Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2,4-6,8-11,13-19,23-25 and 27 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2,4,10,14,17-19,23-25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (US 2022/0224443 A1; hereinafter "LEE"), in view of KUO et al. (US 2022/0294576 A1; hereinafter “KUO”), and further in view of RICO ALVARINO et al. (US 2018/0102915 A1; hereinafter “RICO”).
Regarding claim 1, LEE teaches a computer implemented method performed by a first node ([0016] program) in a communications network for use in training a model using a machine learning process ([0327] FIG. 19 the AI server 1920 learns the artificial neural network (ANN) according to the machine learning algorithm) using Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request, HARQ, transmissions ([0020] HARQ transmission), the method comprising:
reserving HARQ resources between a second node (FIG. 15 base station) and a third node (FIG. 15 TX UE) in the communications network for training of the model ([0208] In FIG. 13 step S1307, the UE determines to reserve a retransmission resource based on at least one of a QoS requirement, a congestion level and/or a priority of the data unit, [0253] the TX UE selects to create a configured sidelink grant corresponding to transmission(s) of the data unit and reserve one or more new grants for retransmission(s) of the data unit from the HARQ process on a carrier in parallel with the currently reserved resources for a learning model; [0317]-[0319]); and
initiating a first test transmission from the second node (FIG. 15 base station) to the third node (FIG. 15 TX UE) using the reserved HARQ resources in order to obtain data with which to train the model ([0216] In FIG. 14 step S1403, the BS transmits, to the first wireless device, a configuration of a resource pool, [0219] In FIG. 14 step S1409, the first wireless device performs the initial transmission of the data unit by using the first resource), ([0217] In FIG. 14 step S1405, the first wireless device reserves a set of resources comprising at least a first resource for an initial transmission and a second resource for a retransmission, [0323] The processor 1870 collects history information, and it can be used to update the learning model).
However, LEE does not teach wherein initiating the first test transmission from the second node to the third node comprises configuring the second node to transmit protocol data units maintained in a HARQ process buffer such that no new, previously unsent protocol data units are scheduled for the reserved HARQ resources, wherein configuring the second node further comprises excluding the reserved HARQ resources from a scheduler for user plane data transmissions such that the reserved HARQ resources are unavailable for scheduling of user plane data.
In an analogous art, KUO teaches wherein initiating the first test transmission from the second node to the third node comprises configuring the second node to transmit protocol data units maintained in a HARQ process buffer such that no new, previously unsent protocol data units are scheduled for the reserved HARQ resources ([0040] The “generated but not transmitted” MAC PDU is considered as Pending MAC PDU. For de-prioritized PUSCH on dynamic grant, such MAC PDU is stored in a HARQ buffer and allows a network device to schedule a retransmission associating to the same HARQ process, i.e. a HARQ process associating to the original grant for this MAC PDU, [0087] Since the set of allowed HARQ process is determined, the terminal device 110 selects a resource, for example the next transmission occasion, associated with a target HARQ process from the set of allowed process. Then the terminal device 110 transmit the pending MAC PDU using the resource associated with a target HARQ process to the network device 120).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pending MAC PDU as taught by KUO within the system of LEE. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a solution of the resource selection for the transmission of a pending data unit with network efficiency (KUO [0004]).
However, the combination of LEE and KUO does not teach wherein configuring the second node further comprises excluding the reserved HARQ resources from a scheduler for user plane data transmissions by taking the reserved HARQ resources out of a pool of usable HARQ processes such that the reserved HARQ resources are unavailable for scheduling of user plane data.
