DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the first distinguishing feature, “a material of the first material layer is the same as a material of the spacing portions, a material of the second material layer is the same as a material of the second portion " The examiner still believes Hu shows this in Fig. 5 and clarifies the rejection using Hu below.
The applicant argues, “The applicant respectfully disagrees and submits that the above portions are not equivalent to the "first portion" and "second portion" respectively in the present application”
The examiner appreciates the applicant providing their interpretation of the first portion and second portion annotated on Hu’s Fig. 5. However, using broadest reasonable interpretation, the portions are still present in the prior art and there are no arguments provided that helps the examiner understand the significance of these portions. If the applicant can submit corrected drawings that clearly shows the first and second portion in the applicants figures and provide any significant advantage of these distinguished portions the examiner is always open-minded to changing her position.
Regarding the second distinguishing feature, “a material of the first portions is the same as a material of the second portion" The examiners wants to further clarify their interpretation is that the material of the first portions includes (41) in Hu Fig. 5 and is the same as a material of the second portion (41) and therefore reads redundant.
Regarding the applicant’s argument, “Since the material of the first material layer includes materials of layers 31 and 32, and FIG. 2 of Hu clearly shows that the material of the spacing portion merely includes layer 21, apparently the material of the first material layer is not the same as the material of the spacing portion. Further, as the material of the second material layer includes material of layer 41 (deemed by the examiner), and the above figure clearly shows that the material of the second portion includes materials of layer 41 as well as layer 32, apparently the material of the second material layer is not the same as the material of the second portion. Evidently, the material of the first portions (21+31+41) is not the same as the material of the second portion (32+41) either. “
If the examiner uses the applicant’s version of the annotated Fig. 5, then the examiners new interpretation annotated below appears to still read on the limitation in question. Therefore, the rejection using Hu Fig. 5 still holds. The examiner invites the applicant’s attorney to an interview to discuss any miscommunication regarding interpretation.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “first portion” and “second portion” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishima (US 20180254303 A1) in view of Cui (US 20220223668 A1) and Hu (CN 113193024 A).
Regarding claim 1, Mishima discloses a display substrate (10), comprising a display area (where the pixels (11) are disposed) and a non-display area (outer peripheral of the pixels (11)) located at a periphery of the display area, wherein the display area (where the pixels (11) are disposed) comprises a drive structure layer (inside 14 per [0044]), a light emitting structure layer (12) and an encapsulation structure layer (17) which are sequentially stacked on a base substrate (14); (Fig. 4) the light emitting structure layer (12) comprises a first electrode layer (21), a pixel definition layer (13/15), a light emitting functional layer (24) and a second electrode layer (27); (Fig. 4)
the first electrode layer (21) comprises a plurality of first electrodes (21) disposed at a side of the drive structure layer (inside 14 per [0044]) away from the base substrate (14); ([0046], Fig. 4)
the pixel definition layer (13/15) comprises a plurality of blocking portions (13) extending along a second direction (vertical direction annotated below), the plurality of blocking portions (13) are arranged at intervals in a first direction (horizontal direction annotated below), the pixel definition layer (13/15) further comprises a plurality of groups of spacing portions (annotated below), each group of the spacing portions (15) comprises a plurality of spacing portions (15) arranged at intervals along the first direction (horizontal), each of the spacing portions (15) is located between two adjacent blocking portions (13), the plurality of groups of spacing portions (15) are arranged at intervals in the second direction (vertical), wherein the first direction (horizontal) intersects with the second direction (vertical), the plurality of blocking portions (13) and the plurality of groups of spacing portions (15) form a plurality of pixel openings (16) that expose surfaces of the first electrodes (21) away from the base substrate (14) respectively; (Fig. 3 and 9A)
and the light emitting functional layer (24) is disposed on the surfaces of the first electrodes (21) away from the base substrate (14), and the second electrode layer (27) is disposed at a side of the pixel definition layer (13/15) and the light emitting functional layer (24) away from the base substrate (14); (Fig. 4) a first electrode (21), the light emitting functional layer (24) and the second electrode layer (27) are sequentially stacked to form a light emitting device (10). (Fig. 4)
Mishima does not disclose:
