DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims Status
The amendment filed 09/01/2026 has been entered. In the amendment filed 01/02/2026, claim 15 was amended, no claims were canceled, and no claims were newly added. Claims 1-14 and 22-33 remain withdrawn from consideration as being drawing to a non-elected invention. Election was made with traverse in the response filed 06/27/2025. Claims 15-21 are under examination on the merits.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-14 and 22-33 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 06/27/2025.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“radiation emitting elements” in claim 15-21 interpreted as pixels, micromirrors [0049-0050] and equivalents thereof.
“radiation transmitting elements” in claim 15-21 interpreted as pixels, micromirrors [0049-0050] and equivalents thereof.
“turning mechanism” in claim 21 interpreted as a robotic arm [0048] and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richardson (prev. presented US 2004/0204785) in view of Demuth (prev. presented US 2020/0038994) and Marcus (prev. presented US 5306447).
Regarding claim 15, Richardson teaches an additive chemical vapor deposition CVD manufacturing system (abstract, Fig 2), comprising: a deposition chamber (108 Fig 2) [0080] and deposition surface support (stage 20 Fig 2, [0081]), and an energy source capable (light source 100 Fig 2, [0077]) of generating pulsed light [0081] of at least one specified wavelength [0081] and with at least one specified pulse frequency ([0081], [0103]) and direction radiation to result in deposition of a metal compound [0035]. Richardson fails to teach at least a first and a second programable radiation modules capable of directing radiation onto a specified deposition surface and initiating chemical vapor deposition at the deposition surface, wherein each programable radiation module comprises individually addressable radiation emitting and/or transmitting elements capable of being activated with the pulsed light from the energy source, and wherein each of the first programmable radiation module and the second programmable radiation module contains a dynamic mask containing one or more of the following: a liquid crystal display (LCD), a digital light processing (DLP) projector and/or digital micromirror device (DMD); and wherein the first programmable radiation module is positioned in a first direction relative to the deposition surface and the second programmable radiation module is positioned in a second direction relative to the deposition surface, thereby the first programmable radiation module and the second radiation module are positioned to irradiate the deposition surface from two different directions, causing a multidirectional crystal growth on the deposition surface. In the same field of endeavor of additive manufacturing using lasers (abstract), Demuth teaches a programmable radiation module (mask 210 Fig 2A) containing a dynamic mask [0056], [0061], [0043] containing a liquid crystal display [0043] to control the irradiation of the substrate with the laser beam as an alternative to scanning with a laser beam because this is more scalable and reduces thermal warpage [0021]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Richardson to include the programmable radiation module including a dynamic liquid crystal display mask as taught by Demuth because Demuth teaches this is an improvement over single position scanning by a laser (operation of Richardson). Note that this replacement allows for improved laser position control and does not change the vapor deposition taught by Richardson. Therefore the combination results in the mask with the light source allowing for chemical vapor deposition.
Regarding the inclusion of two programmable radiation modules and the first programmable radiation module is positioned in a first direction relative to the deposition surface and the second programmable radiation module is positioned in a second direction relative to the deposition surface, thereby the first programmable radiation module and the second radiation module are positioned to irradiate the deposition surface from two different directions, causing a multidirectional crystal growth on the deposition surface, in the same field of endeavor of chemical vapor deposition to produce a three dimensional structure (col 1, ln 15-20 and col 2, ln 35-65), Marcus teaches as an alternative to irradiating from one laser source (48 Fig 1), an arrangement in which the structure is built using irradiation from two laser sources that are perpendicular to each other (Fig 4, see 62 and 64). Marcus teaches this enables control of the energy and combination of wavelength to produce the desired material deposition (col 11, ln 64 to col 12, ln 17). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Richardson to include two lasers at different directions relative to the deposition surface because Marcus teaches this a functional alternative that allows for increased control of the irradiation (col 11, ln 64 to col 12, ln 17). Note that in the combination because two laser sources are used, there would be two programmable radiation modules (one for each laser source) and they would follow the beam direction positioning of the laser and therefore be positioned to irradiate the substrate at two different directions. The limitation “causing multidirectional crystal growth on the deposition surface” is directed to the intended use of the apparatus; however Marcus demonstrates this result (see Fig 4). In the modification to Richardson, the growth is of metal because Richardson has taught depositing metal [0035].
