Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a)(1) as being obvious in view of Yutaka et al. (JP2008-239860) as evidenced by E1 (“Poly(ethylene glycol) diacrylate”, Chemical Book, 2025, p.1) and E2(“Polyethylene glycol monomethyl ether, M.W. 4000”, Avantor, 2025, p.1).
Regarding claims 1-2, 4, 6, 8-9 and 17-19, Yutaka teaches that it is known to combine propylene glycol diacrylate with triethylene glycol monomethyl ether (see Heat Storage section) to form a cured heat storage medium (see abstract). Yutaka is silent as to the molecular weight of the PPGDA used. However, Yutaka seemingly implies that the reasons for choosing a given molecular weight for his compound revolves around the freezing point of the material, wherein Yutaka generally teaches freezing points between -15C to approximately 46C (i.e., the melting point of PEG20K) as suitable for his intended use. Reasonably one reading the teachings of Yutaka would also infer that molecular weight ranges for PPGDA that are suitable would be those in the range provided. A melting point/freezing point of PPGDA could not be obtained. However, E1 shows that the melting point of PEGDA(1K) would be expected to be 35-37C. Further, PPGDA and PEGDA are chemically similar with both molecules being end capped with acrylate functional groups and the interior chains consisting of C-C and C-O linkages. The structural difference between the two it the addition of a methyl side group to the monomer chain in the interior body of PPGDA that is not present in PEGDA wherein this largely unreactive side group would not be expected to change the melting temperature of PPGDA substantially both and would be expected to have similar properties for a given molecular weight such that they would be expected to have similar melting points. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose a molecular weight of PPGDA that would yield a suitable freezing point as shown to be desirable by Yutaka wherein as shown above one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that a molecular weight of PPGDA being 1K or more to read on the range of Yutaka’s suitable freezing points. However, Yutaka generally teaches freezing points between -15C to approximately 46C (i.e., the melting point of PEG20K) as suitable for his intended use relating to the compounds cited in this same paragraph wherein Yutaka clearly shows that the molecular weights of these compounds provided may also be varied and still meet his requirements. Discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art. In re Boesch, CCPA 1980, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ215. Further Yutaka fails to teach the percentages of the current claims. However, it should be noted that the components of claim 1 (i.e., the components of formulas 1 and 2) are listed as compositions useable to for the same component in Yutaka and useable in combination. Claim 1 reads upon using half of one component and half of the other, likely the most obvious combination possible. However, because the components are listed as capable of being used as replacements for one another, reasonably any percentage combination of the components would be considered obvious in view of Yutaka except wherein a new and unexpected result is shown as arising from the particular percentage claimed by the applicant. MPEP 2144.05 clearly states, “The law is replete with cases in which the difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is some range or other variable within the claims. . . . In such a situation, the applicant must show that the particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range.” In reWoodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Further as shown above, it is recognized that changes in the molecular weight of the components and components themselves would change the freezing point of the composition as a whole. Logically likewise, changes in the percentages of components would also reasonably have a similar effect of altering the freezing point of the composition. Therefore, in the absence of criticality of the specific component percentages of the current claims, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize both the components themselves as well as their relatives percentages in order to control the freezing point of the composition formed.
Regarding claim 3 the teachings of Yutaka are as shown above. Further as similarly shown in the rejection of claim 1 above, Yutaka teaches a list of glycols that may be used in his invention wherein one included is triethylene glycol monomethyl ether. TEGMME has a fixed molecular weight that does not read upon the claimed molecular weight range. It is noted that TEGMME is a low molecular weight polyethylene glycol monomethyl ether, wherein using the same guidance previously provided by Yutaka one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered it reasonable to choose higher molecular weight polyethylene glycol monomethyl ethers just as high molecular weight polyethylene glycols were chosen according to their freezing points. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the molecular weight of the polyethylene glycol monomethyl ether of Yutaka in order to control the freezing points of the compound chosen. Discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art. In re Boesch, CCPA 1980, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ215. Further, as provided, E2 shows that for example PEG monomethyl ether (4K) has a melting point within the range described by Yutaka thereby further evidencing that those choosing higher molecular weight PEG monomethyl ethers as part of an optimization would have the ability to choose compounds that do read upon the claimed molecular weight range while also providing the desired melting point requirements of Yutaka.
Regarding claim 5, the PPGDA of Yutaka already reads upon the claimed composition wherein it is not claimed that the composition of formula 3 is necessarily different than the composition of any other formula.
Regarding claims 7 and 13, Yutaka teaches multiple products in which the medium may be used including air conditioners (see description).