a portion of a blocking portion located between two adjacent spacing portions in the first direction is a first portion, and a portion of the blocking portion located between two adjacent first portions in the second direction is a second portion; in the display area, the first portion comprises a first material layer and a second material layer that are sequentially stacked along a direction away from the base substrate, a material of the first material layer is the same as a material of the spacing portions, a material of the second material layer is the same as a material of the second portion, a thickness of a portion of the second material layer in the first portion that is not overlapped with the first electrodes is H1, and a thickness of a portion of the second portion that is not overlapped with the first electrodes is H2, where H1=H2; or, in the display area, a material of the first portions is the same as a material of the second portion, and the material of the second portion is different from the material of the spacing portions, a thickness of a portion of the first portion that is not overlapped with the first electrodes is H1, and a thickness of a portion of the second portion that is not overlapped with the first electrodes is H2, where H1=H2;
However, Cui discloses:
a portion of a blocking portion (140) located between two adjacent spacing portions (130) in the first direction (horizontal direction annotated below) is a first portion (annotated below), and a portion of the blocking portion (140) located between two adjacent first portions (annotated below) in the second direction (vertical direction annotated below) is a second portion (annotated below); (Fig. 5- 7)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Mishima and Cui to arrive at the claimed invention in order to have “a thickness of the light-emitting layer 1221 in the second opening region more uniform, and improve uniformity of film formation.” (Cui, [0095] so that “a quality of the electroluminescent display apparatus may be improved” (Cui, [0111])
Cui does not explicitly disclose:
in the display area the first portion comprises a first material layer and a second material layer that are sequentially stacked along a direction away from the base substrate, a material of the first material layer is the same as a material of the spacing portions, a material of the second material layer is the same as a material of the second portion, a thickness of a portion of the second material layer in the first portion that is not overlapped with the first electrodes is H1 and a thickness of a portion of the second portion that is not overlapped with the first electrodes is H2 or, in the display area, a material of the first portions is the same as a material of the second portion, and the material of the second portion is different from the material of the spacing portions, a thickness of a portion of the first portion that is not overlapped with the first electrodes is H1, and a thickness of a portion of the second portion that is not overlapped with the first electrodes is H2, where H1=H2;
However, Hu discloses:
in the display area (Fig. 1 and 5), the first portion (annotated below) comprises a first material layer (31) and a second material layer (41) that are sequentially stacked along a direction away from the base substrate (1), a material of the first material layer (31) is the same as a material of the spacing portions (32), a material of the second material layer (41) is the same as a material (41) of the second portion (annotated below), (Fig. 5) a thickness of a portion of the second material layer (41) in the first portion (annotated below) that is not overlapped with the first electrodes is H1, and a thickness of a portion of the second portion (annotated below) that is not overlapped with the first electrodes is H2 or, in the display area, a material of the first portions is the same as a material of the second portion, and the material of the second portion (41+5) is different from the material of the spacing portions (32), a thickness of a portion of the first portion (annotated below) that is not overlapped with the first electrodes is H1, and a thickness of a portion of the second portion (annotated below) that is not overlapped with the first electrodes is H2, where H1=H2; (Fig. 5)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Mishima, Cui and Hu to arrive at the claimed invention in order to “a display panel without wasting the light emitting layer ink.” (Hu, page 1)
Regarding claim 2, Mishima discloses the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein the light emitting structure layer (24) further comprises an adjustment layer (28) disposed at a side of the drive structure layer (inside 14 per [0044]) away from the base substrate (14), the adjustment layer (28) comprises a plurality of first adjustment areas (28G) extending along the first direction (horizontal) and a plurality of second adjustment areas (28B) extending along the first direction (horizontal), the first adjustment areas (28G) and the second adjustment areas (28B) are alternately arranged in the second direction (vertical), and a thickness of the first adjustment areas (28G) is smaller than a thickness of the second adjustment areas (28B); ([0064], Fig. 4)
the plurality of first electrodes (21) are disposed at a side of the plurality of second adjustment areas (28B) away from the base substrate (14); ([0046], Fig. 4)
the first pixel definition layer (13) comprises a plurality of first extension portions (13) extending along the first direction (horizontal), the first extension portions (13) are disposed at a side of the first adjustment areas (28G) away from the base substrate (14); (Fig. 3 and 4)
