DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-10 and new claims 11-20 (requiring both a capacitor structure and a resonator structure) are pending in the Amendment filed 02/03/2026.
The rejection of claims 1-2, 6-8, and 10 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lan et al. (US 20210099149 A1), and the rejection of claim 9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lan, in view of Bahl et al. (US 20190014667 A1), are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to independent claim 1 (limiting the structures formed from “a capacitor structure and/or a resonator structure” to only “a resonator structure”).
The rejection of claims 1-5, 7-8, and 10 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 20220053644 A1), is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to independent claim 1 (limiting the structures formed from “a capacitor structure and/or a resonator structure” to only “a resonator structure”).
However, claims 1-20 are rejected in view of newly cited references to Figueredo et al. (US 6710681 B2) and Wang et al. (US 20050140468 A1), as set forth below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 (and new claim 11) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claims 1-20 are rejected in view of newly cited references to Figueredo et al. (US 6710681 B2) and Wang et al. (US 20050140468 A1), as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Figueredo et al. (US 6710681 B2).
As to claim 1, Figueredo discloses a filter production method [Abstract] wherein the method comprises steps of:
providing a substrate structure 22 [Fig 3A-3b, “22”];
producing and forming a line structure 40a on at least one side of the substrate structure, wherein the line structure comprises at least one line layer [Fig 3A-3B, “40a”], and at least one of the line layers has at least one inductor element [Fig 3A-3B, “40a”]; and
producing and forming a resonator structure 30 on the side of the at least one line layer 40a close to the substrate structure 22 and/or away from the substrate structure [Fig. 3A-3B], wherein the resonator structure comprises at least one acoustic resonator 30 [Abstract; claim 2];
wherein the substrate structure 22 and the line structure 40a as well as the resonator structure 30 form a lamellar stack structure [Fig 3A-3B, “40a”], and the inductor element and the acoustic resonator are in electrical connection with each other (via electrode 38), so as to form a filter circuit [Fig. 3A-3B, “38”; claim 8-9].
As to claim 2, Figueredo discloses the filter production method according to claim 1, wherein the step of producing and forming a resonator structure 30 on the side of the at least one line layer 40a close to the substrate structure and/or away from the substrate structure comprises:
producing and forming at least one acoustic resonator 30 on the basis of at least one external surface of the substrate structure 22 [Fig 3B-3A].
As to claim 3, Figueredo discloses the filter production method according to claim 1, wherein the step of producing and forming a resonator structure on the side of the at least one line layer close to the substrate structure and/or away from the substrate structure comprises:
producing and forming at least one acoustic resonator 30 in at least one inwardly concave area 32 of the substrate structure [Fig. 3B].
As to claim 4, Figueredo discloses the filter production method according to claim 3, wherein the step of producing and forming at least one acoustic resonator in at least one inwardly concave area 32 of the substrate structure comprises:
producing and forming at least one inwardly concave area 32 on at least one external surface of the substrate structure 22 [Fig. 3B];
producing and forming a substrate layer on the basis of the external surface of the substrate structure in each of the inwardly concave areas [col. 3, lines 15-23]; and
producing and forming at least one acoustic resonator 30 on the basis of the surface on each of the substrate layers not contacting with the substrate structure 22 [Fig. 3B; col. 3, lines 15-23, “glass or other material later dissolved or otherwise removed to create the cavities”].
As to claim 5, Figueredo discloses the filter production method according to claim 4, wherein the step of producing and forming a substrate layer on the basis of the external surface of the substrate structure comprises: producing a substrate layer of a material differing from that of the substrate structure on the basis of the external surface of the substrate structure, wherein the substrate layer is configured for producing and forming an acoustic resonator [Fig. 3B; col. 3, lines 15-23].
As to claim 6, Figueredo discloses the filter production method according to claim 1, wherein the step of producing and forming a resonator structure on the side of the at least one layer of the inductor element close to the substrate structure and/or away from the substrate structure comprises:
producing and forming, after the production and formation of one line layer, at least one acoustic resonator on the basis of a dielectric isolation layer 36 formed on the line layer 34 [Fig. 3B].
As to claim 7, Figueredo discloses the filter production method according to claim 1, wherein the step of producing and forming a line structure on at least one side of the substrate structure comprises:
producing and forming, after the production and formation of a layer of a lamellar structure having an acoustic resonator, a line layer 38 on the basis of a dielectric isolation layer 36 formed on the lamellar structure [Fig. 3B].
As to claim 8, Figueredo discloses the filter production method according to claim 1, wherein the step of producing and forming a line structure on at least one side of the substrate structure comprises:
producing and forming at least one line layer 40a on the basis of at least one external surface 46 of the substrate structure 22 [Fig. 3B].
As to claim 10, Figueredo discloses a filter, Figueredo wherein the filter is produced and formed on the basis of the filter production method according to claim 1 [Fig. 3A-3B].
Claims 1-8, 10-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang (US 20050140468 A1).
As to claim 1, Wang discloses a filter production method [Abstract, claim 12], wherein the method comprises steps of:
providing a substrate structure 142 [Fig. 3a, claim 12];
producing and forming a line structure on at least one side of the substrate structure, wherein the line structure 106/112 comprises at least one line layer 112, and at least one of the line layers has at least one inductor element 106 [Fig. 3b, claim 12; Fig. 3f, “Inductor”]; and
producing and forming a resonator structure on the side of the at least one line layer close to the substrate structure and/or away from the substrate structure, wherein the resonator structure comprises at least one acoustic resonator [Fig. 3f, “Shunt FBAR”, “Series FBAR”, claim 12];
wherein the substrate structure and the line structure as well as the resonator structure form a lamellar stack structure, and the inductor element and the acoustic resonator are in electrical connection with each other, so as to form a filter circuit [Fig. 3f, para. 0021, claim 12].
