DETAILED ACTION
This office action response the amendment application on 11/20/2025.
Claims 19-38 are presented for examination.
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Amendment
This is in response to the amendments filed on 20 November, 2025. No Claims have been amended. Claims 1-18 have been withdrawn from consideration. Claims 19-38 are pending and have been considered below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 20, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (Remarks, pp. 11–14) that Gao in view of Yi fails to disclose:
“receiving, from the network node, a configuration for reporting the BSR … the configuration indicating one or more logical channel groups (LCGs) to which a non-legacy BSR table applies,” and
“wherein the first LCG corresponds to one of the one or more LCGs for which the configuration … indicates the non-legacy BSR table applies.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI)
As a preliminary matter, claims are interpreted under the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification. In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054 (Fed. Cir. 1997). The claims do not provide a special definition of “configuration indicating … a non-legacy BSR table applies.” Therefore, the term reasonably encompasses configuration information that enables or defines use of an extended or alternative BSR mapping table.
Claim Mapping
Limitation 1:
“Receiving, from the network node, a configuration for reporting the BSR…”
Gao discloses that the UE receives bearer configuration information from the eNB. See Gao ¶¶ [0158–0159], Fig. 7. Specifically, ¶ [0159] teaches that bearer configuration information includes a first logical channel group identity and a second logical channel group identity.
Thus, Gao explicitly teaches receiving configuration information from a network node for BSR reporting.
Limitation 2:
“The configuration indicating one or more LCGs to which a non-legacy BSR table applies”
Yi discloses an extended BSR table (Table 2) for reporting buffer sizes beyond legacy limits. See Yi ¶¶ [0077], [0086]. Yi teaches that:
Table 1 reports 0–150 KB
Table 2 reports 150–1500 KB
This extended BSR table constitutes a “non-legacy” BSR table under the broadest reasonable interpretation, as it is an alternative/specially designed mapping table extending conventional reporting ranges.
A reference need not use identical terminology. See In re Paulsen, 30 F.3d 1475, 1480 (Fed. Cir. 1994). The functional teaching is sufficient.
Limitation 3:
“Wherein the first LCG corresponds to one of the LCGs for which the configuration indicates the non-legacy BSR table applies”
Gao discloses multiple logical channel group identities (¶ [0159]). Gao further teaches receiving function configuration information from the eNB (¶¶ [0133–0134]).
Yi teaches use of the extended BSR table for buffer size reporting (¶¶ [0077], [0086]).
Combining Gao’s LCG configuration signaling with Yi’s extended BSR table yields a configuration in which particular LCGs utilize the extended table. The combination merely applies Yi’s known extended table mechanism within Gao’s configurable LCG framework.
Combining known elements according to their established functions is obvious. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007).
Applicant has not identified any structural or functional limitation excluding such interpretation.
Response to Argument 2
Alleged Change to Gao’s Principle of Operation
Applicant argues the modification changes Gao’s principle of operation and renders Gao unsatisfactory.
The Examiner disagrees.
Gao’s purpose is to configure LCG reporting behavior via signaling from the eNB (¶ [0159]). Incorporating Yi’s extended BSR table does not remove Gao’s priority distinction functionality. Rather, it supplements buffer size reporting granularity.
A modification changes a principle of operation only if it destroys the reference’s basic function. See In re Ratti, 270 F.2d 810, 813 (CCPA 1959). Here, Gao still:
receives configuration from the eNB,
identifies LCGs,
reports BSR accordingly.
Yi’s table merely modifies the mapping scale used during reporting. It does not eliminate priority signaling.
Further, obviousness does not require bodily incorporation. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 425 (CCPA 1981).
A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine Gao’s configurable LCG mechanism with Yi’s improved reporting resolution to enhance buffer reporting efficiency. Improving accuracy is a recognized motivation. KSR, 550 U.S. at 417.
Thus, Gao’s principle of operation remains intact.
