DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Receipt of Remarks/Amendments filed on 01/13/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-6, 13, 15-18, 34, 39-40 and 47 are pending. Claims 7-12, 14, 19-33, 35-38, and 41-46 are cancelled. Claim 47 is new. Claims 1-5, 13, 15, 17-18, and 40 have been amended. Claims 1-6, 13, 15-18, 34, 39-40 and 47 are presented for examination on the merits for patentability.
Rejection(s) not reiterated from the previous Office Action are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set of rejections presently being applied to the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/09/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement was considered by the Examiner.
Modified Objection/Rejection As Necessitated by the Amendment Filed 01/13/2026
Claim Objections
Claim 47 is objected to because of the following informalities: The list of components in Claim 47 should be listed with a) and b), not c) and d). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 13, 15-16, 18, and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jensen et al. (EP1129627 A1), hereinafter Jensen.
Jensen discloses a natural feed additive comprising a first active component containing saponin based from Yucca, Quillaja, Azadirachta and/or Tirgonellan, and a second active containing antibacterial substance from citrus, hips, grapes, green pepper or Lamiaceae family (Abstract). Jensen teaches obtaining the first and second active components obtained by extraction or pressing followed by isolation and/or drying into a powder ([0024], [0032], [0049]-[0051]). Jensen discloses different additives comprising the combinations of components (Examples 1-5).
Regarding Claims 1-2, 15-16, and Claim 18, Jensen expressly teaches the production of feed additive comprising yucca powder, oregano powder and rosemary powder (Example 4). The feed additive reads on the feature of “food…for animals”. Jensen teaches that the plant material containing approximately 8% by weight of saponin must be included in the recipe [0024]. When a specific recipe indicates 35 g of Yucca-powder, and the Yucca-powder available only contains 4% by weight of saponin, it is necessary to use 70 g of the Yucca-powder [0024]. By Examiner’s calculation, 8% is equivalent to 80,000 ppm which is within the claimed range in Claim 18.
Regarding Claim 13, Jensen relates that saponin-containing or flavonoid-containing plant materials in animal feed for farm animals are known to improve the environment as well as the state of health of animals, wherein the compositions are admixed into animal feed and causes a reduced release of ammonium and sulphur gases from the animals [0006]. Jensen teaches compositions can comprise a mixture of saponin, inclusive of garlic [0006]-[0007].
Regarding Claim 47, Jensen teaches the natural feed additive comprises saponin obtained from Yucca, Quillaja etc., and an antibacterial substance from inter alia Lamiaceae family (Claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6, 17, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jensen, as applied to Claim 1 above, and in view of Choe et al. (KR 2011-0130074A, Machine Translated in IP.com), hereinafter Choe.
The teachings of Jensen are set forth above.
Jensen does not expressly teach the phenolic diterpene.
Regarding Claims 3-4, 6, and 39, Choe discloses antibacterial composition in the form of feed additive, comprising 0.5-1% carnosic acid as active ingredient, wherein the carnosic acid is isolated from rosemary extract (Abstract; Claims 1-4). The concentration of carnosic acid touches the at least about 1% claimed, and renders the amount in Claim 4 obvious.
Both Choe and Jensen are in the feed additive field, and teach antibacterial substances in the feed. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Choe with Jensen and incorporate about 1% carnosic acid from rosemary extract, which both have identified to be useful for feed additive. The conclusion of obviousness is grounded on the rationale that some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings and arrive at the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2143.01 and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding Claim 5, Choe discloses 1% carnosic acid whereas Jensen teaches 8% saponin in its composition. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to start with this amounts of actives, which gives a ratio of 1:8 carnosic acid to saponin, and is within the claimed range.
Regarding Claim 17, Choe discloses 1% carnosic acid, which corresponds to 10,000 ppm, and is within the claimed range.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jensen as applied to Claim 16 above, and in view of Berdahl et al. (US 7,550,162 B2), hereinafter Berdahl.
The teachings of Jensen have been set forth above.
