DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0122836 A1 to Kang et al. (“Kang”). As to claim 1, Kang discloses a display device comprising: a first base substrate (100) on which a plurality of sub-pixels (SP1-SP3) are defined; a first insulating layer (140) disposed on the first base substrate (100) and including a first surface (below 140a) and a second surface (140a), the first surface (below 140a) facing the first base substrate (100); a plurality of light emitting elements (300) disposed in each of the plurality of sub-pixels (SP1-SP3) on the first surface (below 140a) of the first insulating layer (140); a first electrode (E1, ECH1) and a second electrode (E2, ECH2) directly disposed on the first surface (below 140a) of the first insulating layer (140) and electrically contacting each end of each of the plurality of light emitting elements (300), respectively; a circuit layer (at 105, T2) disposed between the first (E1, ECH1) and second (E2, ECH2) electrodes and the first base substrate (100) and including a first transistor (T2) electrically connected to each of the plurality of light emitting elements (300); a color control structure (160, 170) disposed on the second surface (140a) of the first insulating layer (140) and including a light transmission layer (160) and wavelength conversion layers (170); and a color filter layer (190) disposed on the color control structure (160, 170), wherein the plurality of light emitting elements (300) is between the first surface (below 140a) of the first insulating layer (140) and the first base substrate (100) (See Fig. 2, Fig. 5, Fig. 10, ¶ 0037, ¶ 0038, ¶ 0053, ¶ 0056-¶ 0058, ¶ 0099, ¶ 0102-¶ 0107, ¶ 0130-¶ 0132, ¶ 0147-¶ 0154, ¶ 0158, ¶ 0170). As to claim 2, Kang discloses further comprising: a first bank (110) disposed on the first surface (below 140a) of the first insulating layer (140) and having a shape protruding toward the first base substrate (100), wherein the first bank (110) is disposed at a boundary of the plurality of sub-pixels (SP1-SP3), and the plurality of light emitting elements (300), the first electrode (E1, ECH1), and the second electrode (E2, ECH2) are disposed in an area surrounded by the first bank (110) (See Fig. 2, Fig. 5, Fig. 10) (Notes: the first bank serves as a divider). As to claim 3, Kang further discloses wherein the circuit layer (at 105, T2) further includes a lower metal layer (bottom layer of multilayer AE) disposed between the first transistor (T2) and the plurality of light emitting elements (300), and the lower metal layer (bottom layer of multilayer AE) is disposed to overlap the plurality of light emitting elements (300) in a thickness direction of the first base substrate (100) (See Fig. 10, ¶ 0103). As to claim 4, Kang further discloses wherein the first insulating layer (140) includes a plurality of openings penetrating from the first surface (below 140a) to the second surface (140a), and each of the first electrode (E1, ECH1) and the second electrode (E2, ECH2) has a portion disposed in one of the plurality of openings (See Fig. 10). As to claim 5, Kang further discloses wherein the first electrode (E1, ECH1) and the second electrode (E2, ECH2) extend in a direction and are disposed to be spaced apart from each other, and the plurality of light emitting elements (300) are arranged to be spaced apart in the direction in which the first electrode (E1, ECH1) and the second electrode (E2, ECH2) extend (See Fig. 10). As to claim 8, Kang discloses further comprising: a bonding agent (101, 103) disposed between the circuit layer (at 105, T2) and the first base substrate (100) (See Fig. 10) (Notes: the bonding agent adheres and bonds the first base substrate and the circuit layer without gaps). As to claim 9, Kang in view of Lin further discloses wherein the plurality of sub-pixels (SP1-SP3) include a first sub-pixel (SP1) and a second sub-pixel (SP2), the color control structure (160, 170) includes the light transmission layer (160) disposed in the first sub-pixel (SP1) and a first wavelength conversion layer (170) disposed in the second sub-pixel (SP2), and the color filter layer (190) includes a first color filter layer (190) disposed in the first sub-pixel (SP1) and a second color filter layer (190) disposed in the second sub-pixel (SP2) (See Fig. 10, ¶ 0130, ¶ 0158, ¶ 0170). As to claim 10, Kang discloses further comprising: a first