considered to be analogous to Zhang and Kushida because they are all within the same field of polymer electrolytes for electrochemical devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fluorinated monomer of Kushida to use that of Hwang instead, as they are both known acrylate monomers used in polymer electrolytes, and it would only require a simple substitution of one with the other to achieve the same effect—the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20160126591 A1) in view of Shin (KR10-2018-0095688, US 20210210787 A1 used as translation), further in view of Kushida (US 20200243903 A1), and further in view of Koh (KR20140074540A):
Regarding claim 16, Zhang is silent on the following elements:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the compound includes a compound represented by Formula 2-3:
However, Koh meets all of the limitations of claim 16 that are not found in Zhang:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the compound includes a compound represented by Formula 2-3:
(Koh teaches the inclusion of a compound in the formation of a polymer electrolyte which meets all of the limitations of claim 16.
“R1and R3are each independently H or a C1 to C3 alkyl group,” Koh [0050] and “R4 is selected from the group consisting of CH2CF3, CH(CF3)2, CH2CF2CF3, CH2(CF2)2CF3, CH2(CF2)4CF3, CH2(CF2)6CF3, CH2(CF2)8CF3, CH2CH2(CF2)3CF3, CH2CH2(CF2)5CF3and CH2CH2(CF2)7CF3,” Koh [0052]. If CH2CH2(CF2)7CF3 were used as R3, and CH3 were used as R3, the structure would be identical to that of instant formula 2-3, thus meeting all of the limitations of claim 16.)
Koh is considered to be analogous to Zhang because it is within the same field of production methods for polymer electrolytes. Koh is analogous to Kushida because they teach nearly identical compounds for the same purpose in the formation of polymer electrolytes. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang and/or Kushida by substituting the compound of Kushida with the compound of Koh, as this would only require the simple substitution of one nearly identical compound for another, and the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20160126591 A1) in view of Shin (KR10-2018-0095688, US 20210210787 A1 used as translation), further in view of Kushida (US 20200243903 A1), and further in view of Ji (US 20190190070 A1)
Regarding claim 17, Zhang is silent on the following elements:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the compound includes a compound represented by Formula 2-4:
However, Ji meets all of the limitations of claim 16 that are not found in Zhang:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the compound includes a compound represented by Formula 2-4:
(“The electrolyte or additive may comprise a carboxylic ether, a carboxylic acid based salt, or an acrylate.” Ji [0077] and “ In some embodiments, acrylate compounds also include fluorinated acrylates and fluorinated methacrylates. In some embodiments, the acrylate compound is selected from … 2,2,3,4,4,4-Hexafluorobutyl acrylate… 2,2,3,4,4,4-Hexafluorobutyl methacrylate” Ji [0080]. According to a structure search, 2,2,3,4,4,4-hexafluorobutyl (meth)acrylarte is the exact name of the structure provided in formula 2-4 of the instant claims. Thus, Ji teaches this is exact formula in the formation of a polymer electrolyte.)
