DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-12, 14-16 and 19-23 are pending and presented for examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12, 14-16 and 19-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 1-12, 14-16 and 19-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perdigon et al. (WO 2015/041942) in view of Ellington et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2006/0264579).
I. Regarding claims 1-10, 12, 16, 19-21 and 23, Perdigon teaches a waterborne (abstract) wood (page 7, line 1) coating composition comprising: a waterborne paint comprising an aqueous dispersion of acrylic polymer particles having a size of 40 nm-300 nm (page 6, lines 17-18, and note that overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness) comprising carboxylic acid functional groups (Example 27, page 22 and page 8, lines 5-11); and 1 wt% CoatOSil MP 200 (Example 27, page 22 and page 16, lines 9-10), which is an oligosiloxane which can release methanol, is insoluble in water, and has the structure
(which corresponds with a m value of 3), thereby meeting the limitations of claims 1, 3, 8-10, 12, 17 and 19. Perdigon teaches the composition forming a coating having a 60 degree gloss of 38 (Example 27, page 22). Perdigon also teaches the composition not including any additional matting powder (Example 27, page 22). Perdigon fails to explicitly teach the CoatOSil MP200 in an amount of 3-10 wt%, 4-8 wt% or 3.8-8 wt% and the gloss of not higher than 40, 30 or 25.
However, Ellington makes clear that epoxysilane compounds, such as CoatOSil 1770, can act as gloss reducing agents and can be included in amounts up to 5 wt% for providing gloss reduction (abstract, 0039, 0041). Ellington further makes clear that the amount of the epoxysilane compound is significant and can affect gloss (0041). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Perdigon’s composition by increasing the amount of CoatOSil MP200 to up to 5 wt % to optimize to a gloss level of less than 25. One would have been motivated to make this modification to achieve the lowest gloss possible by optimizing the quantity of CoatOSil MP200 which is acting as a gloss reducing agent.
II. Regarding claim 11, Perdigon in view of Ellington makes obvious all the limitations of claim 10, including the oligosiloxane being CoatOSil MP 200 having the structure
(where m is 3), but fails to explicitly teach the use of an oligosiloxane as claimed in claim 11. However, the structure of claim 11 only differs from CoatOSil MP 200 by replacement of the OH groups with methoxy groups. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Perdigon in view of Ellington’s composition by substituting methoxy groups for OH groups in CoatOSil MP200. One would have been motivated to make this modification as one could have substituted methoxy group for the OH groups in CoatOSil MP 200 with a reasonable expectation of success (note that this substitution would yield a compound with a near identical structure, with an expectation of the same properties, and able to similarly release methanol instead of both methanol and water), and the predictable result of providing a matte coating composition for application to wood.
III. Regarding claims 14 and 15, Perdigon in view of Ellington make obvious the composition, and Perdigon also teaches a substrate coated with the coating composition (page 6, line 33) and the substrate can be fiberboard, which is a wood composite substrate (page 7, lines 1-2). Therefore, Perdigon in view of Ellington also makes obvious claims 14 and 15.
IV. Regarding claim 22, Perdigon in view of Ellington make obvious the composition of claim 1 (see above). Additionally, Perdigon teaches the paint comprising: 6.2% of a cosolvent additive (coalescent of Formulation 1, page 14); and an aqueous dispersion of polymer particles at 66 % and water at 29 % (note that the combination of the aqueous polymer 1 and water can be interpreted as meeting the 66% aqueous dispersion of polymer particles and 29% water, see Formulation 1, page 14). Therefore, Perdigon in view of Ellington also make obvious claim 22.
Conclusion
Claims 1-12, 14-16 and 19-23 are pending.
Claims 1-12, 14-16 and 19-23 are rejected.
/ROBERT S WALTERS JR/
February 26, 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717