DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-3, 5-11, 18-19, 21-27, and 30-32 are pending. Claims 4,12-17, 20, and 28-29 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
2. In light of the amendments to the claims, the claim objections of claims 8, 24, and 31 are withdrawn.
3. Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 01/14/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 8-11, 18-19, 21-22, 24-27 and 30-32 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/092566 (as cited in the IDS dated 02/14/2023) in view of Jung et al, US 2015/0050934 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/092566 (as cited in the IDS dated 02/14/2023) in view of Jung et al, US 2015/0050934 and further in view of Chen et al. US 2011/0044264. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 8-11, 18-19, 21-22, 24-27, and 30-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/092566 (as cited in the IDS dated 02/14/2023) hereafter ‘566 in view of Jung et al, US 2015/0050934 hereafter Jung and further in view of Chen et al, US 2011/0044264 hereafter Chen.
As for claim 1, ‘566 discloses:
A method performed by a wireless device for cell selection in a Non-Terrestrial Network, NTN, the method comprising:
obtaining information indicating an expected time for the wireless device to be served in at least one cell (Fig. 5B, [0095]-[0097], The WTRU 560 may examine the candidate beams within the selected constellation. The WIRU 560 may determine a weighted sum of metrics for the candidate beams. Dwelling duration refers to the expected time the WTRU determines it would be able to remain connected to and/or send/receive signals to/from a satellite. The Examiner interprets dwell(ing) duration corresponds to the “expected time”. FIG. 5B shows example footprints of satellites 550, 552 within a constellation. Each satellite 550, 552 may include one or more cells. Each cell may provide a beam that produces a footprint {e.g., such as footprints A, B, C). A WTRU 560 may be located within one or more footprints. For example, the WTRU 560 may be within footprint A of a first satellite 550, footprint B of the first satellite 550, and/or footprint C of a second satellite 552. The WTRU 560 may determine Footprint A may be provided by a first cell (e.g., a beam of the first cell) of the first satellite 550. Footprint B may be provided by a second cell (e.g., a beam of the second cell) of the first satellite 550. Footprint C may bs provided by a first cell (e.g., a beam of the first cell) of the second satellite 560. The WTRU 560 may examine the candidate beams within the selected constellation. ); and
determining whether to perform a cell selection or reselection procedure based at least in part on the information indicating the expected time for the wireless device to be served in the at least one cell ([0095]-[0097], [0101], [0104], Determining cell selection/reselection based on system information or dedicated signaling, weights for maximize dwell duration. Dwelling duration refers to the expected time the WTRU determines it would be able to remain connected to and/or send/receive signals to/from a satellite. The selected satellite constellation may include a plurality of candidate satellites. Each of the plurality of candidate satellites may include one or more cells (e.g., candidate beams). The WTRU may select the highest ranked candidate beam for cell selection. a WTRU (e.g., such as WTRU 560) may prioritize dwelling duration when selecting a cell).
‘566 does not explicitly disclose wherein determining whether to perform the cell selection or reselection procedure based at least in part on the information comprises determining to perform the cell selection or reselection procedure when the expected time for the wireless device to be served in the at least one cell drops below a threshold.
However, Jung discloses wherein determining whether to perform the cell selection or reselection procedure based at least in part on the information comprises determining to perform the cell selection or reselection procedure when the expected time for the wireless device to be served in the at least one cell drops below a threshold (Jung, Fig. 13, [0011]-[0012], [0232]-[0233], determining to perform a cell moving/reselection based on determining when/if the expected residence time is smaller than a specific reference value.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ‘566 with determining whether to perform the cell selection or reselection procedure based at least in part on the information comprises determining to perform the cell selection or reselection procedure when the expected time for the wireless device to be served in the at least one cell drops below a threshold as taught by Jung to provide improved UE mobility.
The combination of ‘566 and Jung does not explicitly disclose receiving, from a network node, information indicating an expected time for the wireless device to be served in at least one cell.
However, Chen discloses receiving, from a network node, information indicating an expected time for the wireless device to be served in at least one cell. (Chen, Fig. 5B. [0049]-[0051], [0059], Receiving, from the base station, the predicted cell residence time. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of ‘566 and Jung with receiving, from a network node, information indicating an expected time for the wireless device to be served in at least one cell as taught by Chen to provide more efficient management and usage of network resources. (Chen, [0051])
As for claim 2, ‘566 discloses:
Obtaining the information indicating the expected time for the wireless device to be served in the at least one cell comprises receiving the information from a network node in broadcast information or system information ([0101]-[0101], The broadcasted system information).
