Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) presented have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-7, 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Isobe et al. [US PGPUB 20080128724] (hereinafter Isobe).
Regarding claim 1, Isobe teaches a method for producing an optoelectronic component, having the following steps:
- providing a lead frame (210, Para 138) having a front side (side upon which device 1 is attached, Fig. 18) and a rear side (side vertically opposite to the side upon which device 1 is attached to, Fig. 18),
- forming an inner mold body (7, Para 140), wherein a first portion of the lead frame (Fig. 18) is embedded in the inner mold body and a second portion of the lead frame is not embedded in the inner mold body (see annotated Fig. 18);
- arranging an optoelectronic semiconductor chip (1, Para 140) on the inner mold body on the front side of the lead frame (Fig. 18);
- bending the lead frame in such a way that the first portion of the lead frame is angled with respect to the second portion of the lead frame (Fig. 18);
- embedding the lead frame and the inner mold body in an outer mold body, (3, Para 140) such that the inner mold body is completely encapsulated by the outer mold body (Fig. 18) so that electromagnetic radiation emitted by the optoelectronic semiconductor chip runs through the outer mold body (in view of material 7 being a wavelength conversion material and material 3 being transparent, Para 140 –see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Isobe teaches a method wherein the lead frame is bent in such a way that the first portion of the lead frame is angled toward the front side of the lead frame (Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 6, Isobe teaches a method wherein the lead frame is bent in such a way that the first portion of the lead frame is angled at an angle of 90º with respect to the second portion of the lead frame (Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 7, Isobe teaches a method wherein portions of the lead frame are cut before the bending procedure (Para 132, Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 11, Isobe teaches an optoelectronic component
having a lead frame (210, Para 138) having a front side (side upon which device 1 is attached, Fig. 18) and a rear side (side vertically opposite to the side upon which device 1 is attached to, Fig. 18),
an inner mold body (7, Para 140),
an optoelectronic semiconductor chip (1, Para 140) arranged in the inner mold body on the front side of the lead frame (Fig. 18),
and an outer mold body (3, Para 140),
wherein a first portion of the lead frame (Fig. 18) is embedded in the inner mold body and a second portion of the lead frame is not embedded in the inner mold body (see annotated Fig. 18),
wherein the lead frame is bent in such a way that the first portion of the lead frame is angled with respect to the second portion of the lead frame (Fig. 18),
wherein the lead frame and the inner mold body are embedded in the outer mold body, such that the inner mold body is completely encapsulated by the outer mold body (Fig. 18),
wherein electromagnetic radiation emitted by the optoelectronic semiconductor chip runs through the outer mold body (in view of material 7 being a wavelength conversion material and material 3 being transparent, Para 140 –see Fig. 4).
Annotated Fig. 18
Regarding claim 15, Isobe teaches an optoelectronic component wherein the lead frame is bent in such a way that the first portion of the lead frame is angled toward the front side of the lead frame (Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 16, Isobe teaches an optoelectronic component the lead frame is bent in such a way that the first portion of the lead frame is angled at an angle of 90º with respect to the second portion of the lead frame (see annotated Fig. 18).
Claims 1, 5, 8, 11, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mitamura et al. [US PGPUB 20160087729] (hereinafter Mitamura).
Regarding claim 1, Mitamura teaches a method for producing an optoelectronic component, having the following steps:
- providing a lead frame (2, Para 9) having a front side (side upon which device 4 is attached to, Fig. 13) and a rear side (side vertically opposite to the side upon which device 4 is attached to, Fig. 13);
- forming an inner mold body (6, Para 56), wherein a first portion of the lead frame (portion 2a extending in the horizontal direction, Fig. 13) is embedded in the inner mold body (Fig. 13) and a second portion of the lead frame (portion of lead frame 2 extending at an acute angle to portion 2a extending in the horizontal direction, Fig. 13) is not embedded in the inner mold body (Fig. 13);
- arranging an optoelectronic semiconductor chip (4, Para 56) on the inner mold body on the front side of the lead frame (Fig. 13);
- bending the lead frame in such a way that the first portion of the lead frame is angled with respect to the second portion of the lead frame (Fig. 13);
- embedding the lead frame and the inner mold body in an outer mold body, (7 or 7 & 8, Para 56, Fig. 13) such that the inner mold body is completely encapsulated by the outer mold body (Fig. 13) so that electromagnetic radiation emitted by the optoelectronic semiconductor chip runs through the outer mold body (Para 81; in view of the light emitted by device 4 is received by device 5).
Regarding claim 5, Mitamura teaches a method wherein the lead frame is bent in such a way that the first portion of the lead frame is angled toward the front side of the lead frame (Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 8, Mitamura teaches a method wherein the inner mold body is formed with a cavity, wherein the optoelectronic semiconductor chip is arranged in the cavity (Fig. 13 –i.e., cavity as a result of device 4 protruding into material 6).
Regarding claim 11, Mitamura teaches an optoelectronic component
having a lead frame (2, Para 9) having a front side (side upon which device 4 is attached, Fig. 13) and a rear side (side vertically opposite to the side upon which device 4 is attached, Fig. 13),
an inner mold body (6, Para 56),
an optoelectronic semiconductor chip (4 Para 56) arranged in the inner mold body on the front side of the lead frame (Fig. 13),
and an outer mold body (7 or 7 & 8, Para 56),
wherein a first portion of the lead frame (portion 2a extending in the horizontal direction, Fig. 13) is embedded in the inner mold body (Fig. 13) and a second portion of the lead frame (portion of lead frame 2 extending at an acute angle to portion 2a extending in the horizontal direction, Fig. 13) is not embedded in the inner mold body (Fig. 13),
wherein the lead frame is bent in such a way that the first portion of the lead frame is angled with respect to the second portion of the lead frame (Fig. 13),
wherein the lead frame and the inner mold body are embedded in the outer mold body, such that the inner mold body is completely encapsulated by the outer mold body (Fig. 13),
wherein electromagnetic radiation emitted by the optoelectronic semiconductor chip runs through the outer mold body (Para 81; in view of the light emitted by device 4 is received by device 5).