Ji is considered to be analogous to Zhang because it is within the same field of production methods for polymer electrolytes. Ji is analogous to Kushida because they teach nearly identical compounds for the same purpose in the formation of polymer electrolytes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang and/or Kushida by substituting the compound of Kushida with the compound of Ji, as this would only require the simple substitution of one nearly identical compound for another, and the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Provided below is an alternative rejection, in view of Kobayashi instead of Shin:
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7, 9-14, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20160126591 A1) in view of Kobayashi (JPH08295715A) and further in view of Kushida (US 20200243903 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches all of the following elements:
Specifically, Zhang teaches a precursor composition containing a lithium salt, a non-aqueous organic solvent, an initiator, an oligomer, and an additional monomer additive. While Zhang does not teach the specific compounds used in the instant application, it teaches analogous compounds used for the same purpose, which then can be substituted with similar compounds from other pieces of prior art, such as the oligomer of Shin and the fluorinated monomer of Kushida, in order to provide the claimed invention:
A precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte, the precursor composition comprising: a lithium salt, a non-aqueous organic solvent, (“A precursor material is polymerized (gelled) in the presence of an electrolyte material. A liquid electrolyte material is illustratively a carbonate based electrolyte. Illustratively, the liquid electrolyte material optionally includes a lithium salt and a non-aqueous organic solvent.” Zhang [0024])
a polymerization initiator, an oligomer (“Illustrative components of a precursor material include a monomer or oligomer and an initiator, and optionally a crosslinking agent.” Zhang [0020]) and a compound (“The precursor material optionally includes a flame retardant additive, a current collector protection agent, a protection agent, or any combination thereof.” Zhang [0012])
wherein the oligomer and the compound are included in a weight ratio of 1:0.01 to 1:4: (“Illustratively, a flame retardant is provided at a concentration of 5% to 50%, or any value or range therebetween relative to the precursor materials.” Zhang [0031]. In this case, if the oligomer is considered to be the precursor material, as implied in paragraph [0027], then including the flame retardant additive, i.e. the compound represented by formula 2, in the range of 5 to 50% based on the oligomer, would anticipate the claimed range regarding the ratio between oligomer and compound. When combined with Shin and Kushida to include the specific oligomer and compound as claimed, all of the limitations of claim 1 would be met.)
Zhang is silent on the following elements of claim 1:
an oligomer represented by Formula 1,
[Formula1]:
wherein, in Formula 1, R, R1, and R2 are each independently an alkylene group having 1 to 5 carbon atoms, A and A' are each independently a unit containing one or more (meth)acrylate groups, B is a unit represented by formula B-1, and n, m, and k are the numbers of repeating units, wherein n is an integer of 1 to 10,000, m is an integer of 2 to 1,000, and k is an integer of 1 to 100.
Formula B-1
wherein, in Formula B-1, R' is an unsubstituted or substituted alkylene group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms, an unsubstituted or substituted cycloalkylene group having 3 to 10 carbon atoms, an unsubstituted or substituted bicycloalkylene group having 6 to 20 carbon atoms, or an unsubstituted or substituted arylene group having 6 to 20 carbon atoms,
and a compound represented by Formula 2, [Formula 2]:
wherein, in Formula 2, R3 is -CR5=CH2 (wherein, RS is hydrogen or an alkyl group having 1 to 3 carbon atoms) or -R6-CF3 (wherein, R6 is an alkylene group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms substituted with at least one fluorine element), R4 is an alkylene group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms unsubstituted or substituted with at least one fluorine, p is an integer of 0 or 1, and when R3 is -R6-CF3, p is 0, and R4 is an alkyl group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms unsubstituted with fluorine.
Kobayashi teaches the following elements of claim 1 that are not found in Zhang:
an oligomer represented by Formula 1,
[Formula1]:
wherein, in Formula 1, R, R1, and R2 are each independently an alkylene group having 1 to 5 carbon atoms, A and A' are each independently a unit containing one or more (meth)acrylate groups, B is a unit represented by formula B-1, and n, m, and k are the numbers of repeating units, wherein n is an integer of 1 to 10,000, m is an integer of 2 to 1,000, and k is an integer of 1 to 100.
Formula B-1
wherein, in Formula B-1, R' is an unsubstituted or substituted alkylene group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms, an unsubstituted or substituted cycloalkylene group having 3 to 10 carbon atoms, an unsubstituted or substituted bicycloalkylene group having 6 to 20 carbon atoms, or an unsubstituted or substituted arylene group having 6 to 20 carbon atoms, (The products labeled as formula 14 on page 11 of Kobayashi all meet the limitations of amended claim 1. Specifically, they teach a composition meeting the limitations of formula 1, including the presence of B-1 as the B portions, and where m can be between 2 and 1000. See below for comparison.)
