DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS)
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 15 July 2024, 28 February 2023 and 05 November 2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 13 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued with respect to the claim rejection under 35 U.S.C as being
anticipated by Kim et al. that “Kim fails to teach claimed method because its “minimum
Guard period (Y)” is explicitly taught as a period within an antenna switching event, not as a gap between SRS resources in different slots.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant argument because Kim
indeed teaches the arguable feature, that is “minimum guard period between adjacent SRS resources in different slots”
Kim et al. teaches ([0018]: “the UE 102 may be configured to maintain a minimum guard period (Y) between the transmission on two SRS resources of an SRS resource set”). See figure 2A. In another words, the guard period (Y) is a period of time allocated between the SRS slot 210 and SRS slot 212. The term “SRS resource 210” can be read as SRS resource slot 210, and resource slot 210 different from resource slot 212. According to Google, the term “slot” has evolved to represent a general concept of a designated opening, or assigned position. Yes, slot is frequently read and used as a position. In this case, the minimum guard period (Y) is allocated between the SRS slot 210 and SRS slot 212. See figure 2A.
Likewise, the application, figure 6, shows a “Guard period” positions between SRS Resource #1 and SRS Resource #2.
Kim et al. indeed teaches “minimum guard period between adjacent SRS resource in different slots.” Therefore, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. stands.
With respect to claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated
by Liu et al. the Applicant argued that Liu fails to teach at least “receiving a Sounding Reference Signal, SRS, configuration from a radio access node, wherein the SRS configuration defines SRS resources in compliance with a predefined or preconfigured minimum guard period between adjacent SRS resources in different slots.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s argument because Liu et
al. indeed teaches this feature.
Liu et al. teaches a method performed by a wireless communication device, the method comprising:
receiving a Sounding Reference Signal SRS, configuration from a radio access node, wherein the SRS configuration defines SRS resources compliance with a predefined or preconfigured minimum guard period between adjacent SRS resources in different slot; and
transmitting SRS in accordance with the SRS configuration. See figure 12.
Figure 12 illustrates steps of receiving SRS configuration and transmit SRS accordance with the SRS configuration.
Liu et al further teaches wherein the SRS configuration defines SRS resources compliance with a predefined or preconfigured minimum guard period between adjacent SRS resources in different slots. See figure 6.
Figure 6 shows a predefined or preconfigured minimum guard period (OFDM symbol for guard) positions between the first SRS resource and the second SRS resource in different slot. With regard to claim 1, the examiner interpreted figure 6 as minimum guard period (OFDM symbol for Guard) position between the first SRS slot and the second SRS slot.
As address above, according to Google, the term “slot” has evolved to represent a general concept of a designated opening, or assigned position. Yes, slot is frequently read and used as a position. In this case, the minimum guard period (OFDM symbol for Guard) is allocated between the two adjacent SRS slot (OFDM Symbol for SRS).
Likewise, the application shows ‘the predefined or preconfigured minimum guard period between adjacent SRS resources in different slots is defined in terms of a number of OFDM symbols. See application claim 5 and figure 6.
Liu et al. indeed teaches all features as recited in the independent claims. Therefore, the claim rejection as being anticipated by Liu et al. stand.
The same reasons for rejection made in view of D1. Therefore, the Claims
rejection as being anticipated by D1 stand
Claims 1-13, 15-20 and 22 are pending.
Figure 6 illustrates the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2020/0204323 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 13, Kim et al. discloses a method performed by a wireless communication device the method comprising:
receiving a Sounding Reference Signal, SRS, configuration from a radio access node, wherein the SRS configuration defines SRS resources in compliance with a predefined or preconfigured minimum guard period between adjacent SRS resources in different slots; and
transmitting SRSs in accordance with the SRS configuration.
([0018]: “the RRC signaling 202 is received from a next-generation Node B (gNB) 201. The UE 102 may be configured to maintain a minimum guard period (Y) between transmission of the SRS 210 by the first array antenna 108 and transmission of the SRS 212 the second array antenna 110. In these embodiments, the UE 102 may be configured to maintain a minimum guard period (Y) between the transmission on two SRS resources of an SRS resources of an SRS resource set for antenna switching.”), ([0018]: “the UE 102 may be configured to maintain a minimum guard period (Y) between the transmission on two RSR resources of an SRS resource set”). See figure 2B.
