DETAILED ACTION
New Non-Final Office Action
This new non-final Office action replaces the non-final Office action mailed on 1/29/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by PROSTOCKHOCKEY.COM, “Stick Personalization” https://www. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ir7NrUZqZhc&t=21s (cited on IDS) (hereafter Prostockhockey).
With respect to claim 7, Prostockhockey teaches a hockey stick (video), comprising: a shaft (video) extending between an upper end and a lower end, the shaft including an outer surface having a namebar (printed text area) configured for acceptance of a printed design (YOUR NAME), the namebar disposed at a location on the outer surface of the shaft, the shaft further including a gripping material covering (video) at least a portion of the outer surface excluding the location at which the namebar is disposed, wherein the namebar is free of the gripping material (video).
With respect to claim 33, Prostockhockey teaches wherein the namebar has a rectangular shape (broadest reasonable interpretation) (video).
Claim(s) 7 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by How to Apply Your Stick Bandits Sticker by StickBanditsHockey https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eRGiEU2WTxA (hereafter StickBandits).
With respect to claim 7, StickBandits teaches a hockey stick (video; and description of this is how you properly apply your Stick Bandits sticker to your hockey stick), comprising: a shaft (video) extending between an upper end and a lower end, the shaft including an outer surface having a namebar (silver sticker) configured for acceptance of a printed design (BANDIT 15), the namebar disposed at a location on the outer surface of the shaft, the shaft further including a gripping material covering (white grip wrap) at least a portion of the outer surface excluding the location at which the namebar is disposed, wherein the namebar is free of the gripping material (video).
With respect to claim 33, StickBandits teaches wherein the namebar has a rectangular shape (video).
Claim(s) 7 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Personalizing sticks at Pro Stock Hockey! (hereafter Personalizing Sticks).
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GVHWVYi0HFk
With respect to claim 7, Personalizing Sticks teaches a hockey stick (video), comprising: a shaft (video) extending between an upper end and a lower end, the shaft including an outer surface having a namebar (printed text area) configured for acceptance of a printed design (ANDERSON 78), the namebar disposed at a location on the outer surface of the shaft, the shaft further including a gripping material covering (video) at least a portion of the outer surface excluding the location at which the namebar is disposed, wherein the namebar is free of the gripping material (video).
With respect to claim 33, Personalizing Sticks teaches wherein the namebar has a rectangular shape (broadest reasonable interpretation) (video).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 30 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prostockhockey or Personalizing Sticks as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of DE-10241295A1 (hereafter DE ‘295).
With respect to claims 30 and 32, Prostockhockey does not teach wherein the namebar is covered by a solvent based clear coat; and wherein the solvent-based clear coat has a specific hardness of approximately 80D.
However, DE ‘295 teaches a solvent based crystal-clear coating with a hardness of 80° Shore D (embodiment 4 of the machine translation).
At the time of filing the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to coat the namebar of Prostockhockey or Personalizing Sticks with the crystal-clear coating of DE ‘295 in order to protect the namebar from wear and/or damage while still allowing players to see the printed namebar.
Claim(s) 30-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over StickerBandits as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Majumdar et al. (US2004/0103974A1) (hereafter Majumdar).
With respect to claims 30-32, StickerBandits does not teach wherein the namebar is covered by a solvent based clear coat; wherein the solvent-based clear coat includes urethane as a component thereof; and wherein the solvent-based clear coat has a specific hardness of approximately 80D.
However, Majumdar teaches wherein the label/sticker is covered by a solvent based clear coat (figure 1; and paragraphs 26-28, 36, 42, 46, 48, 52, and 71); and wherein the solvent-based clear coat includes urethane as a component thereof (paragraphs 27, 36, 46, 48, and 71). Regarding the hardness of the solvent-based clear coat, it is the examiner position that the hardness of the two-component solvent-borne polyurethane system of Majumdar intrinsically has a specific hardness of approximately 80D. However, if the applicant can prove that the two-component solvent-borne polyurethane system of Majumdar does not have a hardness of approximately 80D, then it is the examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to employ a solvent-borne polyurethane with a hardness of approximately 80D in order to provide the desired protection. When the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § 2112- 2112.02.
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prostockhockey or StickerBandits or Personalizing Sticks.
With respect to claim 34, StickerBandits or Prostockhockey or Personalizing Sticks do not explicitly teach wherein a lower edge of the namebar is disposed between 10 and 100 centimeters from one of the lower end and the upper end of the shaft.
However, is it the examiner position that the location of the namebar on the hockey stick is merely an obvious design choice. The artisan would have been motivated to position the namebar between 10 and 100 centimeters from one of the lower end and the upper end of the shaft in order to display the sticker at the player’s desired location.
Conclusion
/KILEY S STONER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735