As to claim 2, Wang discloses the filter production method according to claim 1, wherein the step of producing and forming a resonator structure on the side of the at least one line layer close to the substrate structure and/or away from the substrate structure comprises:
producing and forming at least one acoustic resonator on the basis of at least one external surface of the substrate structure [Fig. 3f, “Shunt FBAR”, “Series FBAR”, claim 12].
As to claim 3, Wang discloses the filter production method according to claim 1, wherein the step of producing and forming a resonator structure on the side of the at least one line layer close to the substrate structure and/or away from the substrate structure comprises:
producing and forming at least one acoustic resonator in at least one inwardly concave area of the substrate structure [Fig. 1].
As to claim 4, Wang discloses the filter production method according to claim 3, wherein the step of producing and forming at least one acoustic resonator in at least one inwardly concave area of the substrate structure comprises:
producing and forming at least one inwardly concave area 108 on at least one external surface of the substrate structure 142 [Fig. 1, para. 0012];
producing and forming a substrate layer on the basis of the external surface of the substrate structure in each of the inwardly concave areas [Fig. 1, Figs. 3a-3f, claim 12]; and
producing and forming at least one acoustic resonator on the basis of the surface on each of the substrate layers not contacting with the substrate structure [Fig. 1, “Shunt FBAR”, “Series FBAR”; claim 12] .
As to claim 5, Wang discloses the filter production method according to claim 4, wherein the step of producing and forming a substrate layer on the basis of the external surface of the substrate structure comprises: producing a substrate layer of a material differing from that of the substrate structure on the basis of the external surface of the substrate structure, wherein the substrate layer is configured for producing and forming an acoustic resonator [Fig. 1, Figs. 3a-3f; claim 12].
As to claim 6, Wang discloses the filter production method according to claim 1, wherein the step of producing and forming a resonator structure on the side of the at least one layer of the inductor element close to the substrate structure and/or away from the substrate structure comprises:
producing and forming, after the production and formation of one line layer 112/106, at least one acoustic resonator on the basis of a dielectric isolation layer 124 formed on the line layer [Fig. 3c].
As to claim 7, Wang discloses the filter production method according to claim 1, wherein the step of producing and forming a line structure on at least one side of the substrate structure comprises:
producing and forming, after the production and formation of a layer of a lamellar structure having an acoustic resonator, a line layer 114 on the basis of a dielectric isolation layer 124 formed on the lamellar structure [Fig. 3e-3f].
As to claim 8, Wang discloses the filter production method according to claim 1, wherein the step of producing and forming a line structure on at least one side of the substrate structure comprises:
producing and forming at least one line layer 112/106 on the basis of at least one external surface of the substrate structure [Fig. 3c].
As to claim 10, Wang discloses a filter, wherein the filter is produced and formed on the basis of the filter production method according to claim 1 [claim 12; Fig. 1, Figs. 3a-3f].
As to claims 11-18 and 20 (which correspond to claims 1-8 and 20, respectively, but for the inclusion of a capacitor element), Wang teaches forming two resonator structures: a shunt FBAR and series FBAR [Fig 1; Fig. 3f]. Here, the series FBAR reads on the claimed acoustic resonator, as set forth above, and the shunt FBAR fairly reads on the “capacitor element” because it behaves structurally and functionally as a conventional shunt capacitive network element. That is, the shunt FBAR of Wang has the structure of a capacitor (and therefore contains a capacitor element), comprising a top conductive electrode, a piezoelectric dielectric layer (here aluminum nitride 126), and a bottom conductive electrode [Fig.1; Fig. 3f].
Claims 11-18 and 20 are rejected as set forth in the rejection of claims 1-8 and 20, respectively, and including the shunt FBAR as the claimed “capacitor element”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, as applied to claims 1-8, 11-18 and 20 above, in view of Bahl et al. (US 20190014667 A1).
As to claims 9 and 19, Wang discloses the filter production method according to claim 8 (and claim 18), but fails to explicitly disclose:
wherein the step of producing and forming at least one line layer 134/132 on the basis of at least one external surface of the substrate structure comprises:
performing a window etching operation on a metal foil on the substrate structure;
performing a drilling operation on the basis of the surface of the window-etched metal foil away from the substrate structure, so as to form a connecting via hole penetrating the metal foil and the substrate structure;
performing a metal electroplating operation on the basis of the surface of the drilled metal foil away from the substrate structure, so as to form a metal layer covering the metal foil and filling the connecting via hole; and
performing a graphics etching operation on the surface of the metal layer away from the metal foil to form a line layer.
However, Bahl discloses a semi-additive process for printed circuit boards that achieves vias of fine linewidth and resolution [Abstract], comprising:
performing a window etching operation on a metal foil on the substrate structure [Fig. 1A-1B];
performing a drilling operation on the basis of the surface of the window-etched metal foil away from the substrate structure, so as to form a connecting via hole penetrating the metal foil and the substrate structure [Fig. 1A-1B];
performing a metal electroplating operation on the basis of the surface of the drilled metal foil away from the substrate structure, so as to form a metal layer covering the metal foil and filling the connecting via hole [Fig. 1C-1E]; and
performing a graphics etching operation on the surface of the metal layer away from the metal foil to form a line layer [Fig. 1D-1G].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of forming a via and connecting line layer, of Wang, to include the method of forming a via and connecting line layer by utilizing a metal foil, of Bahl, in order to form a via with a finer linewidth and resolution, as taught by Bahl [Abstract].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: The additionally cited references are cited to show methods of forming capacitors and/or acoustic resonators in a stacked configuration with an inductor [Abstracts].
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER REMAVEGE/Examiner, Art Unit 1713
/BINH X TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713