DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 09/05/2025 for response of the office action mailed on 06/05/2025. Claims 21, 23, 25, 28, 30, 33 and 37 have been amended. Claims 24 and 34-35 have been cancelled. Claims 21-23, 25-33 and 36-37 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/05/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive/ are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Argument: Lim does not anticipate independent claim 21, not least because Lim does not disclose a base station or other apparatus of a wireless network that determines a respective selection probability for each of the PRACH resources for non-anchor carriers, as part of generating allocation information for a terminal device. Instead, Lim describes the conventional approach of sensing a single "PV" from which a receiving device computes equal weights. For at least the same reason, Lim does not anticipate independent claim 28, which is an apparatus counterpart of claim 21. Further, for substantially the same reason, Lim does not anticipate either of independent claims 30 and 37, which are method and apparatus counterpart claims directed to UE operations and features.
Response: Examiner has considered the Applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees.
Examiner would like to direct Applicant’s attention to ¶0017, which states additionally, the NB-IoT device may use one or more techniques to select between the available carrier resources, such as randomly selecting (which may involve one or more probability values from the eNB) between carrier resources from the anchor carrier and/or carrier resources of the non-anchor carriers, therefore the eNB, is an example of an apparatus that determines a respective selection probability and provides them to the NB-IoT device through carrier configuration information. Examiner would also like to direct Applicant’s attention to Fig. 7-8 and ¶0048 - As such, NB-IoT device 110 may consider carriers for the NPRACH procedure based on the carrier-to-IoT device allocation information from eNB 120 (block 730, block 740, or block 750) and ¶0053 - Additionally, or alternatively, NB-IoT device 110 may also use the probability value (PV) (equivalent to selection probability according to ¶0052) to determine a chance (or assign a percentage value) for randomly selecting any one of the suitable carrier resources of the anchor and non-anchor carriers.
Argument: The transmit-power dependent probability of a RACH attempt succeeding plainly cannot be equated with the determination of respective selection probabilities for PRACH resources for non-anchor carriers, as set out in claim 25.
Response: Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim 25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: On page 12 (lines 20 and 35) and page 14 (lines 5-35), portions of the text in the SystemInformationBlockType22-NB Information Element are difficult to read. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-23, 26-33 and 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lim et al. (US2020/0187256A1), Lim hereinafter.
Re. Claim 21,
Lim teaches a method for configuring radio resource for a terminal device in a wireless network, the method performed by an apparatus of the wireless network and comprising: (Fig. 1-7 & ¶0030 - FIG. 2 is a flowchart of an example process 200 for selecting between an anchor carrier and one or more non-anchor carriers to perform a NPRACH procedure. Process 200 may be implemented by NB-IoT device 110. FIG. 2 is described below with reference to FIGS. 3-6. ¶0046 - FIG. 7 is a flowchart of an example process 700 for determining which carriers to consider for performing an NPRACH procedure. Process 700 may be implemented by NB-IoT device 110 or a combination of NB-IoT device 110 and eNB 120. Please also see ¶0117);
a) generating allocation information configured to allocate physical random access channel (PRACH) resources for non-anchor carriers to an enhanced coverage level, the step of generating including determining a respective selection probability for each of the PRACH resources for the non-anchor carriers, the respective selection probabilities to be used by the terminal device for making a PRACH resource selection to carry out physical random access; (¶0022 - NB-IoT device 110 may be capable of determining a coverage level for the NB-IoT device with respect to eNB 120 and receiving carrier configuration information, from eNB 120, which may include the carrier resources (e.g., the carrier resources of the anchor carrier and/or the carrier resources of the non-anchor carriers) available for NPRACH procedure …The NB-IoT device may select a carrier resource from among the carriers based on factors, such as the coverage level of the NB-IoT device and the Reference Signals Received Power (RSRP) thresholds and Repetition levels of the carrier resources. The NB-IoT device may use the selected carrier resource to initiate the NPRACH procedure. ¶0052-¶0053 - the probability value (or selection probability) may be conveyed, from eNB 120 to NB-IoT device 110 for the anchor carrier, via the IE nprach-ProbabiltyAnchor of the 3GPP Communication Standards. Please also see ¶0017);
and b) sending the allocation information to the terminal device (¶0034 - Carrier configuration information for the anchor carrier and/or the non-anchor carriers may be sent, from eNB 120 to NB-IoT devices 110. Please also see ¶0047).
Re. Claim 22, Lim teaches Claim 21.
