Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, and 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It is unclear what provides the function of wherein the ferroelectric layer (3) comprises polarized domains configured to be partially reversed by a plurality of pulse signals applied to the gate electrodes (2) to cause an energy band of the semiconductor structure (4) to continuously change. Applicant has set forth
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun cited in the 102 rejections in view of Gou CN110165935.
As to claim 1-3 , 6 Sun teaches A ferroelectric field modulated positive and negative photo-response detector, characterized in comprising a substrate (figure 2 item 1), a gate electrode (item 2 and 3), a ferroelectric layer (item 4), a low-dimensional semiconductor (item 6) and a source-drain electrode (item 5); wherein the gate electrode is a pair of gate electrodes (items 2 and 3 ) are provided and fixedly arranged on the substrate ( see items 2 and 3 on item 1) at intervals; the ferroelectric layer (see item 4) is fixedly arranged on the substrate (on item 1) and completely covers the gate electrode (item 4 covers both items 2 and); the low-dimensional semiconductor (item 6) is fixedly arranged on the ferroelectric layer (4); and the source-drain electrode (5) comprises a source electrode (5 right) and a drain electrode (5 left) separately arranged on two sides of the low-dimensional semiconductor (4) and fixedly arranged on the ferroelectric layer (item 4). Sun teaches the layer a capable of being pulsed thus meeting the claim limitation. Sun teaches WSe2 (see claim 1).
As to the recitation of wherein of the ferroelectric field modulated positive and negative photo-response detector is configured to cause a photocurrent, when illuminated, [[is]] linearly set by correlated to a number of a plurality of pulse signals applied to the gate electrode is intended use and since Sun pulses figure 4c to 4d the device is capable of being pulse thus it can perform action recited. Applicant does not give a structure beyond what is claimed that defines “configured to” and Applicant is reminded MPEP 2173.05 g and recitation of function language.
Recitation of wherein the ferroelectric layer (3) comprises polarized domains configured to be partially reversed by a plurality of pulse signals applied to the gate electrodes (2) to cause an energy band of the semiconductor structure (4) to continuously change is provided figure 1 where the ferroelectric material forms a p polarity of the pn junction and a n polarity of the pn junction figure 1 of Sun. This is consistent with paragraph 29 of applicant thus it meets the claim limitation.
Sun teaches characterized in that the substrate (item 1) is an insulating substrate (contents of the invention states the substrate is silicon material with silicon oxide).
Sun teaches for the drain a Cr/Au and 5/50 (contents of the invention): the pattern of the source/drain electrode is obtained by standard photoetching technology, using electron beam evaporation deposition Cr/Au, thickness, 5nm/50nm with the stripping process.
Sun does not teach the gate formed from a layer of Cr at 10 nm and a layer of Au at 10 nm and the pair are spaced 1 micron apart.
Sun does not teach the source drain formed from a layer of Cr at15 nm and a layer of Au at 45 nm and space 10 microns apart.
Applicant shows no unexpected results for the thickness and materials or spacings.
Thus absent some unexpected results it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the gate formed from a layer of Cr at 10 nm and a layer of Au at 10 nm and the pair are spaced 1 micron apart and teach the source drain formed from a layer of Cr at15 nm and a layer of Au at 45 nm and space 10 microns apart.
One would have been so motivated to optimize the gate electrode size and conductive properties as well as the adhesive properties of the electrodes as well as the overall size of the device.
while Sun teaches inorganic Sun acknowledges that P (VDF-TrFE) was used (Technical Field) though described as not as good this does not teach away since it was known in the past. Sun does not openly state : P VDF-TrFe does not work instead Sun remarks about the PFM probe and MoTe2 stating:
In 2019 years, the research personnel of the Shanghai Institute of Technical Physics of the Chinese Academy of Sciences invents a two-dimensional material PN junction photoelectric detector (application number) of ferroelectric field regulation. 201920411692.7), the structure comprises an insulating substrate, a two-dimensional semiconductor, a metal electrode, a ferroelectric functional layer, wherein the two-dimensional semiconductor is MoTe2, ferroelectric functional layer is organic ferroelectric material P (VDF-TrFE). The invention uses the voltage exerted on the sample by the PFM needle tip to polarize the P (VDF-TrFE) in different directions, so as to perform different types of doping to the MoTe2 on the lower surface to obtain the PN junction type photodiode. The invention initially provides a scheme using ferroelectric/two-dimensional composite structure to construct homogeneous PN junction, but using PFM probe for polarization organic ferroelectric thin film P (VDF-TrFE) has low efficiency, and difficult to be combined with the traditional CMOS process. In addition, P (VDF-TrFE) is covered on the surface of the MoTe2, reducing the light absorption efficiency, and the polarization voltage of the organic ferroelectric material is generally higher, increasing the operation voltage and power consumption.
