Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Attorney argues on page 11 line 7 to page 14 line 26 that the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection using the combination of Tiirola et al, Kwak et al, Yang et al, and Hong et al do not disclose the claimed limitation “a second number of OFDM symbols that is greater than the first number of OFDM symbols” of independent claims 1, 15, 19, 39, and 45.
Tiirola et al disclose in step 610: BS determines a plurality of sets of uplink control channel resources, each having a resource configuration, and then in Step 620: BS selects one PUCCH configuration out of the set of PUCCH configurations for UE and transmits a message indicating the selected PUCCH configuration to UE. Sections 0026-0034 and 0038-0039: if UE uses eMBB, which is a non-high reliability data service type which can tolerate higher latency, UE may transmits uplink control information via a long PUCCH format length. If UE uses URLLC, which is a high reliability/low latency data service type which cannot tolerate latency, UE transmits uplink control information via a short PUCCH format length. Kwak et al was used to teach in Sections 0126, 0129 wherein BS configures PUCCHs of different sizes for UE in a DCI and then transmits the DCI through a PDCCH. Yang et al was used to teach in Section 0170 wherein eMBB uses longer TTI length with a larger number of OFDM symbols and URLLC uses a shorter TTI length with a smaller number of OFDM symbols.
Hong et al was used to teach the claimed limitation “a second number of OFDM symbols that is greater than the first number of OFDM symbols”. Hong et al disclose in Figures 1-15 and Sections 0054, 0093, and 0123 disclose wherein a TTI comprises a plurality of OFDM symbols. Figure 1 shows that eMBB uses a longer TTI 130 with a larger number of OFDM symbols, and URLLC uses a shorter TTI 140 with a smaller number of OFDM symbols. Section 0054: although Figure 1 shows that URLLC TTI 140 is shorter than eMBB TTI 130, URLLC TTI 140 may be longer than eMBB TTI 130, with URLLC TTI 140 having a greater number of OFDM symbols than eMBB TTI 130 (claimed “a second number of OFDM symbols that is greater than the first number of OFDM symbols”). The arguments argue that Hong et al do not disclose selecting a PUCCH configuration to select a larger number of symbols for URLLC relative to eMBB. However, it is known in the art that a PUCCH configuration is associated with a TTI comprising a plurality of OFDM symbols. For example, U.S. Publication No. 20200205173 to Frederiksen et al disclose in Sections 0031-0032 wherein eMBB uses a long PUCCH with a long TTI comprising 7 or 14 OFDM symbols and URLLC uses a short PUCCH with a short TTI comprising 1-3 OFDM symbols. So: Hong et al disclose that URLLC can use a longer PUCCH configuration with a longer TTI comprising a larger number of OFDM symbols, relative to eMBB, which can use a shorter PUCCH configuration with a shorter TTI comprising a smaller number of OFDM symbols.
Therefore, although Tiirola et al disclose a long eMBB PUCCH configuration and a short URLLC PUCCH configuration, one can modify the system of Tiirola et al to include that that the second number of OFDM symbols for URLLC be greater than the first number of OFDM symbols for eMBB, as taught by Hong et al. By using a longer PUCCH for URLLC than for eMBB, URLLC transmissions can experience lower error rates and higher reliability, since the longer PUCCH allows for increased PUCCH length to increase the chance of a successful transmission without errors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9, 19, 20, and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20200221444 to Tiirola et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20190174440 to Kwak et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20190288801 to Yang et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20170353963 to Hong et al.
Referring to claim 1, Tiirola et al disclose in Figures 1-8 a method performed by a network node (BS) in a communications network (Figure 1, wireless network 130), the method comprising:
Configuring (Figure 6, step 610) a communication device with (UE) a plurality of uplink control channel (PUCCH) configurations each having a different number of OFDM symbols (Section 0047: different resource sets of uplink control channel resources may have a different number OFDM symbols). Step 610: BS determines a plurality of sets of uplink control channel resources, each set of uplink control channel resources having a resource configuration. The set of uplink control channel configurations are a set of PUCCH configurations that are configured by BS for UE.
Transmitting (Figure 6, step 620) an indication of a selected uplink control channel configuration of the plurality of uplink control channel configurations to the communication device (Step 620: BS selects one PUCCH configuration out of the set of PUCCH configurations for UE and transmits a message indicating the selected PUCCH configuration to UE) … further comprising:
Determining information (type of service: eMBB or URLLC) associated with the communication device, the information comprising a type of service (eMBB or URLLC) associated with the communication device. BS determines a type of service, eMBB or URLLC, associated with UE.
Selecting the uplink control channel configuration (long PUCCH format length for eMBB and short PUCCH format length for URLLC) based on a reliability requirement (eMBB has a non-high reliability requirement, URLLC has a high reliability requirement) associated with the type of service. Section 0047: different resource sets of uplink control channel resources may use either a short PUCCH or a long PUCCH. Sections 0026-0034 and 0038-0039: if UE uses eMBB, which is a non-high reliability data service type which can tolerate higher latency, UE may transmits uplink control information via a long PUCCH format length. If UE uses URLLC, which is a high reliability/low latency data service type which cannot tolerate latency, UE transmits uplink control information via a short PUCCH format length. So: if the type of service is eMBB, wherein eMBB has a non-high reliability requirement and can tolerate higher latency, BS selects a long PUCCH format length; if the type of service is URLLC, wherein URLLC has a high reliability requirement and cannot tolerate latency, BS selects a short PUCCH format length. So, BS selects a PUCCH format based on the reliability requirement of the type of service, eMBB or URLLC.
Wherein selecting the uplink control channel configuration based on the type of service comprises:
Responsive to the type of service comprising an eMBB service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a long PUCCH format.
Responsive to the type of service comprising an URLLC service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a short PUCCH format … Section 0047: different resource sets of uplink control channel resources may use either a short PUCCH or a long PUCCH. Sections 0030-0034 and 0038: a non-high reliability data service type, eMBB, on UE may transmits uplink control information via a long PUCCH format length, while a high reliability/low latency data service type, URLLC, on UE transmits uplink control information via a short PUCCH format length. Refer to Sections 0023-0149.
Tiirola et al do not disclose … transmitting an indication of a selected uplink control channel configuration of the plurality of uplink control channel configurations to the communication device on a downlink control channel further comprising …
Kwak et al disclose in Figures 1-71 and Sections 0126, 0129 wherein BS configures PUCCHs of different sizes for UE. BS includes the PUCCH configuration information in a DCI and transmits the DCI through a PDCCH, UE then utilizes the PDCCH configuration for communication with BS. Refer to Sections 0094-0553. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … transmitting an indication of a selected uplink control channel configuration of the plurality of uplink control channel configurations to the communication device on a downlink control channel further comprising … One would have been motivated to do so that BS can indicate the PUCCH configuration to UE via the downlink control channel, and then UE and BS can communicate using the PUCCH configuration.
