DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II, Figures 2 and 4-6 in the reply filed on 11/17/2025 is acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's response filed 03/17/2026 has been fully considered.
Applicant’s amendments and the accompanying arguments with respect to claims 3, 6, 11, and 12 overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112. Therefore ,the rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 10, and 13 overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, Applicant’s arguments with respect to the combination of Cha and Yang are not persuasive. Applicant argued Cha alone or in view of Yang does not teach or render obvious the adapter line covers at least a sidewall of the second through hole because electrode 133 of Cha only covers a part of the sidewall of the through hole.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the adapter line covering the entire sidewall) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The broadest reasonable interpretation of the invention as claimed encompasses the adapter line partially covering the sidewall of the through hole formed through layer 110 of Cha as layer 133 of Cha does.
Even assuming for the sake of argument, the adapter line is required to cover the entire sidewall of the second through hole, this is taught by the conductive layer 1635 of Yang, Figure 2C.
Applicant argued Cha alone or in view of Yang does not teach or render obvious the through hole wall is at least provided with a stepped portion because modification of Cha in view of Yang would increase the width of the non-display area, contrary to the aim of Cha, and Yang provides the stepped structure for a different purpose than Applicant.
However, changing the shape of the through hole, such as to add the step of Yang, is not dependent on changing the overall size of the through hole. One may add a step by, for example, decreasing a width of the through hole below the insulation layer of Cha as opposed to increasing a width of the through hole at the insulation layer.
In addition, included in displays with a decreased width of the non-display area of Cha, is the embodiment of Figure 5, where an entire second opening is added at OP2, compared to the embodiment of Figure 3, which was relied upon. Cha thereby discloses openings of greater width in the non-display area that still achieve a display with a decreased width of the non-display area. Even if, for the sake of argument, modification of Cha in view of Yang required increasing the width of the through hole, increased width per se does not preclude the modification or render Cha unsuitable for its intended purpose.
In response to applicant's argument that Yang provides the stepped structure for a different purpose than Applicant, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). In this case, Yang independently provides a teaching and motivation for providing the stepped portion in order to improve bending characteristics of the display, end of paragraph 39.
For at least these reasons, the combination of references is still proper and renders the invention as claimed obvious. The rejection is therefore maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 10-14, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha et al. (US 2020/0083311) in view of Yang (US 2019/0259967).
In reference to claim 1, Cha et al. (US 2020/0083311), hereafter “Cha,” discloses a display panel, comprising:
a first flexible layer, 101 in Figure 3;
a second flexible layer 103, provided on a side of the first flexible layer, paragraphs 62 and 64;
a signal line 301a, provided between the first flexible layer and the second flexible layer, wherein the second flexible layer is provided with a first through hole OP1, and the first through hole exposes a surface of the signal line away from the first flexible layer, paragraph 87;
an inorganic layer 110, covering a surface of the second flexible layer away from the first flexible layer and a sidewall of the first through hole, wherein the inorganic layer is provided with a second through hole OP2, an orthographic projection of the second through hole on the first flexible layer is located within an orthographic projection of the first through hole on the first flexible layer, and the second through hole exposes the surface of the signal line away from the first flexible layer, paragraphs 66 and 87; and
a first conductive layer 133, comprising an adapter line, wherein the adapter line covers at least a sidewall of the second through hole and the surface of the signal line exposed by the second through hole, paragraph 82.
an insulation layer, 111 in Figure 3, provided on a side of the inorganic layer away from the first flexible layer, wherein the insulation layer is provided with a third through hole, and the third through hole communicates with the second through hole;
wherein, an orthographic projection of the second through hole on the first flexible layer is located within an orthographic projection of the third through hole on the first flexible layer;
the second through hole is provided with a second hole wall, the third through hole is provided with a third hole wall, the second hole wall and the third hole wall are connected to each other to form a through hole wall.
Cha does not disclose the through hole wall is at least provided with a stepped portion.
Yang (US 2019/0259967), hereafter “Yang,” discloses a display device including teaching a second through hole, through 13 in Figure 2B, is provided with a second hole wall, a third through hole, through 142, is provided with a third hole wall, the second hole wall and the third hole wall are connected to each other to form a through hole wall, and the through hole wall is at least provided with a stepped portion, paragraphs 38 and 39.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the second hole wall and the third hole wall to be connected to each other to form a through hole wall and the through hole wall to be at least provided with a stepped portion. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the bending characteristics of the conductive layer, end of paragraph 39.