the second pixel definition layer (15) comprises a plurality of second extension portions (15) extending in the second direction (vertical), the second extension portions (28B) are disposed at a side of the plurality of first extension portions (13) and the plurality of second adjustment areas (28B) away from the base substrate (14); (Fig. 3 and 4)
the plurality of the first extension portions (13) and the plurality of the second extension portions (15) intersect with each other (per [0044]) to form the plurality of pixel openings (12); (Fig. 3 and 4)
Mishima does not disclose:
the pixel definition layer comprises a first pixel definition layer and a second pixel definition layer disposed at a side of the first pixel definition layer away from the base substrate; and
an overlapped portion between a second extension portion and a first extension portion forms the first portion, and a portion of the second extension portion located between two adjacent first extension portions forms the second portion; and in the display area, a thickness of a portion of the second extension portion in the first portion that is overlapped with both a first extension portion and a first adjustment area and is not overlapped with the first electrodes is H1, and a thickness of a portion of the second extension portion in the second portion that is overlapped with a second adjustment area and is not overlapped with the first electrodes is H2; a thickness of the first extension portion is H3, a thickness of the first adjustment area is H4, and a thickness of the second adjustment area is H5, where H1−H2 and H3+H4=H5.
However, Cui discloses:
the pixel definition layer(130 and 140) comprises a first pixel definition layer (130) and a second pixel definition layer (140) disposed at a side of the first pixel definition layer (130) away from the base substrate (110); (Fig. 5 and 6A) and
an overlapped portion between a second extension portion (140) and a first extension portion (130) forms the first portion (annotated below), and a portion of the second extension portion (140) located between two adjacent first extension portions (portions of 130 annotated below) forms the second portion (annotated below); (Fig. 5 or 7) and in the display area (02 in Fig. 2),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Mishima and Cui to arrive at the claimed invention so that, “ a difference of ink volume between light-emitting regions 011 in one second opening region 013 may be homogenized, thereby making thicknesses of the light-emitting layer 1221 formed in the light-emitting regions 011 in one second opening region 013 uniform.” (Cui, [0097]).
Cui does not explicitly disclose:
a thickness of a portion of the second extension portion in the first portion that is overlapped with both a first extension portion and a first adjustment area and is not overlapped with the first electrodes is H1, and a thickness of a portion of the second extension portion in the second portion that is overlapped with a second adjustment area and is not overlapped with the first electrodes is H2; a thickness of the first extension portion is H3, a thickness of the first adjustment area is H4, and a thickness of the second adjustment area is H5, where H1=H2 and H3+H4=H5.
However, Hu discloses:
a thickness of a portion of the second extension portion (41) in the first portion (annotated above) that is overlapped with both a first extension portion (31) and a first adjustment area (2 under 31) and is not overlapped with the first electrodes is H1 (annotated above), and a thickness of a portion of the second extension portion (41) in the second portion (annotated above) that is overlapped with a second adjustment area (5) and is not overlapped with the first electrodes is H2 (annotated above); a thickness of the first extension portion (31) is H3, a thickness of the first adjustment area (2 under 31) is H4, and a thickness of the second adjustment area (5) is H5, where H1=H2 and H3+H4=H5.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Mishima, Cui and Hu to arrive at the claimed invention in order to “a display panel without wasting the light emitting layer ink.” (Hu, page 1)
Regarding Claim 3, Cui discloses the display substrate according to claim 2, wherein there is an overlapped area (130 and 140 in Fig. 6A) between an orthographic projection of the first extension portion (130) on the base substrate (110) and an orthographic projection of a first electrode (121) on the base substrate (110), and there is no overlapped area between an orthographic projection of the second extension portion (140) on the base substrate (110) and the orthographic projection of the first electrode (121) on the base substrate (110). (Fig. 6A)
Regarding claim 4, Mishima discloses the display substrate according to claim 3, wherein there is an overlapped area between the orthographic projection of the first electrode (21) on the base substrate (14) and an orthographic projection of the first adjustment area (28G) on the base substrate (14); (Fig. 4), (the examiner has met the first limitation therefore is treating the remaining limitations past “or” as optional) or, there is no overlapped area between the orthographic projection of the first electrode on the base substrate and the orthographic projection of the first adjustment area on the base substrate, and there is an overlapped area between an orthographic projection of a portion of the first extension portion located between two adjacent second extension portions on the base substrate and an orthographic projection of the second adjustment area on the base substrate.
