DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 35, line 2 it is unclear what manufacturing process the claim is referring to. For purposes of examination the broadest reasonable interpretation has been applied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7, 33, and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by PROSTOCKHOCKEY.COM, “Stick Personalization” https://www. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ir7NrUZqZhc&t=21s (cited on IDS) (hereafter Prostockhockey).
With respect to claim 7, Prostockhockey teaches a hockey stick (video), comprising: a shaft (video) extending between an upper end and a lower end, the shaft including an outer surface having a blank namebar (the area/surface of the hockey stick in which the name is subsequently printed) configured for acceptance of a printed design (YOUR NAME) thereon, the namebar disposed at a location on the outer surface of the shaft, the shaft further including a gripping material covering (video) at least a portion of the outer surface excluding the location at which the namebar is disposed, wherein the namebar is free of the gripping material (video).
With respect to claim 33, Prostockhockey teaches wherein the namebar has a rectangular shape (broadest reasonable interpretation) (video).
With respect to claim 35, the area/surface of the hockey stick in which the name is subsequently printed is intrinsically formed during a manufacturing process of the shaft.
Claim(s) 7, 33, and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Personalizing sticks at Pro Stock Hockey! (hereafter Personalizing Sticks).
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GVHWVYi0HFk
With respect to claim 7, Personalizing Sticks teaches a hockey stick (video), comprising: a shaft (video) extending between an upper end and a lower end, the shaft including an outer surface having a blank namebar (the area/surface of the hockey stick in which the name is subsequently printed) configured for acceptance of a printed design (ANDERSON 78) thereon, the namebar disposed at a location on the outer surface of the shaft, the shaft further including a gripping material covering (video) at least a portion of the outer surface excluding the location at which the namebar is disposed, wherein the namebar is free of the gripping material (video).
With respect to claim 33, Personalizing Sticks teaches wherein the namebar has a rectangular shape (broadest reasonable interpretation) (video).
With respect to claim 35, the area/surface of the hockey stick in which the name is subsequently printed is intrinsically formed during a manufacturing process of the shaft.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 33, and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over How to Apply Your Stick Bandits Sticker by StickBanditsHockey https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eRGiEU2WTxA (hereafter StickBandits) in view of Shan et al. (CN-110510311A) (hereafter Shan).
With respect to claim 7, StickBandits teaches a hockey stick (video; and description of this is how you properly apply your Stick Bandits sticker to your hockey stick), comprising: a shaft (video) extending between an upper end and a lower end, the shaft including an outer surface having a namebar (silver sticker) configured for acceptance of a printed design (BANDIT 15) thereon, the namebar disposed at a location on the outer surface of the shaft, the shaft further including a gripping material covering (white grip wrap) at least a portion of the outer surface excluding the location at which the namebar is disposed, wherein the namebar is free of the gripping material (video).
With respect to claim 7, StickBandits does not teach wherein the namebar is blank.
However, Shan teaches applying a blank sticker to an article and then printing information on the sticker (figures; and machine translation).
At the time of filing the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply a blank sticker and perform printing after application of the sticker as taught Shan on the hockey stick of StickBandits in order to avoid confusion of the hockey stick. It should also be noted that there are only two choices, i.e., the sticker is either pre-printed or post-printed. In view of the teachings of StickBandits and Shan it is clear to the artisan that the sticker of StickBandits could have been predictably post-printed with a reasonable expectation of success.
With respect to claim 33, StickBandits teaches wherein the namebar has a rectangular shape (video).
With respect to claim 36, the namebar sticker of StickBandits and the blank sticker of Shan comprise a pre-fabricated strip having an adhesive underside, while the sticker of Shan is applied to the article prior to the subsequent acceptance of the printed design thereon (see citations above).
Claim(s) 7, 33, and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over How to Apply Your Stick Bandits Sticker by StickBanditsHockey https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eRGiEU2WTxA (hereafter StickBandits) in view of Luo (CN-108122330A).