Lim further teaches the step a) further comprises:
generating paging configuration information configured to specify a mapping relationship between paging carriers (“anchor carriors”) and the non-anchor carriers, on the basis of which the terminal device selects, from the paging carriers, (Fig. 1-6 & ¶0045 - This may include comparing, mapping, matching, etc., the coverage level of NB-IoT device 110 to the PRACH resources (e.g., the carrier resources of the anchor carrier and one or more non-anchor carriers) one corresponding to the non-anchor carrier via which the terminal device carries out the physical random access, and (Fig. 7-8 & ¶0048 - For example, NB-IoT device 110 may use the carrier-to-IoT device allocation information to determine whether NB-IoT device 110 should consider only anchor carriers, non-anchor carriers, or both anchor carriers and non-anchor carriers for the NPRACH procedure. … indicate that NB-IoT devices 110 capable of using non-anchor carriers should only consider non-anchor carriers for NPRACH procedures);
the step b) further comprises: sending the paging configuration information to the terminal device (¶0047 - As shown, process 700 may include receiving carrier-to-IoT device allocation information from eNB 120 (block 710)).
Re. Claim 23 and 33, Lim teaches Claims 21 and 30.
Lim further teaches the enhanced coverage level is one of coverage enhancement (CE) levels 0, 1 and 2 (Please see CL1 and CL2 in Fig. 3), and the allocating of the physical random access channel (PRACH) resources/PRACH resources for the non-anchor carriers is directed only toward some of the CE levels 0, 1 and 2 (Fig. 3 & ¶0041 - As shown, the NPRACH resource configuration of FIG. 3 may include an anchor carrier and two non-anchor carriers. …each non-anchor carrier may include two carrier resources. Please see “Non-anchor carrier 2” – NPRACH resource 6 and 7 allocated to different coverage levels. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “one of”).
Re. Claim 26 and 32, Lim teaches Claims 22 and 31.
Lim further teaches the allocation information and the paging configuration information are included in a system information block (Fig. 2, 3-6 & ¶0034 - Carrier configuration information for the anchor carrier and/or the non-anchor carriers may be sent, from eNB 120 to NB-IoT devices 110, using one or more Information Elements (IEs) of the System Information of the 3GPP Communication Standard, which may include the NPRACH-ConfigSIP-NB, RSRP-ThresholdsPrachInfoList-r13, radioResourceConfigCommon-r13, NPRACH-ConfigSIB-NB, NPRACH-ParametersList-r13, numRepetitionsPerPreambleAttempt, maxNumPreambleAttemptCE, prachrepetitionlevel, etc. Please see ¶0034-¶0035).
Re. Claim 27 and 36, Lim teaches Claims 21 and 30.
Lim further teaches the wireless network is Narrowband Internet of Things (NB-IoT) (Fig. 1-2 & ¶0015 - The techniques described herein may be used to enable Narrowband-Internet-of-Things (NB-IoT) devices to select between multiple carrier resources to initiate and/or perform Narrowband Physical Random Access Channel (NPRACH) procedures).
Re. Claim 28, Lim teaches an apparatus for configuring radio resource for a terminal device in a wireless network, the apparatus comprising: (Fig. 1-7 & ¶0030 - FIG. 2 is a flowchart of an example process 200 for selecting between an anchor carrier and one or more non-anchor carriers to perform a NPRACH procedure. Process 200 may be implemented by NB-IoT device 110. FIG. 2 is described below with reference to FIGS. 3-6. ¶0046 - FIG. 7 is a flowchart of an example process 700 for determining which carriers to consider for performing an NPRACH procedure. Process 700 may be implemented by NB-IoT device 110 or a combination of NB-IoT device 110 and eNB 120);
a memory with instructions stored in the memory; and a processor in communication with the memory, and wherein execution of the instructions by the processor configures the processor to: (Fig. 10-11);
a) generate allocation information configured to allocate physical random access channel (PRACH) resources for non-anchor carriers to an enhanced coverage level, wherein generating the allocation information includes determining a respective selection probability for each of the PRACH resources for the non-anchor carriers, the respective selection probabilities to be used by the terminal device for making a PRACH resource selection to carry out physical random access; (¶0022 - NB-IoT device 110 may be capable of determining a coverage level for the NB-IoT device with respect to eNB 120 and receiving carrier configuration information, from eNB 120, which may include the carrier resources (e.g., the carrier resources of the anchor carrier and/or the carrier resources of the non-anchor carriers) available for NPRACH procedure …The NB-IoT device may select a carrier resource from among the carriers based on factors, such as the coverage level of the NB-IoT device and the Reference Signals Received Power (RSRP) thresholds and Repetition levels of the carrier resources. The NB-IoT device may use the selected carrier resource to initiate the NPRACH procedure. ¶0052-¶0053 - the probability value (or selection probability) may be conveyed, from eNB 120 to NB-IoT device 110 for the anchor carrier, via the IE nprach-ProbabiltyAnchor of the 3GPP Communication Standards. Please also see ¶0017);
and b) send the allocation information to the terminal device (¶0034 - Carrier configuration information for the anchor carrier and/or the non-anchor carriers may be sent, from eNB 120 to NB-IoT devices 110. Please also see ¶0047).