Tiirola et al and Kwak et al do not disclose wherein selecting the uplink control channel configuration based on the type of service comprises: responsive to the type of service comprising an eMBB service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a first number of OFDM symbols; and responsive to the type of service comprising an URLLC service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a second number of OFDM symbols …
Yang et al disclose in Figures 1-24 and Section 0170 wherein eMBB uses longer TTI length with a larger number of OFDM symbols and URLLC uses a shorter TTI length with a smaller number of OFDM symbols. By applying Yang et al to Tiirola et al: the long PUCCH format of eMBB has a first number of OFDM symbols, which is larger, and the short PUCCH format of URLLC has a second number of OFDM symbols, which is shorter. Refer to Sections 0032-0191. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein selecting the uplink control channel configuration based on the type of service comprises: responsive to the type of service comprising an eMBB service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a first number of OFDM symbols; and responsive to the type of service comprising an URLLC service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a second number of OFDM symbols … One would have been motivated to do to select a PUCCH configuration for eMBB having a first number of OFDM symbols and select a PUCCH configuration for URLLC having a second number of OFDM symbols, since a PUCCH format includes a plurality of OFDM symbols.
Tiirola et al, Kwak et al, and Yang et al do not disclose wherein selecting the uplink control channel configuration based on the type of service comprises: responsive to the type of service comprising an eMBB service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a first number of OFDM symbols; and responsive to the type of service comprising an URLLC service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a second number of OFDM symbols that is greater than the first number of OFDM symbols.
Hong et al disclose in Figures 1-15 and Sections 0054, 0093, and 0123 disclose wherein a TTI comprises a plurality of OFDM symbols. Figure 1 shows that eMBB uses a longer TTI 130 with a larger number of OFDM symbols, and URLLC uses a shorter TTI 140 with a smaller number of OFDM symbols. Section 0054: although Figure 1 shows that URLLC TTI 140 is shorter than eMBB TTI 130, URLLC TTI 140 may be longer than eMBB TTI 130, with URLLC TTI 140 having a greater number of OFDM symbols than eMBB TTI 130 (claimed “… that is greater than the first number of OFDM symbols”). Refer to Sections 0042-0205. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein selecting the uplink control channel configuration based on the type of service comprises: responsive to the type of service comprising an eMBB service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a first number of OFDM symbols; and responsive to the type of service comprising an URLLC service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a second number of OFDM symbols that is greater than the first number of OFDM symbols. One would have been motivated to do so so that the second number of OFDM symbols for URLLC can be greater than the first number of OFDM symbols for eMBB, thereby facilitating transmission of URLLC data with a greater number of OFDM symbols than eMBB.
Referring to claim 2, Tiirola et al disclose in Figures 1-8 wherein the plurality of uplink control channel configurations are PUCCH resource configurations. BS configures a set of PUCCH configurations for UE and then selects a PUCCH configuration out of the set of PUCCH configurations for UE. Refer to Sections 0023-0149.
Referring to claim 3, Tiirola et al disclose in Figures 1-8 wherein configuring the communication device comprises configuring the communication device with the plurality of uplink control channel configurations via RRC signaling. Sections 0050-0054, 0060, 0061, and 0084: BS configures the set of PUCCH configurations using RRC signaling and then transmits an indication of the set of PUCCH configurations to UE using RRC signaling. Refer to Sections 0023-0149.
Referring to claim 9, Tiirola et al disclose in Figures 1-8 wherein the information associated with the communication device further comprises a SINR associated with an uplink communication channel of the communication device. Section 0045: network conditions change over time such as SINR; a lower SINR may require more resources to be assigned to UE to transmit the same amount of UCI than a higher SINR for uplink data transmission, so a PUCCH configuration with more resources is assigned to a lower SINR than a higher SINR. Refer to Sections 0023-0149.
Referring to claim 19, Tiirola et al disclose in Figures 1-8 a network node (BS) operating in a communications network (Figures 1, wireless network 130), the network node comprising:
Processing circuitry (processor 1004).
Memory (1006) coupled to the processing circuitry and having instructions stored therein that are executable by the processing circuitry for causing the network node to perform operations (memory 1006 stores instructions that are executed by processor 1004 to perform BS functions), the operations comprising:
Configuring (Figure 6, step 610) a communication device with (UE) a plurality of uplink control channel (PUCCH) configurations each having a different number of OFDM symbols (Section 0047: different resource sets of uplink control channel resources may have a different number OFDM symbols). Step 610: BS determines a plurality of sets of uplink control channel resources, each set of uplink control channel resources having a resource configuration. The set of uplink control channel configurations are a set of PUCCH configurations that are configured by BS for UE.
Transmitting (Figure 6, step 620) an indication of a selected uplink control channel configuration of the plurality of uplink control channel configurations to the communication device (Step 620: BS selects one PUCCH configuration out of the set of PUCCH configurations for UE and transmits a message indicating the selected PUCCH configuration to UE) … further comprising:
Determining information (type of service: eMBB or URLLC) associated with the communication device, the information comprising a type of service (eMBB or URLLC) associated with the communication device. BS determines a type of service, eMBB or URLLC, associated with UE.
Selecting the uplink control channel configuration (long PUCCH format length for eMBB and short PUCCH format length for URLLC) based on a reliability requirement (eMBB has a non-high reliability requirement, URLLC has a high reliability requirement) associated with the type of service. Section 0047: different resource sets of uplink control channel resources may use either a short PUCCH or a long PUCCH. Sections 0026-0034 and 0038-0039: if UE uses eMBB, which is a non-high reliability data service type which can tolerate higher latency, UE may transmits uplink control information via a long PUCCH format length. If UE uses URLLC, which is a high reliability/low latency data service type which cannot tolerate latency, UE transmits uplink control information via a short PUCCH format length. So: if the type of service is eMBB, wherein eMBB has a non-high reliability requirement and can tolerate higher latency, BS selects a long PUCCH format length; if the type of service is URLLC, wherein URLLC has a high reliability requirement and cannot tolerate latency, BS selects a short PUCCH format length. So, BS selects a PUCCH format based on the reliability requirement of the type of service, eMBB or URLLC.
Wherein selecting the uplink control channel configuration based on the type of service comprises:
Responsive to the type of service comprising an eMBB service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a long PUCCH format.
Responsive to the type of service comprising an URLLC service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a short PUCCH format … Section 0047: different resource sets of uplink control channel resources may use either a short PUCCH or a long PUCCH. Sections 0030-0034 and 0038: a non-high reliability data service type, eMBB, on UE may transmits uplink control information via a long PUCCH format length, while a high reliability/low latency data service type, URLLC, on UE transmits uplink control information via a short PUCCH format length. Refer to Sections 0023-0149.
Tiirola et al do not disclose … transmitting an indication of a selected uplink control channel configuration of the plurality of uplink control channel configurations to the communication device on a downlink control channel further comprising …
Kwak et al disclose in Figures 1-71 and Sections 0126, 0129 wherein BS configures PUCCHs of different sizes for UE. BS includes the PUCCH configuration information in a DCI and transmits the DCI through a PDCCH, UE then utilizes the PDCCH configuration for communication with BS. Refer to Sections 0094-0553. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … transmitting an indication of a selected uplink control channel configuration of the plurality of uplink control channel configurations to the communication device on a downlink control channel further comprising … One would have been motivated to do so that BS can indicate the PUCCH configuration to UE via the downlink control channel, and then UE and BS can communicate using the PUCCH configuration.
