DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Species 1 (claims 1-3 and 5-15) in the reply filed on 10/03/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 4 and 16-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/03/2025.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Applicant introduces the limitation, “a portion”, however, it is unclear as to what applicant is referring to. For the purposes of examination, the limitation “a portion” will be interpreted as “a portion of the capacitance wiring line”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okabe et al. (WO Publication 2020174605/Machine Translation Document 08/25/2025) in view of Chun et al. (US Publication 20200133083).
Regarding independent claim 1, Okabe teaches a display device (fig. 3, 50D) comprising:
a base substrate (10);
a thin film transistor layer (30a) provided with a semiconductor layer (12ad and 12ae), a gate insulating film (13), a first metal layer (16a and 16b), a first interlayer insulating film (17), a second metal layer (16c), a second interlayer insulating film (19), and a third metal layer (20a, 20b, 20c, 20d, and 20e), in this stated order, on the base substrate (fig. 3), the thin film transistor layer including a thin film transistor (9d) and a capacitor (fig. 4, 9h) arranged for each of a plurality of subpixels (machine translation document, page 3 paragraph 5); and
a light-emitting element layer (fig. 3, 33) provided on the thin film transistor layer and including a light-emitting element (35) arranged for each of the plurality of subpixels,
the thin film transistor including the semiconductor layer, the gate insulating film covering the semiconductor layer, and a gate electrode (16a) provided as the first metal layer on the gate insulating film and arranged in an island shape overlapping with a part of the semiconductor layer in a plan view (fig. 3),
wherein the capacitor includes the gate electrode, the first interlayer insulating film provided on the gate electrode, a capacitance electrode (16c) provided as the second metal layer on the first interlayer insulating film and overlapping with the gate electrode in [[a]] the plan view (fig. 3).
Okabe does not teach and a capacitance wiring line provided as the third metal layer on the capacitance electrode and overlapping with the capacitance electrode and the gate electrode in [[a]] the plan view, the capacitance wiring line is electrically connected to the capacitance electrode, a capacitance of the capacitor is formed between the gate electrode and at least one of the capacitance electrode and the capacitance wiring line, the gate electrode facing the capacitance electrode or capacitance wiring line across the first interlayer insulating film, and a line width of the capacitance wiring line is equal to, or greater than a line width of the capacitance electrode, and is equal to or less than a line width of the gate electrode.
Chun teaches and a capacitance wiring line (fig. 5, 30) provided as the third metal layer on the capacitance electrode (12) and overlapping with the capacitance electrode and the gate electrode in [[a]] the plan view (fig. 5, 11 occupies space for gate electrode of Okabe),
the capacitance wiring line is electrically connected to the capacitance electrode (paragraph 0066),
a capacitance (CA) of the capacitor is formed between the gate electrode and at least one of the capacitance electrode and the capacitance wiring line (fig. 5, CA formed between 11 and 12), the gate electrode facing the capacitance electrode or capacitance wiring line across the first interlayer insulating film (fig. 5), and
a line width of the capacitance wiring line is equal to, or greater than a line width of the capacitance electrode, and is equal to or less than a line width of the gate electrode (fig. 5, width of 30 is greater than width of 12 and less than 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device of Okabe and the capacitance of Chun in order to “secure improved storage capacitance due to a large scale and prevent influence of load of a gate driving voltage signal applied to first lines” (Chun paragraph 0068).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Okabe in view of Chun teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein the capacitance wiring line (fig. 6, 130) is provided along a circumferential end of the gate electrode (110), at an inner side of the circumferential end of the gate electrode (fig. 6, 130 is provided on the inside of 110), and the capacitance electrode (120) is provided along a circumferential end of the capacitance wiring line (fig. 6).
Okabe in view of Chun does not explicitly teach [the capacitance electrode is provided] at an inner side of the circumferential end of the capacitance wiring line, however, Chun fig. 6 discloses the capacitance electrode 120 is provided at an outer side of the circumferential end of capacitance wiring line 130.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to provide the capacitance electrode at an inner side of the circumferential end of the capacitance wiring line, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of component (e.g., making 120 smaller). A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding dependent claim 3, Chun further teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein a first opening (fig. 5, CCT2) overlapping with the capacitance wiring line (30), in [[a]] the plan view and extending through the second interlayer insulating film (fig. 5, CCT2 overlaps with 30 and extends through 19), is provided in the second interlayer insulating film (fig. 5),located above surrounds 12), and the capacitance electrode or the first interlayer insulating film is exposed from the first opening (fig. 5, edge of 17 is exposed by CCT2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device of Okabe and the first opening of Chun per the reason(s) stated in clam 1 above.