Re. Claim 29, Lim teaches Claim 28.
Lim further teaches the apparatus is a base station configured for operation in the wireless network (Fig. 1, 7 & ¶0018 - The network may be, or may include, radio access networks (RANs) that include one or more base stations, some or all of which may take the form of enhanced NodeBs (eNBs) 120, via which UEs 105 and NB-IoT devices 110 may communicate with the EPC network).
Re. Claim 30, Lim teaches a method for utilizing radio resource in a wireless network, the method performed by a terminal device and comprising: (Fig. 1-7 & ¶0030 - FIG. 2 is a flowchart of an example process 200 for selecting between an anchor carrier and one or more non-anchor carriers to perform a NPRACH procedure. Process 200 may be implemented by NB-IoT device 110. FIG. 2 is described below with reference to FIGS. 3-6. ¶0046 - FIG. 7 is a flowchart of an example process 700 for determining which carriers to consider for performing an NPRACH procedure. Process 700 may be implemented by NB-IoT device 110 or a combination of NB-IoT device 110 and eNB 120);
a) receiving allocation information configured to allocate physical random access channel (PRACH) resources for non-anchor carriers to an enhanced coverage level, (Fig. 7-8 & ¶0047 - As shown, process 700 may include receiving carrier-to-IoT device allocation information from eNB 120 (block 710). Carrier-to-IoT device allocation information may indicate the types of carrier resources that NB-IoT device 110 may consider while selecting a carrier resource for an NPRACH procedure. The carrier-to-IoT device allocation information may indicate whether, for example, a particular UE may consider carrier resources of only anchor carriers, carrier resources of only non-anchor carriers, and/or carrier resources of anchor carriers and non-anchor carriers. ¶0050 - For example, NB-IoT device 110 may determine which carrier resources of the anchor carrier and/or non-anchor carrier include characteristics that correspond to the coverage level and repetition level of NB-IoT device 110);
the allocation information including a respective selection probability for each PRACH resource for the non-anchor carriers, on the basis of which a PRACH resources selection for the non-anchor carriers is made by the terminal device to carry out physical random access, is assigned to each of the PRACH resources for non anchor carriers; (Fig. 7-8 & ¶0052 - In some embodiments, NB-IoT device 110 may use one or more probability values (also referred to herein as selection probabilities) for selecting between carrier resources. For example, NB-IoT device 110 may receive as part of the carrier configuration information from eNB 120 (or as part of another communication from eNB 120) a probability value (PV) for selecting a carrier resource from the anchor carrier or one of the non-anchor carriers. Please also see ¶0053);
and b) determining a current enhanced coverage level; (Fig. 3-8 & ¶0035 - The carrier configuration information may include… an associated coverage level for each carrier (random access) resources. ¶0052 - When there are multiple suitable carrier resources for an associated coverage level are determined (block 830—Yes)…);
and c) for the current enhanced coverage level, selecting one or more resources from the PRACH resources for the non-anchor carriers based on the allocation information so as to carry out the physical random access (Fig. 7-8 & ¶0049 - process 800 for selecting a carrier resource for performing an NPRACH procedure. ¶0052 - NB-IoT device 110 may randomly select a carrier resource amongst the suitable carrier resources (block 840). A suitable carrier resource may include a carrier resource with an RSRP threshold and/or a Repetition Level that is commensurate with the coverage level determined by NB-IoT device 110. In some embodiments, NB-IoT device 110 may use one or more probability values (also referred to herein as selection probabilities) for selecting between carrier resources. For example, NB-IoT device 110 may receive as part of the carrier configuration information from eNB 120 (or as part of another communication from eNB 120) a probability value (PV) for selecting a carrier resource from the anchor carrier or one of the non-anchor carriers).
Re. Claim 31, Lim teaches Claim 30.
Lim further teaches step a) further comprises: receiving paging configuration information configured to specify a mapping relationship between paging carriers and the non-anchor carriers, and the method further comprises: (Fig. 7-8 & ¶0045 - For example, NB-IoT device 110 may determine, based on the carrier configuration information from eNB 120, which carrier resource corresponds to the coverage level and repetition level determined by NB-IoT device 110. In some embodiments, NB-IoT device 110 may implement one or more techniques for selecting a carrier resource. This may include comparing, mapping, matching, etc., the coverage level of NB-IoT device 110 to the PRACH resources (e.g., the carrier resources of the anchor carrier and one or more non-anchor carriers));
d) based on the paging configuration information, selecting, from the paging carriers, one corresponding to the non-anchor carrier via which the physical random access is carried out; and (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0048 - For example, NB-IoT device 110 may use the carrier-to-IoT device allocation information to determine whether NB-IoT device 110 should consider only anchor carriers, non-anchor carriers, or both anchor carriers and non-anchor carriers for the NPRACH procedure. … indicate that NB-IoT devices 110 capable of using non-anchor carriers should only consider non-anchor carriers for NPRACH procedures);
e) carrying out a paging process via the selected paging carrier (¶0055 - process 200 may include performing an NPRACH procedure using the selected carrier resource (block 250)).
