DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 and 4 are objected to because of the following informalities: “[Chem.1], [Chem.2], [Chem.3] and [Chem. 4]” before each chemical formula should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1-2 and 4 are objected to because of the following informalities: “[ ]” and “( )” for each wherein clause should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1-2 are objected to because of the following informalities: “each R3 is independently a group selected from the options for R1 and R2, or is a group selected from -OH, -OCH3 and -OC2H5” should read “each R3 is independently a group selected from R1, R2, -OH, -OCH3 or -OC2H5”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “above” should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto et al (JP2001172878, of record, see IDS filed on 01/31/25, ‘878 hereafter) in view of Hamajima (WO2020/003971, of record, English equivalent EP3816229, ‘229 is cited in this office action ).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 6, ‘878 discloses a silicone emulsion composition, which is a textile treatment agent ([0001], [0004]-[0012]), comprising 100 parts by weight of an amino-modified silicone ([0012], [0013], 80 parts in Example 1); 50 parts by weight of a polyoxyalkylene glycidyl ether having 1 to 30 oxyethylene or/and oxypropylene structure units ([0011]) satisfying presently claimed formulae (2-1) ([0011], [0012], [0013], 40/80=50/100, 50 parts per 100 parts of silicone in Example 1); an surfactant in the range of 1 to 70 parts by weight per 100 parts silicone ([0008], [0013], Example 1, alkyl ether, 20/80=20 parts per 100 parts silicone); an organic acid in a range of 0.3 to 15 by weight per 100 parts of the silicone ([0009], [0013], Example 1, 1.5/80=1.9 parts by weight per 100 parts of silicone, [0053]-[0055]); and water in the range of 50 to 5000 parts by weight per 100 parts of silicone ([0013], Example 1, 800 parts of water per 80 parts of silicone ). ‘878 also discloses that the amino-modified silicone has viscosity and amino equivalent satisfying presently claimed ranges ([0013], Example 1, viscosity at 25°C is 1500 mPas (value of mm2/s = value of mPas) and an amino equivalent weight is 1700 g/mol), but does not specifically name a silicone satisfying formula (1) as presently claimed. However, in the same field of endeavor, ‘229 discloses a silicone composition comprising a copolymer formed from an amino-modified silicone satisfying presently claimed formula (1) as in present claim 1 and formula (1-2) as in present claim 2, ([0008]-[0009], formula (1-1), [0012]-[0014], silicone listed in [0028]; c, d and e in the formula (1) as presently claimed are 0) with a polyoxyalkylene epoxy satisfying presently claimed formulae (2-1) or (2-2) ([0008]-[0009], Formulae (2-1) and (2-2), [0029]-[0030]); and other components such as surfactant, acid and water ([0061]-[0066]), to render a silicone composition function as a textile treatment agent to impart good softness and water absorbency to textile fiber ([0008]). In light of the teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the amino-modified silicone as taught by ‘229, to modify the silicone composition of ‘878, in order to render a silicone-based textile treatment agent having good softness and water absorbency.
Regarding claim 4, modified ‘878 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, ‘229 also discloses that the silicone composition may further include a polyether-modified silicone, satisfying presently claimed formula (4), with a content range of 5 to 50 parts per 100 parts of the copolymer ([0009], component (B), [0045]-[0052]).
Regarding claim 5, modified ‘878 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, ‘878 also discloses that the silicone emulsion does not contain organic solvent ([0013], Example 1).
Conclusion
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782