Tiirola et al and Kwak et al do not disclose wherein selecting the uplink control channel configuration based on the type of service comprises: responsive to the type of service comprising an eMBB service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a first number of OFDM symbols; and responsive to the type of service comprising an URLLC service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a second number of OFDM symbols …
Yang et al disclose in Figures 1-24 and Section 0170 wherein eMBB uses longer TTI length with a larger number of OFDM symbols and URLLC uses a shorter TTI length with a smaller number of OFDM symbols. By applying Yang et al to Tiirola et al: the long PUCCH format of eMBB has a first number of OFDM symbols, which is larger, and the short PUCCH format of URLLC has a second number of OFDM symbols, which is shorter. Refer to Sections 0032-0191. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein selecting the uplink control channel configuration based on the type of service comprises: responsive to the type of service comprising an eMBB service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a first number of OFDM symbols; and responsive to the type of service comprising an URLLC service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a second number of OFDM symbols … One would have been motivated to do to select a PUCCH configuration for eMBB having a first number of OFDM symbols and select a PUCCH configuration for URLLC having a second number of OFDM symbols, since a PUCCH format includes a plurality of OFDM symbols.
Tiirola et al, Kwak et al, and Yang et al do not disclose wherein selecting the uplink control channel configuration based on the type of service comprises: responsive to the type of service comprising an eMBB service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a first number of OFDM symbols; and responsive to the type of service comprising an URLLC service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a second number of OFDM symbols that is greater than the first number of OFDM symbols.
Hong et al disclose in Figures 1-15 and Sections 0054, 0093, and 0123 disclose wherein a TTI comprises a plurality of OFDM symbols. Figure 1 shows that eMBB uses a longer TTI 130 with a larger number of OFDM symbols, and URLLC uses a shorter TTI 140 with a smaller number of OFDM symbols. Section 0054: although Figure 1 shows that URLLC TTI 140 is shorter than eMBB TTI 130, URLLC TTI 140 may be longer than eMBB TTI 130, with URLLC TTI 140 having a greater number of OFDM symbols than eMBB TTI 130 (claimed “… that is greater than the first number of OFDM symbols”). Refer to Sections 0042-0205. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein selecting the uplink control channel configuration based on the type of service comprises: responsive to the type of service comprising an eMBB service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a first number of OFDM symbols; and responsive to the type of service comprising an URLLC service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a second number of OFDM symbols that is greater than the first number of OFDM symbols. One would have been motivated to do so so that the second number of OFDM symbols for URLLC can be greater than the first number of OFDM symbols for eMBB, thereby facilitating transmission of URLLC data with a greater number of OFDM symbols than eMBB.
Referring to claim 20, Tiirola et al disclose in Figures 1-8 wherein the plurality of uplink control channel configurations are PUCCH resource configurations. BS configures a set of PUCCH configurations for UE and then selects a PUCCH configuration out of the set of PUCCH configurations for UE. Refer to Sections 0023-0149.
Referring to claim 45, Tiirola et al disclose in Figures 1-8 a computer program (stored in memory 1006) comprising program code to be executed by processing circuitry (processor 1004) of a communication device (UE) operating in a communications network (Figure 1, wireless network 130) or by processing circuitry (processor 1004) of a network node (BS), whereby execution of the program code causes the communication device to perform any of the operations (memory 1006 stores instructions that are executed by processor 1004 to perform UE functions) defined by claim 15 (refer to the rejection of claim 15), or causes the network node in a communications network (memory 1006 stores instructions that are executed by processor 1004 to perform BS functions) to:
Configure (Figure 6, step 610) a communication device with (UE) a plurality of uplink control channel (PUCCH) configurations each having a different number of OFDM symbols (Section 0047: different resource sets of uplink control channel resources may have a different number OFDM symbols). Step 610: BS determines a plurality of sets of uplink control channel resources, each set of uplink control channel resources having a resource configuration. The set of uplink control channel configurations are a set of PUCCH configurations that are configured by BS for UE.
Transmit (Figure 6, step 620) an indication of a selected uplink control channel configuration of the plurality of uplink control channel configurations to the communication device (Step 620: BS selects one PUCCH configuration out of the set of PUCCH configurations for UE and transmits a message indicating the selected PUCCH configuration to UE) … further comprising:
Determining information (type of service: eMBB or URLLC) associated with the communication device, the information comprising a type of service (eMBB or URLLC) associated with the communication device. BS determines a type of service, eMBB or URLLC, associated with UE.
Selecting the uplink control channel configuration (long PUCCH format length for eMBB and short PUCCH format length for URLLC) based on a reliability requirement (eMBB has a non-high reliability requirement, URLLC has a high reliability requirement) associated with the type of service. Section 0047: different resource sets of uplink control channel resources may use either a short PUCCH or a long PUCCH. Sections 0026-0034 and 0038-0039: if UE uses eMBB, which is a non-high reliability data service type which can tolerate higher latency, UE may transmits uplink control information via a long PUCCH format length. If UE uses URLLC, which is a high reliability/low latency data service type which cannot tolerate latency, UE transmits uplink control information via a short PUCCH format length. So: if the type of service is eMBB, wherein eMBB has a non-high reliability requirement and can tolerate higher latency, BS selects a long PUCCH format length; if the type of service is URLLC, wherein URLLC has a high reliability requirement and cannot tolerate latency, BS selects a short PUCCH format length. So, BS selects a PUCCH format based on the reliability requirement of the type of service, eMBB or URLLC.
Wherein selecting the uplink control channel configuration based on the type of service comprises:
Responsive to the type of service comprising an eMBB service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a long PUCCH format.
Responsive to the type of service comprising an URLLC service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a short PUCCH format … Section 0047: different resource sets of uplink control channel resources may use either a short PUCCH or a long PUCCH. Sections 0030-0034 and 0038: a non-high reliability data service type, eMBB, on UE may transmits uplink control information via a long PUCCH format length, while a high reliability/low latency data service type, URLLC, on UE transmits uplink control information via a short PUCCH format length. Refer to Sections 0023-0149.
Tiirola et al do not disclose … transmit an indication of a selected uplink control channel configuration of the plurality of uplink control channel configurations to the communication device on a downlink control channel further comprising …
Kwak et al disclose in Figures 1-71 and Sections 0126, 0129 wherein BS configures PUCCHs of different sizes for UE. BS includes the PUCCH configuration information in a DCI and transmits the DCI through a PDCCH, UE then utilizes the PDCCH configuration for communication with BS. Refer to Sections 0094-0553. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … transmit an indication of a selected uplink control channel configuration of the plurality of uplink control channel configurations to the communication device on a downlink control channel further comprising … One would have been motivated to do so that BS can indicate the PUCCH configuration to UE via the downlink control channel, and then UE and BS can communicate using the PUCCH configuration.