Re. Claim 37, Lim teaches a terminal device for use in a wireless network, the terminal device comprising: a memory storing instructions; and a processor in communication with the memory, and wherein execution of the instructions by the processor configures the processor to: (Fig. 10-11);
a) receive allocation information configured to allocate physical random access channel (PRACH) resources for non-anchor carriers to an enhanced coverage level, (Fig. 7-8 & ¶0047 - As shown, process 700 may include receiving carrier-to-IoT device allocation information from eNB 120 (block 710). Carrier-to-IoT device allocation information may indicate the types of carrier resources that NB-IoT device 110 may consider while selecting a carrier resource for an NPRACH procedure. The carrier-to-IoT device allocation information may indicate whether, for example, a particular UE may consider carrier resources of only anchor carriers, carrier resources of only non-anchor carriers, and/or carrier resources of anchor carriers and non-anchor carriers. ¶0050 - For example, NB-IoT device 110 may determine which carrier resources of the anchor carrier and/or non-anchor carrier include characteristics that correspond to the coverage level and repetition level of NB-IoT device 110);
wherein the allocation information includes a respective selection probability for each PRACH resource for the non-anchor carriers, on the basis of which a PRACH resources selection for the non-anchor carriers is made by the terminal device to carry out physical random access, (Fig. 7-8 & ¶0052 - In some embodiments, NB-IoT device 110 may use one or more probability values (also referred to herein as selection probabilities) for selecting between carrier resources. For example, NB-IoT device 110 may receive as part of the carrier configuration information from eNB 120 (or as part of another communication from eNB 120) a probability value (PV) for selecting a carrier resource from the anchor carrier or one of the non-anchor carriers. Please also see ¶0053);
and b) determine a current enhanced coverage level; (Fig. 3-8 & ¶0035 - The carrier configuration information may include… an associated coverage level for each carrier (random access) resources. ¶0052 - When there are multiple suitable carrier resources for an associated coverage level are determined (block 830—Yes)…);
and c) for the current enhanced coverage level, select one or more resources from the PRACH resources for the non-anchor carriers based on the allocation information so as to carry out the physical random access (Fig. 7-8 & ¶0049 - process 800 for selecting a carrier resource for performing an NPRACH procedure. ¶0052 - NB-IoT device 110 may randomly select a carrier resource amongst the suitable carrier resources (block 840). A suitable carrier resource may include a carrier resource with an RSRP threshold and/or a Repetition Level that is commensurate with the coverage level determined by NB-IoT device 110. In some embodiments, NB-IoT device 110 may use one or more probability values (also referred to herein as selection probabilities) for selecting between carrier resources. For example, NB-IoT device 110 may receive as part of the carrier configuration information from eNB 120 (or as part of another communication from eNB 120) a probability value (PV) for selecting a carrier resource from the anchor carrier or one of the non-anchor carriers).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim, and further in view of Ye et al. (WO2018/175249A1), Ye hereinafter.
Re. Claim 25, Lim teaches Claim 21.
Yet, Lim does not explicitly teach the respective selection probabilities are determined based on at least one of the following aspects: performance in previous sessions on the non-anchor carriers, PRACH success rate, type of service, load, quality of service (QoS) and nrs-PowerOffsetNonAnchor.
However, in the analogous art, Ye explicitly discloses the respective selection probabilities are determined based on at least one of the following aspects: performance in previous sessions on the non-anchor carriers, PRACH success rate, type of service, load, quality of service (QoS) and nrs-PowerOffsetNonAnchor (Fig. 7-9, 12 & ¶00144 - Parameter is the downlink path loss estimate calculated in the UE for serving cell .sup.c in dB and = nrs-Power + nrs- PowerOffsetNonAnchor, which is a higher layer filtered narrowband reference signal receive power (NRSRP), where nrs-Power is provided by higher layers and nrs-powerOffsetNon Anchor is set to zero if it is not provided by higher layers. In some aspects, NRSRP can be pre-defined for serving cell .sup.c and the higher layer filter configuration can also be predefined for serving cell .sup.c .).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Ye to the teaching of Lim. The motivation would be because aspects of the invention are directed to Narrowband Internet-of-Things (NB-IoT) enhancements for wireless networks (¶0005, Ye).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALYSSA WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7673. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALYSSA WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2465B /AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465