DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Gas mixing unit in claims 1; and
Control unit in claims 6 and 7.
The gas mixing unit is interpreted as a container in which gases are mixed as seen in Figure 1; and
Control unit is interpreted as a controller 900 as seen in Figure 1.
The claim limitation “plurality of source gas supply units” in claim 1 is no longer being interpreted under 112(f) because claim 1 has been amended to include sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Specifically, claim 1 has been amended to include the following limitations “the plurality of source gas supply units comprise: a plurality of source storages in which a plurality of source materials for generating the plurality of source gases are respectively stored with a liquid state; a plurality of source storage heaters configured to respectively heat the plurality of source storages; and a plurality of source gas pipes configured to form flow paths that respectively connect the plurality of source storages and the gas mixing unit”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winkler et al, US 2022/0403513 A1, in view of Nakabayashi, JP-5194737 B2, and Tsujita et al, US 2022/0029194 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Winkler et al teaches Winkler et al teaches an apparatus 100 for processing a substrate, comprising: a plurality of source gas supply units (114, 116, 118, 126, 128, 130, and associated piping, Figure 1) configured to respectively supply a plurality of source gases among which at least one contains (3- Dimethylaminopropyl)Dimethylindium (DADI) (Paragraph 0039); a gas mixing unit 112 connected to each of the plurality of source gas supply units via valves 120, 122, 124 and having an inner space in which each of the plurality of source gases moves at a passing speed less than a supply speed of each of the plurality of source gases (Figure 1, inherent due to the size of the volume of 112); and a chamber 102 connected with the gas mixing unit 112 and having a reaction space to which the source gases mixed in the inner space are supplied (Figure 1); a mixed gas pipe (pipe connecting gas mixing unit 112 and chamber 102) configured to form a flow path configured to connect the gas mixing unit 112 and the chamber 102 (Figure 1); and a control unit 108 configured to control each of the plurality of source gas supply units, wherein the plurality of source gas supply units comprise: a plurality of source storages 114, 116, 118 in which a plurality of source materials for generating the plurality of source gases are respectively stored with a liquid state (Figure 1); a plurality of source gas pipes (pipes containing valves 120, 122, 124) configured to form flow paths that respectively connect the plurality of source storages and the gas mixing unit 112; wherein the inner space has a cross-sectional area crossing a direction in which the plurality of source gases pass, which is greater than a sum of cross-sectional areas of the flow paths respectively formed in the plurality of source gas pipes (Figure 1); and the flow path formed in the mixed gas pipe has a cross-sectional area less than that of the inner space crossing the direction in which the plurality of source gases pass. (Figure 1).
Winkler et al differs from the present invention in that Winkler et al does not teach that the flow path formed in the mixed gas pipe has a cross-sectional area greater than a sum of cross-sectional areas of the flow paths respectively formed in the plurality of source gas pipes.
However, a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have known how to determine the optimum cross-section area of the mixed gas pipe compared to the combined cross-section area of the source gas pipes by routine experimentation. Having determined that the optimum cross-section area of the mixed gas pipe is greater than the combined cross-section area of the source gas pipes, such person would have been motivated to modify Winkler et al make the cross-section area of the mixed gas pipe greater than the combined cross-section area of the source gas pipes.
Applicant is reminded that when a particular parameter is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of the variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977) In addition, where the general conditions of such a particular parameter in a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) as well as MPEP § 2144.05 (II)(A). In the present case, the relationship between the flow of gas into and out of the mixing chamber is dependent on the relationship of the cross-section area of the mixed gas pipe and the combined cross-section area of the source gas pipes. This relationship is fundamental in fluid dynamics and is explained by Bernoulli’s principle and controlled (or calculated) with Bernoulli’s equation:
ρA1V1= ρA2V2
or re-arranged as:
Where:
V1 is the velocity of the flow into the mixing chamber;
V2 is the velocity of the flow exiting the mixing chamber;
A1 is the cross-section area of the source gas pipes; and
A2 is the cross-section area of the mixed gas pipes.
Thus, the relationship of the cross-section area of the mixed gas pipe and the combined cross-section area of the source gas pipes (A1/A2) is a well-known result-effective variable in the calculation of the fluid flow in the art of fluid dynamics as evidenced in Bernoulli’s equation above. To that end, the relationship between the cross-section area of the mixed gas pipe and the combined cross-section area of the source gas pipes is a result-effective variable.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Winkler et al to optimize the relationship between the cross-section area of the mixed gas pipe and the combined cross-section area of the source gas pipes by making the cross-sectional area of the mixed gas pipe greater than the combined cross-section area of the source gas pipes. To that end, the claimed subject matter is obvious in view of Winkler et al.