In reference to claim 3, Yang discloses a first distance parallel to a surface of the first flexible layer is provided between an end of the second hole wall, through 13 in Figure 2B, away from the first flexible layer and an end of the third hole wall, through 142, close to the flexible layer, and the first distance is greater than 0; and
Cha discloses the adapter line 133 covers at least part of a surface of the insulation layer 111 away from the first flexible layer, and at least covers the second hole wall and the third hole wall.
In reference to claim 5, Cha discloses the insulation layer comprises a first gate insulation layer, 111 in Figure 3, and a second gate insulation layer 112 provided in sequence along a direction away from the first flexible layer, and the third through hole is provided in the first gate insulation layer and the second gate insulation layer; and the adapter line 133 covers at least part of a surface of the second gate insulation layer away from the first flexible layer.
Cha does not disclose the first conductive layer comprises a second plate of a capacitor.
Yang teaches a first conductive layer, first source and drain metal layer in Figure 2C, comprises a second plate 1633 of a capacitor, paragraphs 40 and 41. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display of Cha to form the first conductive layer in the intermediate metal layer of capacitor electrode 142 of Cha, as suggested by Yang. To do so would have merely been a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, (2007), MPEP 2143 I. B. In this case substituting one conductive path for another.
In reference to claim 6, Cha discloses the third through hole comprises a first through sub-hole and a second through sub-hole;
the first through sub-hole is provided in the first gate insulation layer 111, and the second through sub-hole is provided in the second gate insulation layer 112;
an orthographic projection of the first through sub-hole on the first flexible layer is located within an orthographic projection of the second through sub-hole on the first flexible layer; and
the first through sub-hole is provided with a first sub-hole wall, the second through sub-hole is provided with a second sub-hole wall, a second distance parallel to the direction of the first flexible layer is provided between an end of the first sub-hole wall away from the first flexible layer and an end of the second sub-hole wall close to the first flexible layer, and the second distance is greater than or equal to zero, (zero in Figure 3 and 4C).
In reference to claim 7, Cha discloses an active layer, 201 in Figure 3, provided between the inorganic layer 110 and the insulation layer 111, and wherein, the signal line is configured to provide a power supply voltage to a pixel circuit, paragraph 85.
Cha does not disclose an interlayer dielectric layer provided on a side of the first conductive layer away from the first flexible layer; and
a third conductive layer, provided on a side of the interlayer dielectric layer away from the first flexible layer, wherein the third conductive layer comprises a source and a drain of a transistor, the source and the drain are connected to the active layer, and the third conductive layer is connected to the adapter line.
Yang teaches an interlayer dielectric layer, 17 in Figure 3, provided on a side of the first conductive layer 1635 away from the first layer 12, paragraph 42; and
a third conductive layer, provided on a side of the interlayer dielectric layer away from the first flexible layer, wherein the third conductive layer comprises a source and a drain 1731 of a transistor, the source and the drain are connected to the active layer 1412, and the third conductive layer is connected to the adapter line, at 1733; paragraphs 46 and 47.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display of Cha to form the first conductive layer in the intermediate metal layer of capacitor electrode 142 of Cha, as suggested by Yang, and provide an interlayer dielectric layer on a side of the first conductive layer away from the first flexible layer; and
a third conductive layer, on a side of the interlayer dielectric layer away from the first flexible layer, wherein the third conductive layer comprises a source and a drain of a transistor, the source and the drain are connected to the active layer, and the third conductive layer is connected to the adapter line.
One would have been motivated to do so in order to fill the hole with an organic material to improve the bending characteristics of the display, paragraph 42.
In reference to claim 10, Cha disclose a method for manufacturing a display panel, comprising:
forming a first flexible layer 101, paragraphs 62 and 64;
forming a signal line 301a on a side of the first flexible layer, paragraph 87;
forming a second flexible layer 103 on a side of the signal line away from the first flexible layer;
forming a first through hole OP1 in the second flexible layer, wherein the first through hole exposes a surface of the signal line away from the first flexible layer, paragraphs 98 and 99;
forming an inorganic layer 110 on a side of the second flexible layer away from the first flexible layer, wherein the inorganic layer covers a surface of the second flexible layer away from the first flexible layer and a sidewall of the first through hole, paragraphs 102; and
forming a first conductive layer 133, wherein the first conductive layer comprises an adapter line, paragraphs 82 and 111;
wherein, a second through hole OP2 is formed in the inorganic layer, an orthographic projection of the second through hole on the first flexible layer is located with an orthographic projection of the first through hole on the first flexible layer, and the second through hole exposes the surface of the signal line away from the first flexible layer, paragraph 105; and
the adapter line covers at least a sidewall of the second through hole and the surface of the signal line exposed by the second through hole,
forming an insulation layer, 111 in Figure 3, on a side of the inorganic layer away from the first flexible layer:
wherein, a third through hole is formed in the insulation layer, the insulation layer covers at least part of a surface of the inorganic layer, and the third through hole communicates with the second through hole;
an orthographic projection of the second through hole on the first flexible layer is located within an orthographic projection of the third through hole on the first flexible layer; and
the second through hole is provided with a second hole wall, the third through hole is provided with a third hole wall, the second hole wall and the third hole wall are connected to each other to form a through hole wall.