Response to Argument 3
Alleged Change to Yi’s Principle of Operation
Applicant argues the modification prevents Yi’s UE from dynamically selecting tables based on buffer size.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Yi teaches the existence of multiple BSR tables (¶ [0077]). The claims do not require dynamic selection based solely on buffer size thresholds. Under BRI, configuring certain LCGs to use an extended table does not contradict Yi’s disclosure; rather, it applies Yi’s extended table in a predictable manner within Gao’s configuration framework.
A reference is not limited to its preferred embodiment. See In re Sovish, 769 F.2d 738, 742 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Further, combining signaling-based selection (Gao) with extended table reporting (Yi) represents a predictable variation. Predictable variations are obvious. KSR, 550 U.S. at 417.
The proposed combination does not render Yi unsatisfactory; it simply integrates Yi’s extended reporting into Gao’s configurable architecture.
Conclusion
For the reasons stated above:
Gao teaches receiving configuration and LCG identification (¶¶ [0133–0134], [0158–0159]).
Yi teaches a non-legacy (extended) BSR table (¶¶ [0077], [0086]).
The combination yields the claimed configuration indicating LCGs to which a non-legacy BSR table applies.
The modification does not change the principle of operation of either reference.
The combination represents a predictable use of known elements under KSR.
Accordingly, the rejection of claims 19–24, 27–30, and 32–38 under 35 U.S.C. §103 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-24, 27-30, and 32-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over GAO et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0007229), (“D1”, hereinafter), in view of Yi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20130058220), (“D2”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 19, D1 discloses a method performed by a communication device for reporting a buffer status report (BSR) to a network node ([see, [0158-0159], and Fig. 7, a method for transmitting a buffer status report from a user equipment in a wireless communication system]), the method comprising:
receiving, from the network node (i.e., eNB), a configuration for reporting the BSR to the network node (i.e., the UE) ([see, [0158-0159], and Fig. 7, The UE receives bearer configuration information sent by the eNB]), the configuration indicating one or more logical channel groups (LCGs) ([see, [0159], and Fig. 7, the bearer configuration information includes a first logic channel group identity and a second logic channel group identity]);
generating the BSR ([see, [0162], generating, by the UE, a buffer status report]), wherein the first LCG corresponds to one of the one or more LCGs ([see, [0159], a first logic channel group identity and a second logic channel group identity]), for which the configuration received from the network node indicates ([see, [0133-0134], UE receives function configuration information sent by the eNB]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: a non-legacy BSR table applies; the BSR based on a non-legacy BSR format, the BSR indicating a respective buffer status for each of a plurality of LCGs, the plurality of LCGs comprising a first LCG reported according to the non-legacy BSR table and a second LCG reported according to a legacy BSR table; wherein the first LCG… indicates the non-legacy BSR table applies; and transmitting the BSR toward the network node.
However, D2 discloses the logical channel groups (LCGs)… to which a non-legacy BSR (i.e., updated system of Buffer Status Reporting) table applies ([see, [0071, 0076], wherein the table 1 with Buffer Size (BS) value, reporting buffer sizes exceeding 150 kbytes is newly defined in addition to the existing Table 1 and the user equipment selects a table depending on data to be reported]); the BSR based on a non-legacy BSR format ([see, [0076], wherein the reporting buffer sizes exceeding 150 kbytes is newly defined in addition to the existing Table 1]), the BSR indicating a respective buffer status for each of a plurality of LCGs ([see, [0014], the buffer status report information includes buffer size information configured to correspond to each of at least one logical channel group (LCG)]), the plurality of LCGs ([see, [0060], LCGs disclosed]) comprising a first LCG (i.e., short BSR) reported according to the non-legacy BSR table and a second LCG (i.e., long BSR) reported according to a legacy BSR table ([see, [0060, 0070-0071], wherein the plurality of LGCs transmits which one of short BSR and long BSR will be determined, and a buffer size index corresponding to the identified buffer size to be included in a buffer size field of the buffer status report (BSR) by using Table 1]);
the non-legacy BSR table applies and transmitting the BSR toward the network node ([see, [0061, 0077], the user equipment (corresponding to the network node) transmits the short BSR together with logical channel group (LCG) ID to indicate a logical channel group (LCG), extended BSR table indicating buffer size levels of additional 150 kbytes to 1500 kbytes is defined in addition to Table 1 indicating buffer size levels of 0 kbyte to 150 kbytes to the base station (corresponding to toward the network node)]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide determining buffer state report results enables transmitting the buffer state report to the base station in an effective manner (D2, [0016]]).