Thus PVDF-TrFE is not criticized instead using a PFM probe is described as not as good. Further at best Sun criticizes MoS2 further stating:
In addition, P (VDF-TrFE) is covered on the surface of the MoTe2, reducing the light absorption efficiency, and the polarization voltage of the organic ferroelectric material is generally higher, increasing the operation voltage and power consumption.
As an aside neither rise to the level of teaching away since Sun teaches the materials processes work just not in the best performance. Teaching away has to do more that describe the material or process as inferior.
Further Gou states:
Currently high electromechanical conversion efficiency of the piezoelectric energy collector mainly based on ZnO, PZT, KNN, BaTiO3 and other materials, but the processing cost of the inorganic material is too expensive, and limited by the inorganic material of brittle so as not to bear too large deformation, therefore, the energy collector is greatly limited in wearable field. and the organic piezoelectric material to P (VDF-TrFE) represents, which not only has good flexibility, corrosion resistance, biological compatibility, and better plasticity. the traditional P (VDF-TrFE) piezoelectric thin film preparation process only needs mechanical stretching, but also needs to finish the polarization under a high electric field in the later, relatively complicated preparation process. P (VDF-TrFE) nanometre fibre prepared by using electrostatic spinning technology not only has piezoelectricity, and the weave in the fabric to make it more suitable for flexible wearable energy collector. but the current based on output power of the flexible piezoelectric energy collector of P (VDF-TrFE) nanometre fibre is not high, energy is an urgent problem to be solved how to optimize device parameters to boost the output power.
Thus absent some unexpected showing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time to use P (VDF-TrFE) instead of the inorganic ferroelectric material.
One would have been so motivated since even though it was somewhat inferior in specific areas it was still known and used as a functional alternative at the time of filing and form systems that require flexibility and low cost and ease of integration with CMOS processes.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3 and 6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Further applicant argues that Sun teaches away from using P (VDF-TrFE) ferroelectric material. This is not found convincing what Sun states is:
In 2019 years, the research personnel of the Shanghai Institute of Technical Physics of the Chinese Academy of Sciences invents a two-dimensional material PN junction photoelectric detector (application number) of ferroelectric field regulation. 201920411692.7), the structure comprises an insulating substrate, a two-dimensional semiconductor, a metal electrode, a ferroelectric functional layer, wherein the two-dimensional semiconductor is MoTe2, ferroelectric functional layer is organic ferroelectric material P (VDF-TrFE). The invention uses the voltage exerted on the sample by the PFM needle tip to polarize the P (VDF-TrFE) in different directions, so as to perform different types of doping to the MoTe2 on the lower surface to obtain the PN junction type photodiode. The invention initially provides a scheme using ferroelectric/two-dimensional composite structure to construct homogeneous PN junction, but using PFM probe for polarization organic ferroelectric thin film P (VDF-TrFE) has low efficiency, and difficult to be combined with the traditional CMOS process. In addition, P (VDF-TrFE) is covered on the surface of the MoTe2, reducing the light absorption efficiency, and the polarization voltage of the organic ferroelectric material is generally higher, increasing the operation voltage and power consumption.
Sun merely points out using the PFM probe and MoTe2 do not work as well as other methods but they still work. Sun makes no comment on properties of P(VDF-TrFe). In fact, Gou cited herein indicates PZT is harder to integrate into CMOS processing as well as being brittle. Thus, while PZT may or may not have some superior properties there are still reason why one would choose P (VDF-TrFE over PZT).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW L. REAMES/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2896
/MATTHEW L REAMES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896