DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
When Claims Are Directed to Multiple Categories of Inventions:
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475 (b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and a process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475 (c).
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group I, claim(s) 1-14, drawn to a product.
Group II, claim(s) 16-22, drawn to a method
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
Groups I and II lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of the sintered composite of claim 1, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of US 2018/0375149During a telephone conversation with Jacob Wagner on 9/11/25 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 1-14. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 15-22 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 3,511,137.
With respect to claims 1-5,11 EP 3,511,137 discloses sintered lithium garnet tapes. The compositions used in para.[0333] comprise garnet powder of the type Li7-cLa3(Zr, Ta)O12 and an excess of Li (LIOH). Moreover, in some examples, silicone was added. Although, the presence of a lithium dendrite inhibiting minor phase is not explicitly mentioned. It is submitted that such a phase must inherently formed by the reaction of LiOH with silicone, as the method of preparation used is the same as that used in the current application (see e.g. paragraph [0078] where lithium silicate is formed from silicone and LiCO3).
With respect to claim 6 and 12 Paragraph [0327] discloses greater than 90% cubic phase.
With respect to claims 8 and 14, the thickness of the claimed range is disclosed (see abstract).
With respect to claims 7,9 and 13, the conductivity of the sintered tapes is greater than 10% S cm and the density requirements and grain size distribution requirements are inherently fulfilled. Since the composition of the reference is the same as those claimed herein it follows that the material discussed above would inherently possess the properties recited in the claims. See MPEP 2112.
It is well settled that when a claimed composition appears to be substantially the same as a composition disclosed in the prior art, the burden is properly upon the applicant to prove by way of tangible evidence that the prior art composition does not necessarily possess characteristics attributed to the CLAIMED composition. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655 (Fed. Circ. 1990); In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980); In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 2109, 169 USPQ 226 (CCPA 1971).
Products of identical composition may not have mutually exclusive properties. In re Spada 15 USPQ2d 1655,1658 (Fed. Circ. 1990).
With respect to claim 10, paragraph [0329] discloses incorporating the electrolyte sheet into a battery with an anode/cathode.
Thus, document EP 3,511,137 anticipates claims 1-14.
(para.[0313]-[0316]; [0327]-[0333] - see in particular para.[0333]; figures 70 & 93-97)
Claim(s) 1,2,4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beck et al. (US 2018/0375149).
Beck et al. discloses
A sintered composite ceramic, comprising:
a cubic phase lithium-garnet major phase (claim 46); and
a lithium dendrite growth inhibitor minor phase, wherein the lithium dendrite growth inhibitor minor phase comprises a Li-metal oxide (claim 64) in a range of >0-10 wt.% (i.e. greater than 5 -30 volume %) based on the total weight of the sintered composite ceramic.
With respect to claim 4, the minor phase may be a Li-aluminate, Li-Ta oxide, or Li-Nb-oxide. See claim 64
With respect to claim 6, Beck et al. discloses the lithium-garnet major phase comprises at least 90 wt.% (i.e. 70-95 vol%) of a lithium garnet cubic phase (claim 46)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beck et al. (US 2018/0375149).
Beck et al. discloses claim 1 as discussed above.
With respect to claim 8, the sintered composite ceramic can have a thickness in a range of 30-100 µm. See [0033]
With respect to claim 9, the membrane has a Li-ion conductivity of at least 10-4 S/cm [0135] and a density of at least 95 to 98.5% [0443].
With respect to claim 10, the membranes are suitable for use as a battery [0166][0047].
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05 I.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO 2019 189275 discloses a high conductivity garnet type oxide.
US 9806372 B2 discloses garnet materials for secondary batteries.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER A FIORILLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731