Tiirola et al and Kwak et al do not disclose wherein selecting the uplink control channel configuration based on the type of service comprises: responsive to the type of service comprising an eMBB service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a first number of OFDM symbols; and responsive to the type of service comprising an URLLC service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a second number of OFDM symbols …
Yang et al disclose in Figures 1-24 and Section 0170 wherein eMBB uses longer TTI length with a larger number of OFDM symbols and URLLC uses a shorter TTI length with a smaller number of OFDM symbols. By applying Yang et al to Tiirola et al: the long PUCCH format of eMBB has a first number of OFDM symbols, which is larger, and the short PUCCH format of URLLC has a second number of OFDM symbols, which is shorter. Refer to Sections 0032-0191. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein selecting the uplink control channel configuration based on the type of service comprises: responsive to the type of service comprising an eMBB service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a first number of OFDM symbols; and responsive to the type of service comprising an URLLC service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a second number of OFDM symbols … One would have been motivated to do to select a PUCCH configuration for eMBB having a first number of OFDM symbols and select a PUCCH configuration for URLLC having a second number of OFDM symbols, since a PUCCH format includes a plurality of OFDM symbols.
Tiirola et al, Kwak et al, and Yang et al do not disclose wherein selecting the uplink control channel configuration based on the type of service comprises: responsive to the type of service comprising an eMBB service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a first number of OFDM symbols; and responsive to the type of service comprising an URLLC service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a second number of OFDM symbols that is greater than the first number of OFDM symbols.
Hong et al disclose in Figures 1-15 and Sections 0054, 0093, and 0123 disclose wherein a TTI comprises a plurality of OFDM symbols. Figure 1 shows that eMBB uses a longer TTI 130 with a larger number of OFDM symbols, and URLLC uses a shorter TTI 140 with a smaller number of OFDM symbols. Section 0054: although Figure 1 shows that URLLC TTI 140 is shorter than eMBB TTI 130, URLLC TTI 140 may be longer than eMBB TTI 130, with URLLC TTI 140 having a greater number of OFDM symbols than eMBB TTI 130 (claimed “… that is greater than the first number of OFDM symbols”). Refer to Sections 0042-0205. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein selecting the uplink control channel configuration based on the type of service comprises: responsive to the type of service comprising an eMBB service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a first number of OFDM symbols; and responsive to the type of service comprising an URLLC service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a second number of OFDM symbols that is greater than the first number of OFDM symbols. One would have been motivated to do so so that the second number of OFDM symbols for URLLC can be greater than the first number of OFDM symbols for eMBB, thereby facilitating transmission of URLLC data with a greater number of OFDM symbols than eMBB.
Claims 4, 15-17, and 39-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20200221444 to Tiirola et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20190174440 to Kwak et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20190288801 to Yang et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20170353963 to Hong et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20210297966 to Noh et al.
Referring to claim 4, Tirrola et al disclose in Figures 1-8 further comprising: responsive to transmitting the indication, receiving a HARQ ACK message from the communication device, the HARQ ACK message … indicated by the selected uplink control channel configuration (Sections 0032 and 0044-0059). BS configures a plurality of sets of PUCCH configurations for UE to transmit a type of UCI: SR, CSI, and HARQ feedback, which includes the claimed “HARQ ACK”. Each set of PUCCH configurations for each type of UCI has a different resource configuration. For example, different resource sets of PUCCH configurations may use either a short PUCCH or a long PUCCH, different PUCCH formats, different number of PRBs, different number of OFDM symbols, etc. for each different type of UCI. So, in response to receiving the selected PUCCH configuration for HARQ feedback from BS, UE transmits a HARQ ACK message to BS using the selected PUCCH configuration for HARQ feedback, which includes the PUCCH format indicated for HARQ feedback and the number of OFDM symbols indicated for HARQ feedback. Refer to Sections 0023-0149.
Tiirola et al, Kwak et al, Yang et al, and Hong et al do not disclose further comprising: responsive to transmitting the indication, receiving a HARQ ACK message from the communication device, the HARQ ACK message having an uplink control channel format and a number of OFDM symbols indicated by the selected uplink control channel configuration.
Noh et al disclose in Figures 1-45 and Sections 0108-0117 wherein UE transmits HARQ-ACK to BS according to a PUCCH format and number of OFDM symbols according to Table 3; for example, HARQ-ACK can be transmitted using PUCCH format 0 with a length of 1-2 OFDM symbols. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include further comprising: responsive to transmitting the indication, receiving a HARQ ACK message from the communication device, the HARQ ACK message having an uplink control channel format and a number of OFDM symbols indicated by the selected uplink control channel configuration. One would have been motivated to do so since UE can transmit to BS HARQ-ACK feedback using a specified PUCCH format and number of OFDM symbols.
Referring to claim 15, Tiirola et al disclose in Figures 1-8 a method performed by a communication device (UE) in a communications network (Figure 1, wireless network 130) that includes a network node (BS), the method comprising:
Receiving (Figure 6, step 620) an indication of a selected uplink control channel configuration of a plurality of uplink control channel configurations (PUCCH configurations) from the network node …, each uplink control channel configuration of the plurality of uplink control channel configurations having a different number of OFDM symbols (Section 0047: different resource sets of uplink control channel resources may have a different number OFDM symbols). Step 610: BS determines a plurality of sets of uplink control channel resources, each set of uplink control channel resources having a resource configuration. The set of uplink control channel configurations are a set of PUCCH configurations that are configured by BS for UE. Step 620: BS selects one PUCCH configuration out of the set of PUCCH configurations for UE and transmits a message indicating the selected PUCCH configuration to UE.
Transmitting a HARQ-ACK message to the network node, the HARQ ACK message … indicated by the selected uplink control channel configuration. (Sections 0032 and 0044-0059). BS configures a plurality of sets of PUCCH configurations for UE to transmit a type of UCI: SR, CSI, and HARQ feedback, which includes the claimed “HARQ ACK”. Each set of PUCCH configurations for each type of UCI has a different resource configuration. For example, different resource sets of PUCCH configurations may use either a short PUCCH or a long PUCCH, different PUCCH formats, different number of PRBs, different number of OFDM symbols, etc. for each different type of UCI. So, in response to receiving the selected PUCCH configuration for HARQ feedback from BS, UE transmits a HARQ ACK message to BS using the selected PUCCH configuration for HARQ feedback, which includes the PUCCH format indicated for HARQ feedback and the number of OFDM symbols indicated for HARQ feedback. Refer to Sections 0023-0149.
Wherein the received the uplink control channel configuration (long PUCCH format length for eMBB and short PUCCH format length for URLLC) is based on a reliability requirement (eMBB has a non-high reliability requirement, URLLC has a high reliability requirement) associated with the type of service associated with the communication device. Section 0047: different resource sets of uplink control channel resources may use either a short PUCCH or a long PUCCH. Sections 0026-0034 and 0038-0039: if UE uses eMBB, which is a non-high reliability data service type which can tolerate higher latency, UE may transmits uplink control information via a long PUCCH format length. If UE uses URLLC, which is a high reliability/low latency data service type which cannot tolerate latency, UE transmits uplink control information via a short PUCCH format length. So: if the type of service is eMBB, wherein eMBB has a non-high reliability requirement and can tolerate higher latency, BS selects a long PUCCH format length; if the type of service is URLLC, wherein URLLC has a high reliability requirement and cannot tolerate latency, BS selects a short PUCCH format length. So, BS selects a PUCCH format based on the reliability requirement of the type of service, eMBB or URLLC.
