DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Specification
2. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraph [0036] References the PaaS layer of FIG. 1 with number 22. However FIG. 1 depicts PaaS layer 12.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-3, 7, 10, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heckey et al. (US 20210158199 A1) in further view of Qiskit (https://github.com/Qiskit/qiskit/tree/e1fc918751462af4a1f9f22a3e084083f4779cf9).
4. Regarding claim 1, Heckey et al. teaches a hybrid quantum-classical cloud platform ([0056]: “In some embodiments, a virtualized computing service may be among a plurality of network-accessible services (e.g., including storage services, database services, etc.) implemented… in a cloud computing environment.”; [0047]: “the first and second edge computing devices are each configured to execute the classical computing portions on the virtual machine implemented on the classical computing hardware of the respective first or second edge computing device and coordinate execution of the quantum computing portions on a quantum computer at the respective first or second quantum hardware provider location where the respective first or second edge computing device is located. For example, in some embodiments, the first and second edge computing devices are each configured to instantiate at least one virtual machine to manage coordinating execution of the quantum computing portions of the hybrid quantum computing algorithm and also instantiate one or more virtual machine to execute the classical computing portions of the hybrid quantum computing algorithm“. Coordinating execution of the classical and quantum portions for executing a hybrid quantum computing algorithm in the cloud computing environment is descriptive of a hybrid quantum-classical cloud platform), comprising:
A software-as-a-service (SaaS) layer, configured to provide a user interface ([0064]: “A number of programmatic interfaces (e.g., web-based consoles, command-line tools, graphical user interfaces, application programming interfaces (APIs) and the like) may be implemented by the virtualized computing service to enable customers to submit requests pertaining to compute instances in various embodiments and receive corresponding responses. For example, a customer may submit a programmatic request to instantiate a compute instance on an edge computing device located at a quantum hardware provider. In some embodiments, a virtualized computing service may dynamically increase or decrease provisioned compute instances that execute in an edge computing device at a quantum hardware provider location. For example, a customer may request more or fewer instances via a command-line tool or graphical user interface and the virtualized computing service may dynamically add or remove compute instances from the customer's pool of allocated resources”; [0080]: “In some embodiments, a quantum algorithm development kit may include a graphical user interface, APIs or other interface to allow customers of a quantum computing service to define quantum objects”);
A platform as a service (PaaS) layer, configured to obtain a quantum computing task ([0037]: “In some embodiments, a method includes receiving (Obtaining), at a quantum computing service implemented on one or more computing devices, from a customer of the quantum computing service, a definition of a quantum computing task to be performed.”) and a classical computing task corresponding to the to-be-executed task ([0185]: “Also, in some embodiments, edge computing device 1352 may also instantiate virtual machines that execute classical computing tasks, such as a classical computing portion of a hybrid algorithm.“; [0020]: “At 1804, the quantum computing service receives a hybrid quantum computing algorithm comprising classical computing portions (The classical computing portions corresponds to the classical computing tasks) and quantum computing portions.“)
by executing algorithm compilation ([0123]: “If customer 418 is satisfied with the definition of the customer's quantum object, at 432 the customer 418 may submit the defined quantum object (e.g. quantum task, quantum algorithm, quantum circuit) to be executed on the selected quantum hardware provider. The quantum computing service may translate (compile) the quantum object (e.g. quantum task, quantum algorithm, quantum circuit) into a quantum circuit translated into a format suitable to be executed on a quantum computer (Translating the quantum object, such as a quantum algorithm, is considered compiling the algorithm) of the selected quantum hardware provider.”; [0169]: “FIG. 11B illustrates additional steps that may be performed to translate a quantum task, algorithm, or circuit from an intermediate representation to a quantum computing technology specific representation, according to some embodiments.”; [0041]: “To translate the quantum computing object into the selected quantum circuit format, the one or more computing devices that implement the quantum computing service are configured to identify portions of the quantum computing object corresponding to quantum operators in the intermediate representation, substitute the quantum operators of the intermediate representation with quantum operators of the quantum circuit format of the particular quantum computing technology, and perform one or more optimizations to reduce an overall number of quantum operators in a translated quantum circuit that is a translated version of the received quantum computing object.”. The translation process described above is an example of algorithm compilation.)