Regarding claims 1-6, 9, 13, 15 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 2023/0047048 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 13, 15 and 22, Liu et al. discloses a method performed by a wireless communication device, the method comprising:
receiving a Sounding Reference Signal, SRS, configuration from a radio access node, wherein the SRS configuration defines SRS resources in compliance with a predefined or preconfigured minimum guard period between adjacent SRS resources in different slots ([0015]: “Preferably, in case that the capability is 1T6R, 2SRS resource sets are configured each with resource type set as aperiodic, the 2 SRS resource set are each configured with 3 SRS resources, a total of 6 SRS resources are transmitted in different symbols of 2 different slots.”); and
transmitting SRSs in accordance with the SRS configuration.
(]0098]: “Due to hardware limitations, the UE may be configured with a guard period of a number of OFDM symbols in-between the transmission of SRS resources of a set of antenna switching.”)
Regarding claim 2, Liu et al. teaches wherein the SRS configuration defines a first SRS resource set comprising one or more SRS resources in a first slot and a second SRS resource set comprising one or more resources in a second slot that immediately follows the first slot, and an amount of time between:
First SRS resource in the first SRS resource set, and
A second SRS resource in the second SRS resource set that is adjacent to
the first SRS resource set, wherein the amount of time is greater than the predefined or preconfigured minimum guard period between adjacent SRS resources in different slots.
Regarding claim 3, Liu et al. teaches wherein the first SRS resource in the first SRS resource set is a last, in time, SRS resource from among the one or more SRS resource in the second SRS resource set is a first, in time, SRS resource from among the one or more SRS resources comprised in the second resource set. See figures 7 and 9.
Regarding claim 4, Liu et al. teaches wherein both the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set are configured for antenna switching.
([0008]: “wherein the base unit configures one or more SRS resource sets each consisting of one or more SRS resources for antenna switching, and receiving SRS resource(s) according to the SRS configuration.”).
Regarding claim 5, Liu et al. teaches, wherein the predefined or preconfigured minimum guard period between adjacent SRS resources in different slots is defined in terms of a number of OFDM symbols. Figure 6 shows a minimum guard period between adjacent SRS resources in different slots is defined in terms of a number of OFDM symbols.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CMCC: “Discussion on remaining issues on SRS”, 3GPP DRAFT, R1-1804097, 15 April 2018 (2018-04-15), XP051426386, Retrieved from the Internet: URL:http://www.3gpp.org/ftp/Meetings%5F3GPP%5FSYNC/RAN1/Docs/ [retrieved on 2018-04-15], herein refer as D1.
Regarding claims 1, 13 D1 discloses the subject-matter of independent claims 1 and 13:
A method performed by a wireless communication device, the method comprising:
receiving a Sounding Reference Signal, SRS, configuration from a radio access node, (“Section 2: “two aperiodic SRS resource sets could configure for tT4R antenna switching”)
wherein the SRS configuration defines SRS resources in compliance with a predefined or preconfigured minimum guard period between adjacent SRS resources in different slots; (“Section 2”[...]the following table was agreed to define the value of Y which indicates the minimum guard period between two SRS resources of an SRS resource set for antenna switching [...] In RAN 1 AH 1801 meeting [2], it was agreed that Y can be 1 or 2 symbol(s) depending on numerology, Specifically, 7 or 10 symbols are necessary for 1T4R antenna switching.”
(“Fig. 1, where a gap is indicated between the two slots and each of two adjacent symbols.” Hence, in case of 1T4R, i.e. 4 SRS, and a Y of 1 symbol, 7-4=3 guard period symbols/gaps are required.”),
transmitting SRSs in accordance with the SRS configuration. see figure 1.
Regarding claim 2, D1 discloses wherein the SRS configuration defines a first SRS resource set comprising one or more SRS resource in a first slot and a second SRS resource set comprising one or more resources in a second sot that immediately follows the first slot, and an amount of time between:
a first SRS resources in the first SRS resource set, and
a second SRS resource in the second SRS resource set that is adjacent to the first SRS resource in the first SRS resource set,
wherein the amount of time is greater than the predefined or preconfigured minimum guard period between adjacent SRS resources in different slots. See section 2: Table 1.
Regarding claim 4, D1 teaches wherein both the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set are configured for antenna switching. (see Section 2 “Proposal 1: Two aperiodic SRS resource sets could be configured for 1T4R antenna switching. The number of SRS resources in the two SRS resource sets could be “2+2” or “1+3”).
Regarding claims 5, 6 and 9, D1 discloses wherein the predefined or preconfigured minimum guard period between adjacent SRS resources in different slots is defined in terms of a number of OFDMA symbols. See table 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0204323 A1) in view of Liu et al. (US 2023/0047048 A1).