In an analogous art, RICO teaches wherein configuring the second node further comprises excluding the reserved HARQ resources from a scheduler for user plane data transmissions by taking the reserved HARQ resources out of a pool of usable HARQ processes such that the reserved HARQ resources are unavailable for scheduling of user plane data ([0059] discloses that a reserved HARQ process is part of a set of HARQ processes and is removed (flushed) from the set, [0058] discloses that reserved HARQ processes may be exclusive to the CSS such that the UE discards the reserved HARQ process and selects another HARQ process, [0083]-[0084] reiterate removing the reserved HARQ process from the set of HARQ processes and selecting another HARQ process, thereby removing the reserved HARQ process from the set of usable HARQ processes such that the reserved HARQ process is unavailable for subsequent scheduling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify HARQ processes as taught by RICO within the system of LEE and KUO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enable preemptive retransmission scheduling to avoid a disruption of the VoLTE and/or video transmission service (RICO [0008]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of LEE, KUO and RICO, specifically LEE teaches wherein the model ([0311] ANN) comprises: a reinforcement learning agent and wherein the first test transmission comprises an exploratory action of the reinforcement learning agent in order to train the reinforcement learning agent ([0312] Reinforcement learning can mean a learning method in which an agent defined in an environment learns to select a behavior and/or sequence of actions that maximizes cumulative compensation in each state), or a supervised learning model or an unsupervised learning model ([0312] Machine learning can be divided into supervised learning, unsupervised learning, and reinforcement learning, depending on the learning method) and
wherein the data comprises training data with which to train the respective model ([0312] Supervised learning is a method of learning ANN with labels given to learning data. Labels are the result values that ANN must infer when learning data is input to ANN. Unsupervised learning can mean a method of learning ANN without labels given to learning data).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of LEE, KUO and RICO, specifically LEE teaches wherein the first test transmission comprises an experimental transmission ([0312] Reinforcement learning can mean a learning method in which an agent defined in an environment learns to select a behavior and/or sequence of actions that maximizes cumulative compensation in each state).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of LEE, KUO and RICO, specifically KUO teaches wherein initiating the first test transmission comprises selecting, from a HARQ process buffer of the second node, at least one protocol data unit previously transmitted to the third node, and transmitting the selected protocol data unit with at least one altered transmission parameter, so as to generate a controlled reception outcome for training the model, thereby avoiding scheduling of any new, previously unsent protocol data units in the reserved HARQ resources ([0040] The “generated but not transmitted” MAC PDU is considered as Pending MAC PDU. For de-prioritized PUSCH on dynamic grant, such MAC PDU is stored in a HARQ buffer and allows a network device to schedule a retransmission associating to the same HARQ process, i.e. a HARQ process associating to the original grant for this MAC PDU, [0087] Since the set of allowed HARQ process is determined, the terminal device 110 selects a resource, for example the next transmission occasion, associated with a target HARQ process from the set of allowed process. Then the terminal device 110 transmit the pending MAC PDU using the resource associated with a target HARQ process to the network device 120).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pending MAC PDU as taught by KUO within the system of LEE. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a solution of the resource selection for the transmission of a pending data unit with network efficiency (KUO [0004]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of LEE, KUO and RICO, specifically LEE teaches further comprising:
initiating a second test transmission from a fifth node to a sixth node that overlaps with the first test transmission ([0217] In FIG. 14 step S1405, the first wireless device may reserve a set of resources comprising at least a first resource for an initial transmission and a second resource for a retransmission, based on resources in the resource pool, [0222] In step S1415, the first wireless device may perform the retransmission of the data unit to the second wireless device); and
initiating channel measurements based on the first or second test transmissions ([0084] The eNB 320 hosts the functions, such as inter-cell radio resource management (RRM), radio bearer (RB) control, connection mobility control, radio admission control, measurement configuration/provision, dynamic resource allocation (scheduler), etc, [0085] In the DL, a transmitter may be a part of the eNB 320, and a receiver may be a part of the UE 310. In the UL, the transmitter may be a part of the UE 310, and the receiver may be a part of the eNB 320).