Regarding claim 5, Mishima discloses the display substrate according to claim 2, wherein the adjustment layer (28) and the pixel definition layer (at least 13) both extend to the non-display area (outer periphery around the pixels) the second pixel definition layer (15) further comprises a plurality of third extension portions (annotated below) extending in the first direction (horizontal) located in the non-display area (outer periphery outside the pixels), and the third extension portions (annotated below) is located at a side of the stacked first adjustment area (28G) and first extension portion (15) away from the base substrate (14). (Fig. 3 and 4)
Regarding claim 6, Mishima discloses the display substrate according to claim 5, wherein two third extension portions (annotated above) and two second extension portions (annotated above) in the non-display area (outer periphery outside the pixels) form a circumferential edge of the pixel definition layer (at least 13), a thickness (per [0007]) of the two third extension portions (annotated above) forming the circumferential edge of the pixel definition layer (at least 13) that is overlapped with both the first adjustment area (28G) and the first extension portion (13) is equal to H1, and a thickness of the two second extension portions (annotated above) forming the circumferential edge of the pixel definition layer (at least 13) is equal to H1. ([0068], Fig. 6)
Regarding claim 7, Cui discloses the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein the pixel definition layer (130 and 140) comprises a first pixel definition layer (130) and a second pixel definition layer (140); ([0081], Fig. 5, 6A or 7) the second pixel definition layer (140) comprises a plurality of second extension portions (140 annotated below) extending in the second direction (vertical), the plurality of second extension portions (140 annotated below) are arranged at intervals in the first direction (horizontal); (Fig. 5 or 7) the first pixel definition layer (130) comprises a plurality of groups of first extension portions (130 annotated below), each group of the first extension portions (130 annotated below) comprises a plurality of first extension portions (130 annotated below) arranged at intervals along the first direction (horizontal), each of the first extension portions (130 annotated below) is located between two adjacent second extension portions (140 annotated below), the plurality of groups of first extension portions (130 annotated below) are arranged at intervals in the second direction (vertical), the plurality of second extension portions (140 annotated below) and the plurality of groups of first extension portions (130 annotated below) form a plurality of pixel openings (011 in Fig. 5); (Fig 7)
there is an overlapped area between a second extension portion (140 annotated below) and two first extension portions (130 annotated below) located at two sides of the second extension portion (140 annotated below) and adjacent in the first direction (130 annotated below), and the second extension portion (140 annotated below) is disposed at a side of the first extension portions (130 annotated below) away from the base substrate (110), and a portion of a first extension portion (130 annotated below) that is not overlapped with the second extension portion (140 annotated below) is a spacing portion (130); (annotated Fig. 7) (the examiner has met the first limitation and therefore is treating the limitations after “or” as optional) or, there is no overlapped area between the second extension portion and the two first extension portions located at two sides of the second extension portion and adjacent in the first direction, and the first extension portions are the spacing portions and the second extension portion is a blocking portion.
