DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102)a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Hifumi et al., U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2019/0055357.
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Hifumi discloses in paragraphs 0288 a laminate comprising a substrate and a cured layer formed with a composition wherein the substrate can include glass. Paragraph 0290 discloses that the cured product and laminate can be used for prepregs and printed circuit boards. The abstract and 0022-0024 disclose a polymer composition including a first structural unit represented by at least one of formulae (1-1), (1-2) and (1-3)
wherein R1 are each independently a halogen atom, a monovalent hydrocarbon group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms, a monovalent halogenated hydrocarbon groups having 1 to 20 carbon atoms wherein n can be an integer from 0 to 2 [0025]. Additionally, Hifumi discloses a structural unit (2-2)
. The first and second structural units of Hifumi read on the claimed polymer when R10 is an alkylene group having 2 to 4 carbon atoms [organic divalent group] as defined in [0030] of Hifumi [ wherein the second structural unit (2-2) represents X in Applicant’s claimed polymer structure of claims 1 and 2.
Regarding claim 3, Hifumi discloses in paragraph 0242 that the polymer composition can include a curable compound.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hifumi et al., U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2019/0055357 in view of Sugawara, U.S. Patent Number 2009/0270552.
Hifumi, above, remains relied upon for claim 1. Sugawara discloses a prepreg [0090]. Paragraph a polymerizable composition comprising an aromatic condensed ring containing cycloolefin monomer wherein the ring can include a pyrazine ring or pyrimidine ring [0017]. Paragraph 0033 of Sugawara discloses that the composition includes a flame retardant. It is disclosed in paragraph 0078 that the composition of Sugawara can also include a reinforcement and a filler. Paragraph 0080 discloses that the filler is an inorganic filler such as silica, talc, calcium carbonate, alumina, clay, magnesia, titania zirconia. Paragraph 0106 of Sugawara discloses a copper clad laminate. Additionally, Sugawara discloses in paragraph 0106 a multilayer printed wiring board including the prepreg. Sugawara discloses in paragraph 0114 two glass cloths 7268 wherein the polymerizable composition was poured over the glass cloth. Paragraph 0002 discloses that the polymerizable composition has excellent flame retardance.
Regarding claim 4, Hifumi discloses that the composition includes a curing auxiliary agent [0242 and 0253]. Applicant’s claim 4 does exclude the curing aid and the curing agent from being the same. Applicant’s claim 4 is not specific to the curing aid and the curing agent. Paragraph 0278 of Hifumi discloses additional components in the composition such as a reinforcing agent and a flame retardant. Hifumi is silent to an inorganic filler. Hifumi and Sugawara are analogous art in that both references are directed to prepregs including a polymerizable composition including a monomer having a pyrazine or pyrimidine condensed ring structural unit wherein the prepreg can be utilized in a printed wiring board or circuit board. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would utilize an inorganic filler such as silica in the polymerizable composition of Hifumi for the benefit of enhanced flame retardancy.
Regarding claim 6, Hifumi discloses a laminate. Hifumi is silent to a metal clad laminate. Paragraph 0106 of Sugawara discloses a copper clad laminate. Additionally, Sugawara discloses in paragraph 0106 a multilayer printed wiring board including the prepreg. Paragraph 0002 discloses that the polymerizable composition has excellent flame retardance. Hifumi and Sugawara are analogous art in that both references are directed to prepregs including a polymerizable composition including a monomer having a pyrazine or pyrimidine condensed ring structural unit wherein the prepreg can be utilized in a printed wiring board or circuit board. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would utilize the copper clad laminate of Sugawara as the laminate of Hifumi in order to obtain a circuit board including a prepreg having enhanced flame retardancy.
Regarding claim 7, Hifumi discloses a circuit board [0290]. Hifumi is silent to a printed wiring board comprising a metal-clad laminate wherein part of the metal foil has been removed. Paragraph 0106 of Sugawara discloses a copper clad laminate. Additionally, Sugawara discloses in paragraph 0106 a multilayer printed wiring board including the prepreg. Hifumi and Sugawara are analogous art in that both references are directed to prepregs including a polymerizable composition including a monomer having a pyrazine or pyrimidine condensed ring structural unit wherein the prepreg can be utilized in a printed wiring board or circuit board. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would utilize the copper clad laminate of Sugawara as the laminate of Hifumi in order to obtain a circuit board including a prepreg having enhanced flame retardancy.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hifumi et al., U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2019/0055357 in view of Sugawara, U.S. Patent Number 2009/0270552, as evidenced by Made-in-China, 7268 Plain Weave Glass Cloth.
Regarding claim 5, Hifumi discloses a glass substrate. Hifumi is silent to the base material being a glass cloth having a dielectric constant of 6.8 or less. Sugawara discloses in paragraph 0114 two glass cloths 7268 wherein the polymerizable composition was poured over the glass cloth. Made-in-China glass cloth 7268 provides evidence for the glass cloths of Sugawara having a dielectric constant of 3.3. Hifumi and Sugawara are analogous art in that both references are directed to prepregs including a polymerizable composition including a monomer having a pyrazine or pyrimidine condensed ring structural unit wherein the prepreg can be utilized in a printed wiring board or circuit board. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would utilize the 7268 glass cloths of Sugawara as the glass substrate of Hifumi to obtain a prepreg with enhanced flame retardancy to be used in a laminate.
Conclusion
/CAMIE S THOMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786