Kobayashi and Zhang are silent on the following elements of claim 1:
and a compound represented by Formula 2, [Formula 2] wherein, in Formula 2, R3 is -CR5=CH2 (wherein, RS is hydrogen or an alkyl group having 1 to 3 carbon atoms) or -R6-CF3 (wherein, R6 is an alkylene group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms which is substituted with at least one fluorine element), R4 is an alkylene group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms which is unsubstituted or substituted with at least one fluorine, p is an integer of 0 or 1, and when R3 is -R6-CF3, p is 0, and R4 is an alkyl group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms which is unsubstituted with fluorine.
However, Kushida teaches the use of a compound identical to that claimed in claim 1 (and more specifically, claim 9) used in a polymer electrolyte:
and a compound represented by Formula 2, [Formula 2]
wherein, in Formula 2, R3 is -CR5=CH2 (wherein, RS is hydrogen or an alkyl group having 1 to 3 carbon atoms) or -R6-CF3 (wherein, R6 is an alkylene group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms which is substituted with at least one fluorine element), R4 is an alkylene group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms which is unsubstituted or substituted with at least one fluorine, p is an integer of 0 or 1, and when R3 is -R6-CF3, p is 0, and R4 is an alkyl group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms which is unsubstituted with fluorine. (The compound represented by A-39 on page 13 of Kushida matches the formula provided in formula 2, and more specifically, that of formula 2-5 provided in claim 9. By meeting the limitations of dependent claim 9, this formula must also meet those of formula 2 in claim 1. “Examples of the monomer used for polymerization of the binder in the present invention are shown below, but the present invention is not limited thereto. n represents an integer of 1 to 80.” Kushida [0148]. By using the claimed compound as a binder within a polymer electrolyte, it would therefore be obvious to include this compound in the polymer electrolyte of Zhang.)
Kobayashi and Kushida are considered to be analogous to Zhang because they are all within the same field of polymer electrolytes for usage in electrochemical devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the precursor composition of Zhang to include both the oligomer or Kobayashi and the fluorinated compound of Kushida, as they are both known materials in the art for being used in polymer electrolytes, the former as an oligomer to be polymerized with an initiator, and the latter being used as a binder. This provides a case of obviousness for the modification of Zhang, as the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang is silent on the following elements:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein, in Formula 1, the units A and A' are each independently at least one selected from units represented by Formulae A-1 to A-6: [Formula A-1]
[Formula A-2]
[Formula A-3]
[Formula A-4]
[Formula A-5]
[Formula A-6]
However, Kobayashi teaches all of the elements of claim 2 that are not found in Zhang. Specifically, Kobayashi teaches the same units to be used at the end of the oligomer to be polymerized in the polymer electrolyte:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein, in Formula 1, the units A and A' are each independently at least one selected from units represented by Formulae A-1 to A-6: [Formula A-1] (Kobayashi formula 14, among its other formulae, includes an A and A’ that include the units included in formulae A-1 to A-6, thus meeting all of the additional limitations of claim 2. See the red box on left for how this is analogous to instant formula A-2).
[Formula A-2]
[Formula A-3]
[Formula A-4]
[Formula A-5]
[Formula A-6]
Regarding claim 5, Zhang is silent on the following elements:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the oligomer is represented by Formula 1A:
Formula 1A:
However, Kobayashi teaches all of the elements of claim 5 that are not found in Zhang:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the oligomer is represented by Formula 1A: (The structures depicted by formula 14 of Kobayashi in order to meet the limitations of claim 1 additionally meet all of the limitations of claim 5 without requiring any further modification or motivation. See above for comparison.)
Formula 1A:
Regarding claim 7, Zhang teaches all of the following elements:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the oligomer is included in an amount of 0.1 wt% to 30 wt% based on a total weight of the precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte. (“The precursor materials are added to an electrolyte material at a concentration of between 1 wt % to 20 wt %” Zhang [0027] and “Without being limited to one particular theory, when greater than 10% monomer is present, it becomes difficult to obtain full polymerization leaving excess monomer in the gel.” Zhang [0027]—this implies that the wt% of precursor is referring to the amount of monomer or oligomer present in the overall electrolyte composition, which would anticipate the claimed limitation.)