and
task separation ([0046]: “Additionally, the first and second edge computing devices are each configured to instantiate a virtual machine implemented on classical computing hardware of the respective first or second edge computing device and receive, via the quantum computing service, a hybrid quantum computing algorithm comprising classical computing portions and quantum computing portions.”. A classical and quantum computing portion means there was task separation between classical and quantum tasks; [0049]: “a hybrid quantum computing algorithm comprising classical computing portions and quantum computing portions (Task separation of classical and quantum tasks). The program instructions further cause the one or more processors to execute the classical computing portions on the virtual machine implemented on the classical computing hardware of the edge computing device; coordinate, via the first connector coupled to the local network of the quantum hardware provider, execution of the quantum computing portions on a quantum computer at a location of the quantum hardware provider where the edge computing device is located”), and
allocate resources to the quantum computing task and the classical computing task respectively ([0047]: “in some embodiments, the first and second edge computing devices are each configured to instantiate at least one virtual machine to manage coordinating execution of the quantum computing portions (Allocating resources to the quantum computing task) of the hybrid quantum computing algorithm and also instantiate one or more virtual machine to execute the classical computing portions (Allocating resources to the classical computing task) of the hybrid quantum computing algorithm.“); and
an infrastructure as a service (IaaS) layer, configured to, according to a resource allocation condition in the PaaS layer ([0051]: “The first and second edge computing devices are each configured to receive one or more quantum computing circuits to be executed on a quantum computer at the first or second hardware provider location, schedule availability on the quantum computer for executing the one or more quantum computing circuits, store the one or more quantum computing circuits in a local queue of the first or second edge computing device, and submit the one or more quantum computing circuits to the quantum computer at the first or second quantum hardware provider location for execution during the scheduled availability (The scheduled availability corresponds to the resource allocation condition in the PaaS layer)”; [0091]: “Also, the edge computing device may have been configured with a quantum machine image that enables the edge computing device to interface with a scheduling application of the quantum hardware provider, where the edge computing device is located, in order to schedule a time slot on the quantum computer of the quantum hardware provider to execute the quantum circuit via the back-end API transport 110.”),
execute the quantum computing task by a quantum virtual machine ([0035]: “The one or more computing devices that implement the quantum computing service are configured to receive, from a customer of the quantum computing service, a definition of a quantum computing object to be executed and select at least one of the first or second quantum hardware providers to execute the quantum computing object. In some embodiments, the quantum computing object may be a quantum task, such as a task defined using a problem-domain interface of a quantum algorithm development kit “; [0047]: “the first and second edge computing devices are each configured to execute the classical computing portions on the virtual machine implemented on the classical computing hardware of the respective first or second edge computing device and coordinate execution of the quantum computing portions on a quantum computer at the respective first or second quantum hardware provider location where the respective first or second edge computing device is located. For example, in some embodiments, the first and second edge computing devices are each configured to instantiate at least one virtual machine to manage coordinating execution of the quantum computing portions of the hybrid quantum computing algorithm”; [0054]: “ In some embodiments, a virtualization offloading component of an edge computing device located at a quantum hardware provider location may provide a compute instance instantiated on the edge computing device access to a quantum machine image (A virtual machine with a quantum machine image means it is a quantum virtual machine) stored in a block-based storage service of the service provider network for use in booting the compute instance (e.g. virtual machine) on the edge computing device.”; [0117]: “Additionally, a quantum algorithm development kit, such as quantum algorithm development kit 114, may include an option to simulate a quantum circuit being designed wherein the simulation is performed using classical hardware, such as compute instances of a virtual compute service as described in FIG. 3”; [0183]: “In some embodiments, the virtual machine 1370 may be booted with a particular quantum machine image (Quantum virtual machine) that supports interfacing with the scheduling component of the quantum hardware provider.”) and execute the classical computing task by a classical server ([0047]: “the first and second edge computing devices are each configured to execute the classical computing portions on the virtual machine implemented on the classical computing hardware (Execute on a classical server) of the respective first or second edge computing device“).
However, Heckey et al. does not explicitly teach the user interface is for acquiring a hybrid quantum-classical programming language corresponding to a to-be-executed task and algorithm compilation and task separation is executed on the hybrid quantum-classical programming language.