Responsive to the type of service comprising an eMBB service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a long PUCCH format.
Responsive to the type of service comprising an URLLC service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a short PUCCH format … Section 0047: different resource sets of uplink control channel resources may use either a short PUCCH or a long PUCCH. Sections 0030-0034 and 0038: a non-high reliability data service type, eMBB, on UE may transmits uplink control information via a long PUCCH format length, while a high reliability/low latency data service type, URLLC, on UE transmits uplink control information via a short PUCCH format length. Refer to Sections 0023-0149.
Tiirola et al do not disclose … receiving an indication of a selected uplink control channel configuration of the plurality of uplink control channel configurations from the network node on a downlink control channel further comprising …
Kwak et al disclose in Figures 1-71 and Sections 0126, 0129 wherein BS configures PUCCHs of different sizes for UE. BS includes the PUCCH configuration information in a DCI and transmits the DCI through a PDCCH, UE then utilizes the PDCCH configuration for communication with BS. Refer to Sections 0094-0553. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … receiving an indication of a selected uplink control channel configuration of the plurality of uplink control channel configurations from the network node on a downlink control channel further comprising … One would have been motivated to do so that BS can indicate the PUCCH configuration to UE via the downlink control channel, and then UE and BS can communicate using the PUCCH configuration.
Tiirola et al and Kwak et al do not disclose … responsive to the type of service comprising an eMBB service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a first number of OFDM symbols; and responsive to the type of service comprising an URLLC service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a second number of OFDM symbols …
Yang et al disclose in Figures 1-24 and Section 0170 wherein eMBB uses longer TTI length with a larger number of OFDM symbols and URLLC uses a shorter TTI length with a smaller number of OFDM symbols. By applying Yang et al to Tiirola et al: the long PUCCH format of eMBB has a first number of OFDM symbols, which is larger, and the short PUCCH format of URLLC has a second number of OFDM symbols, which is shorter. Refer to Sections 0032-0191. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … responsive to the type of service comprising an eMBB service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a first number of OFDM symbols; and responsive to the type of service comprising an URLLC service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a second number of OFDM symbols … One would have been motivated to do to select a PUCCH configuration for eMBB having a first number of OFDM symbols and select a PUCCH configuration for URLLC having a second number of OFDM symbols, since a PUCCH format includes a plurality of OFDM symbols.
Tiirola et al, Kwak et al, and Yang et al do not disclose … responsive to the type of service comprising an eMBB service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a first number of OFDM symbols; and responsive to the type of service comprising an URLLC service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a second number of OFDM symbols that is greater than the first number of OFDM symbols.
Hong et al disclose in Figures 1-15 and Sections 0054, 0093, and 0123 disclose wherein a TTI comprises a plurality of OFDM symbols. Figure 1 shows that eMBB uses a longer TTI 130 with a larger number of OFDM symbols, and URLLC uses a shorter TTI 140 with a smaller number of OFDM symbols. Section 0054: although Figure 1 shows that URLLC TTI 140 is shorter than eMBB TTI 130, URLLC TTI 140 may be longer than eMBB TTI 130, with URLLC TTI 140 having a greater number of OFDM symbols than eMBB TTI 130 (claimed “… that is greater than the first number of OFDM symbols”). Refer to Sections 0042-0205. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … responsive to the type of service comprising an eMBB service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a first number of OFDM symbols; and responsive to the type of service comprising an URLLC service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a second number of OFDM symbols that is greater than the first number of OFDM symbols. One would have been motivated to do so so that the second number of OFDM symbols for URLLC can be greater than the first number of OFDM symbols for eMBB, thereby facilitating transmission of URLLC data with a greater number of OFDM symbols than eMBB.
Tiirola et al, Kwak et al, Yang et al, and Hong et al do not disclose … transmitting a HARQ-ACK message to the network node, the HARQ ACK message having an uplink control channel format and a number of OFDM symbols indicated by the selected uplink control channel configuration…
Noh et al disclose in Figures 1-45 and Sections 0108-0117 wherein UE transmits HARQ-ACK to BS according to a PUCCH format and number of OFDM symbols according to Table 3; for example, HARQ-ACK can be transmitted using PUCCH format 0 with a length of 1-2 OFDM symbols. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … transmitting a HARQ-ACK message to the network node, the HARQ ACK message having an uplink control channel format and a number of OFDM symbols indicated by the selected uplink control channel configuration … One would have been motivated to do so since UE can transmit to BS HARQ-ACK feedback using a specified PUCCH format and number of OFDM symbols.
Referring to claim 16, Tiirola et al disclose in Figures 1-8 wherein the plurality of uplink control channel configurations are PUCCH resource configurations. BS configures a set of PUCCH configurations for UE and then selects a PUCCH configuration out of the set of PUCCH configurations for UE. Refer to Sections 0023-0149.
Referring to claim 17, Tiirola et al disclose in Figures 1-8 further comprising: receiving the plurality of uplink control channel configurations from the network via RRC signaling. Sections 0050-0054, 0060, 0061, and 0084: BS configures the set of PUCCH configurations using RRC signaling and then transmits an indication of the set of PUCCH configurations to UE using RRC signaling. Refer to Sections 0023-0149.
Referring to claim 39, Tiirola et al disclose a communication device (UE) operating in a communications network (Figure 1, wireless network 130) including a network node (BS), the communication device comprising:
Processing circuitry (processor 1004).
Memory (1006) coupled to the processing circuitry and having instructions stored therein that are executable by the processing circuitry for causing the network node to perform operations (memory 1006 stores instructions that are executed by processor 1004 to perform UE functions), the operations comprising:
Receiving (Figure 6, step 620) an indication of a selected uplink control channel configuration of a plurality of uplink control channel configurations (PUCCH configurations) from the network node …, each uplink control channel configuration of the plurality of uplink control channel configurations having a different number of OFDM symbols (Section 0047: different resource sets of uplink control channel resources may have a different number OFDM symbols). Step 610: BS determines a plurality of sets of uplink control channel resources, each set of uplink control channel resources having a resource configuration. The set of uplink control channel configurations are a set of PUCCH configurations that are configured by BS for UE. Step 620: BS selects one PUCCH configuration out of the set of PUCCH configurations for UE and transmits a message indicating the selected PUCCH configuration to UE.