Regarding claim 15, Mitamura teaches an optoelectronic component as claimed in claim 11, wherein the lead frame is bent in such a way that the first portion of the lead frame is angled toward the front side of the lead frame (Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 17, Mitamura teaches an optoelectronic component as claimed in claim 11, wherein the inner mold body comprises a cavity, wherein the optoelectronic semiconductor chip is arranged in the cavity (Fig. 13 –i.e., cavity as a result of device 4 protruding into material 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isobe.
Regarding claim 4, Isobe teaches the limitation of claim 1 upon which it depends.
Isobe as applied in claim 1, does not specifically disclose a method wherein the lead frame is bent in such a way that the first portion of the lead frame is angled toward the rear side of the lead frame.
However, Isobe teaches other alternate structure of the device, wherein in an instance, the structure is provided such that the lead frame is bent in such a way that the first portion of the lead frame is angled toward the rear side of the lead frame (Fig. 20).
In view of such further teaching by Isobe, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the device of Fig. 18 formed as claimed in claim 14, at least based on the rationale of simple substitution of one known element/structure with a suitable another to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143.I.B).
Regarding claim 14, Isobe teaches the limitation of claim 11 upon which it depends.
Isobe as applied in claim 11, does not specifically disclose an optoelectronic component wherein the lead frame is bent in such a way that the first portion of the lead frame is angled toward the rear side of the lead frame.
However, Isobe teaches other alternate structure of the device, wherein in an instance, the structure is provided such that the lead frame is bent in such a way that the first portion of the lead frame is angled toward the rear side of the lead frame (Fig. 20).
In view of such further teaching by Isobe, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the device of Fig. 18 formed as claimed in claim 14, at least based on the rationale of simple substitution of one known element/structure with a suitable another to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143.I.B).
Regarding claim 19, Isobe teaches the limitation of claim 11 upon which it depends.
Isobe as applied in claim 11, does not specifically disclose an optoelectronic component wherein in addition to the optoelectronic semiconductor chip, at least one further optoelectronic semiconductor chip is arranged on the inner mold body on the front side of the lead frame.
However, Isobe teaches other alternate structure of the device, wherein in an instance, the structure is provided with multiple optoelectronic components wherein (Fig. 57).
In view of such further teaching by Isobe, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the device of Fig. 18 formed as claimed in claim 19, at least based on the rationale of simple substitution of one known element/structure with a suitable another to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143.I.B).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitamura in view of Matsuda et al. [US Patent 5647034] and Isobe (hereinafter Matsuda).
Regarding claim 2, Mitamura teaches the limitation of claim 1 upon which it depends.
Mitamura does not specifically disclose a method wherein, after the bending of the lead frame, the following further step is carried out:
- arranging an electronic semiconductor chip on the rear side of the lead frame, wherein the electronic semiconductor chip, together with the lead frame and the inner mold body, is embedded in the outer mold body.
Referring to the invention of Matsuda, Matsuda disclose forming an electronic semiconductor chip (15, Col. 6, line 32) on a side of lead frame 14 opposite to the side that optoelectronic component 16 is formed (Fig. 23).
In view of such teaching by Matsuda, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the device of Mitamura comprise the teaching of Matsuda in order to monitor the operation status of the packaged device.
Referring to the invention of Isobe, Isobe teaches bending the lead frame of device before arranging an electronic semiconductor chip on the lead frame (Fig. 6-11 of 22-26).
In view of such teaching by Isobe, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the modified invention of Mitamura in view of Matsuda comprise the teaching of Isobe, wherein arranging components after bending the lead frame to reduce the chances of erroneously damaging components/chips during the bending process.
In view of such combination, a person will understand that the claimed limitation would be obviously met, to include the limitation “wherein the electronic semiconductor chip, together with the lead frame and the inner mold body, is embedded in the outer mold body” because an electronic semiconductor chip implemented in the device of Mitamura would at least be embedded in the outer mold 7 or 7 & 8.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitamura in view of Matsuda.
Regarding claim 12, Mitamura teaches the limitation of claim 11 upon which it depends.
Mitamura does not specifically disclose an optoelectronic component wherein an electronic semiconductor chip is arranged on the rear side of the lead frame, wherein the electronic semiconductor chip, together with the lead frame and the inner mold body, is embedded in the outer mold body.
Referring to the invention of Matsuda, Matsuda disclose forming an electronic semiconductor chip (15, Col. 6, line 32) on a side of lead frame 14 opposite to the side that optoelectronic component 16 is formed (Fig. 23).
In view of such teaching by Matsuda, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the device of Mitamura comprise the teaching of Matsuda in order to monitor the operation status of the packaged device.
In view of such combination, a person will understand that the claimed limitation would be obviously met, to include the limitation “wherein the electronic semiconductor chip, together with the lead frame and the inner mold body, is embedded in the outer mold body” because an electronic semiconductor chip implemented in the device of Mitamura would at least be embedded in the outer mold 7 or 7 & 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 9-10, 13, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ISMAIL A MUSE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812