capping layer (175) disposed on the light transmission layer (160) and the first wavelength conversion layer (170); and a light blocking member (180) disposed on the first capping layer (175) and surrounding the first color filter layer (190) and the second color filter layer (190) (See Fig. 10) (Notes: the first capping layer is not specified with any material). As to claim 14, Kang further discloses wherein light emitted from the plurality of light emitting elements (300) disposed in the first sub-pixel (SP1) passes through the light transmission layer (160) and is emitted through the first color filter layer (190), and light emitted from the plurality of light emitting elements (300) disposed in the second sub-pixel (SP2) passes through the first wavelength conversion layer (170) and is emitted through the second color filter layer (190) (See Fig. 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0122836 A1 to Kang et al. (“Kang”) as applied to claims 10 and 14 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0109617 A1 to Lin et al. (“Lin”). The teachings of Kang has been discussed above. As to claim 11, although Kang disclose wherein the first capping layer (175) is disposed to surround the light transmission layer (160) and the first wavelength conversion layer (170) (See Fig. 10), Kang does not further disclose and the display device further includes a color mixing preventing member disposed on the first capping layer between the light transmission layer and the first wavelength conversion layer . However, Lin does disclose wherein the first capping layer (142) is disposed to surround the light transmission layer (PL1 top multi-layer) and the first wavelength conversion layer (132b_1), and the display device further includes a color mixing preventing member (154) disposed on the first capping layer (142) between the light transmission layer (PL1 top multi-layer) and the first wavelength conversion layer (132b_1) (See Fig. 2, Fig. 5, Fig. 6, ¶ 0032, ¶ 0033, ¶ 0036, ¶ 0037, ¶ 0044, ¶ 0047, ¶ 0049, ¶ 0051) (Notes: the metal color mixing preventing member serves as a color mixing barrier). In view of the teaching of Lin, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Kang to have and the display device further includes a color mixing preventing member disposed on the first capping layer between the light transmission layer and the first wavelength conversion layer because color mixing is prevented while enhancing the intensity of the light (See ¶ 0049). As to claim 15, although Kang discloses wherein the plurality of light emitting elements (300) disposed in the first sub-pixel (SP1) and the second sub-pixel (SP2) emit light of a first color (See Fig. 10), Kang does not further disclose the first sub-pixel emits light of the first color, and the second sub-pixel emits light of a second color different from the first color. However, Lin does disclose the first sub-pixel (SPX3) emits light of the first color (blue), and the second sub-pixel (SPX2) emits light of a second color (red) different from the first color (blue) (See Lin Fig. 2, Fig. 5, ¶ 0036). In view of the teaching of Lin, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Kang to have the first sub-pixel emits light of the first color, and the second sub-pixel emits light of a second color different from the first color because different combinations of colors from different sub-pixels can be obtained (See ¶ 0036). As to claim 16, Kang in view of Lin further discloses wherein the plurality of sub-pixels (SP1-SP3/SPX1-SPX3) further include a third sub-pixel (SPX1), the color control structure (160, 170/132a/b_1, PL1 top multi-layer) further includes a second wavelength conversion layer (170/132a_1) disposed in the third sub-pixel (SPX1), the color filter layer (190/132a/b_2, 132c) further includes a third color filter layer (190/132a_2) disposed in the third sub-pixel (SPX1), and light emitted from the plurality of light emitting elements (300) disposed in the third sub-pixel (SPX1) passes through the second wavelength conversion layer (132a_1) and is emitted as light of a third color (green) different from the first color (blue) and the second color (red) through the third color filter layer (190/132a_2) (See Lin Fig. 2, Fig. 5, ¶ 0036).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
/DAVID CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815