But Heckey et al. teaches executing hybrid quantum computing algorithms ([0046]: “Additionally, the first and second edge computing devices are each configured to instantiate a virtual machine implemented on classical computing hardware of the respective first or second edge computing device and receive, via the quantum computing service, a hybrid quantum computing algorithm comprising classical computing portions and quantum computing portions.”), and
Qiskit teaches a hybrid quantum-classical programming language (Qiskit Terra: “Qiskit is an open-source framework for working with noisy quantum computers at the level of pulses, circuits, and algorithms. Qiskit is made up of elements that work together to enable quantum computing. This element is Terra and is the foundation on which the rest of Qiskit is built.”. Qiskit is considered a hybrid quantum-classical programming language since it is built with python, a classical programming language. The quantum aspects of the language is achieved by importing Qiskit. See image below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the invention of Heckey et al. such that the SAAS layer is configured to provide a user interface for acquiring a hybrid quantum-classical programming language corresponding to a to-be-executed task to enable execution of both the classical and quantum portions of a quantum algorithm in Heckey et al. For example, the classical tasks may be run with the standard python language while the quantum tasks may be run using functions from the Qiskit library. One would be motivated to use a hybrid quantum-classical programming language for executing tasks when an algorithm includes both quantum and classical tasks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the invention of Heckey et al. such that executing algorithm compilation and task separation is done on the hybrid quantum-classical programming language for the same rationale described above. For example, performing the classical portions on vanilla python and the quantum portions using Qiskit.
5. Regarding claim 2, Heckey et al. modified by Qiskit teaches the hybrid quantum-classical cloud platform according to claim 1, wherein the SaaS layer comprises:
Heckey et al. teaches a user programming module, configured to provide the user interface for acquiring the hybrid quantum-classical programming language corresponding to the to-be-executed task ([0064]: “A number of programmatic interfaces (e.g., web-based consoles, command-line tools, graphical user interfaces, application programming interfaces (APIs) and the like) may be implemented by the virtualized computing service to enable customers to submit requests pertaining to compute instances in various embodiments and receive corresponding responses.“; [0080]: “In some embodiments, a quantum algorithm development kit may include a graphical user interface, APIs or other interface to allow customers of a quantum computing service to define quantum objects, such as quantum tasks, algorithms or circuits, using the quantum algorithm development kit. In the some embodiments, the quantum algorithm development kit may include an interface option that enables customers to share the quantum objects with other customers of the quantum computing service. For example, the quantum algorithm development kit may include a marketplace that allows customers to share or sell particular quantum objects with other customers.”; [0110]: “Customers 350 may encompass any type of client configurable to submit requests to network provider 100. For example, a given customer 350 may include a suitable version of a web browser, or may include a plug-in module or other type of code module configured to execute as an extension to or within an execution environment provided by a web browser. Alternatively, a customer 350 may encompass an application such as a database application (or user interface thereof),”).
6. Regarding claim 3, Heckey et al. modified by Qiskit teaches the hybrid quantum-classical cloud platform according to claim 1, wherein the PaaS layer comprises:
a quantum and classical algorithm compilation module ([0087]: “Also, quantum computing service 102 may include a translation module 112 (Quantum compilation module) as described in more detail in FIGS. 10-12. “; [0041]: “To translate the quantum computing object into the selected quantum circuit format, the one or more computing devices that implement the quantum computing service are configured to identify portions of the quantum computing object corresponding to quantum operators in the intermediate representation, substitute the quantum operators of the intermediate representation with quantum operators of the quantum circuit format of the particular quantum computing technology, and perform one or more optimizations to reduce an overall number of quantum operators in a translated quantum circuit that is a translated version of the received quantum computing object.”; [0091]: “Quantum circuits that have been translated by translation module 112 may be provided to back-end API transport module 110 in order for the translated quantum circuits to be transported to a quantum computer at a respective quantum hardware provider location.“; Abstract: “The edge computing device is configured to execute classical computing portions of a hybrid algorithm in coordination with the quantum computer,”. The software component that is configured to execute the classical computing portions corresponds to the classical compilation module.), configured to obtain the quantum computing task ([0037]: “In some embodiments, a method includes receiving, at a quantum computing service implemented on one or more computing devices, from a customer of the quantum computing service, a definition of a quantum computing task to be performed.”) and the classical computing task corresponding to the to-be-executed task ([0185]: “Also, in some embodiments, edge computing device 1352 may also instantiate virtual machines that execute classical computing tasks, such as a classical computing portion of a hybrid algorithm.“; [0020]: “At 1804, the quantum computing service receives (Obtains) a hybrid quantum computing algorithm comprising classical computing portions (The classical computing portions corresponds to the classical computing tasks) and quantum computing portions.“)
by executing algorithm compilation ([0123]: “If customer 418 is satisfied with the definition of the customer's quantum object, at 432 the customer 418 may submit the defined quantum object (e.g. quantum task, quantum algorithm, quantum circuit) to be executed on the selected quantum hardware provider. The quantum computing service may translate (i.e. compile) the quantum object (e.g. quantum task, quantum algorithm, quantum circuit) into a quantum circuit translated into a format suitable to be executed on a quantum computer (Translating the quantum object, such as a quantum algorithm, is considered compiling the algorithm) of the selected quantum hardware provider.”; [0169]: “FIG. 11B illustrates additional steps that may be performed to translate a quantum task, algorithm, or circuit from an intermediate representation to a quantum computing technology specific representation, according to some embodiments.”; [0041]: “To translate the quantum computing object into the selected quantum circuit format, the one or more computing devices that implement the quantum computing service are configured to identify portions of the quantum computing object corresponding to quantum operators in the intermediate representation, substitute the quantum operators of the intermediate representation with quantum operators of the quantum circuit format of the particular quantum computing technology, and perform one or more optimizations to reduce an overall number of quantum operators in a translated quantum circuit that is a translated version of the received quantum computing object.”. The translation process described above is an example of algorithm compilation.)