Regarding claim 9, Zhang is silent on the following elements:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the compound represented by Formula 2 is at least one compound selected from the group consisting of compounds represented by Formulae 2-1 to 2-8: [Formula 2-1]
[Formula 2-2]
[Formula 2-3]
[Formula 2-4]
[Formula 2-5]
[Formula 2-6]
[Formula 2-7]
[Formula 2-8]
However, Kushida teaches all of the elements of claim 9 that are not found in Zhang. Specifically, Kushida teaches a compound identical to formula 2-5 of claim 9.
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the compound represented by Formula 2 is at least one compound selected from the group consisting of compounds represented by Formulae 2-1 to 2-8: [Formula 2-1]
[Formula 2-2]
[Formula 2-3]
[Formula 2-4]
[Formula 2-5]
[Formula 2-6]
[Formula 2-7]
[Formula 2-8]
(The compound represented by A-39 on page 13 of Kushida matches the formula provided in formula 2, and more specifically, that of formula 2-5 provided in claim 9. By meeting the limitations of dependent claim 9, this formula must also meet those of formula 2 in claim 1. “Examples of the monomer used for polymerization of the binder in the present invention are shown below, but the present invention is not limited thereto. n represents an integer of 1 to 80.” Kushida [0148]. By using the claimed compound as a binder within a polymer electrolyte, it would therefore be obvious to include this compound in the polymer electrolyte of Zhang.)
Regarding claim 10, Zhang is silent on the following elements:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the compound represented by Formula 2 is included in an amount of 0.01 wt% to 40 wt% based on a total weight of the precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte.
However, Kushida teaches all of the elements of claim 10 not found in Zhang. Specifically, Kushida teaches a range of the weight % of the compound represented by formula 2 which anticipates the claimed range:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the compound represented by Formula 2 is included in an amount of 0.01 wt% to 40 wt% based on a total weight of the precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte. (“a content of the binder (B) used in the present invention in the solid electrolyte composition is preferably 0.01% by mass or more, more preferably, 0.1% by mass or more, and still more preferably 1% by mass or more with respect to 100% by mass of the solid component. From the viewpoint of battery characteristics, the upper limit is preferably 10% by mass or less, more preferably 5% by mass or less, and still more preferably 3% by mass or less.” Kushida [0157] and “a polymer constituting the binder (B)” Kushida [0010]. Based on this, the binder consists of the polymer, and since the polymer of Kushida can be formed from a monomer having the same composition of formula 2 in the instant application, the range of the total weight of compound 2 based on the total weight of the polymer electrolyte anticipates the claimed range.)
Regarding claim 11, Zhang teaches all of the following elements:
A polymer electrolyte prepared by using the precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1. (“A process includes providing a substrate such as electrode, a separator, or both and contacting the substrate with a precursor material and a first electrolyte material including one or more lithium salts. The precursor material is subject to polymerizing for a polymerization time to form a gel in contact with the substrate. A precursor material includes one or more components that are incorporated into or form a gel electrolyte material.” Zhang [0020])
Regarding claim 12, Zhang teaches all of the following elements:
A lithium secondary battery comprising a positive electrode; a negative electrode; a separator disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode; and the polymer electrolyte of claim 11. (“Methods of forming a gel electrolyte for an electrochemical cell are provided. The invention has utility for improving the performance and safety of secondary batteries such as lithium ion batteries.” Zhang [0019] and “Some embodiments of a formation process include polymerizing through the use of thermal curing or ultraviolet curing. The substrate is optionally an electrode, a separator, or a combination of an electrode or electrodes and separator material(s). The separator is optionally included before the polymerization process with the precursor material or after the polymerization process. Optionally, an electrode includes a cathode material including a lithium metal oxide, or a lithium metal phosphate. Optionally, an electrode includes an anode material of or including: graphite; silicon; a transition metal oxide; or combination thereof.” Zhang [0012]. These teach that the polymer electrolyte of Zhang can be used in a secondary battery containing a cathode, anode, and separator.)