Regarding claims 15 and 22, Kim et al. discloses a method performed by a wireless communication device, the method comprising:
receiving a Sounding Reference Signal, SRS, configuration from a radio access node, wherein the SRS configuration defines SRS resources in compliance with a minimum guard period between adjacent SRS resources.
([0018]: “the RRC signaling 202 is received from a next-generation Node B (gNB) 201. The UE 102 may be configured to maintain a minimum guard period (Y) between transmission of the SRS 210 by the first array antenna 108 and transmission of the SRS 212 the second array antenna 110. In these embodiments, the UE 102 may be configured to maintain a minimum guard period (Y) between the transmission on two SRS resources of an SRS resources of an SRS resource set for antenna switching.”). See figure 2B.
Kim et al. does not (a) whether repetitions are used for SRS transmission on at least one of the adjacent SRS resources, (b) a repetition factor used for SRS transmission on at least one of the adjacent SRS resources, (c) number of coms used for SRS transmission, (d) subcarrier spacing, (e ) capability of the wireless communication device to support flexible minimum guard periods for SRS, or (f) a combination of any two or more of (a)-(e).
Liu et al. in the same field of invention, teaches “a method at a remote unit, comprising: reporting a capability of the remote unit indicating the supported Sounding Reference Signals (SRS) transmission port switching, wherein the capability includes at least 1T6R, 2T6R, 1T8R, 2T8R and 4T8R, receiving an SRS configuration according to the reported capability, wherein one or more SRS resource sets are configured each consisting of one or more SRS resources for antenna switching, and transmitting SRS resource (s) according to the SRS configuration.” See abstract.)
([0098]: “The number of guard period symbols depends on the subcarrier spacing.”).
It would have been obvious to those having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Liu et al. with Kim et al. so to provide SRS resource at least a function of subcarrier spacing.
Regarding claim 16, Liu et al. further teaches wherein the adjacent SRS resources are in a same slot. ([0098]: “the UE may be configured with a guard period of a number of OFDM symbols in-between the transmission of SRS resources of a set for antenna switching. During these symbols, the UE does not transmit any other signal, in the case the SRS resources of the set are transmitted in the same slot. The number of guard period symbols depends on the subcarrier spacing.”).
Regarding claim 17, Liu et al. teaches wherein the adjacent SRS resources are in different slots. ([0015]: “the SRS resource sets are each configured with 3 SRS resources, a total of 6 SRS resources are transmitted in different slots, the SRS port of each SRS resource in each of the 2 SRS resource sets is associated with a different antenna port of the remote unit.”)
Regarding claim 18, Liu et al. teaches wherein both of the adjacent SRS resources are configured for antenna switching. ([0008]: “wherein the base unit configures one or more SRS resource sets each consisting of one or more SRS resources for antenna switching.”).
Regarding claim 19, Liu et al. teaches transmitting to the radio access node an indication of whether the wireless communication device supports flexible minimum guard periods for SRS, wherein the guard period for the adjacent SRS resources is a function of the indication. ([0103]” ([0018]: “the RRC signaling 202 is received from a next-generation Node B (gNB) 201. The UE 102 may be configured to maintain a minimum guard period (Y) between transmission of the SRS 210 by the first array antenna 108 and transmission of the SRS 212 the second array antenna 110. In these embodiments, the UE 102 may be configured to maintain a minimum guard period (Y) between the transmission on two SRS resources of an SRS resources of an SRS resource set for antenna switching.”). See figure 2B.
Regarding claim 20, Liu et al. teaches wherein the indication comprises an indication of one or more of a plurality of predefined or preconfigured tables that define the minimum guard period between adjacent SRS resources as a function of one or more parameters.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. Liu et al. (US 2023/0047048 A1) in view of MANOLAKOS et al. (US 2023/0035967 A1), refer to the Foreign Application priority date Dec. 12, 2019.
Regarding claim 10, Liu et al. fails to teach wherein the one or more parameters comprises a number of combs used for SRS transmission.
MANOLAKOS et al in the same field of invention, teach this feature.
([0111]: “At stage 824, the UE 803 may determine the transmission parameters for use in transmitting SRS for positioning while the UE 803 is in an unconnected or inactive state. The transmission parameters may include, for example, one or more of: a transmission beam to be sued by the UE 803, a transmit power, a pilot sequence, a timing advance, a guard time, a comb number, a number of symbols per resource, an indication of a beginning frequency of a resource, a mapping of resources (e.g., frequency domain staggering, o frequency domain staggering, which symbols of slots are used for signal transmission).”)
It would have been obvious to those having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine MANOLAKOS et al. with Liu et al. so to determine the transmission parameters transmission comb.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 and 11-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BRENDA H. PHAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2412
/BRENDA H PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412