DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In claims 1 and 19, the newly added limitations “the first gas being noncorrosive to metals” and “the oxidizing gas being noncorrosive to metals” contain new matter not described in the specification. The specification describes the background art, Patent Documents 1-3, where chlorine gas, hydrogen fluoride gas, boron-containing gas, or formic acid vapor damage metal-atom-containing film, corrode stainless-steel material, or have a strong metal corrosion property (paragraphs [0005]-[0007]). However, the specification fails to describe that the first gas and the oxidizing gas, as in the context of claims 1 and 19, are noncorrosive to metals.
Claims 2, 4-6, and 8-18 also include the new matter of the base claim and are therefore also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al (WO 2020/150043 A1), or Zhang et al (US 2022/0084838).
For purposes of the rejection, reference is made to US 2022/0084838, the U.S. national filing of the international application.
Zhang discloses a method of atomic layer etching a metal oxide film [0070] in a laminate including a substrate (Fig. 19A), the method comprising:
a first step of introducing, into a treatment atmosphere (the interior of plasma chamber 108, [0051], Fig. 1) storing the laminate (on substrate support 110, Fig. 1) a first gas consisting of at least one gaseous oxidizable compound of an alcohol compound (ethanol, or tert-butyl alcohol [0072]), the first gas being non-corrosive to metals (the alcohol compound is the same composition as in the instant method, and therefore the same results of non-corrosivity is expected);
a second step of introducing an oxidizing gas consisting of oxygen (or ozone, water vapor, hydrogen peroxide) [0071] into the treatment atmosphere after the first step (the steps are cyclically repeated [0075], which includes, broadly interpreted the cited order),
wherein the alcohol compound is ethanol or tert-butyl alcohol [0072].
Further as to Zhang, applicant argues that chlorine is required. However, paragraphs [0071] and [0072] use the word “or” so that a combination that includes chlorine is not required by Zhang. In other words, chlorine is an optional component in the method of Zhang.
Further, it is noted that the treatment atmosphere is not limited to the first gas in the first step because other gases may be present. For example, a second gas may be present in the treatment atmosphere. However, Zhang does not require a second gas because paragraph [0072] uses the word “or” when describing the gases in the treatment atmosphere.
As to claim 2, Zhang discloses a treatment atmosphere temperature of 200 °C [0091], which is within the cited range.
As to claim 4, Zhang discloses that the metal oxide includes a metal such as aluminum, zirconium, or hafnium [0073].
As to claim 5, Zhang disclose an alcohol compound such as ethanol [0072], which has 2 carbon atoms or tert-butyl alcohol [0072], which has 4 carbon atoms, which are within the cited range.
As to claim 6, Zhang discloses that the gaseous oxidizable compound is ethanol, which is free of any fluorine atom, and the oxidizing gas is oxygen [0071], which is free of any fluorine atom.
As to claims 9 and 15, Zhang discloses ethanol, or tert-butyl alcohol [0072].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 10-14, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (WO 2020/150043 A1), or Zhang et al (US 2022/0084838).
As to claims 8, 10-14, 16-18, Zhang discloses to include ethanol, or tert-butyl alcohol [0072], but fails to explicitly disclose other alcohols with different amounts of carbon atoms or the arrangement, as cited in claims 8, 10-14, 16-18. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the other alcohols as cited in the method of Zhang because of their close structural similarity to ethanol or tert-butyl alcohol and the expectation that they would perform the same function as other alcohols taught by Zhang. MPEP 2144.09.
As to claim 19, see the rejection of claim 1. Further, Zhang discloses that an inert gas may be introduced [0055]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an inert gas as cited because Zhang already discloses to include them and including inert gases helps to control the plasma process.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed January 22, 2026, with respect to the claim rejections over Yamauchi have been fully considered and are persuasive.
The prior art rejection under 35 USC 102(a)(1), (a)(2) over Yamauchi et al (US 2022/0415667) is withdrawn. Applicant’s point is persuasive that Yamauchi ’667 teaches that it is essential to use an etching gas C containing β-diketone, which is highly corrosive to metals.
The prior art rejection under 35 USC 102(a)(1), (a)(2) over Yamauchi et al (US 2020/0066541) is withdrawn. Applicant’s point is persuasive that Yamauchi ’541 teaches that it is essential to use an etching gas containing a β-diketone, which is highly corrosive to metals.
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al (WO 2020/150043 A1) or Zhang et al (US 2022/0084838).
Claims 8, 10-14, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (WO 2020/150043 A1) or Zhang et al (US 2022/0084838).
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) because the amendment introduces new matter into the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 22, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, to the extent they still apply. Applicant argues that Zhang teaches that it is essential to use chlorine, which is highly corrosive to metals. In response, Zhang teaches chlorine is one example of an etching gas, but not required, because of the use of the word “or”. Paragraphs [0071] and [0072] use the word “or” so that a combination that includes chlorine is not required by Zhang. In other words, chlorine is an optional component in the method of Zhang.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANITA K ALANKO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713