Regarding claim 13, Zhang teaches all of the following elements:
A polymer electrolyte including a polymerized product of the precursor composition of claim 1. (“A precursor material is polymerized (gelled) in the presence of an electrolyte material. A liquid electrolyte material is illustratively a carbonate based electrolyte. Illustratively, the liquid electrolyte material optionally includes a lithium salt and a non-aqueous organic solvent. A lithium salt is optionally LiPF.sub.6, LiBF.sub.4, LiSbF.sub.6, LiAsF.sub.6, LiN(SO.sub.2C.sub.2F.sub.5).sub.2, Li(CF.sub.3SO.sub.2).sub.2N, LiN(SO.sub.3C.sub.2F.sub.5).sub.2, LiC.sub.4F.sub.9SO.sub.3, LiClO.sub.4, LiAlO.sub.2, LiAlCl.sub.4, LiCl, LiI, or LiB(C.sub.2O.sub.4).sub.2 (lithium bis(oxalato)borate; LiBOB). The lithium salt is optionally present in a concentration of 0.1, 0.2, 0.3, 0.4, 0.5, 0.6, 0.7, 0.8, 0.9, 1.0, 1.1, 1.2, 1.3, 1.4, 1.5, 1.6, 1.7, 1.8, 1.9, or 2.0 M. Optionally, a lithium salt concentration ranges from about 0.1 M to about 2.0 M or any value or range therebetween. When the lithium salt is included at the above concentration range, an electrolyte may have excellent performance and lithium ion mobility due to optimal electrolyte conductivity and viscosity.” Zhang [0024]. By modifying Zhang to meet the limitations of claim 1, the additional limitations of claim 13 would also be met.)
Regarding claim 14, Zhang teaches all of the following elements:
A lithium secondary battery comprising a positive electrode; a negative electrode; a separator disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode; and the polymer electrolyte of claim 13. (“The cathode and anode were stacked with a separator of porous polyethylene (20 μm thick) and vacuum dried at 70° C. for 2 days before transferring to a glove box. A gel electrolyte precursor material is formed” Zhang [0039] and “A substrate is optionally an electrode, a separator, or both. Any electrode or separator material known for use in batteries, optionally lithium ion secondary batteries, may be used” Zhang [0021]. Zhang teaches the formation of a lithium ion secondary battery comprising a positive electrode, cathode, separator, and polymer electrolyte. Thus, by using the modified electrolyte meeting the limitations of claim 1, the additional limitations of claim 14 would all be met via the teachings of Zhang.)
Regarding claim 18, Zhang is silent on the following elements:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the compound includes a compound represented by Formula 2-7:
However, Kushida meets all of the limitations of claim 18 that are not found in Zhang:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the compound includes a compound represented by Formula 2-7: (Formula A-42 of Kushida is the exact structure as required by formula 2-7 in the instant claims. Thus, by modifying Zhang to include this compound, as taught by Kushida, all of the limitations of claim 18 would be met.)
Claim(s) 4, 6, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20160126591 A1) in view of Kobayashi (JPH08295715A) and further in view of Kushida (US 20200243903 A1) and further in view of Ahn (KR20190062310A).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang and Kobayashi are silent on the following elements:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 3, wherein R' is at least one selected from units represented by Formulae R'-1 to R'-6: [Formula R'-1]
[Formula R'-2]
[Formula R'-3]
[Formula R'-4]
[Formula R'-5]
[Formula R'-6]
However, Ahn teaches an R’ unit for within the B-1 unit that meets all of the limitations of claim 4:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 3, wherein R' is at least one selected from units represented by Formulae R'-1 to R'-6: [Formula R'-1] (Ahn formulas R’-3 to R’-8 depict some of the formulas shown above for claim 4 “The R 'may include at least one or more units represented by the following formulas: R'-3 to R'-8.” Ahn [78])
[Formula R'-2]
[Formula R'-3]
[Formula R'-4]
[Formula R'-5]
[Formula R'-6]
Ahn is considered to be analogous to Zhang and Kobayashi because it is within the same field of preparation methods for polymer electrolytes containing urethane groups and (meth)-acrylate groups. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kobayashi to use one of the formulae of Ahn within the B-1/urethane unit in Kobayashi as Ahn teaches that this is commonly known in the art, and would only require the substitution of one linker in the overall chain for another known linker, and the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
By modifying the formula 14 of Kobayashi to include the R’ group taught by Ahn, the additional limitations of claims 6-7, 15 would all be met without requiring any further modification or motivation.