Regarding claim 16, the combination remains as applied to claim 15 above. Richardson teaches the substrate support is a deposition table (stage 20 Fig 2, [0081]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination remains as applied to claim 15 above. Richardson teaches at least one wall of the deposition chamber comprises one or more radiation transparent windows (107 Fig 2). Further note that Marcus also teaches transparent windows (70, 72 Fig 4) on the chamber walls. Therefore, the position of the transparent window on the chamber wall is an obvious rearrangement of parts assuming arguendo the window of Richardson is not on a chamber wall.
Regarding claim 18, the combination remains as applied to claim 15 above. Richardson teaches the deposition chamber is equipped with at least one gas inlet (23 Fig 2) and at least one gas outlet (line having valve 117, gas scrubber 118, exhaust pump 119, and external port 120 Fig 2 [0082]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination remains as applied to claim 15 above. Demuth as applied in the combination teaches the array of individually addressable radiation-emitting or transmitting elements, is configurable to irradiate individual points of the deposition support surface ([0023]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination remains as applied to claim 15 above. Richardson teaches the energy source is a programmable source of radiation capable of generating impulse light with different frequencies and/or wavelengths ([0081], [0103]).
Regarding claim 21, the combination remains as applied to claim 16 above. Richardson teaches a turning mechanism (21 Fig 2) for relative rotation between the rotatable mandrel or the deposition table and the radiation modules ([0069], note five axis is inclusive of rotation (i.e. rotation around an axis perpendicular to a main surface of the substrate) and that relative rotation is inclusive of tilting of the substrate (i.e. rotation around an axis extending along the bar shown connecting the stage 20 to the turning mechanism 21)).
Claim(s) 16 is/are additionally and/or alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richardson in view of Demuth and Marcus as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Brown (prev. presented US 2016/0271870).
Regarding claim 21, the combination remains as applied to claim 16 above. This rejection is provided additionally and/or alternatively in the event applicant can persuasively argue that the five axis movement of Richardson is not inclusive of a relative rotation between the deposition table and the radiation module. In the same field of endeavor of additive manufacturing [0001], Brown teaches a substrate holding table (224 Fig 8, 10) is able to have relative movement between the substrate holding table and the radiation module(s) (160 Fig 8 or 160, 162, 260 Fig 10) including rotation [0103] or translation [0103]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Richardson including the movement mechanism (21) to use the movement mechanism of Brown because this represents a simple substitution of one known element for another to achieve predictable results (movement of the substrate to expose different portions to the irradiation).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/01/2026, hereinafter reply, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments regarding Demuth (reply p10) is not persuasive because Demuth is relied upon to teach the dynamic mask. While the article worked upon in Demuth is different (as applicant argues a powder bed) the article worked upon does not alter the teachings of the mask to shape the laser for spatial control. In response to applicant's argument that Demuth is applied to a powder, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Regarding Richardson (reply p10), it is noted that the reference is directed to CVD and that the motivation to combine is in the improved control of the light application.
In response to applicant's argument (reply p11) that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Regarding Marcus (reply p11-12), examiner notes that the additive power of multiple lasers is used to form the deposit. Therefore, the argument that only one laser is producing the desired deposition is not persuasive. Additionally, Marcus Fig 4 demonstrates the lasers from different directions and therefore teaches the multidirectional arrangement. If applicant believes there is a structural difference in the light power, wavelength, or other characteristic, applicant is kindly requested to amend the claims to incorporate such features into the system.
For these reasons the arguments are not persuasive as to the allowability of the instant claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2005/0175789 teaches energy assisted ALD (Fig 2).
/MARGARET KLUNK/Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/Jeffrie R Lund/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716