As per Claim 28, D1 discloses a method performed by a network node for receiving a buffer status report (BSR) from a communication device ([see, [0158-0159], and Fig. 7, a method for transmitting a buffer status report from a user equipment in a wireless communication system]), the method comprising:
transmitting, to the communication device, a configuration for reporting the BSR to the network node ([see, [0158-0159], and Fig. 7, The UE receives bearer configuration information sent by the eNB]),
the configuration indicating one or more logical channel groups (LCGs) ([see, [0159], and Fig. 7, the bearer configuration information includes a first logic channel group identity and a second logic channel group identity]);
receiving the BSR from the communication device ([see, [0162], generating, by the UE, a buffer status report]),
wherein the first LCG corresponds to one of the one or more LCGs ([see, [0159], a first logic channel group identity and a second logic channel group identity]), for which the configuration transmitted to the communication device ([see, [0133-0134], UE receives function configuration information sent by the eNB]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: a non-legacy BSR table applies; and the BSR based on a non-legacy BSR format, the BSR indicating a respective buffer status for each of a plurality of LCGs, the plurality of LCGs comprising a first LCG reported according to the non-legacy BSR table and a second LCG reported according to a legacy BSR table, wherein the first LCG… indicates the non-legacy BSR table applies.
However, D2 discloses the logical channel groups (LCGs)… to which a non-legacy BSR (i.e., updated system of Buffer Status Reporting) table applies ([see, [0071, 0076], wherein the table 1 with Buffer Size (BS) value, reporting buffer sizes exceeding 150 kbytes is newly defined in addition to the existing Table 1 and the user equipment selects a table depending on data to be reported]); the BSR based on a non-legacy BSR format ([see, [0076], wherein the reporting buffer sizes exceeding 150 kbytes is newly defined in addition to the existing Table 1]), the BSR indicating a respective buffer status for each of a plurality of LCGs ([see, [0014], the buffer status report information includes buffer size information configured to correspond to each of at least one logical channel group (LCG)]), the plurality of LCGs ([see, [0060], LCGs disclosed]) comprising a first LCG (i.e., short BSR) reported according to the non-legacy BSR table and a second LCG (i.e., long BSR) reported according to a legacy BSR table ([see, [0060, 0070-0071], wherein the plurality of LGCs transmits which one of short BSR and long BSR will be determined, and a buffer size index corresponding to the identified buffer size to be included in a buffer size field of the buffer status report (BSR) by using Table 1]);
the non-legacy BSR table applies and transmitting the BSR toward the network node ([see, [0061, 0077], the user equipment (corresponding to the network node) transmits the short BSR together with logical channel group (LCG) ID to indicate a logical channel group (LCG), extended BSR table indicating buffer size levels of additional 150 kbytes to 1500 kbytes is defined in addition to Table 1 indicating buffer size levels of 0 kbyte to 150 kbytes to the base station (corresponding to toward the network node)]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide determining buffer state report results enables transmitting the buffer state report to the base station in an effective manner (D2, [0016]]).
As per Claims 20, 29, D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein:
the legacy BSR table corresponds to a table defined for a legacy BSR format ([see, [0076], wherein the reporting buffer sizes exceeding 150 kbytes is newly defined in addition to the existing Table 1]),
the legacy BSR format corresponding to a short BSR format ([see, [0060, 0070-0071], wherein the plurality of LGCs transmits which one of short BSR disclosed]),
a short truncated BSR format , a long truncated BSR format, or a long BSR format ([see, [0059-0060], and Fig. 7, a short BSR the data to be transmitted to one LCG only, and long BSR data to be transmitted to two or more LCGs disclosed]); and
the non-legacy BSR (i.e., updated system of Buffer Status Reporting) table corresponds to a table defined for the non-legacy BSR format ([see, [0076-0077], and Table 2, an extended BSR table indicating buffer size levels of additional 150 kbytes to 1500 kbytes is defined in addition to Table 1 indicating buffer size levels of 0 kbyte to 150 kbytes]), the non-legacy BSR format corresponding to a format other than any of the short BSR format ([see, [0059-0060, 0077], and Fig. 7 and Table 2, other than a short BSR, the long BSR data to be transmitted to two or more LCGs based on the extended BSR table]),
the short truncated BSR format, the long truncated BSR format, and the long BSR format ([see, [0059-0060], and Fig. 7, a short BSR the data to be transmitted to one LCG only, and long BSR data to be transmitted to two or more LCGs disclosed]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide determining buffer state report results enables transmitting the buffer state report to the base station in an effective manner (D2, [0016]]).
