DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wedge”, and the “at least one wedge surface must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-10 and 13-20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wanner et al. (US 4113037) in view of Hartmann et al. (US 20190247991) and in view of Calmusky (US 3499656).
Regarding claim 1: Wanner discloses a tool for a mobile power tool for machining rock or mineral materials (Figs. 1-6; abstr.; col. 2, lines 21-38). Wanner discloses a shaft 51, 52 and a tool head 53 (Fig. 4; col. 4, lines 3-19). Wanner discloses that a suction-extraction channel 60, 68 for transporting rock dust is formed at least along a part of the shaft (Fig. 4; col. 4, lines 43-62; col. 5, lines 17-33). Wanner discloses that the tool head and a channel element 61 which are arranged longitudinally at least along a part of the shaft of the tool are couplable and/or are coupled to the shaft in a releasable manner (Fig. 4 – illustrates several connections and thus meets the claimed limitation). Wanner does not explicitly disclose the channel element having a dovetail profile. Hartmann discloses that a wide array of other attachment modalities are known, among others, dovetail joints ([0033]). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art and the benefit of the cited art to have configured the tool of Wanner so that the channel element includes a dovetail profile as taught by Hartmann. As both Wanner and Hartmann are directed to drilling machines having a suction-extraction channel for drilling debris, as Wanner is silent regarding dovetail profiles, as dovetail connection profiles are well known in the arts, and as Hartmann explicitly teaches that dovetail joints are well-known and can be used interchangeably for attachment modalities, it would have been within routine skill to have selected a specific connection configuration from a finite selection of connection configurations. Such a simple substitution or addition would have been predictable with a reasonable expectation for success and with no unexpected results.
Wanner, as modified by Hartmann, does not explicitly disclose that the tool head is coupled and/or is couplable to the shaft in a releasable manner by a wedge, by at least one wedge surface and/or by a coupling pin. Calmusky discloses that a tool head can be coupled to the shaft in a releasable manner by means of a coupling pin 42 (Fig. 3; col. 3, lines 27-35). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art and the benefit of the cited art to have configured the tool of Wanner, as modified by Hartmann, so that the tool head is coupled and/or is couplable to the shaft in a releasable manner by means of a coupling pin as taught by Calmusky. As both Wanner and Calmusky are directed to attachments of a drill head to a shaft, as various connections are well known in the art for coupling a shaft and a drill head, and as Calmusky explicitly teaches a pin connection, it would have been within routine skill to have selected a specific connection configuration from a finite selection of connection configurations. Such a simple substitution or addition would have been predictable with a reasonable expectation for success and with no unexpected results.
Regarding claim 2: Wanner discloses that the tool head has an inlet channel 60 (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3: Wanner discloses that a lateral channel is formed between the channel element and the tool head (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4: Wanner discloses that the tool has a suction-extraction funnel which is designed to guide into the suction-extraction channel rock dust flowing in from a direction of the tool head (Figs. 1, 2, 4).
Regarding claim 5: Wanner discloses that the cross-sectional area of the suction-extraction channel is increased in a region of the shaft in a direction pointing away from the toolhead (Figs. 1, 2, 4).
Regarding claim 6: Wanner discloses that the channel element is designed in multiple parts and/or is designed to be able to be swung open (Figs. 4-6).
Regarding claim 7: Wanner discloses that the channel element is designed as a sleeve element which encloses the shaft (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8: Wanner discloses that the channel element is designed as a covering element which covers over the shaft only in certain regions (Figs. 1-6; col. 5, line 60-col. 6, line 12).
Regarding claim 9: Wanner discloses that the shaft has at least one suction-extraction groove by which at least one part of the suction-extraction channel is formed and/or can be formed (Figs. 1-6).
Regarding claim 10: Wanner discloses that the tool has at least one spacer 12. 56 for maintaining a suction-extraction space between the shaft and the channel element (Figs. 1, 4).
Regarding claim 13: Wanner discloses that the tool has a suction-extraction adapter 31 and/or the tool can be connected to a suction-extraction adapter (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 14: Wanner discloses a shank 51 arranged at an end of the shaft situated opposite to the tool head is coupled and/or is couplable to the shaft in a releasable manner (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 15: Wanner discloses that the cross-sectional area of the suction-extraction channel is increased in an end region of the shaft in the direction pointing away from the tool head (Figs. 1, 2, 4).
Regarding claim 16: Wanner discloses that the channel element is able to be swung open longitudinally (Fig. 4-6 – illustrates several connections and thus meets the claimed limitation).
Regarding claim 17: Wanner discloses that the covering element consists of an elastic material, plastic, and/or a rubber (Figs. 1-6; col. 5, line 60-col. 6, line 12).
Regarding claim 18: Wanner discloses that a lateral channel is formed between the channel element and the tool head (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 19: Wanner discloses that the tool has a suction-extraction funnel which is designed to guide into the suction-extraction channel rock dust flowing in from a direction of the tool head (Figs. 1, 2, 4).
Regarding claim 20: Wanner discloses that the cross-sectional area of the suction-extraction channel is increased in the region of the shaft in the direction pointing away from the tool head (Figs. 1, 2, 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ amendments and arguments, filed 2/2/2026, with respect to the previous rejections of claims 1-10 and 13-20 have been fully considered and they are at least partially persuasive. The objections/rejections that have been withdrawn are not repeated herein.
Applicants’ arguments, directed to claims 1-10 and 13-20 are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the reference combinations being used in the current rejection.
It should be noted that applicants’ broadly recited claims allow the examiner’s current interpretation and rejections. It is the examiners understanding, from reviewing the specification and drawings, that the suction-extraction groove 42 is formed in the shaft 12 (i.e. cut into the shaft not just “along” the shaft) and that the suction-extraction channel 16 is a channel defined by the suction-extraction groove 42 and the channel element 18. Further it appears that channel element 18 is also within the suction-extraction groove 42 (applicants’ Fig. 8 and [0062]). It should be noted that these distinctions are not clearly recited in the instant claim limitations.
Conclusion
/Taras P Bemko/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672
2/23/2026