Regarding claim 6, Zhang is silent on the following elements:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the oligomer is represented by Formula 1A-1:[Formula 1A-1]
wherein, in Formula 1A-1, n1, m1, and k1 are the numbers of repeating units, wherein n1 is an integer of 1 to 10,000, m1 is an integer of 2 to 1,000, and k1 is an integer of 1 to 100, a and a' are each independently an integer of 1 or 2, and b and b' are each independently an integer of 1 to 3.
However, modified Kobayashi with Ahn would meet all of the limitations that are not found in Zhang:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the oligomer is represented by Formula 1A-1:[Formula 1A-1]
wherein, in Formula 1A-1, n1, m1, and k1 are the numbers of repeating units, wherein n1 is an integer of 1 to 10,000, m1 is an integer of 2 to 1,000, and k1 is an integer of 1 to 100, a and a' are each independently an integer of 1 or 2, and b and b' are each independently an integer of 1 to 3. (By using the composition of formula 14 of Kobayashi, and modifying with Ahn to change the R’ group to that required by claim 4, all limitations of claim 6 would be met. Ahn also teaches a structure that is nearly identical to that of claim 6, but doesn’t have a repeating O-B unit. Kobayashi teaches the repeating O-B unit, and thus by modifying B to include the R’ of Kobayashi, all limitations of claim 6 would be met.)
Regarding claim 15, Zhang is silent on the following elements:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the oligomer
wherein, in
However, Kobayashi modified with Ahn teaches all of the elements of claim 15 that are not found in Zhang:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the oligomer
wherein, in 2 to 1,000, and k2 is an integer of 1 to 100. (Kobayashi formula 14 meets all of the limitations of claim 15 other than the R’ composition. If this were modified via the teachings of Ahn, then all of the limitations of claim 15 would be met. It would additionally be obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the terminal ends of Kobayashi with the teachings of Ahn, as this would once again be a simple substitution of a portion of an oligomer based on a known composition in the art.)
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20160126591 A1) in view of Kobayashi (JPH08295715A), further in view of Kushida (US 20200243903 A1), and further in view of Hwang (US 20130136998 A1)
Regarding claim 8, Zhang, Kobayashi, and Kushida are silent on the following elements:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein, in Formula 2, R3 is -CRS=CH2 (wherein, R5 is hydrogen or an alkyl group having 1 to 3 carbon atoms) or -R6-CF3 (wherein, R6 is an alkylene group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms which is substituted with at least one fluorine element), R4 is an alkylene group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms which is unsubstituted or substituted with at least one fluorine, p is an integer of 0 or 1, and, when R3 is -R6-CF3, p is 0, and R4 is an alkyl group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms which is unsubstituted with fluorine.
(depiction of formula 2, provided in claim 1)
However, Hwang teaches all of the elements of claim 8 that are not found in Zhang, Shin, or Kushida. Specifically, Hwang teaches 2,2,2-trifluoroethyl acrylate as a monomer to be used in a polymer electrolyte.