Regarding dependent claim 5, Okabe further teaches the display device according to claim 3, wherein the first interlayer insulating film is exposed from the first opening (fig. 5, edge of 17 is exposed by CCT2), and in the first opening, the capacitance wiring line is formed in the same layer as the capacitance electrode (fig. 5, 12 and portion of 30 are formed in 17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device of Okabe and the first opening of Chun per the reason(s) stated in clam 1 above.
Regarding dependent claim 6, Okabe further teaches the display device according to claim 5, wherein a sum of the line width of the capacitance electrode and the line width of the capacitance wiring line in a portion formed in the same layer as the capacitance electrode is equal to or less than the line width of the gate electrode (see figure below).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Okabe further teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein a first opening (fig. 5, 18m) overlapping with the capacitance wiring line, in [[a]] the plan view and extending through the second interlayer insulating film, is provided in the second interlayer insulating film (fig. 7), and the first opening is provided in a hole shape and the capacitance electrode is exposed from the first opening (fig. 5).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Okabe further teaches the display device according to claim 7, wherein a portion not overlapping with the capacitance electrode, in [[a]] the plan view, is provided on at least one side of the capacitance wiring line in a line width direction (see figure below, portion of 20e in marked area), and a part of the capacitance of the capacitor is formed between the gate electrode and the capacitance wiring line in the portion not overlapping with the capacitance electrode (see figure below).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Okabe further teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein the thin film transistor is a drive thin film transistor (machine translation document, page 3 paragraph 5, “drive TFT 9d”).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Okabe in view of Chun teaches the display device according to claim 9, wherein the capacitance electrode is provided with a second opening (fig. 7, 18m) exposing the first interlayer insulating film,
a contact hole (see figure below) is provided in the first interlayer insulating film and the second interlayer insulating film in the second opening, and
a connection wiring line (20e) electrically connected to the gate electrode via the contact hole is provided as the third metal layer on the second interlayer insulating film (fig. 7, 20e is third metal layer on second interlayer insulating layer 19).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Okabe further teaches the display device according to claim 10, wherein the capacitance wiring line is provided along circumferential ends of the gate electrode and the second opening, at an inner side of the circumferential ends (fig. 5, capacitance line wiring of Chun can be configured to occupy inner side of edges of second opening 18m), and is provided in a U-shape not overlapping with the connection wiring line in [[a]] the plan view (adjusting the shape of the capacitance line wiring of Chun to not overlap with connection wiring line 20e of Okabe involves only routine skill in the art, In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966), see MPEP 2144.04.).
Regarding dependent claim 12, Okabe further teaches the display device according to claim 11, wherein the semiconductor layer includes a channel region (fig. 6, 12ac) overlapping with the gate electrode in [[a]] the plan view,sandwiches the channel region (machine translation document, page 4 paragraph 4, “semiconductor layer 12ad includes an intrinsic region 12ac provided so as to overlap the gate electrode 16a in a plan view, a pair of conductor regions 12aa provided so as to sandwich the intrinsic region 12ac, and 12ab”), and an intermediate portion of the channel region includes a recessed portion provided in a U-shape in [[a]] the plan view (fig. 5, center dotted region corresponding to 12ac is in a U-shape, see also machine translation document, page 4 paragraph 4).
Regarding dependent claim 13, Okabe further teaches the display device according to claim 12, wherein the second opening overlaps with the recessed portion in [[a]] the plan view (fig. 5, size of 18m can be adjusted to overlap with U-shape recessed portion corresponding to 12ac per MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Okabe further teaches the display device according to claim 13, wherein the connection wiring line intersects the channel region in the recessed portion (fig. 5, 20e can be rearranged to intersect 12ac per MPEP 2144.04 instead of just meeting at recessed portion).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Okabe further teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein the light-emitting element is an organic electroluminescence element (machine translation document, page 6 paragraph 4).
Conclusion
/GRACE CHA/Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/JACOB Y CHOI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897