As for claim 5, ‘566 discloses:
The wireless device is in an RRC_IDLE ([0086], UE is in an idle state) or RRC_INACTIVE state.
As for claim 6, ‘566 discloses:
The information comprises a plurality of values, each of the plurality of values being associated with an expected time for the wireless device to be served in a respective one of a plurality of target cells, and determining whether to perform the cell selection or reselection procedure based at least in part on the information comprises selecting the target cell associated with a highest one of the plurality of values ([0097], [0101], [0104], Determine cell selection/reselection based on system information or dedicated signaling, weights for maximize dwell duration. Dwelling duration refers to the expected time the WTRU determines it would be able to remain connected to and/or send/receive signals to/from a satellite. The selected satellite constellation may include a plurality of candidate satellites. Each of the plurality of candidate satellites may include one or more cells (e.g., candidate beams). The WTRU may select the highest ranked candidate beam for cell selection).
As for claim 8, ‘566 discloses:
Obtain additional information comprising: a plurality of Received Signal Received Power (RSRP) values ([0078], The RSRP and/or RSRP values from the candidate cells), wherein each of the plurality of RSRP values is associated with an associated one of the plurality of target cells ([0078], The RSRP and/or RSRP values from the candidate cells); and/or a plurality of Received Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) values, wherein each of the plurality of RSRQ values is associated with an associated one of the plurality of target cells ([0078], The RSRP and/or RSRP values from the candidate cells); and rank the plurality of target cells based at least in part on the additional information ([0078], Ranking candidate cells).
As for claim 9, ‘566 discloses:
The expected time for the wireless device to be served in the at least one cell is one of a plurality of criteria used for determining whether to perform a cell selection or reselection procedure ([0097], [0101], [0104], Determine cell selection/reselection based on system information or dedicated signaling including a plurality of criteria for making the determination), the plurality of criteria comprises at least one of: Reference Signal Received Power ([0078], The RSRP and/or RSRP values from the candidate cells), Reference Signal Received Quality ([0078], The RSRP and/or RSRP values from the candidate cells), Signal Interference to Noise Ratio, Signal to Noise Ratio, received Signal Strength Indicator ([0076], The RSSI values from the candidate cells), and pathloss ([0103], Performing reselection based on criteria such as pathloss), and determining whether to perform a cell selection or reselection procedure comprises comparing one or more of the plurality of criteria to one or more thresholds ([0076], Determining whether to perform a cell selection or reselection procedure comprises comparing RSSI to a threshold).
As for claim 10, ‘566 discloses:
A method performed by a network node in a Non-Terrestrial Network, NTN (par. [0099]: "When used herein, the terms assistance information, satellite assistance information, constellation assistance information, constellation topology assistance information, etc. may be used to refer to any information provided by a network for assisting a WTRU in identifying, tracking, measuring, and/or selecting one or more satellite constellations for purposes of establishing communications (e.g., for cell selection/reselection)", and par. [0101]: "the WTRUs receive, e.g., via system information or dedicated signaling") , the method comprising:
transmitting, to a wireless device, information associated with an expected time for the wireless device to be served in at least one cell (par. [0101]: "In an example, the WTRUs receive, e.g., via system information or dedicated signaling, weights to apply for link access. [..] Similarly, weights may be applied for [..] links that maximize dwell duration").
‘566 does not explicitly disclose wherein determining whether to perform the cell selection or reselection procedure based at least in part on the information comprises determining to perform the cell selection or reselection procedure when the expected time for the wireless device to be served in the at least one cell drops below a threshold.
However, Jung discloses wherein determining whether to perform the cell selection or reselection procedure based at least in part on the information comprises determining to perform the cell selection or reselection procedure when the expected time for the wireless device to be served in the at least one cell drops below a threshold (Jung, Fig. 13, [0011]-[0012], [0232]-[0233], determining to perform a cell moving/reselection based on determining when/if the expected residence time is smaller than a specific reference value.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ‘566 with Jung to provide improved UE mobility.
The combination of ‘566 and Jung does not explicitly disclose transmitting, to a wireless device, information indicating an expected time for the wireless device to be served in at least one cell.