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of LEE, KUO and RICO, specifically LEE teaches wherein the step of reserving HARQ resources between a second node and a third node in the communications network for training of the model ([0208] In FIG. 13 step S1307, the UE determines to reserve a retransmission resource based on at least one of a QoS requirement, a congestion level and/or a priority of the data unit, [0253] the TX UE selects to create a configured sidelink grant corresponding to transmission(s) of the data unit and reserve one or more new grants for retransmission(s) of the data unit from the HARQ process on a carrier in parallel with the currently reserved resources for a learning model; [0317]-[0319]) comprises sending a first message to the second node instructing the second node to reserve the HARQ resources ([0257] The grants are associated with the HARQ process ID of the HARQ process, [0258] upon receiving one or more grants on PDCCH from the network, if one of the grants is valid for a retransmission of the data unit, the TX UE provides the grant to the HARQ process and perform the retransmission of the data unit from the HARQ process towards a receiving node by using the grant).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of LEE, KUO and RICO, specifically LEE teaches wherein the step of initiating a first test transmission from the second node to the third node using the reserved HARQ resources in order to obtain data with which to train the model ([0216] In FIG. 14 step S1403, the BS transmits, to the first wireless device, a configuration of a resource pool, [0219] In FIG. 14 step S1409, the first wireless device performs the initial transmission of the data unit by using the first resource), ([0217] In FIG. 14 step S1405, the first wireless device reserves a set of resources comprising at least a first resource for an initial transmission and a second resource for a retransmission, [0323] The processor 1870 collects history information, and it can be used to update the learning model) comprises: sending a second message to the second node, comprising information enabling the second node to send the first test transmission ([0216] In step S1403, the BS may transmit, to the first wireless device, a configuration of a resource pool for configuring with the first wireless device with the resource pool).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of LEE, KUO and RICO, specifically RICO teaches wherein the second message (FIG. 4A second RRC message 405): comprises one or more transmission parameters specified by the first node for the first test transmission ([0010] the base station transmits a second RRC message and a second uplink grant, [0051] the second RRC message configures the UE with a number of HARQ processes and a maximum number of repetitions, [0105] the second uplink grant includes a UL HARQ ID and a number of repetitions, thereby teaching that the second message comprises one or more transmission parameters specified by the first node for the transmission), and
wherein the second node schedules the first test transmission using the reserved HARQ resources in accordance with the one or more transmission parameters specified by the first node ([0058]-[0059] disclose reserved HARQ processes associated with uplink grants, [0105]-[0106] disclose that the second uplink grant includes transmission parameters comprising a UL HARQ ID and triggers retransmission using the corresponding HARQ resources, thereby scheduling the transmission in accordance with the included transmission parameters).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify HARQ processes as taught by RICO within the system of LEE and KUO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enable preemptive retransmission scheduling to avoid a disruption of the VoLTE and/or video transmission service (RICO [0008]).
Regarding claim 23, LEE teaches a first node in a communications network ([0016] program) for use in training a model ([0327] FIG. 19 the AI server 1920 learns the artificial neural network (ANN) according to the machine learning algorithm) using a machine learning process using Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request, HARQ, transmissions ([0020] HARQ transmission), the first node comprising:
a memory comprising instruction data representing a set of instructions ([0077] The memory 212 is connected to the processor 211 and may store various types of information and/or instructions, [0078] The memory 222 is connected to the processor 221 and may store various types of information and/or instructions); and
a processor configured to communicate with the memory and to execute the set of instructions, wherein the set of instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to ([0287] The modules can be stored in the memory 1620 and executed by the processor 1610, The memory 1620 can be implemented within the processor 1610 in which case those can be communicatively coupled to the processor 1610 via various means as is known in the art):
reserve HARQ resources between a second node (FIG. 15 base station) and a third node (FIG. 15 TX UE) in the communications network for training of the model ([0208] In FIG. 13 step S1307, the UE determines to reserve a retransmission resource based on at least one of a QoS requirement, a congestion level and/or a priority of the data unit, [0253] the TX UE selects to create a configured sidelink grant corresponding to transmission(s) of the data unit and reserve one or more new grants for retransmission(s) of the data unit from the HARQ process on a carrier in parallel with the currently reserved resources for a learning model; [0317]-[0319]); and
initiate a first test transmission from the second node (FIG. 15 base station) to the third node (FIG. 15 TX UE) using the reserved HARQ resources in order to obtain data with which to train the model ([0216] In FIG. 14 step S1403, the BS transmits, to the first wireless device, a configuration of a resource pool, [0219] In FIG. 14 step S1409, the first wireless device performs the initial transmission of the data unit by using the first resource), ([0217] In FIG. 14 step S1405, the first wireless device reserves a set of resources comprising at least a first resource for an initial transmission and a second resource for a retransmission, [0323] The processor 1870 collects history information, and it can be used to update the learning model).