Regarding claims 10-16, Yutaka teaches that it is known to combine propylene glycol diacrylate with triethylene glycol monomethyl ether (see Heat Storage section) to form a cured heat storage medium (see abstract). Yutaka is silent as to the molecular weight of the PPGDA used. However, Yutaka seemingly implies that the reasons for choosing a given molecular weight for his compound revolves around the freezing point of the material, wherein Yutaka generally teaches freezing points between -15C to approximately 46C (i.e., the melting point of PEG20K) as suitable for his intended use. Reasonably one reading the teachings of Yutaka would also infer that molecular weight ranges for PPGDA that are suitable would be those in the range provided. A melting point/freezing point of PPGDA could not be obtained. However, E1 shows that the melting point of PEGDA(1K) would be expected to be 35-37C. Further, PPGDA and PEGDA are chemically similar with both molecules being end capped with acrylate functional groups and the interior chains consisting of C-C and C-O linkages. The structural difference between the two it the addition of a methyl side group to the monomer chain in the interior body of PPGDA that is not present in PEGDA wherein this largely unreactive side group would not be expected to change the melting temperature of PPGDA substantially both and would be expected to have similar properties for a given molecular weight such that they would be expected to have similar melting points. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose a molecular weight of PPGDA that would yield a suitable freezing point as shown to be desirable by Yutaka wherein as shown above one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that a molecular weight of PPGDA being 1K or more to read on the range of Yutaka’s suitable freezing points. However, Yutaka generally teaches freezing points between -15C to approximately 46C (i.e., the melting point of PEG20K) as suitable for his intended use relating to the compounds cited in this same paragraph wherein Yutaka clearly shows that the molecular weights of these compounds provided may also be varied and still meet his requirements. Discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art. In re Boesch, CCPA 1980, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ215. Further Yutaka fails to teach the percentages of the current claims. However, it should be noted that the components of claim 1 (i.e., the components of formulas 1 and 2) are listed as compositions useable to for the same component in Yutaka and useable in combination. Claim 10 reads upon using half of one component and half of the other, likely the most obvious combination possible. However, because the components are listed as capable of being used as replacements for one another, reasonably any percentage combination of the components would be considered obvious in view of Yutaka except wherein a new and unexpected result is shown as arising from the particular percentage claimed by the applicant. MPEP 2144.05 clearly states, “The law is replete with cases in which the difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is some range or other variable within the claims. . . . In such a situation, the applicant must show that the particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range.” In reWoodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Further as shown above, it is recognized that changes in the molecular weight of the components and components themselves would change the freezing point of the composition as a whole. Logically likewise, changes in the percentages of components would also reasonably have a similar effect of altering the freezing point of the composition. Therefore, in the absence of criticality of the specific component percentages of the current claims, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize both the components themselves as well as their relatives percentages in order to control the freezing point of the composition formed.
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues that that Yutaka teaches mere teaches combinations of the materials claimed but fails to explicitly teaches the exact combination claimed. However, it is not necessary that the prior art teach the exact combination claimed unless the applicant can show unexpected results arising from the particular combination. The prior art sufficiently teaches the combination claimed wherein it is noted that the cited section also explicitly states a “combination of two” chosen from a group of eight. This is not an unlimited or undefined laundry list and is considered by the examiner to be a relatively concise list. Further although Yutaka teaches that PEG is preferred, neither the prior art or the current application are limited merely to cited preferred embodiments. The examiner must reasonably acknowledge the teachings of the prior art as a whole.
Further the applicant argues that one would expect that any combination of Yutaka would include a high percentage of polyethylene glycol. However, this statement unreasonably limits the teachings of Yutaka. Yutaka does not require the presence of PEG at all. It might be reasonable to state that Yutaka’s most preferred embodiment might include PEG but cannot be stated that all covered embodiments of Yutaka would be expected to even contain PEG.
The examiner acknowledges that the statement of Yutaka teaches a range of -15C to 66C is inaccurately stated and rather Yutaka teaches -15C to 46C. However, the range shown by the prior art for PEGDA(1K) is 35-37C which is within the corrected range and as such the nature of the rejection is unaffected. As relates to the newly provided claim limitations stating that the molecular weight be 2000 or more those claims amendments are addressed in the current action but were also reasonably covered in the rejection of claim 2 which covers a more and entirely encompassed range.
Further the applicant argues unexpected results arising from the range of greater than 2000 molecular weight claimed. However, the results as shown seemingly acknowledge what is an optimized result arising from an increase in the molecular weight of the component of formula 1 that is employed. It would seem that as the molecular weight increases so does the weight change rate and the heat storage amount. However, there is nothing shown by the current arguments or the current specification that would support the concept that a new and unexpected results arises at the molecular weight level of 2000 that does not happen below that level other than a predictable increase caused by an optimization of the molecular weight. As previously provided, “The law is replete with cases in which the difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is some range or other variable within the claims. . . . In such a situation, the applicant must show that the particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range.” In reWoodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Further the Linfield provides some detail as to what an examiner may look for as relates to a critical outcomes. In re Lilienfeld, 67 F.2d 920, 924 (CCPA 1933) (“It is well established that, while a change in the proportions of a combination shown to be old, such as is here involved, may be inventive, such changes must be critical as compared with the proportions used in the prior processes, producing a difference in kind rather than degree.”). An increase in heat storage amount or weight change rate are not differences “in kind” but rather are explicitly examples of differences of degree. As such the current action nor any previous action has reasonably established the criticality of the range claimed above that understood to be taught by Yutaka as evidenced herein.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW J BOWMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1717
/Dah-Wei D. Yuan/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1717