Cha does not disclose the through hole wall is at least provided with a stepped portion.
Yang discloses a display device including teaching a second through hole, through 13 in Figure 2B, is provided with a second hole wall, a third through hole, through 142, is provided with a third hole wall, the second hole wall and the third hole wall are connected to each other to form a through hole wall, and the through hole wall is at least provided with a stepped portion, paragraphs 38 and 39.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the second hole wall and the third hole wall to be connected to each other to form a through hole wall and the through hole wall to be at least provided with a stepped portion. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the bending characteristics of the conductive layer, end of paragraph 39.
In reference to claim 11, Yang discloses a first distance parallel to a surface of the first flexible layer is provided between an end of the second hole wall, through 13 in Figure 2B, away from the first flexible layer and an end of the third hole wall, through 142, close to the flexible layer, and the first distance is greater than 0; and
Cha discloses the adapter line 133 covers at least part of a surface of the insulation layer 111 away from the first flexible layer, and at least covers the second hole wall and the third hole wall.
In reference to claim 12, Cha discloses the forming the insulation layer on the side of the inorganic layer away from the first flexible layer comprises:
forming a first gate insulation layer 111 on a side of the inorganic layer away from the first flexible layer, wherein the first gate insulation layer covers at least part of a surface of the inorganic layer away from the first flexible layer; and
forming a second gate insulation layer 112 on a side of the first gate insulation layer away from the first flexible layer, wherein the second gate insulation layer covers at least a part of a surface of the first gate insulation layer away from the first flexible layer;
wherein, a first through sub-hole is formed in the first gate insulation layer, a second through sub-hole is formed in the second gate insulation layer, and the first through sub-hole and the second through sub-hole form the third through hole;
an orthographic projection of the second through hole on the first flexible layer is located within an orthographic projection of the first through sub-hole on the first flexible layer, and an orthographic projection of the first through sub-hole on the first flexible layer is located within an orthographic projection of the second through sub-hole on the first flexible layer; and
the first through sub-hole is provided with a first sub-hole wall, the second through sub-hole is provided with a second sub-hole wall, a second distance parallel to the surface of the first flexible layer is provided between an end of the first sub-hole wall away from the first flexible layer and an end of the second sub-hole wall close to the first flexible layer, and the second distance is greater than or equal to zero (zero in Figure 3 and 4C).
In reference to claim 13, Cha discloses a display device, comprising a display panel, comprising:
a first flexible layer 101 in Figure 3;
a second flexible layer 103, provided on a side of the first flexible layer, paragraphs 62 and 64;
a signal line 301a, provided between the first flexible layer and the second flexible layer, wherein the second flexible layer is provided with a first through hole OP1, and the first through hole exposes a surface of the signal line away from the first flexible layer, paragraph 87;
an inorganic layer 110, covering a surface of the second flexible layer away from the first flexible layer and a sidewall of the first through hole, wherein the inorganic layer is provided with a second through hole OP2, an orthographic projection of the second through hole on the first flexible layer is located within an orthographic projection of the first through hole on the first flexible layer, and the second through hole exposes the surface of the signal line away from the first flexible layer, paragraphs 66 and 87; and
a first conductive layer 133, comprising an adapter line, wherein the adapter line covers at least a sidewall of the second through hole and the surface of the signal line exposed by the second through hole, paragraph 82,
an insulation layer, 111 in Figure 3, provided on a side of the inorganic layer away from the first flexible layer, wherein the insulation layer is provided with a third through hole, and the third through hole communicates with the second through hole;
wherein, an orthographic projection of the second through hole on the first flexible layer is located within an orthographic projection of the third through hole on the first flexible layer;
the second through hole is provided with a second hole wall, the third through hole is provided with a third hole wall, the second hole wall and the third hole wall are connected to each other to form a through hole wall.
Cha does not disclose the through hole wall is at least provided with a stepped portion.
Yang discloses a display device including teaching a second through hole, through 13 in Figure 2B, is provided with a second hole wall, a third through hole, through 142, is provided with a third hole wall, the second hole wall and the third hole wall are connected to each other to form a through hole wall, and the through hole wall is at least provided with a stepped portion, paragraphs 38 and 39.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the second hole wall and the third hole wall to be connected to each other to form a through hole wall and the through hole wall to be at least provided with a stepped portion. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the bending characteristics of the conductive layer, end of paragraph 39.