The Examiner also notes that:
It was held in Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), by the Federal Circuit that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. (Also see MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A))
It has been held that dimensions are not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art. (See In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) or MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A)
Winkler et al differs from the present invention in that Winkler et al does not teach a mixed gas pipe heater configured to heat the mixed gas pipe.
Nakabayashi teaches a gas mixing unit 104 mixed gas pipe 103 configured to form a flow path configured to connect the gas mixing unit 104 and the chamber 101, and a mixed gas pipe heater 102 configured to heat the mixed gas pipe 103.
The motivation for adding the mixed gas pipe heater of Nakabayashi to the mixed gas pipe of Winkler et al is to maintain the temperature of the precursor gas in the mixed gas pipe and to prevent the precursor gas from condensing in the mixed gas pipe as taught by Nakabayashi and well known in the art.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to add the mixed gas pipe heater of Nakabayashi to the mixed gas pipe of Winkler et al.
Winkler et al and Nakabayashi differ from the present invention in that they do not teach a plurality of source storage heaters configured to respectively heat the plurality of source storages; or that the control unit controls the plurality of source storage heaters so that the plurality of source storages are maintained at different temperatures, and controls the mixed gas pipe heater so that the mixed gas pipe is maintained at a temperature in a range from 30°C to 150°C.
Tsujita et al teaches a plurality of source storages 23, 24, 25 in which a plurality of source materials for generating the plurality of source gases are respectively stored with a liquid state; a plurality of source storage heaters (ribbon heaters wrapped around the source storages and pipes, Paragraph 0336, 0342) configured to respectively heat the plurality of source storages; and a control unit 35 controls the plurality of source storage heaters so that the plurality of source storages are maintained at different temperatures, and controls the mixed gas pipe heater so that the mixed gas pipe is maintained at a temperature in a range from 30°C to 150°C (Paragraph 0131, 0134, 0147, 0166-0169).
The motivation for adding a plurality of source storage heaters of Tsujita et al to the plurality of source storages of Winkler et al and Nakabayashi is to control the temperature of the source storages.
The motivation for using the controller of Winkler et al and Nakabayashi to control the plurality of source storage heaters so that the plurality of source storages are maintained at different temperatures, and controls the mixed gas pipe heater so that the mixed gas pipe is maintained at a temperature in a range from 30°C to 150°C as taught by Tsujita et al is to control the temperature of the source storages and mixed gas pipe as taught by Tsujita et al.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to add a plurality of source storage heaters of Tsujita et al to the plurality of source storages of Winkler et al and Nakabayashi; and use the controller of Winkler et al and Nakabayashi to control the plurality of source storage heaters so that the plurality of source storages are maintained at different temperatures, and control the mixed gas pipe heater so that the mixed gas pipe is maintained at a temperature in a range from 30°C to 150°C as taught by Tsujita et al.
Regarding claim 5, Winkler et al, Nakabayashi, and Tsujita et al were discussed above and do not teach the inner space has a volume greater than a maximum volume of the plurality of source gases supplied per hour from the plurality of source gas supply units.
However, a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have known to how determine the optimum volume of the mixing chamber by routine experimentation. Having determined such optimum volume, such person would have been motivated to modify Winkler et al, Nakabayashi, and Tsujita et al to make the mixing chamber the optimum volume.
Applicant is reminded that when a particular parameter is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of the variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). In addition, where the general conditions of such a particular parameter in a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) as well as MPEP § 2144.05 (II)(A). In the present case, it is well known that the volume of the mixing chamber determines how much gas the mixing chamber can hold. To that end, the volume of the mixing chamber a result-effective variable.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Winkler et al, Nakabayashi, and Tsujita et al to include the optimum volume of the mixing chamber. To that end, claim 5 is obvious in view of Winkler et al, Nakabayashi, and Tsujita et al.
The Examiner also notes that:
It was held in Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), by the Federal Circuit that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. (Also see MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A))
It has been held that dimensions are not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art. (See In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) or MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A)
Regarding claim 6, Winkler et al teaches that the plurality of source gas supply units further comprise a plurality of carrier gas suppliers 132 configured to supply a carrier gas to each of the plurality of source storages, and wherein the control unit 108 adjusts a supply amount of each of the carrier gases supplied from the plurality of carrier gas suppliers 132 via control valves 126, 128, 130.