However, Chen discloses transmitting, to a wireless device, information indicating an expected time for the wireless device to be served in at least one cell. (Chen, Fig. 5B. [0049]-[0051], [0059], Transmitting, to the user equipment, the predicted cell residence time.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of ‘566 and Jung with transmitting, to a wireless device, information indicating an expected time for the wireless device to be served in at least one cell as taught by Chen to provide more efficient management and usage of network resources. (Chen, [0051])
As for claim 11, ‘566 discloses:
The information is transmitted to the wireless device in broadcast information or system information ([0101]-[0101], The broadcasted system information).
As for claim 18, ‘566 discloses:
A wireless device adapted to: obtain information indicating an expected time for the wireless device to be served in at least one cell; and determine whether to perform a cell selection or reselection procedure based at least in part on the information indicating the expected time for the wireless device to be served in the at least one cell ([0097], [0101], [0104], Determine cell selection/reselection based on system information or dedicated signaling, weights for maximize dwell duration. Dwelling duration refers to the expected time the WTRU determines it would be able to remain connected to and/or send/receive signals to/from a satellite. The selected satellite constellation may include a plurality of candidate satellites. Each of the plurality of candidate satellites may include one or more cells (e.g., candidate beams). The WTRU may select the highest ranked candidate beam for cell selection).
‘566 does not explicitly disclose wherein determining whether to perform the cell selection or reselection procedure based at least in part on the information comprises determining to perform the cell selection or reselection procedure when the expected time for the wireless device to be served in the at least one cell drops below a threshold.
However, Jung discloses wherein determining whether to perform the cell selection or reselection procedure based at least in part on the information comprises determining to perform the cell selection or reselection procedure when the expected time for the wireless device to be served in the at least one cell drops below a threshold (Jung, Fig. 13, [0011]-[0012], [0232]-[0233], determining to perform a cell moving/reselection based on determining when/if the expected residence time is smaller than a specific reference value.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ‘566 with Jung to provide improved UE mobility.
The combination of ‘566 and Jung does not explicitly disclose receiving, from a network node, information indicating an expected time for the wireless device to be served in at least one cell.
However, Chen discloses receiving, from a network node, information indicating an expected time for the wireless device to be served in at least one cell. (Chen, Fig. 5B. [0049]-[0051], [0059], Receiving, from the base station, the predicted cell residence time.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of ‘566 and Jung with receiving, from a network node, information indicating an expected time for the wireless device to be served in at least one cell as taught by Chen to provide more efficient management and usage of network resources. (Chen, [0051])
As for claim 19, ‘566 discloses:
Obtaining the information indicating the expected time for the wireless device to be served in the at least one cell, the wireless device is adapted to receive the information from a network node in broadcast information ([0082], Broadcast information) or system information ([0101], The UE receives system information).
As for claim 21, ‘566 discloses:
The wireless device is in an RRC_IDLE ([0086], UE is in an idle state) or RRC_INACTIVE state.
As for claim 22, ‘566 discloses:
The information comprises a plurality of values, each of the plurality of values being associated with an expected time for the wireless device to be served in a respective one of a plurality of target cells, and when determining whether to perform the cell selection or reselection procedure based at least in part on the information, the wireless device is adapted to select the target cell associated with a highest one of the plurality of values ([0097], [0101], [0104], Determine cell selection/reselection based on system information or dedicated signaling, weights for maximize dwell duration. Dwelling duration refers to the expected time the WTRU determines it would be able to remain connected to and/or send/receive signals to/from a satellite. The selected satellite constellation may include a plurality of candidate satellites. Each of the plurality of candidate satellites may include one or more cells (e.g., candidate beams). The WTRU may select the highest ranked candidate beam for cell selection).
As for claim 24, ‘566 discloses:
Obtain additional information comprising: a plurality of Received Signal Received Power (RSRP) values ([0078], The RSRP and/or RSRP values from the candidate cells), wherein each of the plurality of RSRP values is associated with an associated one of the plurality of target cells ([0078], The RSRP and/or RSRP values from the candidate cells); and/or a plurality of Received Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) values, wherein each of the plurality of RSRQ values is associated with an associated one of the plurality of target cells ([0078], The RSRP and/or RSRP values from the candidate cells); and rank the plurality of target cells based at least in part on the additional information ([0078], Ranking candidate cells).