Regarding Claim 34, Berdahl discloses a packaged food product comprising the food with an antioxidant which contains a rosemary herb acid selected from the group consisting of carnosic acid, carnosol etc., wherein the food has been packaged by modified atmosphere packaging in an atmosphere comprising 20% or more oxygen and a mixture of carbon dioxide and nitrogen (Claims 1-6). Berdahl teaches that hop extracts containing beta acids, in combination with Labiatae herb extracts, most preferably rosemary extract, containing, carnosic acid, carnosol and/or rosmarinic acid, enhance the color shelf life and retard the growth of microorganisms in meat, fish and poultry stored in an atmosphere that contains 20% or more oxygen (Col. 6, lines 44-51). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Jensen and use the composition in Berdahl comprising the feed-additive containing rosemary in packaged food or feed under 20% oxygen or more in order to retard the growth of microorganisms.
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jensen in view of Choe, as applied to Claims 3 and 39, and in further view of Aguilar (Of record).
The teachings of Jensen and Choe are above. These references do not expressly teach other phenolic diterpene derivatives.
Aguilar teaches rosemary extract for use as flavouring in processed food and drinks, i.e. incorporating the rosemary extracts in food products, e.g., meats, sauces, seasonings, dietary supplements, flavorings, and soft drinks (p. 12-29, Section 1.7, 2nd paragraph; Table 4). Aguilar relates that the antioxidant activity of rosemary extract can be attributed mainly to two components, carnosic acid and carnosol, which is a carnosic acid derivative (p. 9-29, Section 1.3, 1st paragraph).
Aguilar teaches rosemary extracts prepared using different production process, which gives varying amounts of phenolic diterpenes, carnosol and carnosic acid (pp. 6-29 to 7-29, Section 1.2. For example, Aguilar teaches a rosemary extract D74 comprising 8.7% carnosic acid and 1.3% carnosol (Extract D74, Table 1, p. 8-29). Aguilar also teaches the extract comprising 0.65 mg/kg Genkwanin (Extract D74, Table 1, p. 8-29).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Aguilar with that of Jensen and use rosemary extract comprising phenolic diterpenes carnosic acid and carnosol, which Aguilar teaches to provide antioxidant activity of rosemary extract.
Response to Arguments:
The gist of Applicant’s argument is that DeLease does not teach the saponin expressly in the Quillaja or yucca extract, and the combination with Lamiaceae extract.
The modified rejection supra was necessitated by the amendment and no longer relies on DeLease.
Applicant argues that that the claimed combination of Quillaja and/or yucca with Lamiaceae extract shows unexpected synergistic effect, which cannot be expected over DeLease.
As stated, the modified rejection supra was necessitated by the amendment and no longer relies on DeLease. This rejection now relies on Jensen as primary art which teaches a natural feed additive comprising saponin based from Yucca, Quillaja, Azadirachta and/or Tirgonellan, and a second active containing antibacterial substance from citrus, hips, grapes, green pepper or Lamiaceae family (Abstract). Therefore, one skilled in the art taking guidance from the teachings of Jensen would reasonably expect the same effect being argued by Applicant. Please see MPEP §716.02(b)[R-2], which states, “The evidence relied upon should establish ‘that the differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance.’ Ex parte Gelles, 22 USPQ2d 1318, 1319 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992)”.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6, 16-17, 34, 39-40, and 47 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-2, 11, and 14-15 of US 10,321,695 B2, hereinafter ‘695, in view of Jensen.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are drawn to the same subject matter and composition components.
Both the instant claims and ‘695 are drawn to a composition comprising Lamiaceae extract selected from rosemary extract, oregano extract, thyme extract etc., and contains phenolic diterpenes selected from carnosol, carnosic acid, etc. at overlapping amounts claimed. The difference lies in the intended use of ‘695, and that ‘695 does not teach the combination with a Quillaja or yucca saponin. However, Jensen cures the deficiency of ‘695. The teachings of Jensen have been set forth in the rejections above. ‘695 and Jensen both recognize the antibacterial properties of the Lamiaceae extract and saponin based from Yucca and Quillaja, and therefore are compatible.
Therefore, the claims are drawn to the same subject matter and are not patentably distinct from the instant claims.
Response to Arguments:
The crux of Applicant’s argument is that ‘695 does not teach the combination of one Lamiaceae extract and an at least Quillaja or yucca saponin.
The modified rejection supra was necessitated by the amendment and now relies on ‘695 in view of Jensen.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.Y.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1792
/ERIK KASHNIKOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1792