and task separation on the hybrid quantum-classical programming language ([0046]: “Additionally, the first and second edge computing devices are each configured to instantiate a virtual machine implemented on classical computing hardware of the respective first or second edge computing device and receive, via the quantum computing service, a hybrid quantum computing algorithm comprising classical computing portions and quantum computing portions.”. A classical and quantum computing portion means there was task separation between classical and quantum tasks; [0049]: “a hybrid quantum computing algorithm comprising classical computing portions and quantum computing portions (Task separation of classical and quantum tasks). The program instructions further cause the one or more processors to execute the classical computing portions on the virtual machine implemented on the classical computing hardware of the edge computing device; coordinate, via the first connector coupled to the local network of the quantum hardware provider, execution of the quantum computing portions on a quantum computer at a location of the quantum hardware provider where the edge computing device is located”. “On the hybrid quantum-classical programming language” is interpreted to be where quantum tasks are executed via Qiskit and classical tasks are executed using basic python.); and
a resource management and scheduling module ([0051]: “The first and second edge computing devices are each configured to receive one or more quantum computing circuits to be executed on a quantum computer at the first or second hardware provider location, schedule availability on the quantum computer for executing the one or more quantum computing circuits (The software used for scheduling corresponds to the scheduling module), store the one or more quantum computing circuits in a local queue of the first or second edge computing device, and submit the one or more quantum computing circuits to the quantum computer at the first or second quantum hardware provider location for execution during the scheduled availability.”; [0094]: “In some embodiments, quantum computing service 102 includes quantum hardware provider recommendation/selection module 120. In some embodiments, quantum hardware recommendation/selection module 120 (Resource management module) may make a recommendation to a quantum computing service customer as to which type of quantum computer or which quantum hardware provider to use to execute a quantum object submitted by the customer. Additionally, or alternatively, the quantum hardware provider recommendation/selection module 120 may receive a customer selection of a quantum computer type and/or quantum hardware provider to use to execute the customer's quantum object, such as a quantum task, quantum algorithm, quantum circuit, etc. “), configured to allocate resources for the quantum computing task and the classical computing task respectively ([0047]: “in some embodiments, the first and second edge computing devices are each configured to instantiate at least one virtual machine to manage coordinating execution of the quantum computing portions (Allocating resources to the quantum computing task) of the hybrid quantum computing algorithm and also instantiate one or more virtual machine to execute the classical computing portions (Allocating resources to the classical computing task) of the hybrid quantum computing algorithm.”).
7. Regarding claim 7, Heckey et al. modified by Qiskit teaches the hybrid quantum-classical cloud platform according to claim 1, wherein the IaaS layer comprises:
Heckey et al. teaches a storage device, configured to store data ([0255]: “A non-transitory computer-accessible storage medium may also include any volatile or non-volatile media such as RAM (e.g. SDRAM, DDR SDRAM, RDRAM, SRAM, etc.), ROM, etc., that may be included in some embodiments of computing device 2300 as system memory 2320 or another type of memory.“); and
A network device, configured to carry out communications among various devices in the IaaS layer ([0255]: “Portions or all of multiple computing devices such as that illustrated in FIG. 23 may be used to implement the described functionality in various embodiments; for example, software components running on a variety of different devices and servers may collaborate to provide the functionality. In some embodiments, portions of the described functionality may be implemented using storage devices, network devices, or special-purpose computer systems, in addition to or instead of being implemented using general-purpose computer systems.”; [0254]: “Network interface 2340 may be configured to allow data to be exchanged between computing device 2300 and other devices 2360 attached to a network or networks 2350, such as other computer systems or devices as illustrated in FIG. 1 through FIG. 22, for example. In various embodiments, network interface 2340 may support communication via any suitable wired or wireless general data networks, such as types of Ethernet network, for example. Additionally, network interface 2340 may support communication via telecommunications/telephony networks such as analog voice networks or digital fiber communications networks, via storage area networks such as Fibre Channel SANs, or via any other suitable type of network and/or protocol.”).