Regarding claim 7, Winkler et al teaches that the control unit 108 adjusts the supply amount of each of the carrier gases in proportional to a mixing ratio of the source gases mixed in the inner space. (Paragraph 0043)
Regarding claim 8, Winkler et al teaches that the plurality of source storages comprise: a first source storage 114 configured to store one of the source materials containing (3-Dimethylaminopropyl)Dimethylindium (DADI); a second source storage 116 configured to store a source material containing at least one of trimethylgallium (TMG) and triethylgallium (TEG); and a third source storage118 configured to store a source material containing at least one of diethylzinc (DEG) and dimethylzinc (DMZ). (Paragraph 0039)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 13, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regard to the arguments directed to the 103 rejection of claim 1, the Examiner disagrees for the following reasons:
The Applicant argues that “Winkler is completely silent on the cross-sectional areas of any of the pipes therein, and is similarly silent as to any “optimization” as to the relationships thereof”. In its silence, Winkler et al does address the optimization of the pipes. A patent does not need to disclose every aspect of an invention. It needs only disclose the important aspects. As noted by the Applicant it is common to not disclose pipe diameters. Winkler et al discloses 3 pipes flowing into the mixing device 112 and one pipe flowing out and does not disclose the cross-sectional area. Thus, Winkler et al in its silence on the cross-sectional area of the pipes acknowledges that this limitation is not critical to the apparatus. It also acknowledges that one of ordinary skill in the art, upon reading Winkler et al would understand that the cross-sectional area of the pipe is a variable and can be optimized to obtain the desired flow rate into and out of the mixing device 112. Therefore, Winkler et al does identify that the cross-sectional area of the pipes are rate effective variables and can be optimize for each different process performed in the apparatus.
The term “prior art” refers to more than a specific patent, it also refers to the general knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art. Bernoulli’s principle is a fundamental principle in fluid dynamics and is a fundamental part of any piping system. Thus, Bernoulli’s principle is prior art and clearly suggests the optimization of the ratios of the cross-sectional areas of the gas pipes flowing into and out of the mixing device to control the flow of the gas through the mixing device.
The “recognizable “result” that is different (and, thus, “optimizable”) than any other adjustment” in Bernoulli’s principle is flow rate, and flow rate is critical in every process performed in the apparatus of Winkler et al. Thus there is motivation for optimizing the flow rate through the pipes.
Applicant argues that “As is evident, if the proffered rationale to modify Winkler based on Bernoulli’s principle were accepted, then equation describing any natural phenomenon, mechanical system, etc. could be invoked to render essentially any claim limitation “obvious by routine optimization.” That result would eviscerate the requirement for an articulated reason with rational underpinning under KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007)”. This is not found persuasive because the rejection can be overcome using the elements noted in MPEP § 2144.05.III.A Showing That the Range is Critical, B. Showing That the Prior Art Teaches Away, C. Showing That the Claimed Parameter Was Not Recognized as "Result-Effective", or D. Showing That a Claimed Parameter is Disclosed in a Very Broad Range in Prior Art. Applicant has not shown any criticality in the ratio, that the prior art teaches away, or that the claimed parameter is disclosed in a very broad range. The Applicant has stated that Winkler et al does not specifically teach this variable and concludes that as a result the claimed parameter is not recognized as a result-effective variable. However, Applicant has not addressed the well-known teachings of Bernoulli or the well-known requirements to optimize the generic pipes disclosed in Winkler et al as providing evidence that the ratio of the cross-sectional area of the pipes is a result-effective variable.
As noted in MPEP § 2144.05.II.A, a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent". Winkler et al and Bernoulli’s principle work together to show how the variable of the ratio or proportion of the cross-section area of Winkler et al effects the flow through the mixing device 112. It is the fundamental relationship between the ratio of the cross-sectional area of the pipes that determines the variable of flow rate. Change the ratio of the cross-sectional area and get a different flow rate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited art teaches the technological background of the invention. The following references teach a precursor source heater or a mixed gas pipe heater: US-9169555-B2, US-7651570-B2, US-6110283-A, US-5190913-A, US-4549889-A, US-20220411962-A1, US-20210197157-A1, US-20160222511-A1, US-20080000416-A1.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Jeffrie R Lund/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716