As per Claims 21, 30, D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein, for each LCG of the plurality of LCGs ([see, [0059-0060], and Fig. 8-10, two or more LCGs disclosed]), the BSR includes:
an indication of the respective LCG ([see, 0061], indicate a logical channel group (LCG)]);
an indication of a respective BSR table based on which the BSR indicates the buffer status of the respective LCG ([see, [0071], wherein the buffer status report (BSR) by using Table 1 indicates the buffer size for each LCG]); and
an indication of the buffer status of the respective LCG based on a buffer status index of the respective BSR table ([see, [0071], the buffer size for each LCG is identified, the user equipment allows a buffer size index corresponding to the identified buffer size to be included in a buffer size field of the buffer status report (BSR) by using Table 1]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide determining buffer state report results enables transmitting the buffer state report to the base station in an effective manner (D2, [0016]]).
As per Claim 22, D1 and D2 disclose the method of Claim 21, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein the configuration for reporting the BSR is received from the network node (i.e., user equipment), in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration message ([see, [0049-0051, 0057], wherein the RRC layer of the user equipment is logically connected with the RRC layer of the E-UTRAN (corresponding to the network node) within uplink data transmission, the information on the uplink data transmitted from the user equipment to the base station referred to as a buffer status report (BSR) (corresponding to configuration for reporting) received from the user equipment through the logically connected with the RRC layer]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide determining buffer state report results enables transmitting the buffer state report to the base station in an effective manner (D2, [0016]]).
As per Claim 23, D1 and D2 disclose the method of Claim 21, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein: for the first LCG ([see, [0058-0060], and Fig. 7, short BSR disclosed]),
the indication of the respective BSR table indicates the non- legacy BSR (i.e., updated system of Buffer Status Reporting (BSR)) table ([see, [0071-0073, 0077], transmits the buffer status report (BSR) on the basis of values between respective levels are more increased than those of Table 1, extended BSR table indicating buffer size levels of additional 150 kbytes to 1500 kbytes]); and
for the second LCG ([see, [0058-0060], short BSR disclosed]), the indication of the respective BSR table indicates the legacy BSR table ([see, [0071-0073], transmits the buffer status report (BSR) on the basis of Table 1, the buffer size between 150 kbytes and 1500 kbytes is simply reported as information more than 150 kbytes]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide determining buffer state report results enables transmitting the buffer state report to the base station in an effective manner (D2, [0016]]).
As per Claim 24, D1 and D2 disclose the method of Claim 21, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses each buffer status based on a respective amount of data available for transmission ([see, [0057], a buffer status report (BSR) performed by the MAC layer indicates radio resources of the uplink, the base station should know how many data available for transmission and what kind of data should be transmitted to each user equipment through the uplink]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide determining buffer state report results enables transmitting the buffer state report to the base station in an effective manner (D2, [0016]]).
As per Claims 27, 32, D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein the second LCG does not correspond to any of the one or more LCGs for which the configuration received from the network node indicates the non-legacy BSR table applies ([see, [0060, 0075], wherein the user equipment (i.e., the network node) transmits the long BSR (second LCG), when the long BSR is transmitted, buffer sizes for four LCGs are always transmitted together with the long BSR, and Even though the user equipment actually uses one LCG only, buffer sizes for the other three LCGs are reported unnecessarily]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide determining buffer state report results enables transmitting the buffer state report to the base station in an effective manner (D2, [0016]]).