8. Regarding claim 10, Heckey et al. teaches A hybrid quantum-classical task execution method ([0037]: “ the method includes causing execution results received from the first or second quantum hardware provider to be stored and providing, by the quantum computing service, a notification to the customer that the quantum computing task has been completed.”; Abstract: “The edge computing device is configured to execute classical computing portions of a hybrid algorithm in coordination with the quantum computer, which executes quantum computing portions of the hybrid algorithm. Results of the execution of the hybrid algorithm are automatically stored to a data storage service accessible to the customer.”), applied to a hybrid quantum-classical cloud platform comprising:
A software-as-a-service (SaaS) layer, configured to provide a user interface ([0064]: “A number of programmatic interfaces (e.g., web-based consoles, command-line tools, graphical user interfaces, application programming interfaces (APIs) and the like) may be implemented by the virtualized computing service to enable customers to submit requests pertaining to compute instances in various embodiments and receive corresponding responses. For example, a customer may submit a programmatic request to instantiate a compute instance on an edge computing device located at a quantum hardware provider. In some embodiments, a virtualized computing service may dynamically increase or decrease provisioned compute instances that execute in an edge computing device at a quantum hardware provider location. For example, a customer may request more or fewer instances via a command-line tool or graphical user interface and the virtualized computing service may dynamically add or remove compute instances from the customer's pool of allocated resources”; [0080]: “In some embodiments, a quantum algorithm development kit may include a graphical user interface, APIs or other interface to allow customers of a quantum computing service to define quantum objects”);
A platform as a service (PaaS) layer, configured to obtain a quantum computing task ([0037]: “In some embodiments, a method includes receiving, at a quantum computing service implemented on one or more computing devices, from a customer of the quantum computing service, a definition of a quantum computing task to be performed.”) and a classical computing task corresponding to the to-be-executed task ([0185]: “Also, in some embodiments, edge computing device 1352 may also instantiate virtual machines that execute classical computing tasks, such as a classical computing portion of a hybrid algorithm.“; [0020]: “At 1804, the quantum computing service receives a hybrid quantum computing algorithm comprising classical computing portions (The classical computing portions corresponds to the classical computing tasks) and quantum computing portions.“)
by executing algorithm compilation ([0123]: “If customer 418 is satisfied with the definition of the customer's quantum object, at 432 the customer 418 may submit the defined quantum object (e.g. quantum task, quantum algorithm, quantum circuit) to be executed on the selected quantum hardware provider. The quantum computing service may translate (compile) the quantum object (e.g. quantum task, quantum algorithm, quantum circuit) into a quantum circuit translated into a format suitable to be executed on a quantum computer (Translating the quantum object, such as a quantum algorithm, is considered compiling the algorithm) of the selected quantum hardware provider.”; [0169]: “FIG. 11B illustrates additional steps that may be performed to translate a quantum task, algorithm, or circuit from an intermediate representation to a quantum computing technology specific representation, according to some embodiments.”; [0041]: “To translate the quantum computing object into the selected quantum circuit format, the one or more computing devices that implement the quantum computing service are configured to identify portions of the quantum computing object corresponding to quantum operators in the intermediate representation, substitute the quantum operators of the intermediate representation with quantum operators of the quantum circuit format of the particular quantum computing technology, and perform one or more optimizations to reduce an overall number of quantum operators in a translated quantum circuit that is a translated version of the received quantum computing object.”. The translation process described above is an example of algorithm compilation.)