Transmitting a HARQ-ACK message to the network node, the HARQ ACK message … indicated by the selected uplink control channel configuration (Sections 0032 and 0044-0059). BS configures a plurality of sets of PUCCH configurations for UE to transmit a type of UCI: SR, CSI, and HARQ feedback, which includes the claimed “HARQ ACK”. Each set of PUCCH configurations for each type of UCI has a different resource configuration. For example, different resource sets of PUCCH configurations may use either a short PUCCH or a long PUCCH, different PUCCH formats, different number of PRBs, different number of OFDM symbols, etc. for each different type of UCI. So, in response to receiving the selected PUCCH configuration for HARQ feedback from BS, UE transmits a HARQ ACK message to BS using the selected PUCCH configuration for HARQ feedback, which includes the PUCCH format indicated for HARQ feedback and the number of OFDM symbols indicated for HARQ feedback. Refer to Sections 0023-0149.
Wherein the received the uplink control channel configuration (long PUCCH format length for eMBB and short PUCCH format length for URLLC) is based on a reliability requirement (eMBB has a non-high reliability requirement, URLLC has a high reliability requirement) associated with the type of service associated with the communication device. Section 0047: different resource sets of uplink control channel resources may use either a short PUCCH or a long PUCCH. Sections 0026-0034 and 0038-0039: if UE uses eMBB, which is a non-high reliability data service type which can tolerate higher latency, UE may transmits uplink control information via a long PUCCH format length. If UE uses URLLC, which is a high reliability/low latency data service type which cannot tolerate latency, UE transmits uplink control information via a short PUCCH format length. So: if the type of service is eMBB, wherein eMBB has a non-high reliability requirement and can tolerate higher latency, BS selects a long PUCCH format length; if the type of service is URLLC, wherein URLLC has a high reliability requirement and cannot tolerate latency, BS selects a short PUCCH format length. So, BS selects a PUCCH format based on the reliability requirement of the type of service, eMBB or URLLC. Refer to Sections 0023-0149.
Responsive to the type of service comprising an eMBB service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a long PUCCH format.
Responsive to the type of service comprising an URLLC service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a short PUCCH format … Section 0047: different resource sets of uplink control channel resources may use either a short PUCCH or a long PUCCH. Sections 0030-0034 and 0038: a non-high reliability data service type, eMBB, on UE may transmits uplink control information via a long PUCCH format length, while a high reliability/low latency data service type, URLLC, on UE transmits uplink control information via a short PUCCH format length. Refer to Sections 0023-0149.
Tiirola et al do not disclose … receiving an indication of a selected uplink control channel configuration of the plurality of uplink control channel configurations from the network node on a downlink control channel further comprising …
Kwak et al disclose in Figures 1-71 and Sections 0126, 0129 wherein BS configures PUCCHs of different sizes for UE. BS includes the PUCCH configuration information in a DCI and transmits the DCI through a PDCCH, UE then utilizes the PDCCH configuration for communication with BS. Refer to Sections 0094-0553. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … receiving an indication of a selected uplink control channel configuration of the plurality of uplink control channel configurations from the network node on a downlink control channel further comprising … One would have been motivated to do so that BS can indicate the PUCCH configuration to UE via the downlink control channel, and then UE and BS can communicate using the PUCCH configuration.
Tiirola et al and Kwak et al do not disclose … responsive to the type of service comprising an eMBB service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a first number of OFDM symbols; and responsive to the type of service comprising an URLLC service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a second number of OFDM symbols …
Yang et al disclose in Figures 1-24 and Section 0170 wherein eMBB uses longer TTI length with a larger number of OFDM symbols and URLLC uses a shorter TTI length with a smaller number of OFDM symbols. By applying Yang et al to Tiirola et al: the long PUCCH format of eMBB has a first number of OFDM symbols, which is larger, and the short PUCCH format of URLLC has a second number of OFDM symbols, which is shorter. Refer to Sections 0032-0191. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … responsive to the type of service comprising an eMBB service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a first number of OFDM symbols; and responsive to the type of service comprising an URLLC service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a second number of OFDM symbols … One would have been motivated to do to select a PUCCH configuration for eMBB having a first number of OFDM symbols and select a PUCCH configuration for URLLC having a second number of OFDM symbols, since a PUCCH format includes a plurality of OFDM symbols.
Tiirola et al, Kwak et al, and Yang et al do not disclose … responsive to the type of service comprising an eMBB service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a first number of OFDM symbols; and responsive to the type of service comprising an URLLC service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a second number of OFDM symbols that is greater than the first number of OFDM symbols.
Hong et al disclose in Figures 1-15 and Sections 0054, 0093, and 0123 disclose wherein a TTI comprises a plurality of OFDM symbols. Figure 1 shows that eMBB uses a longer TTI 130 with a larger number of OFDM symbols, and URLLC uses a shorter TTI 140 with a smaller number of OFDM symbols. Section 0054: although Figure 1 shows that URLLC TTI 140 is shorter than eMBB TTI 130, URLLC TTI 140 may be longer than eMBB TTI 130, with URLLC TTI 140 having a greater number of OFDM symbols than eMBB TTI 130 (claimed “… that is greater than the first number of OFDM symbols”). Refer to Sections 0042-0205. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … responsive to the type of service comprising an eMBB service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a first number of OFDM symbols; and responsive to the type of service comprising an URLLC service, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a second number of OFDM symbols that is greater than the first number of OFDM symbols. One would have been motivated to do so so that the second number of OFDM symbols for URLLC can be greater than the first number of OFDM symbols for eMBB, thereby facilitating transmission of URLLC data with a greater number of OFDM symbols than eMBB.
Tiirola et al, Kwak et al, Yang et al, and Hong et al do not disclose … transmitting a HARQ-ACK message to the network node, the HARQ ACK message having an uplink control channel format and a number of OFDM symbols indicated by the selected uplink control channel configuration…
Noh et al disclose in Figures 1-45 and Sections 0108-0117 wherein UE transmits HARQ-ACK to BS according to a PUCCH format and number of OFDM symbols according to Table 3; for example, HARQ-ACK can be transmitted using PUCCH format 0 with a length of 1-2 OFDM symbols. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … transmitting a HARQ-ACK message to the network node, the HARQ ACK message having an uplink control channel format and a number of OFDM symbols indicated by the selected uplink control channel configuration … One would have been motivated to do so since UE can transmit to BS HARQ-ACK feedback using a specified PUCCH format and number of OFDM symbols.
Referring to claim 40, Tiirola et al disclose in Figures 1-8 wherein the plurality of uplink control channel configurations are PUCCH resource configurations. BS configures a set of PUCCH configurations for UE and then selects a PUCCH configuration out of the set of PUCCH configurations for UE. Refer to Sections 0023-0149.
Referring to claim 41, Tiirola et al disclose in Figures 1-8 further comprising: receiving the plurality of uplink control channel configurations from the network via RRC signaling. Sections 0050-0054, 0060, 0061, and 0084: BS configures the set of PUCCH configurations using RRC signaling and then transmits an indication of the set of PUCCH configurations to UE using RRC signaling. Refer to Sections 0023-0149.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20200221444 to Tiirola et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20190174440 to Kwak et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20190288801 to Yang et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20170353963 to Hong et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20210298052 to Namba et al.
