DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-10, 12-15 are pending. Prior objections and rejections not included below are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s arguments and amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 10-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agilent (“Fast Determination of the Bitter and Clove-like Flavor in Beer with the Agilent 1290 Infinity II LC”, https://www.perlan.com.pl/uploaded/AppBundleEntityProductApplication/fileKey/123/5991-6665en.pdf, 2016) in view of Beer Sensory Science (https://beersensoryscience.wordpress.com/2011/02/04/esters/ , 2011) and Noba (TWI 609079B, reference is made to the provided machine translation)
Regarding Claims 1, 2, and 15, Agilent teaches that 4-vinylguaiacol is typically found at .05-0.25 ppm (50-250 ppb) in beers (Page 2, Paragraph 2). Agilent teaches that beer is made only with water, barley, and natural hops (i.e. lacking wheat) for certain markets (Page 2, Paragraph 1).
Agilent does not discuss the ethyl hexanoate content of beer.
Beer Sensory Science teaches that ethyl hexanoate is typically present in beer at 70-500 ppb (Page 3, last paragraph), which overlaps the claimed range.
Agilent additionally does not address the addition of γ-decalactone or ethyl 2-methylbutyrate. Note that “γ-decanolactone” is the same compound as γ -decalactone, or gamma-decalactone.
Noba teaches a beer-like beverage comprising γ -decalactone as an aroma component (Page 3, third to last paragraph). Noba teaches the inclusion of γ -decalactone at 0.24-30,000 ppb (Page 4, Paragraph 8) yields a beverage with the same aroma as beer (Page 1, Description, Paragraph 1).
Note that the level of ethyl hexanoate as taught by Beer Sensory Science (70-500 ppb) and γ-decalactone as taught by Noba (0.24-30,000 ppb) lies within the claimed ratio range of 1100:1 or less.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the compounds as claimed, and additionally in the ratios as claimed, in a beer-style beverage. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since modified Agilent teaches that the levels and ratios of such compounds are in typical ranges for a beer.
Regarding Claims 3 and 11, the combined amount of ethyl hexanoate as taught by Beer Sensory Science (70-500 ppb, Page 3, last paragraph) and γ-decalactone as taught Noba (0.24-30,000 ppb) is >70.24 ppb, and the amount of 4-vinylguaiacol as taught by Agilent (.05-0.25 ppm, or 50-250 ppb) in beers (Page 2, Paragraph 2), is a ratio of >0.28, which encompasses the claimed range.
Regarding Claim 6, Agilent teaches that the beer is made with yeast. Agilent therefore teaches that the beer is a fermented product (Page 2, Column 1, Paragraph 2).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agilent in view of Beer Sensory Science and Noba as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Saison (“Decrease of Aged Beer Aroma by the Reducing Activity of Brewing Yeast, DOI: 0.1021/jf9037387, 2010).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Agilent teaches a beer as discussed above in regards to Claim 1 but does not discuss ethyl 2-methylbutyrate content.
Saison teaches that a typical beer contains ethyl 2-methylbutyrate at 0.41-1.15 micrograms/L, which is 0.41-1.15 ppb (Page 3109, Table 1). Note that the amount of ethyl 2-methylbutyrate as taught by Saison (0.41-1.15 ppb) and the amount of γ -decalactone as taught by Noba (0.24-30,000 ppb) is a ratio of >0.59, which overlaps the claimed range.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agilent in view of Beer Sensory Science and Noba as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Thermo Fisher Scientific (“UV-Visible analysis of bitterness and total carbohydrates in beer”, https://assets.fishersci.com/TFS-Assets/MSD/Application-Notes/uv-visible-beer-analysis-bitterness-total-carbohydrates-AN52467.pdf, 2018).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Agilent teaches a beer as discussed above in regards to Claim 1 but does not discuss the bitterness content.
Thermo Fisher Scientific teaches that beers typically range from 0-100 bitterness units (Page 2, Column 2, “Bitterness”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to formulate a beverage with fewer than 60 bitterness units in a beer style beverage, as claimed. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since Thermo Fisher Scientific teaches that the range is typical for beers.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agilent in view of Beer Sensory Science and Noba in view of Beer & Brewing (https://www.beerandbrewing.com/dictionary/c9EBwhgZpA, 2012).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Agilent teaches a beer as discussed above in regards to Claim 1 but does not discuss the original extract.
Beer & Brewing teaches that a typical original extract for beer is 12%, which lies within the claimed range.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to utilize an original extract for beer at the levels claimed. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since Beer & Brewing teaches that such a level is typical for beer.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agilent in view of Beer Sensory Science and Noba as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nardini (“Phenolics Profile and Antioxidant Activity of Special Beers”, DOI: 10.3390/molecules25112466, May 2020).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Agilent teaches a beer as discussed above in regards to Claim 1 but does not discuss the total polyphenol content.