and task separation ([0046]: “Additionally, the first and second edge computing devices are each configured to instantiate a virtual machine implemented on classical computing hardware of the respective first or second edge computing device and receive, via the quantum computing service, a hybrid quantum computing algorithm comprising classical computing portions and quantum computing portions.”. A classical and quantum computing portion means there was task separation between classical and quantum tasks; [0049]: “a hybrid quantum computing algorithm comprising classical computing portions and quantum computing portions (Task separation of classical and quantum tasks). The program instructions further cause the one or more processors to execute the classical computing portions on the virtual machine implemented on the classical computing hardware of the edge computing device; coordinate, via the first connector coupled to the local network of the quantum hardware provider, execution of the quantum computing portions on a quantum computer at a location of the quantum hardware provider where the edge computing device is located”),
allocate resources to the quantum computing task and the classical computing task respectively ([0047]: “in some embodiments, the first and second edge computing devices are each configured to instantiate at least one virtual machine to manage coordinating execution of the quantum computing portions (Allocating resources to the quantum computing task) of the hybrid quantum computing algorithm and also instantiate one or more virtual machine to execute the classical computing portions (Allocating resources to the classical computing task) of the hybrid quantum computing algorithm.“); and
an infrastructure as a service (IaaS) layer, configured to, according to a resource allocation condition in the PaaS layer ([0051]: “The first and second edge computing devices are each configured to receive one or more quantum computing circuits to be executed on a quantum computer at the first or second hardware provider location, schedule availability on the quantum computer for executing the one or more quantum computing circuits, store the one or more quantum computing circuits in a local queue of the first or second edge computing device, and submit the one or more quantum computing circuits to the quantum computer at the first or second quantum hardware provider location for execution during the scheduled availability (The scheduled availability corresponds to the resource allocation condition in the PaaS layer)”; [0091]: “Also, the edge computing device may have been configured with a quantum machine image that enables the edge computing device to interface with a scheduling application of the quantum hardware provider, where the edge computing device is located, in order to schedule a time slot on the quantum computer of the quantum hardware provider to execute the quantum circuit via the back-end API transport 110.”), execute the quantum computing task by a quantum virtual machine ([0035]: “The one or more computing devices that implement the quantum computing service are configured to receive, from a customer of the quantum computing service, a definition of a quantum computing object to be executed and select at least one of the first or second quantum hardware providers to execute the quantum computing object. In some embodiments, the quantum computing object may be a quantum task, such as a task defined using a problem-domain interface of a quantum algorithm development kit “; [0047]: “the first and second edge computing devices are each configured to execute the classical computing portions on the virtual machine implemented on the classical computing hardware of the respective first or second edge computing device and coordinate execution of the quantum computing portions on a quantum computer at the respective first or second quantum hardware provider location where the respective first or second edge computing device is located. For example, in some embodiments, the first and second edge computing devices are each configured to instantiate at least one virtual machine to manage coordinating execution of the quantum computing portions of the hybrid quantum computing algorithm”; [0054]: “ In some embodiments, a virtualization offloading component of an edge computing device located at a quantum hardware provider location may provide a compute instance instantiated on the edge computing device access to a quantum machine image (A virtual machine with a quantum machine image means it is a quantum virtual machine) stored in a block-based storage service of the service provider network for use in booting the compute instance (e.g. virtual machine) on the edge computing device.”; [0117]: “Additionally, a quantum algorithm development kit, such as quantum algorithm development kit 114, may include an option to simulate a quantum circuit being designed wherein the simulation is performed using classical hardware, such as compute instances of a virtual compute service as described in FIG. 3”; [0183]: “In some embodiments, the virtual machine 1370 may be booted with a particular quantum machine image (Quantum virtual machine) that supports interfacing with the scheduling component of the quantum hardware provider.”) and
execute the classical computing task by a classical server ([0047]: “the first and second edge computing devices are each configured to execute the classical computing portions on the virtual machine implemented on the classical computing hardware (Execute on a classical server) of the respective first or second edge computing device“).
However, Heckey et al. does not explicitly teach the user interface is for acquiring a hybrid quantum-classical programming language corresponding to a to-be-executed task.