Tiirola et al disclose in Figures 1-8 wherein the type of service comprises eMBB or URLLC, and wherein the reliability requirement comprises a block-error-rate target (BLER target associated with URLLC) associated with the type of device. Sections 0026-0034 and 0038-0039: if UE uses eMBB, which is a non-high reliability data service type which can tolerate higher latency, UE may transmits uplink control information via a long PUCCH format length. If UE uses URLLC, which is a high reliability/low latency data service type which cannot tolerate latency, UE transmits uplink control information via a short PUCCH format length. Sections 0028 and 0030: URLLC has a BLER target of 10-5 to 1 ms. Refer to Sections 0023-0149.
Tiirola et al, Kwak et al, Yang et al, and Hong et al do not disclose wherein the type of service comprises eMBB or URLLC, and wherein the reliability requirement comprises a block-error-rate target associated with the type of device (block-error-rate target associated with eMBB). Tiirola et al only disclose in Sections 0028 and 0030 wherein URLLC has a BLER target of 10-5 to 1 ms.
Namba et al disclose in Figures 1-13 and Sections 0047, 0154 wherein a block error rate for eMBB data may be targeted at 0.1 and a block error rate for URLLC data may be targeted at 0.00001. Refer to Sections 0041-0202. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the type of service comprises eMBB or URLLC, and wherein the reliability requirement comprises a block-error-rate target associated with the type of device (block-error-rate target associated with eMBB). One would have been motivated to do to so since eMBB and URLLC have respective BLER targets, thereby ensuring a target communication quality of eMBB and URLLC services.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20200221444 to Tiirola et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20190174440 to Kwak et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20190288801 to Yang et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20170353963 to Hong et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20140226552 to Niu et al.
Tiirola et al, Kwak et al, Yang et al, and Hong et al do not disclose wherein selecting the uplink control channel configuration comprises: determining whether the SINR exceeds a predetermined SINR threshold value; and selecting the uplink control channel configuration from the plurality of uplink control channel configurations based on whether the SINR exceeds the predetermined SINR threshold value.
Niu et al disclose in Figures 1-8 and Sections 0017, 0032, 0039, 0041, and 0050 wherein BS assigns a PUCCH resource for HARQ feedback for UEs. BS also assigns a different PUCCH resource for HARQ feedback for UEs with an SINR below a predetermined level. BS determines if the SINR for UEs is below/above a threshold, if the SINR is below the threshold, BS assigns a different PUCCH resource for the UEs. Refer to Sections 0022-0064. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein selecting the uplink control channel configuration comprises: determining whether the SINR exceeds a predetermined SINR threshold value; and selecting the uplink control channel configuration from the plurality of uplink control channel configurations based on whether the SINR exceeds the predetermined SINR threshold value. One would have been motivated to do to so that UEs with a SINR that is below/above a threshold is assigned a PUCCH configuration in order to adapt the PUCCH configuration to changing SINR conditions.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20200221444 to Tiirola et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20190174440 to Kwak et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20190288801 to Yang et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20170353963 to Hong et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20140226552 to Niu et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20230246764 to Laselva et al (support found in Provisional Application No. 63047557).
Tiirola et al, Kwak et al, Yang et al, and Hong et al do not disclose wherein selecting the uplink control channel configuration further comprises: responsive to the SINR exceeding the predetermined SINR threshold value, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a first PUCCH format; or responsive to the SINR not exceeding the predetermined SINR threshold value, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a second PUCCH format.
Niu et al disclose in Figures 1-8 and Sections 0017, 0032, 0039, 0041, and 0050 wherein BS assigns a PUCCH resource for HARQ feedback for UEs. BS also assigns a different PUCCH resource for HARQ feedback for UEs with an SINR below a predetermined level. BS determines if the SINR for UEs is below/above a threshold, if the SINR is below the threshold, BS assigns a different PUCCH resource for the UEs (claimed “responsive to the SINR not exceeding the predetermined SINR threshold value, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a second PUCCH format”), and if the SINR is above the threshold, BS does not assign a different PUCCH resource for the UEs and uses the same PUCCH resource (claimed “responsive to the SINR exceeding the predetermined SINR threshold value, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a first number of OFDM symbols”). Refer to Sections 0022-0064. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein selecting the uplink control channel configuration further comprises: responsive to the SINR exceeding the predetermined SINR threshold value, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a first PUCCH format; or responsive to the SINR not exceeding the predetermined SINR threshold value, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a second PUCCH format. One would have been motivated to do to so that UEs with a SINR that is below/above a threshold is assigned a PUCCH configuration in order to adapt the PUCCH configuration to changing SINR conditions.
Tiirola et al, Kwak et al, Yang et al, and Hong et al, and Niu et al do not disclose wherein selecting the uplink control channel configuration further comprises: responsive to the SINR exceeding the predetermined SINR threshold value, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a first number of OFDM symbols; or responsive to the SINR not exceeding the predetermined SINR threshold value, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a second number of OFDM symbols that is greater than the first number of OFDM symbols.
Laselva et al disclose in Figures 1-5 and Sections 0060, 0065, and 0078 wherein the SINR to a threshold to determine whether or not the UE is low SINR. A larger number of RSs can be provisioned for a low SINR UE, which can include a larger number of OFDM symbols that can be provisioned for a low SINR. So: if the SINR is greater than the threshold, a smaller number of OFDM symbols of a PUCCH configuration is used (claimed “responsive to the SINR exceeding the predetermined SINR threshold value, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a first number of OFDM symbols); and if the SINR is below the threshold, a larger number of OFDM symbols of a PUCCH configuration is used (claimed “responsive to the SINR not exceeding the predetermined SINR threshold value, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a second number of OFDM symbols that is greater than the first number of OFDM symbols”). Refer to Sections 0026-0181. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein selecting the uplink control channel configuration further comprises: responsive to the SINR exceeding the predetermined SINR threshold value, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a first number of OFDM symbols; or responsive to the SINR not exceeding the predetermined SINR threshold value, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a second number of OFDM symbols that is greater than the first number of OFDM symbols. One would have been motivated to do to so that UEs with a SINR that is below a threshold is assigned a larger number of OFDM symbols than UEs with a SINR above a threshold, thereby ensuring that low SINR UE’s are transmitted.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20200221444 to Tiirola et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20190174440 to Kwak et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20190288801 to Yang et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20170353963 to Hong et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20180103456 to Zhao.
Referring to claim 12, Tiirola et al, Kwak et al, Yang et al, and Hong et al do not disclose wherein the information associated with the communication device comprises a position of the communication device within the communications network.
Zhao disclose in Figures 1-17 and Sections 0112-0138, 0191, 0218-0219, 0301-0319, and 0330-0340 wherein the system determines according to location information of a first UE and location information of UEs to which transmission resources are currently already allocated, a second UE that meets a preset condition, wherein the preset condition is that a distance between the second UE and the first UE is greater than a first preset distance. If so, the system allocates, to the first UE, a transmission resource already allocated to the second UE. When a distance between UEs is greater than the first preset distance, impact on communication quality of the UEs is minimized, so the transmission resource allocated to the second UE may be allocated to the first UE. Transmission resources can include PUCCH resources. Refer to Sections 0088-0677. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the information associated with the communication device comprises a position of the communication device within the communications network. One would have been motivated to do since the location of the UE affects the PUCCH resource allocation; when a distance between UEs is greater than the first preset distance, impact on communication quality of the UEs is minimized, so the transmission resource allocated to the second UE may be allocated to the first UE.