Nardini teaches that total polyphenol content in conventional beer ranges from 274-446 mg/L (Page 4, Table 3), which is 274-446 ppm, which overlaps the claimed range.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the beer of Agilent to have the total polyphenol content as claimed. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since Nardini teaches that the claimed polyphenol range is typical for beer.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agilent in view of Beer Sensory Science and Noba as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gorinstein (“Proteins and amino acids in beers, their contents and relationships with other analytical data”, DOI: 10.1016/S0308-8146(99)00071-0, October 1999).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Agilent teaches a beer as discussed above in regards to Claim 1 but does not discuss the proline concentration.
Gorinstein teaches that a standard beer has a proline concentration of 3.13-4.54 mg/L, which is 3.13-4.54 ppm, which overlaps the claimed range (Page 74, Table 1, Beers M & G).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the beer of Agilent to have the total proline content as claimed. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since Gorinstein teaches that the claimed proline content is typical for beer.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agilent in view of Beer Sensory Science and Noba as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Life Fermented ( “How to Build a Beer Recipe”, https://lifefermented.wordpress.com/2013/07/02/how-to-build-a-beer-recipe/, July 2013),
Regarding Claim 10, modified Agilent teaches a beer as discussed above in regards to Claim 1 but does not discuss the malt ratio.
Life Fermented teaches that a typical beer comprises about 20% of grains (or malt), and <1% yeast (Page 1, Figure). Life Fermented therefore teaches that a typical beer comprises greater than 95% malt ratio, which is the ratio of grains (or malt) to other ingredients, excluding hops and water as detailed in the Claim.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agilent in view of Beer Sensory Science and Noba as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Beer Connoisseur (https://web.archive.org/web/20150426045156/https://beerconnoisseur.com/articles/beer-101-fundamental-steps-brewing, reference is made to the provided archival version).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Agilent teaches a beer as discussed above in regards to Claim 1 but does not discuss specific steps for producing the beer.
Beer Connoisseur teaches that a typical beer is made by adding yeast to a mixture comprising malt, hops, and water (Page 4, “Fermentation”, note that Pages 1-3 detail preparation of wort which comprises malt, hops and water).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to add yeast to a mixture comprising malt, hops, and water to make beer. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since Beer Connoisseur teaches that beer is typically made utilizing such a step.
Regarding Claim 13, Beer Connoisseur teaches that a typical ale-style beer is made by adding yeast which rises to the top of the wort (Page 4, “Fermentation”), which is a top fermenting yeast.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a top fermenting yeast in the beer of Agilent. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since Beer Connoisseur teaches that such a yeast is typical for a common beer style.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agilent in view of Beer Sensory Science and Noba as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takoi (“Behaviour of hop-derived branched-chain fatty acids during fermentation and their sensory effect on hopped beer flavours”, Brewing Science, 72, November/December 2019).
Regarding Claims 14 and 15, Agilent teaches that 4-vinylguaiacol is typically found at .05-0.25 ppm (50-250 ppb) in beers (Page 2, Paragraph 2).
Agilent does not discuss the ethyl hexanoate content of beer.
Beer Sensory Science teaches that ethyl hexanoate is typically present in beer at 70-500 ppb (Page 3, last paragraph), which overlaps the claimed range.
Agilent additionally does not address the addition of γ-decalactone or ethyl 2-methylbutyrate. Note that “γ-decanolactone” is the same compound as γ -decalactone, or gamma-decalactone.
Noba teaches a beer-like beverage comprising γ -decalactone as an aroma component (Page 3, third to last paragraph). Noba teaches the inclusion of γ -decalactone at 0.24-30,000 ppb (Page 4, Paragraph 8), which overlaps the claimed range, yields a beverage with the same aroma as beer (Page 1, Description, Paragraph 1).
Agilent additionally does not address the amount of ethyl 2-methylbutyrate in the beer.
Takoi teaches that beer made with hops typically comprises 0.5-0.8 μg/L ethyl 2-methylbutyrate (Page 200, Table 1), which is 0.5-0.8 ppb, which lies within the claimed range. Note that Takoi teaches that the beer is made without wheat (Page 198, Paragraph 1).
Note that the amount of aroma component taught by Takoi and Noba is 0.74-30,000.8 ppb, and the amount of ethyl hexanoate taught by Beer Sensory Science is 70-500 ppb (Page 3, last paragraph). The ratio of ethanol hexanoate to aroma compound is therefore .002-675.7, which overlaps the claimed range.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, and 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/D.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791