With respect to claim 7, StickBandits teaches a hockey stick (video; and description of this is how you properly apply your Stick Bandits sticker to your hockey stick), comprising: a shaft (video) extending between an upper end and a lower end, the shaft including an outer surface having a namebar (silver sticker) configured for acceptance of a printed design (BANDIT 15) thereon, the namebar disposed at a location on the outer surface of the shaft, the shaft further including a gripping material covering (white grip wrap) at least a portion of the outer surface excluding the location at which the namebar is disposed, wherein the namebar is free of the gripping material (video).
With respect to claim 7, StickBandits does not teach wherein the namebar is blank.
However, Luo teaches applying a blank sticker to an article and then printing information on the sticker (figures; and machine translation).
At the time of filing the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply a blank sticker and perform printing after application of the sticker as taught Luo on the hockey stick of StickBandits in order to conveniently and reliably print the desired information.
It should also be noted that there are only two choices, i.e., the sticker is either pre-printed or post-printed. In view of the teachings of StickBandits and Luo it is clear to the artisan that the sticker of StickBandits could have been predictably post-printed with a reasonable expectation of success.
With respect to claim 33, StickBandits teaches wherein the namebar has a rectangular shape (video).
With respect to claim 36, the namebar sticker of StickBandits and the blank sticker of Luo comprise a pre-fabricated strip having an adhesive underside, while the sticker of Luo is applied to the article prior to the subsequent acceptance of the printed design thereon (see citations above).
Claim(s) 30 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prostockhockey or Personalizing Sticks as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of DE-10241295A1 (hereafter DE ‘295).
With respect to claims 30 and 32, Prostockhockey does not teach wherein the namebar is covered by a solvent based clear coat; and wherein the solvent-based clear coat has a specific hardness of approximately 80D.
However, DE ‘295 teaches a solvent based crystal-clear coating with a hardness of 80° Shore D (embodiment 4 of the machine translation).
At the time of filing the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to coat the namebar of Prostockhockey or Personalizing Sticks with the crystal-clear coating of DE ‘295 in order to protect the namebar from wear and/or damage while still allowing players to see the printed namebar.
Claim(s) 30-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over StickBandits and Shan or Luo as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Majumdar et al. (US2004/0103974A1) (hereafter Majumdar).
With respect to claims 30-32, StickBandits and Shan or Luo do not teach wherein the namebar is covered by a solvent based clear coat; wherein the solvent-based clear coat includes urethane as a component thereof; and wherein the solvent-based clear coat has a specific hardness of approximately 80D.
However, Majumdar teaches wherein the label/sticker is covered by a solvent based clear coat (figure 1; and paragraphs 26-28, 36, 42, 46, 48, 52, and 71); and wherein the solvent-based clear coat includes urethane as a component thereof (paragraphs 27, 36, 46, 48, and 71). Regarding the hardness of the solvent-based clear coat, it is the examiner position that the hardness of the two-component solvent-borne polyurethane system of Majumdar intrinsically has a specific hardness of approximately 80D. However, if the applicant can prove that the two-component solvent-borne polyurethane system of Majumdar does not have a hardness of approximately 80D, then it is the examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to employ a solvent-borne polyurethane with a hardness of approximately 80D in order to provide the desired protection. When the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § 2112- 2112.02.
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prostockhockey or Personalizing Sticks.
With respect to claim 34, Prostockhockey or Personalizing Sticks do not explicitly teach wherein a lower edge of the namebar is disposed between 10 and 100 centimeters from one of the lower end and the upper end of the shaft.
However, is it the examiner’s position that the location of the namebar on the hockey stick is merely an obvious design choice. The artisan would have been motivated to position the namebar between 10 and 100 centimeters from one of the lower end and the upper end of the shaft in order to display the sticker at the player’s desired location.
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over StickBandits and Shan or Luo.