However, LEE does not teach wherein initiating the first test transmission from the second node to the third node comprises configuring the second node to transmit protocol data units maintained in a HARQ process buffer such that no new, previously unsent protocol data units are scheduled for the reserved HARQ resources.
In an analogous art, KUO teaches wherein initiating the first test transmission from the second node to the third node comprises configuring the second node to transmit protocol data units maintained in a HARQ process buffer such that no new, previously unsent protocol data units are scheduled for the reserved HARQ resources ([0040] The “generated but not transmitted” MAC PDU is considered as Pending MAC PDU. For de-prioritized PUSCH on dynamic grant, such MAC PDU is stored in a HARQ buffer and allows a network device to schedule a retransmission associating to the same HARQ process, i.e. a HARQ process associating to the original grant for this MAC PDU, [0087] Since the set of allowed HARQ process is determined, the terminal device 110 selects a resource, for example the next transmission occasion, associated with a target HARQ process from the set of allowed process. Then the terminal device 110 transmit the pending MAC PDU using the resource associated with a target HARQ process to the network device 120).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pending MAC PDU as taught by KUO within the system of LEE. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a solution of the resource selection for the transmission of a pending data unit with network efficiency (KUO [0004]).
However, the combination of LEE and KUO does not teach wherein configuring the second node further comprises excluding the reserved HARQ resources from a scheduler for user plane data transmissions by taking the reserved HARQ resources out of a pool of usable HARQ processes such that the reserved HARQ resources are unavailable for scheduling of user plane data.
In an analogous art, RICO teaches wherein configuring the second node further comprises excluding the reserved HARQ resources from a scheduler for user plane data transmissions by taking the reserved HARQ resources out of a pool of usable HARQ processes such that the reserved HARQ resources are unavailable for scheduling of user plane data ([0059] discloses that a reserved HARQ process is part of a set of HARQ processes and is removed (flushed) from the set, [0058] discloses that reserved HARQ processes may be exclusive to the CSS such that the UE discards the reserved HARQ process and selects another HARQ process, [0083]-[0084] reiterate removing the reserved HARQ process from the set of HARQ processes and selecting another HARQ process, thereby removing the reserved HARQ process from the set of usable HARQ processes such that the reserved HARQ process is unavailable for subsequent scheduling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify HARQ processes as taught by RICO within the system of LEE and KUO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enable preemptive retransmission scheduling to avoid a disruption of the VoLTE and/or video transmission service (RICO [0008]).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of LEE, KUO and RICO, specifically LEE teaches further configured to perform a computer implemented method performed by a first node ([0016] program) in a communications network for use in training a model using a machine learning process ([0327] FIG. 19 the AI server 1920 learns the artificial neural network (ANN) according to the machine learning algorithm) using Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request, HARQ, transmissions ([0020] HARQ transmission), the method comprising:
reserving HARQ resources between a second node and a third node in the communications network for training of the model ([0208] In FIG. 13 step S1307, the UE determines to reserve a retransmission resource based on at least one of a QoS requirement, a congestion level and/or a priority of the data unit, [0253] the TX UE selects to create a configured sidelink grant corresponding to transmission(s) of the data unit and reserve one or more new grants for retransmission(s) of the data unit from the HARQ process on a carrier in parallel with the currently reserved resources for a learning model; [0317]-[0319]); and
initiating a first test transmission from the second node to the third node using the reserved HARQ resources in order to obtain data with which to train the model ([0216] In FIG. 14 step S1403, the BS transmits, to the first wireless device, a configuration of a resource pool, [0219] In FIG. 14 step S1409, the first wireless device performs the initial transmission of the data unit by using the first resource), ([0217] In FIG. 14 step S1405, the first wireless device reserves a set of resources comprising at least a first resource for an initial transmission and a second resource for a retransmission, [0323] The processor 1870 collects history information, and it can be used to update the learning model), wherein the model ([0311] ANN) comprises:
a reinforcement learning agent and wherein the first test transmission comprises an exploratory action of the reinforcement learning agent in order to train the reinforcement learning agent ([0312] Reinforcement learning can mean a learning method in which an agent defined in an environment learns to select a behavior and/or sequence of actions that maximizes cumulative compensation in each state), or
a supervised learning model or an unsupervised learning model ([0312] Machine learning can be divided into supervised learning, unsupervised learning, and reinforcement learning, depending on the learning method) and wherein the data comprises training data with which to train the respective model ([0312] Supervised learning is a method of learning ANN with labels given to learning data. Labels are the result values that ANN must infer when learning data is input to ANN. Unsupervised learning can mean a method of learning ANN without labels given to learning data).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of LEE, KUO and RICO, specifically LEE teaches a computer program comprising instructions which ([0016] a computer-readable medium having recorded thereon a program for performing each step of a method on a computer is provided), when executed on at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to carry out a method according to claim 1 ([0015] a processor for a wireless device in a wireless communication system is configured to control the wireless device to perform operations).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of LEE, KUO and RICO, specifically LEE teaches a computer program product comprising non transitory computer readable media having stored thereon a computer program according to claim 25 ([0016] a computer-readable medium having recorded thereon a program for performing each step of a method on a computer is provided. The method comprises: reserving a set of resources).
Claims 5-6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE, in view of KUO, in view of RICO, and further in view of Jose et al. (US 2018/0367463 A1; hereinafter “Jose”).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of LEE, KUO, RICO does not teach wherein the first test transmission is designed to be invalid so that the third node will ignore the first test transmission.
In an analogous art, Jose teaches wherein the first test transmission is designed to be invalid so that the third node (FIG. 5 communication apparatus 510) will ignore the first test transmission ([0040] network apparatus 520 is implemented in gNB in a 5G network, [0042] communication apparatus 510 is implemented in or as a UE, they (FIG. 5 510 and 520) wirelessly communicate with each other via transceiver, [0044] Processor 512 is generate the second PDU by duplicating the first PDU, [0045] When the successful delivery of the PDU is confirmed, processor 512 is triggered to discard the duplicated PDU, [0049] processor 512 configures the other RLC entity to discard the duplicated data packet).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the duplicated PDU as taught by Jose within the system of the combination of LEE, KUO and RICO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to support transmission of data with high reliability and low latency criterions that improves the probability of data reception (Jose [0022]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of LEE, KUO, RICO and Jose, specifically Jose teaches wherein the first test transmission comprises: at least one duplicated protocol data unit, PDU ([0040] In FIG. 5, network apparatus 520 is implemented in gNB in a 5G network, [0042] communication apparatus 510 is implemented in or as a UE and network apparatus 520 includes a transceiver, so they wirelessly communicate with each other via transceiver, [0044] Processor 512 is configured to generate a first PDU to transmit on the first link. It is configured to generate a second PDU to transmit on the second link and generates the second PDU by duplicating the first PDU, [0045] when the successful delivery of the PDU is confirmed, processor 512 is triggered to discard the duplicated PDU).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the duplicated PDU as taught by Jose within the system of the combination of LEE, KUO and RICO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to support transmission of data with high reliability and low latency criterions that improves the probability of data reception (Jose [0022]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of LEE, KUO, RICO and Jose, specifically Jose teaches wherein the first test transmission is designed to request the third node (FIG. 5 communication apparatus 510) to re-send a first previous transmission using different transmission parameters ([0040] network apparatus 520 is implemented in gNB, [0042] communication apparatus 510 and network apparatus 520 wirelessly communicate with each other, [0045] When the successful delivery of the PDU is confirmed, processor 512 is triggered to discard the duplicated PDU, [0067] processor 512 receiving an