In reference to claim 14, Cha discloses a buffer layer, 102 in Figure 3, provided between the first flexible layer 101 and the second flexible layer 103: wherein, the signal line 301a is provided on a side of the buffer layer away from the first flexible layer, paragraphs 65 and 86.
In reference to claim 18, Yang discloses the third hole wall (through 142 in Figure 2B), a surface of the inorganic layer 13 away from the first layer 12 and the second hole wall (through 13) are connected to form at least one stepped portion, paragraphs 38 and 39.
In reference to claim 19, Cha teaches in the condition that the second distance is equal to 0, the first sub-hole wall and the second sub-hole wall are connected to form a smooth sidewall, Figure 3 and 4C.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha et al. (US 2020/0083311) in view of Yang (US 2019/0259967) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Jo et al. (US 2022/0285428).
In reference to claim 8, Cha does not disclose a buffer layer, provided between the first flexible layer and the second flexible layer; wherein, the signal line is provided on a side of the buffer layer close to the first flexible layer.
Jo et al. (US 2022/0285428) discloses a display device including teaching a buffer layer, BIL2 in Figure 3, provided between the first flexible layer SUB1 and the second flexible layer SUB2; wherein, the signal line PD1 is provided on a side of the buffer layer close to the first flexible layer, paragraph 67. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for a buffer layer to be provided between the first flexible layer and the second flexible layer; wherein, the signal line is provided on a side of the buffer layer close to the first flexible layer. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a barrier to air and moisture, id.
Claims 9, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha et al. (US 2020/0083311) in view of Yang (US 2019/0259967) as applied to claim 6 above and further in view of Song et al. (WO 2020/238437 A1).
In reference to claim 9, Cha in view of Yang does not disclose the first distance is not less than 3 µm.
Song et al. (WO 2020/238437), for which (US 2021/0272485) is relied upon as an English language equivalent and cited herein, hereafter “Song,” discloses a display device including teaching a step with a width, d in Figure 4, wherein the width d is 15 µm, paragraph 72. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the first distance to be not less than 3 µm. To do so would have merely been to apply a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143 I. C. In this case, to provide a step of sufficient width to prevent a conductor from breaking when bending, paragraph 52.
In reference to claim 15, Cha in view of Yang does not disclose the second distance is not less than 3 µm.
Song discloses a display device including teaching a step with a width, d in Figure 4, wherein the width d is 15 µm, paragraph 72. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the second distance to be not less than 3 µm. To do so would have merely been to apply a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143 I. C. In this case, to provide a step of sufficient width to prevent a conductor from breaking when bending, paragraph 52.
In reference to claim 16, Cha in view of Yang does not disclose the first distance is not less than 3 µm and the second distance is not less than 3 µm.
Song discloses a display device including teaching a step with a width, d in Figure 4, wherein the width d is 15 µm, paragraph 72. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the first distance to be not less than 3 µm and the second distance to be not less than 3 µm. To do so would have merely been to apply a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143 I. C. In this case, to provide a step of sufficient width to prevent a conductor from breaking when bending, paragraph 52.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha et al. (US 2020/0083311) in view of Yang (US 2019/0259967) as applied to claim 6 above and further in view of Bai (US 2023/0180539).
In reference to claim 20, Cha in view of Yang does not disclose in the condition that the second distance is greater than 0, the first sub-hole wall, a surface of the first gate insulation layer away from the first flexible layer and the second sub-hole wall are connected to form at least one stepped portion.
Bai (US 2023/0180539) discloses a display device including teaching in the condition that the second distance is greater than 0, the first sub-hole wall (through 13), a surface of the first gate insulation layer 13 away from the first flexible layer and the second sub-hole wall (through 14) are connected to form at least one stepped portion, paragraphs 96 and 107.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for, in the condition that the second distance is greater than 0, the first sub-hole wall, a surface of the first gate insulation layer away from the first flexible layer and the second sub-hole wall are connected to form at least one stepped portion.
To do so would have merely been a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, (2007), MPEP 2143 I. B. In this case, substituting a stepped portion at one level in the device for another a stepped portion at another level, as suggested by Bai Figures 4 and 5 and paragraph 111.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Seo et al. (US 2017/0104046), Cao et al. (US 2024/0032352), Kim et al. (US 2018/0005568), and Liu (CN 112885847 A), disclose related structures.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRYAN R JUNGE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897