Referring to claim 13, Tiirola et al, Kwak et al, Yang et al, and Hong et al do not disclose wherein selecting the uplink control channel configuration comprises: determining whether a distance between the network node and the position of the communication device exceeds a predetermined distance threshold value; and selecting the uplink control channel configuration from the plurality of uplink control channel configurations based on whether the distance exceeds the predetermined distance threshold value.
Zhao disclose in Figures 1-17 and Sections 0112-0138, 0191, 0218-0219, 0301-0319, and 0330-0340 wherein the system determines according to location information of a first UE and location information of UEs to which transmission resources are currently already allocated, a second UE that meets a preset condition, wherein the preset condition is that a distance between the second UE and the first UE is greater than a first preset distance (claimed “determining whether a distance between the network node and the position of the communication device exceeds a predetermined distance threshold value”). If so, the system allocates, to the first UE, a transmission resource already allocated to the second UE (claimed “selecting the uplink control channel configuration from the plurality of uplink control channel configurations based on whether the distance exceeds the predetermined distance threshold value.). If not, the system allocates, to the first UE, new transmission resources. When a distance between UEs is greater than the first preset distance, impact on communication quality of the UEs is minimized, so the transmission resource allocated to the second UE may be allocated to the first UE. Transmission resources can include PUCCH resources. Although Zhao discloses distance between UEs and not between the claimed “network node and the position of the communication device”, the method can be applied to a BS and UE; Zhao disclose determining the distance between BS and UE such as in Sections 0123, 0204, 0297, and 0374. Refer to Sections 0088-0677. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein selecting the uplink control channel configuration comprises: determining whether a distance between the network node and the position of the communication device exceeds a predetermined distance threshold value; and selecting the uplink control channel configuration from the plurality of uplink control channel configurations based on whether the distance exceeds the predetermined distance threshold value. One would have been motivated to do since when a distance between UEs is greater than the first preset distance, impact on communication quality of the UEs is minimized, so the transmission resource allocated to the second UE may be allocated to the first UE.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20200221444 to Tiirola et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20190174440 to Kwak et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20190288801 to Yang et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20170353963 to Hong et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20180103456 to Zhao, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20230246764 to Laselva et al (support found in Provisional Application No. 63047557).
Tiirola et al, Kwak et al, Yang et al, and Hong et al do not disclose wherein selecting the uplink control channel configuration further comprises: responsive to the distance not exceeding the predetermined distance threshold value, selecting an uplink control channel configuration …; or responsive to the distance exceeding the predetermined distance threshold value, selecting an uplink control channel configuration …
Zhao disclose in Figures 1-17 and Sections 0112-0138, 0191, 0218-0219, 0301-0319, and 0330-0340 wherein the system determines according to location information of a first UE and location information of UEs to which transmission resources are currently already allocated, a second UE that meets a preset condition, wherein the preset condition is that a distance between the second UE and the first UE is greater than a first preset distance. If so, the system allocates, to the first UE, a transmission resource already allocated to the second UE (claimed “responsive to the distance exceeding the predetermined distance threshold value, selecting an uplink control channel configuration…”). If not, the system allocates, to the first UE, new transmission resources (claimed “responsive to the distance not exceeding the predetermined distance threshold value, selecting an uplink control channel configuration…”). When a distance between UEs is greater than the first preset distance, impact on communication quality of the UEs is minimized, so the transmission resource allocated to the second UE may be allocated to the first UE. Transmission resources can include PUCCH resources. Refer to Sections 0088-0677. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein selecting the uplink control channel configuration further comprises: responsive to the distance not exceeding the predetermined distance threshold value, selecting an uplink control channel configuration …; or responsive to the distance exceeding the predetermined distance threshold value, selecting an uplink control channel configuration … One would have been motivated to do so that different PUCCH configurations can be allocated to UEs dependent on the distance between UEs; when a distance between UEs is greater than the first preset distance, impact on communication quality of the UEs is minimized, so the transmission resource allocated to the second UE may be allocated to the first UE.
Tiirola et al, Kwak et al, Yang et al, Hong et al, and Zhao do not disclose wherein selecting the uplink control channel configuration further comprises: responsive to the distance not exceeding the predetermined distance threshold value, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a first number of OFDM symbols; or responsive to the distance exceeding the predetermined distance threshold value, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a second number of OFDM symbols that is greater than the first number of OFDM symbols.
Laselva et al disclose in Figures 1-5 and Sections 0060, 0065, and 0078 wherein the SINR to a threshold to determine whether or not the UE is low SINR. A larger number of RSs can be provisioned for a low SINR UE, which can include a larger number of OFDM symbols that can be provisioned for a low SINR. So: if the SINR is greater than the threshold, a smaller number of OFDM symbols of a PUCCH configuration is used; and if the SINR is below the threshold, a larger number of OFDM symbols of a PUCCH configuration is used. A different number of OFDM symbols is indicated for each PUCCH configuration dependent on whether or not the SNIR exceeds the threshold. Refer to Sections 0026-0181. By applying Laselva et al to Zhao: the method of Zhao et al determines if the distance between a first UE and a second UE is greater than a threshold; if so, the system allocates, to the first UE, a transmission resource already allocated to the second UE UEs, if not, the system allocates, to the first UE, a new transmission resource, which can be a PUCCH configuration having a number of OFDM symbols as disclosed by Laselva et al (claimed “responsive to the distance not exceeding the predetermined distance threshold value, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a first number of OFDM symbols”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein selecting the uplink control channel configuration further comprises: responsive to the distance not exceeding the predetermined distance threshold value, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a first number of OFDM symbols; or responsive to the distance exceeding the predetermined distance threshold value, selecting an uplink control channel configuration having a second number of OFDM symbols that is greater than the first number of OFDM symbols (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). One would have been motivated to do to so since PUCCH configurations indicate a number of OFDM symbols.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 20150050938 to Uemura et al disclose in Figures 1-4 and Sections 0039, 0052, 0097, 0113, 0114, and 0131 wherein MS notifies BS that a predetermined state is satisfied in which the physical uplink control channel that is used in the radio resource request can be efficiently used; BS then notifies MS of the configuration for the physical uplink control channel extension on the basis of the predetermined state. Refer to Sections 0032-0141.
U.S. Publication No. 20190140793 to Takeda et al disclose in Figures 1-17 and Sections 0043, 0045, 0060, 0074, 0125-0127, and 0132 wherein an optimal configuration of a new PUCCH format is expected to vary depending on the state of the radio communication system, wherein the configuration includes configurations such as the spreading factor and the number of PRBs. Refer to Sections 0033-0170.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Christine Ng/
Examiner, AU 2464
June 29, 2026