DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-7 in the reply filed on March 9, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that any search of Group I would encompass and surpass groups 2-3. This is not found persuasive because the instant application is a national stage entry filed under 35 U.S.C. 371 and is therefore not subject to US restriction practice but rather subject to lack of unity practice, see MPEP 1893.03(d). It is noted that undue search burden is not a criterion in lack of unity analysis. The test is whether or not special technical features can be established. It is noted that inventions listed as Groups I-III do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features as set forth on pages 3-4 of the previous Office Action.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
The examiner further submits that upon reconsideration of the restriction requirement, the restriction requirement between Group I, claims 1-7 and Group II, claim 8 is withdrawn. Accordingly, claim 8 is examined with claims 1-7 in the current OA.
Claims 9-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on March 9, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4, 5, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 2, this claim at line 2 recites “monomers a)”. It is unclear whether this recitation refers to additional monomers or further refers to “a) 45-75 wt% of at least one monomer selected…2-octyl acrylate” as set forth in the parent claim 1. For purpose of the examination, the aforementioned recitation in claim 2 is interpreted as referring to 60-70 wt% of the (a) “at least one monomer selected from the group consisting of…2-octyl acrylate” of claim 1.
As to claim 4, this claim recites “the monomer composition comprises monomers b) at total of 27 to 35 wt%”. It is unclear whether this recitation refers to additional monomers or further refers to “b) 24-50 wt% of at least one alkyl (meth)acrylate…4 carbon atoms”. For purpose of the examination, the aforementioned recitation in claim 4 is interpreted as total amount of the (b) “at least one alkyl (meth)acrylate…4 carbon atoms” in the monomer composition is 24-35 wt%.
As to claim 5, this claim recites “a copolymer which can be traced back to…0.5 to 10 wt% of acrylic acid”. It is unclear whether the copolymer recited by “a copolymer” is additional copolymer or further refers to the copolymer of claim 1. For purpose of the examination, claim 5 is interpreted as the pressure sensitive adhesive of claim 1 includes 40-80 wt% of the at least one copolymer of claim 1.
As to claim 6, this claim recites “the peel adhesion-boosting resin”. This claim depends from claim 1, wherein claim 1 recites “at least one peel adhesion-boosting resin”. Therefore it is unclear whether the recitation “the peel adhesion-boosting resin” refers to “at least one peel adhesion-boosting resin” of claim 1.
As to claim 7, this claim recites “peel adhesion-boosting resin”. This claim depends from claim 1, wherein claim 1 recites “at least one peel adhesion-boosting resin”. Therefore it is unclear whether the recitation “peel adhesion-boosting resin” refers to “at least one peel adhesion-boosting resin” of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s)1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hardy et al. (US 20100151241 A1).
As to claim 1, Hardy discloses a pressure-sensitive adhesive (PSA) (0002). The PSA of Hardy includes a copolymer comprising (a) 60 wt% to less than 90 wt% of 2-octyl (meth)acrylate, which is inclusive of 2-octyl acrylate of claim 1 (0005, 0009-0010, and claim 10), (b) from 10 to 39.5 wt% of butyl (meth)acrylate (at least one alkyl (meth)acrylate whose alcohol component has 1 to 4 carbon atoms) (claim 10), and from 0.5-10 wt% of (meth)acrylic acid, which is inclusive of acrylic acid of claim 1 (0005 and claim 10).
Moreover, as to claim 1, Hardy discloses that the PSA includes tackifier resin (at least one peel adhesion boosting-resin) (0047).
As to claimed range of 45-75 wt% of at least one monomer selected from the group consisting of isoamyl acrylate, n-heptyl acrylate, and 2-octyl acrylate, the claimed range overlaps or lies within the range disclosed by Hardy above (60 wt% to less than 90 wt% of 2-octyl acrylate) such that a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
As to the claimed range of 24-50 wt% of at least one alkyl (meth)acrylate whose alcohol component has 1 to 4 carbon atoms, the claimed range overlaps or lies within the range disclosed by Hardy above (10 to 39.5 wt% of butyl (meth)acrylate) such that a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
As to claim 1, in light of the overlap between the claimed PSA and that disclosed by Hardy, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a PSA that is both disclosed by Hardy and is encompassed within the scope of the present claims, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
As to claims 2 and 3, Hardy as set forth previously discloses 60 wt% to less than 90 wt% of 2-octyl acrylate.
As to claim 4, Hardy as set forth previously discloses 10 to 39.5 wt% of butyl (meth)acrylate).
As to claims 5 and 7, Hardy discloses 1 parts to about 300 parts by weight of tackifying resin per 100 parts by weight of the acrylate copolymer (0048). Thus, calculated wt% of the tackifying resin in the PSA composition of Hardy is 1/301 * 100 or 0.33 wt% to 300/400 * 100 = 75 wt% and balance acrylic copolymer is 25 wt% to 99.67 wt%. The claimed ranges of the acrylic copolymer and the tackifying resin overlaps or lie within the ranges disclosed by Hardy, such that a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
As to claim 6, Hardy discloses rosin and polyterpene resins (0047).
As to claim 8, Hardy discloses adhesive tape having a backing or substrate (carrier material) and the PSA on one outer side of the backing or substrate (0057)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Product information “2-Octyl Acrylate (2-OA)” from BASF, Sanderson et al. (US 4077926) discloses a PSA.
/ANISH P DESAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 March 29, 2026