As per Claim 33, D1 discloses a communication device ([see, Fig. 15, the user equipment]) configured to report a buffer status report (BSR) to a network node ([see, [0158-0159], and Fig. 7, a method for transmitting a buffer status report from a user equipment in a wireless communication system]), the communication device comprising:
processing circuitry ([see, [0219-0221], and Fig. 15, the processor 31]); and memory coupled with the processing circuitry ([see, [0219-0221], and Fig. 15, the processor 31]), wherein the memory includes instructions that when executed by the processing circuitry causes the communication device to perform operations ([see, [0241], program may be stored in a computer-readable storage medium]), whereby the communication device is configured to:
receive, from the network node (i.e., eNB), a configuration for reporting the BSR to the network node (i.e., the UE) ([see, [0158-0159], and Fig. 7, The UE receives bearer configuration information sent by the eNB]), the configuration indicating one or more logical channel groups (LCGs) ([see, [0159], and Fig. 7, the bearer configuration information includes a first logic channel group identity and a second logic channel group identity]);
generate the BSR ([see, [0162], generating, by the UE, a buffer status report]),
wherein the first LCG corresponds to one of the one or more LCGs ([see, [0159], a first logic channel group identity and a second logic channel group identity]), for which the configuration received from the network node ([see, [0133-0134], UE receives function configuration information sent by the eNB]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: a non-legacy BSR table applies; the BSR based on a non-legacy BSR format, the BSR indicating a respective buffer status for each of a plurality of LCGs, the plurality of LCGs comprising a first LCG reported according to the non-legacy BSR table and a second LCG reported according to a legacy BSR table; wherein the first LCG… indicates the non-legacy BSR table applies; and transmit the BSR toward the network node.
However, D2 discloses the logical channel groups (LCGs)… to which a non-legacy BSR (i.e., updated system of Buffer Status Reporting) table applies ([see, [0071, 0076], wherein the table 1 with Buffer Size (BS) value, reporting buffer sizes exceeding 150 kbytes is newly defined in addition to the existing Table 1 and the user equipment selects a table depending on data to be reported]); the BSR based on a non-legacy BSR format ([see, [0076], wherein the reporting buffer sizes exceeding 150 kbytes is newly defined in addition to the existing Table 1]), the BSR indicating a respective buffer status for each of a plurality of LCGs ([see, [0014], the buffer status report information includes buffer size information configured to correspond to each of at least one logical channel group (LCG)]), the plurality of LCGs ([see, [0060], LCGs disclosed]) comprising a first LCG (i.e., short BSR) reported according to the non-legacy BSR table and a second LCG (i.e., long BSR) reported according to a legacy BSR table ([see, [0060, 0070-0071], wherein the plurality of LGCs transmits which one of short BSR and long BSR will be determined, and a buffer size index corresponding to the identified buffer size to be included in a buffer size field of the buffer status report (BSR) by using Table 1]);
the non-legacy BSR table applies and transmit the BSR toward the network node ([see, [0061, 0077], the user equipment (corresponding to the network node) transmits the short BSR together with logical channel group (LCG) ID to indicate a logical channel group (LCG), extended BSR table indicating buffer size levels of additional 150 kbytes to 1500 kbytes is defined in addition to Table 1 indicating buffer size levels of 0 kbyte to 150 kbytes to the base station (corresponding to toward the network node)]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide determining buffer state report results enables transmitting the buffer state report to the base station in an effective manner (D2, [0016]]).