With respect to claim 34, StickBandits and Shan or Luo do not explicitly teach wherein a lower edge of the namebar is disposed between 10 and 100 centimeters from one of the lower end and the upper end of the shaft.
However, is it the examiner’s position that the location of the namebar on the hockey stick is merely an obvious design choice. The artisan would have been motivated to position the namebar between 10 and 100 centimeters from one of the lower end and the upper end of the shaft in order to display the sticker at the player’s desired location.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/29/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that Prostockhockey teaches a system whereby a printer prints a design onto the shaft of a hockey stick at an arbitrary location thereon. There is no teaching or suggestion in Prostockhockey that the shaft location on which the design is printed is in any way different from other locations on the shaft. As such, there is no teaching or suggestion that the shaft location on which the design is printed is free of a gripping material that would otherwise be found on the remainder of the shaft. Therefore, any suggestion that Prostockhockey teaches a hockey stick shaft having a gripping material covering at least a portion of its outer surface excluding a namebar such that the namebar is free of the gripping material amounts to speculation, which is impermissible according to applicable law.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The applicant’s argument that the shaft location on which the design is printed must be in any way different from other locations on the shaft is not commensurate in scope with the claim 7. Amended claim 7 merely requires “a blank namebar configured for acceptance of a printed design thereon.” Clearly the area of the hockey stick of Prostockhockey that accepts a printed name is clearly capable of receiving a printed design thereon. The examiner’s position it reinforced by paragraph [0051] of the instant specification wherein it is stated that “the namebar 210 may … be made from or covered by any suitable material that is conducive to having a design printed on it by the printing device 400.” (emphasis added by the examiner). Accordingly, it is the examiner’s position that the area of the hockey stick of Prostockhockey that accepts the printed design is intrinsically adapted to receive thereon a printed design, and constitutes a namebar in view of the broadest reasonable interpretation. In addition, 0:17 mark of the Prostockhockey YouTube video certainly shows at least a portion of the printed namebar area free of the gripping material.
The examiner agrees that StickBandits does not teach a blank namebar. However, Shan and/or Luo clearly establish that it is known in the sticker art to print information of stickers after the stickers have been applied to a surface. In view of these teachings, it certainly is not inventive or patentable to print a blank sticker after its application.
The applicant further argues that Personalizing Sticks teaches a system whereby a printer prints a design onto the shaft of a hockey stick at an arbitrary location thereon. There is no teaching or suggestion in Personalizing Sticks of the shaft location on which the design is printed is in any way different from other locations on the shaft. As such, there is no teaching or suggestion that the shaft location on which the design is printed is free of a gripping material that would otherwise be found on the remainder of the shaft. Therefore, any suggestion that Personalizing Sticks teaches a hockey stick shaft having a gripping material covering at least a portion of its outer surface excluding a namebar such that the namebar is free of the gripping material amounts to speculation, which is impermissible according to applicable law.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The applicant’s argument that the shaft location on which the design is printed must be in any way different from other locations on the shaft is not commensurate in scope with the claim 7. Amended claim 7 merely requires “a blank namebar configured for acceptance of a printed design thereon.” Clearly the area of the hockey stick of Personalizing Sticks that accepts a printed name is clearly capable of receiving a printed design thereon. The examiner’s position it reinforced by paragraph [0051] of the instant specification wherein it is stated that “the namebar 210 may … be made from or covered by any suitable material that is conducive to having a design printed on it by the printing device 400.” (emphasis added by the examiner). Accordingly, it is the examiner’s position that the area of the hockey stick of Personalizing Sticks that accepts the printed design is intrinsically adapted to receive thereon a printed design, and constitutes a namebar in view of the broadest reasonable interpretation. In addition, 0:20-0:28 and 0:49-0:52 marks of the Personalizing Sticks YouTube video certainly show at least a portion of the printed namebar area free of the gripping material.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KILEY S STONER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735