But Heckey et al. teaches executing hybrid quantum computing algorithms ([0046]: “Additionally, the first and second edge computing devices are each configured to instantiate a virtual machine implemented on classical computing hardware of the respective first or second edge computing device and receive, via the quantum computing service, a hybrid quantum computing algorithm comprising classical computing portions and quantum computing portions.”), and
Qiskit teaches a hybrid quantum-classical programming language (Qiskit Terra: “Qiskit is an open-source framework for working with noisy quantum computers at the level of pulses, circuits, and algorithms. Qiskit is made up of elements that work together to enable quantum computing. This element is Terra and is the foundation on which the rest of Qiskit is built.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the invention of Heckey et al. such that the SAAS layer is configured to provide a user interface for acquiring a hybrid quantum-classical programming language corresponding to a to-be-executed task to enable execution of both the classical and quantum portions of a quantum algorithm. For example, the classical tasks may be run with the standard python language while the quantum tasks may be run using the Qiskit library. One would be motivated to use a hybrid quantum-classical programming language for executing tasks when an algorithm includes both quantum and classical tasks and a standard programming language is insufficient to perform the quantum portions of an algorithm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the invention of Heckey et al. such that executing algorithm compilation and task separation is done on the hybrid quantum-classical programming language for the same rationale described above. For example, performing the classical portions on vanilla python and the quantum portions using Qiskit.
Heckey et al. modified by Qiskit teaches wherein the method comprises steps of:
Heckey et al. teaches Obtaining the quantum computing task ([0037]: “In some embodiments, a method includes receiving (Obtaining), at a quantum computing service implemented on one or more computing devices, from a customer of the quantum computing service, a definition of a quantum computing task to be performed (Obtaining the quantum computing task”) and the classical computing task corresponding to the to-be-executed task ([0185]: “Also, in some embodiments, edge computing device 1352 may also instantiate virtual machines that execute classical computing tasks, such as a classical computing portion of a hybrid algorithm.“; [0020]: “At 1804, the quantum computing service receives a hybrid quantum computing algorithm comprising classical computing portions (The classical computing portions corresponds to the classical computing tasks) and quantum computing portions.“)
by executing algorithm compilation ([0123]: “If customer 418 is satisfied with the definition of the customer's quantum object, at 432 the customer 418 may submit the defined quantum object (e.g. quantum task, quantum algorithm, quantum circuit) to be executed on the selected quantum hardware provider. The quantum computing service may translate (i.e. compile) the quantum object (e.g. quantum task, quantum algorithm, quantum circuit) into a quantum circuit translated into a format suitable to be executed on a quantum computer (Translating the quantum object, such as a quantum algorithm, is considered compiling the algorithm) of the selected quantum hardware provider.”; [0169]: “FIG. 11B illustrates additional steps that may be performed to translate a quantum task, algorithm, or circuit from an intermediate representation to a quantum computing technology specific representation, according to some embodiments.”; [0041]: “To translate the quantum computing object into the selected quantum circuit format, the one or more computing devices that implement the quantum computing service are configured to identify portions of the quantum computing object corresponding to quantum operators in the intermediate representation, substitute the quantum operators of the intermediate representation with quantum operators of the quantum circuit format of the particular quantum computing technology, and perform one or more optimizations to reduce an overall number of quantum operators in a translated quantum circuit that is a translated version of the received quantum computing object.”. The translation process described above is an example of algorithm compilation.)
and task separation on the hybrid quantum-classical programming language ([0046]: “Additionally, the first and second edge computing devices are each configured to instantiate a virtual machine implemented on classical computing hardware of the respective first or second edge computing device and receive, via the quantum computing service, a hybrid quantum computing algorithm comprising classical computing portions and quantum computing portions.”. A classical and quantum computing portion means there was task separation between classical and quantum tasks; [0049]: “a hybrid quantum computing algorithm comprising classical computing portions and quantum computing portions (Task separation of classical and quantum tasks). The program instructions further cause the one or more processors to execute the classical computing portions on the virtual machine implemented on the classical computing hardware of the edge computing device; coordinate, via the first connector coupled to the local network of the quantum hardware provider, execution of the quantum computing portions on a quantum computer at a location of the quantum hardware provider where the edge computing device is located”. “On the hybrid quantum-classical programming language” is interpreted to be where quantum tasks are executed via Qiskit and classical tasks are executed using basic python.); and
allocating resources to the quantum computing task and the classical computing task respectively ([0047]: “in some embodiments, the first and second edge computing devices are each configured to instantiate at least one virtual machine to manage coordinating execution of the quantum computing portions (Allocating resources to the quantum computing task) of the hybrid quantum computing algorithm and also instantiate one or more virtual machine to execute the classical computing portions (Allocating resources to the classical computing task) of the hybrid quantum computing algorithm.“); and