As per Claim 36, D1 discloses a radio access network (RAN) node ([see, [0207], and Fig. 13, the base station]) configured to receive a buffer status report (BSR) from a communication device ([see, [0208], and Fig. 13, receiving unit 21, configured to receive a buffer status report sent by user equipment UE]), the RAN node comprising: processing circuitry ([see, [0209], and Fig. 13, processing unit 22]); and
memory coupled with the processing circuitry, wherein the memory includes instructions that when executed by the processing circuitry causes the RAN node to perform operations ([see, [0241], program may be stored in a computer-readable storage medium]), whereby the RAN node is configured to:
transmitting, to the communication device, a configuration for reporting the BSR to the network node ([see, [0158-0159], and Fig. 7, The UE receives bearer configuration information sent by the eNB]),
the configuration indicating one or more logical channel groups (LCGs) ([see, [0159], and Fig. 7, the bearer configuration information includes a first logic channel group identity and a second logic channel group identity]);
receiving the BSR from the communication device ([see, [0162], generating, by the UE, a buffer status report]),
wherein the first LCG corresponds to one of the one or more LCGs ([see, [0159], a first logic channel group identity and a second logic channel group identity]), for which the configuration transmitted to the communication device ([see, [0133-0134], UE receives function configuration information sent by the eNB]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: a non-legacy BSR table applies; and the BSR based on a non-legacy BSR format, the BSR indicating a respective buffer status for each of a plurality of LCGs, the plurality of LCGs comprising a first LCG reported according to the non-legacy BSR table and a second LCG reported according to a legacy BSR table, wherein the first LCG… indicates the non-legacy BSR table applies.
However, D2 discloses the logical channel groups (LCGs)… to which a non-legacy BSR (i.e., updated system of Buffer Status Reporting) table applies ([see, [0071, 0076], wherein the table 1 with Buffer Size (BS) value, reporting buffer sizes exceeding 150 kbytes is newly defined in addition to the existing Table 1 and the user equipment selects a table depending on data to be reported]); the BSR based on a non-legacy BSR format ([see, [0076], wherein the reporting buffer sizes exceeding 150 kbytes is newly defined in addition to the existing Table 1]), the BSR indicating a respective buffer status for each of a plurality of LCGs ([see, [0014], the buffer status report information includes buffer size information configured to correspond to each of at least one logical channel group (LCG)]), the plurality of LCGs ([see, [0060], LCGs disclosed]) comprising a first LCG (i.e., short BSR) reported according to the non-legacy BSR table and a second LCG (i.e., long BSR) reported according to a legacy BSR table ([see, [0060, 0070-0071], wherein the plurality of LGCs transmits which one of short BSR and long BSR will be determined, and a buffer size index corresponding to the identified buffer size to be included in a buffer size field of the buffer status report (BSR) by using Table 1]);
the non-legacy BSR table applies and transmitting the BSR toward the network node ([see, [0061, 0077], the user equipment (corresponding to the network node) transmits the short BSR together with logical channel group (LCG) ID to indicate a logical channel group (LCG), extended BSR table indicating buffer size levels of additional 150 kbytes to 1500 kbytes is defined in addition to Table 1 indicating buffer size levels of 0 kbyte to 150 kbytes to the base station (corresponding to toward the network node)]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide determining buffer state report results enables transmitting the buffer state report to the base station in an effective manner (D2, [0016]]).
As per Claims 34, 37, D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein:
the legacy BSR table corresponds to a table defined for a legacy BSR format ([see, [0076], wherein the reporting buffer sizes exceeding 150 kbytes is newly defined in addition to the existing Table 1]),
the legacy BSR format corresponding to a short BSR format ([see, [0060, 0070-0071], wherein the plurality of LGCs transmits which one of short BSR disclosed]),
a short truncated BSR format , a long truncated BSR format, or a long BSR format ([see, [0059-0060], and Fig. 7, a short BSR the data to be transmitted to one LCG only, and long BSR data to be transmitted to two or more LCGs disclosed]); and
the non-legacy BSR (i.e., updated system of Buffer Status Reporting) table corresponds to a table defined for the non-legacy BSR format ([see, [0076-0077], and Table 2, an extended BSR table indicating buffer size levels of additional 150 kbytes to 1500 kbytes is defined in addition to Table 1 indicating buffer size levels of 0 kbyte to 150 kbytes]), the non-legacy BSR format corresponding to a format other than any of the short BSR format ([see, [0059-0060, 0077], and Fig. 7 and Table 2, other than a short BSR, the long BSR data to be transmitted to two or more LCGs based on the extended BSR table]),
the short truncated BSR format, the long truncated BSR format, and the long BSR format ([see, [0059-0060], and Fig. 7, a short BSR the data to be transmitted to one LCG only, and long BSR data to be transmitted to two or more LCGs disclosed]).