acknowledgement of the first PDU discarding the second PDU after receiving the acknowledgement that received at an RLC layer via a HARQ feedback, [0068] processor 512 re-transmitting the first PDU on the first link with an increased number of copies of the data packet on multiple links; [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the duplicated PDU as taught by Jose within the system of the combination of LEE, KUO and RICO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to support transmission of data with high reliability and low latency criterions that improves the probability of data reception (Jose [0022]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of LEE, KUO, RICO and Jose, specifically Jose teaches wherein the step of initiating a first test transmission from the second node to the third node using the reserved HARQ resources is performed ([0025] The MAC layer comprises a first HARQ entity. If a HARQ ACK is received, the duplicated data packet is not delivered to lower layer for transmission, [0031] The UE is configured to re-transmit the first data packet on the first link and to transmit the second data packet on the second link when performing the re-transmission [0044] Processor 512 generates the second PDU by duplicating the first PDU), in response to the second node receiving a HARQ acknowledgement, HARQ ACK, from the third node in response to a second previous transmission from the second node to the third node ([0025] after transmitting the first PDU on the first link, the first HARQ entity is able to receive a HARQ feedback of the first PDU from the receiving side, [0045] Network apparatus 520 is configured to use the HARQ feedback to indicate whether the data packet is successfully received at network apparatus 520. After transmitting the first PDU on the first link, the first HARQ entity of processor 512 is able to receive a HARQ feedback of the first PDU from network apparatus 520).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a HARQ feedback as taught by Jose within the system of the combination of LEE, KUO and RICO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to support transmission of data with high reliability and low latency criterions that improves the probability of data reception (Jose [0022]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE, in view of KUO, in view of RICO, and further in view of Huang et al. (US 2015/0049681 A1; hereinafter “Huang”).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of LEE, KUO and RICO, specifically LEE teaches wherein the second node and/or the third node comprises a user equipment, UE, and wherein the UE is selected based on ([0058] smartphones and tablets, [0210] In step S1309, the UE triggers a TX resource reselection to resource one or more new grants for the retransmission of the data unit):
power available to the UE ([0283] In FIG. 16, a UE includes a power management module 1611, a battery 1612);
a capability of the UE ([0120] A UE simultaneously receives or transmits on one or multiple CCs depending on its capabilities); and/or
a load associated with the UE ([0211] The number of retransmissions and/or the number of grants used for the retransmissions is determined based on at least one of a congestion level and/or a priority of the data unit).
However, the combination of LEE, KUO and RICO does not teach selecting the second node and the third node from a plurality of available nodes, motion associated with the UE; a channel quality report on a channel between the UE and the second node.
In an analogous art, Huang teaches selecting the second node and the third node from a plurality of available nodes ([0061] the UE can be coupled to a HetNet, comprising a macrocell and at least one small cell having overlapping coverage areas and operating on a common set of frequencies, single connectivity with the either the macrocell or the small cell can be enabled by employing CRE selection).
motion associated with the UE ([0047] if CQI varies a lot (e.g., greater than a predefined threshold) within a short period time, the speed estimation component 502 can determine that the UE 104 is moving at a high speed with motion sensors; [0058]);
a channel quality report on a channel between the UE and the second node ([0047] monitor channel quality indicator (CQI) data associated with the UE 104, [0061] a data transmission between the UE and the macrocell can be facilitated via a non-ABS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CQI data as taught by Huang within the system of the combination of LEE, KUO and RICO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to facilitate efficient scheduling and resource allocation techniques to improve quality of service provided to the UE (Huang [0027]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE, in view of KUO, in view of RICO, and further in view of Yao et al. (US 2023/0141237 A1; hereinafter “Yao”).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of LEE, KUO and RICO does not teach further comprising: initiating measurements at a fourth node during the first test transmission.