through the IaaS layer and according to the resource allocation condition in the PaaS layer ([0051]: “The first and second edge computing devices are each configured to receive one or more quantum computing circuits to be executed on a quantum computer at the first or second hardware provider location, schedule availability on the quantum computer for executing the one or more quantum computing circuits, store the one or more quantum computing circuits in a local queue of the first or second edge computing device, and submit the one or more quantum computing circuits to the quantum computer at the first or second quantum hardware provider location for execution during the scheduled availability (The scheduled availability corresponds to the resource allocation condition in the PaaS layer)”; [0091]: “Also, the edge computing device may have been configured with a quantum machine image that enables the edge computing device to interface with a scheduling application of the quantum hardware provider, where the edge computing device is located, in order to schedule a time slot on the quantum computer of the quantum hardware provider to execute the quantum circuit via the back-end API transport 110.”), executing the quantum computing task by the quantum virtual machine ([0035]: “The one or more computing devices that implement the quantum computing service are configured to receive, from a customer of the quantum computing service, a definition of a quantum computing object to be executed and select at least one of the first or second quantum hardware providers to execute the quantum computing object. In some embodiments, the quantum computing object may be a quantum task, such as a task defined using a problem-domain interface of a quantum algorithm development kit “; [0047]: “the first and second edge computing devices are each configured to execute the classical computing portions on the virtual machine implemented on the classical computing hardware of the respective first or second edge computing device and coordinate execution of the quantum computing portions on a quantum computer at the respective first or second quantum hardware provider location where the respective first or second edge computing device is located. For example, in some embodiments, the first and second edge computing devices are each configured to instantiate at least one virtual machine to manage coordinating execution of the quantum computing portions of the hybrid quantum computing algorithm”; [0054]: “ In some embodiments, a virtualization offloading component of an edge computing device located at a quantum hardware provider location may provide a compute instance instantiated on the edge computing device access to a quantum machine image (A virtual machine with a quantum machine image means it is a quantum virtual machine) stored in a block-based storage service of the service provider network for use in booting the compute instance (e.g. virtual machine) on the edge computing device.”; [0117]: “Additionally, a quantum algorithm development kit, such as quantum algorithm development kit 114, may include an option to simulate a quantum circuit being designed wherein the simulation is performed using classical hardware, such as compute instances of a virtual compute service as described in FIG. 3”; [0183]: “In some embodiments, the virtual machine 1370 may be booted with a particular quantum machine image (Quantum virtual machine) that supports interfacing with the scheduling component of the quantum hardware provider.”) and
executing the classical computing task by the classical server ([0047]: “the first and second edge computing devices are each configured to execute the classical computing portions on the virtual machine implemented on the classical computing hardware (Execute on a classical server) of the respective first or second edge computing device“).
However, Heckey et al. modified by Qiskit does not explicitly teach acquiring, by the user interface in the SaaS layer, the hybrid quantum-classical programming language corresponding to the to-be-executed task.
But, Heckey et al. teaches using hybrid algorithms for tasks ([0027]: “FIG. 18 illustrates an example process for executing a hybrid algorithm using an edge computing device of a quantum computing service, located at a quantum hardware provider location, according to some embodiments.”), and
Qiskit teaches a hybrid quantum-classical programming language (Qiskit: “Qiskit is a high-level programming language for quantum computing with a strong static type system.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Heckey et al. modified by Qiskit to acquire, by the user interface in the SaaS layer, the hybrid quantum-classical programming language corresponding to the to-be-executed task to enable execution of both the classical and quantum portions of a quantum algorithm. For example, the classical tasks may be run with the standard python language while the quantum tasks may be run using the Qiskit library. One would be motivated to use a hybrid quantum-classical programming language for executing tasks when an algorithm includes both quantum and classical tasks and a standard programming language is insufficient to perform the quantum portions of an algorithm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the invention of Heckey et al. such that executing algorithm compilation and task separation is done on the hybrid quantum-classical programming language for the same rationale described above. For example, performing the classical portions on standard python and the quantum portions using the Qiskit library.
9. Regarding claim 15, Heckey et al. modified by Qiskit teaches the hybrid quantum-classical cloud platform according to claim 3,
Heckey et al. teaches wherein the PaaS layer further comprises a cloud platform operating system ([0105]: “a virtual compute instance (e.g. virtual machine) may, for example, be implemented on one or more resource hosts 324 that comprise one or more servers with a specified computational capacity (which may be specified by indicating the type and number of CPUs, the main memory size, and so on) and a specified software stack (e.g., a particular version of an operating system, which may in turn run on top of a hypervisor).“; [0106]: “Compute instances may ope