Regarding claim 8, Cui discloses the display substrate according to claim 7, wherein there is an overlapped area between an orthographic projection of a first extension portion (130) on the base substrate (110) and an orthographic projection of a first electrode (121) on the base substrate (110), and there is an overlapped area between an orthographic projection of a second extension portion (140) on the base substrate (110) and the orthographic projection of the first electrode (121) on the base substrate (110). (Fig. 6A)
Regarding claim 9, Cui discloses the display substrate according to claim 7, wherein a circumferential edge of the pixel definition layer (130 and 140) are located in the non-display area (02 per Fig. 2), the second pixel definition layer (140) further comprises a plurality of third extension portions (annotated below) extending in the first direction (horizontal) located in the non-display area (02 per Fig. 2), two third extension portions(annotated below) and two second extension portions (annotated below) in the non-display area (02 per Fig. 2) form the circumferential edge of the pixel definition layer (130 and 140). (Fig. 5, 6A or 7)
Regarding claim 10, Cui discloses the display substrate according to claim 9, wherein a thickness of the two third extension portions (annotated ovals below) forming the circumferential edge of the pixel definition layer (130 and 140 in Fig. 6A) is equal to H1 (d1+d2), and a thickness(which would be taken along the cross-sectional line annotated below) of portions of the two second extension portions (annotated below) which form the circumferential edge of the pixel definition layer (130 and 140) and are not overlapped with the first extension portions (130) is equal to H1 (d1+d2). (Fig. 5, 6A or 7)
Regarding claim 14, Mishima discloses the display substrate according to claim 2, wherein the display area (where the pixels are disposed) comprises a plurality of pixel units (11) arranged in an array on the base substrate (14), the pixel units (11) comprises a plurality of sub-pixels (12) sequentially arranged in the first direction (horizontal), and sub-pixels (12) located in a same row in the second direction (vertical) emit light of a same color. (turn Fig. 3 sideways to the right)
Regarding claim 15, Mishima discloses a display apparatus, comprising the display substrate (10) according to claim 1. (Fig. 3)
Claims 11-13 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishima (US 20180254303 A1) in view of Cui (US 20220223668 A1) and Hu (CN 113193024 A) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Dai et al. (CN 111900188 A).
Regarding claims 11 and 16-20 Mishima in view of Cui and Hu disclose the display substrate according to claims 2 and 4, 5, 6, 7, respectively. Mishima in view of Cui and Hu do not disclose wherein
the first extension portions are made of a lyophilic material and the second extension portions are made of a lyophobic material.
However, Dai discloses:
the first extension portions (312) are made of a lyophilic material and the second extension portions (313) are made of a lyophobic material. (“ For example, the materials of the first material layer 3121 and the second material layer 313 are the same, and they are both lyophilic materials”, page 7 of the translation, Fig. 4)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Mishima, Cui, Hu and Dai for the first extension portions are made of a lyophilic material and the second extension portions are made of a lyophobic material in order to “solve the problem of ink cross-color between adjacent rows or columns of the opening part of the color” (Dai page 2 of the translation) so as to “improve the display effect of the display device.” (Dai, page 7 of the translation).
Regarding claim 12, Mishima in view of Cui and Hu disclose the display substrate according to claim 2. Mishima in view of Cui and Hu do not disclose wherein
a width of a first extension portion is smaller than a width of a second extension portion.
However, Dai discloses:
a width of a first extension portion (312) is smaller than a width of a second extension portion (313). (Fig. 4)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Mishima, Cui, Hu and Dai for a width of a first extension portion is smaller than a width of a second extension portion in order to “solve the problem of ink cross-color between adjacent rows or columns of the opening part of the color” (Dai page 2 of the translation) so as to “improve the display effect of the display device.” (Dai, page 7 of the translation).
Regarding claim 13, Mishima in view of Cui and Hu disclose the display substrate according to claim 2. Mishima in view of Cui and Hu do not disclose wherein
a width of a first extension portion in the second direction is greater than a width of a second extension portion in the first direction.
However, Dai discloses:
a width of a first extension portion (312) in the second direction (vertical) is greater than a width of a second extension portion (313) in the first direction (horizontal). (Fig. 4)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Mishima, Cui, Hu and Dai for a width of a first extension portion in the second direction is greater than a width of a second extension portion in the first direction in order to “solve the problem of ink cross-color between adjacent rows or columns of the opening part of the color” (Dai page 2 of the translation) so as to “improve the display effect of the display device.” (Dai, page 7 of the translation).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASHLEY NICOLE BLACKWELL/Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/JACOB Y CHOI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897