As for claim 25, ‘566 discloses:
The expected time for the wireless device to be served in the at least one cell is one of a plurality of criteria used for determining whether to perform a cell selection or reselection procedure ([0097], [0101], [0104], Determine cell selection/reselection based on system information or dedicated signaling including a plurality of criteria for making the determination), and the plurality of criteria comprising at least one of: Reference Signal Received Power ([0078], The RSRP and/or RSRP values from the candidate cells), Reference Signal Received Quality ([0078], The RSRP and/or RSRP values from the candidate cells), Signal Interference to Noise Ratio, Signal to Noise Ratio, received Signal Strength Indicator ([0076], The RSSI values from the candidate cells), and pathloss([0103], Performing reselection based on criteria such as pathloss), and when determining whether to perform a cell selection or reselection procedure, the wireless device is adapted to compare one or more of the plurality of criteria to one or more thresholds ([0076], Determining whether to perform a cell selection or reselection procedure comprises comparing RSSI to a threshold).
As for claim 26, ‘566 discloses:
A network node in a Non-Terrestrial Network, NTN, the network node adapted to: transmit, to a wireless device, information associated with an expected time for the wireless device to be served in at least one cell ([0097], [0101], [0104], Transmit system information or dedicated signaling, weights for maximize dwell duration. Dwelling duration refers to the expected time the WTRU determines it would be able to remain connected to and/or send/receive signals to/from a satellite),
determine whether to perform a cell selection or reselection procedure based at least in part on the information associated with the expected time for the wireless device to be served in the at least one cell ([0095]-[0097], [0101], [0104], [0109], The satellite platform determines cell selection/reselection based on the system information which is associated with the dwelling duration. The satellite/aerial platform may discourage the selection of such cells/spot beams. For example, the satellite/aerial platform may apply weighting penalties for selecting a spot beam that is currently servicing across billing/roaming regions (e.g., a country border). For example, the satellite/aerial platform may bar the WTRU from accessing the cell/spot beam. Determining cell selection/reselection based on system information or dedicated signaling, weights for maximize dwell duration. Dwelling duration refers to the expected time the WTRU determines it would be able to remain connected to and/or send/receive signals to/from a satellite. The selected satellite constellation may include a plurality of candidate satellites. Each of the plurality of candidate satellites may include one or more cells (e.g., candidate beams). The WTRU may select the highest ranked candidate beam for cell selection. a WTRU (e.g., such as WTRU 560) may prioritize dwelling duration when selecting a cell).
‘566 does not explicitly disclose wherein determining whether to perform the cell selection or reselection procedure based at least in part on the information comprises determining to perform the cell selection or reselection procedure when the expected time for the wireless device to be served in the at least one cell drops below a threshold.
However, Jung discloses wherein determining whether to perform the cell selection or reselection procedure based at least in part on the information comprises determining to perform the cell selection or reselection procedure when the expected time for the wireless device to be served in the at least one cell drops below a threshold (Jung, Fig. 13, [0011]-[0012], [0232]-[0233], determining to perform a cell moving/reselection based on determining when/if the expected residence time is smaller than a specific reference value.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ‘566 with Jung to provide improved UE mobility.
The combination of ‘566 and Jung does not explicitly disclose transmitting, to a wireless device, information indicating an expected time for the wireless device to be served in at least one cell.
However, Chen discloses transmitting, to a wireless device, information indicating an expected time for the wireless device to be served in at least one cell. (Chen, Fig. 5B. [0049]-[0051], [0059], Transmitting, to the user equipment, the predicted cell residence time.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of ‘566 and Jung with transmitting, to a wireless device, information indicating an expected time for the wireless device to be served in at least one cell as taught by Chen to provide more efficient management and usage of network resources. (Chen, [0051])
As for claim 27, ‘566 discloses:
The information is transmitted to the wireless device in broadcast information ([0082], Broadcast information) or system information ([0101], The UE receives system information).
As for claim 30, ‘566 discloses:
The network node is adapted to: obtain a plurality of values, each of the plurality of values being associated with an expected time for the wireless device to be served in a respective one of a plurality of target cells, and select a target cell associated with a highest one of the plurality of values ([0097], [0101], [0104], Determine cell selection/reselection based on system information or dedicated signaling, weights for maximize dwell duration. Dwelling duration refers to the expected time the WTRU determines it would be able to remain connected to and/or send/receive signals to/from a satellite. The selected satellite constellation may include a plurality of candidate satellites. Each of the plurality of candidate satellites may include one or more cells (e.g., candidate beams). The WTRU may select the highest ranked candidate beam for cell selection).