In an analogous art, Yao teaches further comprising: initiating measurements at a fourth node during the first test transmission ([0055] In FIG. 2, the RAN 204 includes one or more access nodes, for example, the AN 208 may enable data/voice connectivity between CN 220 and the UE 202 which performs various logical functions including load management, interference coordination; [0056]), ([0060] The LTE air interface may rely on CSI-RS for CSI acquisition and beam management; PDSCH/PDCCH DMRS for PDSCH/PDCCH demodulation; and CRS for cell search and initial acquisition, channel quality measurements, and channel estimation for coherent demodulation/detection at the UE, [0095] In addition to performing data transmission/reception as described above, the components of the AN 308 may perform various logical functions that include, for example, RNC functions such as radio bearer management, uplink and downlink dynamic radio resource management, and data packet scheduling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify access nodes as taught by Yao within the system of the combination of LEE, KUO and RICO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide the UE with an air interface for network access to support very low latency communications (Yao [0059]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE, in view of KUO, in view of RICO, and further in view of "Machine Learning for Early HARQ Feedback Prediction in 5G," 2018 IEEE Globecom Workshops; hereinafter “IEEE”).
Regarding claim 15, LEE teaches wherein the model is for selecting transmission parameters in the communications network ([0084] discloses that the eNB performs radio resource management, measurement configuration, and dynamic resource allocation (scheduler), thereby selecting transmission parameters for communications in the network, [0323] discloses updating a learning model using collected history information and determining executable operations based on information generated using a machine learning algorithm).
However, LEE does not teach wherein the reserved HARQ resources are used exclusively for experimentation or data collection associated with training of the model.
In an analogous art, IEEE teaches wherein the reserved HARQ resources are used exclusively for data collection associated with training of the model ([Abstract] discloses machine-learning methods for HARQ feedback prediction, [Section III “Machine Learning for Early HARQ”] discloses 1. Calculating classifier input features from decoder outputs Eq. (4), 2. Training a binary classifier, 3. Assessing classification performance, 4. Analyzing system performance, [Table I] discloses generating training and test datasets from HARQ transmissions, [Section IV-A] discloses that the training and test data are produced using one million HARQ transmissions with independent channel realizations, thereby teaching collecting HARQ transmission data associated with training the machine-learning model).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of LEE, KUO and RICO to incorporate machine-learning model training as taught by IEEE. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve HARQ feedback prediction and enable more accurate retransmission decisions based on data collected from HARQ transmissions (IEEE [Section III]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE, in view of KUO, in view of RICO, and further in view of Park et al. (US 2023/0081928 A1; hereinafter “Park”).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of LEE, KUO and RICO does not teach wherein the model is for selecting pairings for Multi-user Multiple Input, Multiple Output, MU-MIMO, transmissions, or multi- transmit-receive-point pairings.
In an analogous art, Park teaches wherein the model is for selecting pairings for Multi-user Multiple Input, Multiple Output, MU-MIMO, transmissions, or multi- transmit-receive-point pairings ([0201] One user block field included in the user-specific field may include information for two users, but a last user block field included in the user-specific field may include information for one user. That is, one user block field of the EHT-SIG may include up to two user fields. As in the example of FIG. 9, each user field may be related to MU-MIMO allocation, [0203] As in the example of FIG. 8, the common field of the EHT-SIG may include RU allocation information. The RU allocation information may imply information related to a location of an RU to which a plurality of users (i.e., a plurality of receiving STAs) are allocated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a MU-MIMO allocation as taught by Yao within the system of the combination of LEE, KUO and RICO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase the transmission range of the PPDU to improve system performance (Park [0014]).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2017/0230136 A1 (YAN et al.) discloses a method for fusing baseband resources between networks of different standards.
US 2018/0220425 A1 (ZHANG et al.) discloses a resource allocation method, an apparatus, and a wireless access system.
US 2023/0318748 A1 (YIN et al.) discloses code rate determination for multiplexing of HARQ-ACK with different priorities on physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) with separate coding.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413