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein, in Formula 2, R3 is -CRS=CH2 (wherein, R5 is hydrogen or an alkyl group having 1 to 3 carbon atoms) or -R6-CF3 (wherein, R6 is an alkylene group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms which is substituted with at least one fluorine element), R4 is an alkylene group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms which is unsubstituted or substituted with at least one fluorine, p is an integer of 0 or 1, and, when R3 is -R6-CF3, p is 0, and R4 is an alkyl group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms which is unsubstituted with fluorine. (“The acrylate monomer of Formula 3 above may include at least one selected from the group consisting of methyl acrylate, methyl methacrylate, ethyl acrylate, ethyl methacrylate, propyl acrylate, propyl methacrylate, butyl acrylate, butyl methacrylate, hexyl acrylate, hexyl methacrylate, ethylhexyl acrylate, ethylhexyl methacrylate, 2,2,2-trifluoroethyl acrylate” Hwang [0082]. As seen below, the structure of Hwang can be identical to that described in claim 8,as 2,2,2 trifluoroethyl acrylate meets all of the claimed limitations of claim 8.)
Hwang is considered to be analogous to Zhang and Kushida because they are all within the same field of polymer electrolytes for electrochemical devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fluorinated monomer of Kushida to use that of Hwang instead, as they are both known acrylate monomers used in polymer electrolytes, and it would only require a simple substitution of one with the other to achieve the same effect—the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20160126591 A1) in view of Kobayashi (JPH08295715A), further in view of Kushida (US 20200243903 A1), and further in view of Koh (KR20140074540A):
Regarding claim 16, Zhang is silent on the following elements:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the compound includes a compound represented by Formula 2-3:
However, Koh meets all of the limitations of claim 16 that are not found in Zhang:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the compound includes a compound represented by Formula 2-3:
(Koh teaches the inclusion of a compound in the formation of a polymer electrolyte which meets all of the limitations of claim 16.
“R1and R3are each independently H or a C1 to C3 alkyl group,” Koh [0050] and “R4 is selected from the group consisting of CH2CF3, CH(CF3)2, CH2CF2CF3, CH2(CF2)2CF3, CH2(CF2)4CF3, CH2(CF2)6CF3, CH2(CF2)8CF3, CH2CH2(CF2)3CF3, CH2CH2(CF2)5CF3and CH2CH2(CF2)7CF3,” Koh [0052]. If CH2CH2(CF2)7CF3 were used as R3, and CH3 were used as R3, the structure would be identical to that of instant formula 2-3, thus meeting all of the limitations of claim 16.)
Koh is considered to be analogous to Zhang because it is within the same field of production methods for polymer electrolytes. Koh is analogous to Kushida because they teach nearly identical compounds for the same purpose in the formation of polymer electrolytes. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang and/or Kushida by substituting the compound of Kushida with the compound of Koh, as this would only require the simple substitution of one nearly identical compound for another, and the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20160126591 A1) in view of Kobayashi (JPH08295715A), further in view of Kushida (US 20200243903 A1), and further in view of Ji (US 20190190070 A1)
Regarding claim 17, Zhang is silent on the following elements:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the compound includes a compound represented by Formula 2-4:
However, Ji meets all of the limitations of claim 16 that are not found in Zhang:
The precursor composition for preparing a polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the compound includes a compound represented by Formula 2-4:
(“The electrolyte or additive may comprise a carboxylic ether, a carboxylic acid based salt, or an acrylate.” Ji [0077] and “ In some embodiments, acrylate compounds also include fluorinated acrylates and fluorinated methacrylates. In some embodiments, the acrylate compound is selected from … 2,2,3,4,4,4-Hexafluorobutyl acrylate… 2,2,3,4,4,4-Hexafluorobutyl methacrylate” Ji [0080]. According to a structure search, 2,2,3,4,4,4-hexafluorobutyl (meth)acrylarte is the exact name of the structure provided in formula 2-4 of the instant claims. Thus, Ji teaches this is exact formula in the formation of a polymer electrolyte.)
Ji is considered to be analogous to Zhang because it is within the same field of production methods for polymer electrolytes. Ji is analogous to Kushida because they teach nearly identical compounds for the same purpose in the formation of polymer electrolytes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang and/or Kushida by substituting the compound of Kushida with the compound of Ji, as this would only require the simple substitution of one nearly identical compound for another, and the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN ELI KASS-MULLET/Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752