As for claim 31, ‘566 discloses:
The network node is adapted to: obtain additional information comprising: a plurality of Received Signal Received Power (RSRP) values ([0078], The RSRP and/or RSRP values from the candidate cells), wherein each of the plurality of RSRP values is associated with an associated one of the plurality of target cells ([0078], The RSRP and/or RSRP values from the candidate cells); and/or a plurality of Received Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) values, wherein each of the plurality of RSRQ values is associated with an associated one of the plurality of target cells ([0078], The RSRP and/or RSRP values from the candidate cells); and rank the plurality of target cells based at least in part on the additional information ([0078], Ranking candidate cells).
As for claim 32, ‘566 discloses:
The expected time for the wireless device to be served in the at least one cell is one of a plurality of criteria used for determining whether to perform a cell selection or reselection procedure ([0097], [0101], [0104], Dwelling duration refers to the expected time the WTRU determines it would be able to remain connected to and/or send/receive signals to/from a satellite), the plurality of criteria further comprises at least one of: Reference Signal Received Power ([0078], The RSRP and/or RSRP values from the candidate cells), Reference Signal Received Quality ([0078], The RSRP and/or RSRP values from the candidate cells), Signal Interference to Noise Ratio, Signal to Noise Ratio, received Signal Strength Indicator ([0076], The RSSI values from the candidate cells), and pathloss ([0103], Performing reselection based on criteria such as pathloss), and the network node is adapted to compare one or more of the plurality of criteria to one or more threshold and determine whether to perform a cell selection or reselection procedure based on the comparing ([0097], [0101], [0104], The WTRU may select the highest ranked candidate beam for cell selection).
5. Claim(s) 7 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020092566 hereafter ‘566 in view of Jung et al, US 2015/0050934 in view of Chen as applied to claims 1 and 18 above, and further in view of Ye, US 2016/0029276 hereafter Ye.
As for claim 7, the combination ‘566 and Jung does not explicitly disclose the information comprises a plurality of values, each of the plurality of values being associated with an expected time for the wireless device to be served in a respective one of a plurality of target cells, and determining whether to perform the cell selection or reselection procedure based at least in part on the information comprises selecting a particular one of the plurality of target cells for the cell selection or reselection procedure that is associated with a longest expected time to be served among the plurality of values.
However, Ye discloses the information comprises a plurality of values, each of the plurality of values being associated with an expected time for the wireless device to be served in a respective one of a plurality of target cells (Ye, [0032]-[0036], Each of a plurality of criteria being associated with a timer value for the UE being served by the respective target cells), and determining whether to perform the cell selection or reselection procedure based at least in part on the information comprises selecting a particular one of the plurality of target cells for the cell selection or reselection procedure that is associated with a longest expected time to be served among the plurality of values (Ye, [0032]-[0034], Determining reselection based on selecting a target cell based on the conditions holding true longer than the reselection timer value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of ‘566 and Jung with determining whether to perform the cell selection or reselection procedure based at least in part on the information comprises selecting a particular one of the plurality of target cells for the cell selection or reselection procedure that is associated with a longest expected time to be served among the plurality of values as taught by Ye for improving communication quality (Ye, [0036]).
As for claim 23, ‘566 does not explicitly disclose the information comprises a plurality of values, each of the plurality of values being associated with an expected time for the wireless device to be served in a respective one of a plurality of target cells, and determining whether to perform the cell selection or reselection procedure based at least in part on the information comprises selecting a particular one of the plurality of target cells for the cell selection or reselection procedure that is associated with a longest expected time to be served among the plurality of values.
However, Ye discloses the information comprises a plurality of values, each of the plurality of values being associated with an expected time for the wireless device to be served in a respective one of a plurality of target cells (Ye, [0032]-[0036], Each of a plurality of criteria being associated with a timer value for the UE being served by the respective target cells), and determining whether to perform the cell selection or reselection procedure based at least in part on the information comprises selecting a particular one of the plurality of target cells for the cell selection or reselection procedure that is associated with a longest expected time to be served among the plurality of values (Ye, [0032]-[0034], Determining reselection based on selecting a target cell based on the conditions holding true longer than the reselection timer value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of ‘566 and Jung with determining whether to perform the cell selection or reselection procedure based at least in part on the information comprises selecting a particular one of the plurality of target cells for the cell selection or reselection procedure that is associated with a longest expected time to be served among the plurality of values as taught by Ye for improving communication quality (Ye, [0036]).
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Kwon et al, US 2011/0261785 [0016] The method may further comprise estimating a cell residence time of the vehicular mobile terminal based on the uplink broadcast information received from the serving micro base station.
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JENEE HOLLAND
Examiner
Art Unit 2469
/JENEE HOLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469