As per Claims 35, 38, D1 further discloses wherein, for each LCG of the plurality of LCGs ([see, [0059-0060], and Fig. 8-10, two or more LCGs disclosed]), the BSR includes:
an indication of the respective LCG ([see, 0061], indicate a logical channel group (LCG)]);
an indication of a respective BSR table based on which the BSR indicates the buffer status of the respective LCG ([see, [0071], wherein the buffer status report (BSR) by using Table 1 indicates the buffer size for each LCG]); and
an indication of the buffer status of the respective LCG based on a buffer status index of the respective BSR table ([see, [0071], the buffer size for each LCG is identified, the user equipment allows a buffer size index corresponding to the identified buffer size to be included in a buffer size field of the buffer status report (BSR) by using Table 1]).
Claims 25, 26, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of Huang (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20130107722 A1), (“D3”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 25, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 19, and D1 and D2 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: further comprising:
selecting the non-legacy BSR table for indicating the buffer status of the first LCG responsive to the buffer status of the first LCG being above a threshold.
However, D3 discloses selecting the non-legacy BSR table for indicating the buffer status of the first LCG responsive to the buffer status of the first LCG being above a threshold ([see, [0078-0080], wherein determining the BSR table according to the threshold, selecting the BSR table, enables the UE to select the BSR table 1, comparing the LCG with the maximum actual buffer size (threshold) for selecting the BSR table and select LCG responsive (LCG1) is greater than the selecting threshold]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide determining the BSR table results improve the accuracy of the user reporting the buffer status in a LTE-A system (D3, [0115]]).
As per Claim 26, D1 and D2 disclose the method of Claim 19, and D2 further discloses wherein: the second LCG (i.e., long BSR) corresponds to one of the one or more LCGs ([see, [0060], LCGs disclosed]) for which the configuration received from the network node indicates that the non-legacy BSR (i.e., updated system of Buffer Status Reporting (BSR)) table applies ([see, [0071-0073], transmits the buffer status report (BSR) on the basis of Table 1, the buffer size between 150 kbytes and 1500 kbytes is simply reported as information more than 150 kbytes]).
D1 and D2 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: the method further comprises selecting the legacy BSR table for indicating the buffer status of the second LCG responsive to the buffer status of the second LCG being below a threshold.
However, D3 discloses the method further comprises selecting the legacy BSR table for indicating the buffer status of the second LCG responsive to the buffer status of the second LCG being below a threshold ([see, [0078-0080], and Table 3wherein determining the BSR table according to the threshold, selecting the BSR table, enables the UE to select the BSR table 1, comparing the LCG2 with the maximum actual buffer size (threshold) for selecting the BSR table and select LCG responsive (LCG2) is greater than the selecting threshold]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide determining the BSR table results improve the accuracy of the user reporting the buffer status in a LTE-A system (D3, [0115]]).
As per Claim 31, D1 and D2 disclose the method of Claim 28, and D2 further discloses, wherein the second LCG (i.e., long BSR) corresponds to one of the one or more LCGs ([see, [0060, 0070-0071], wherein the plurality of LGCs transmits which one of short BSR and long BSR]) for which the configuration transmitted to the communication device indicates that the non-legacy BSR table applies ([see, [0061, 0077], the user equipment (corresponding to the network node) transmits the long BSR together with logical channel group (LCG) ID to indicate a logical channel group (LCG), extended BSR table indicating buffer size levels of additional 150 kbytes to 1500 kbytes is defined in addition to Table 1 indicating buffer size levels of 0 kbyte to 150 kbytes to the base station (corresponding to toward the network node)]).
D1 and D2 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: the buffer status of the second LCG is below a threshold for applying the non-legacy BSR table.
However, D3 discloses the buffer status of the second LCG is below a threshold for applying the non-legacy BSR table ([see, [0077-0080], minimum value set as the selecting threshold of the he UE selects the BSR table 1]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide determining the BSR table results improve the accuracy of the user reporting the buffer status in a LTE-A system (D3, [0115]]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JEONG, MOO R. can be reached on (571) 272-9617. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/BERHANU D BELETE/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418