DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 10/13/2025.
Claims 44-45, 53-55, 58, and 63-64 have been amended.
Claims 1-43 were previously canceled.
Objection to the Specification is withdrawn.
Rejection to claims under 35 USC § 102 is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/13/2025 regarding “coordinating the transmission of at least one PPDU of a shared access point so that the start and/or end of the PPDU transmission is not time-aligned with the start and/or end of a PPDU transmission from the sharing AP” have been fully considered but they are not persuasive and the arguments on the amended feature has been addressed in the instant Office Action with previously identified prior art by mapping the relevant teachings for more clarification thereof that read on said added feature are moot.
The arguments assert that, in page 10 of the Applicant’s argument,
“Claims 44 and 53 recite "sharing the TXOP ... for transmission of multiple physical protocol data units (PDDUs) by each of the access points." As noted above, Han does not disclose multiple PPDU transmissions in a single TXOP. Further, claims 44 and 53 recite coordinating PPDU transmission from the shared access point "so that the start and/or end of the PPDU transmission from the shared access point is not time-aligned with the start and/or end of a PPDU transmission from the sharing access point." Han does not disclose a scheme allowing PPDU transmissions of the shared APs to start and/or end at different times than PPDU transmissions of the sharing AP. On the contrary, Han teaches that the PPDU transmissions of the shared AP and sharing AP must start and end simultaneously and have the same duration.
Applicant notes the citation of Seok, which teaches transmission of multiple PPDUs in a single TXOP. However, Seok teaches that PPDUs of the shared AP are time-aligned with corresponding PPDUs of the sharing AP. Seok does not disclose a scheme where PPDU transmissions of the shared APs start and/or end at different times than PPDU transmissions of the sharing AP. Accordingly, it is submitted that claims 44 and 53 are patentable over Han in view of Seok.”
The examiner respectfully disagree. Han teaches the multiple PPDU transmissions in a single TXOP (see slide 6 of Han). Slide 6 of Han is reproduced herein below.
(Slide 6 of Han)
As shown in Slide 6, AP1 (interpreted as “sharing AP”) transmits DL MU PPDUs to STA1-1 and STA1-2 within the shared TXOP. For each received PPDU, STA1-1 and STA1-2 respond by transmitting their respective BAs to AP1. Meanwhile, AP2 (interpreted as “one or more shared access points”) also transmits DL MU PPDUs to STA2-1 and STA2-2 within the shared TXOP, and in response, STA2-1 and STA2-2 transmit their respective BAs to AP2. Thus, Han teaches the multiple PPDU transmissions by each of the access points in a single TXOP.
Although Han does not teach the nearly added feature “coordinating the transmission of at least one PPDU of a shared access point so that the start and/or end of the PPDU transmission is not time-aligned with the start and/or end of a PPDU transmission from the sharing AP”, Seok et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200245352A1)(hereinafter “Seok”) discloses the above added feature of claims 44 and 53.
In para [0056] of Seok, Seok discloses “a single TXOP obtained by an AP1 can be shared with AP2 and/or AP3. AP1 is referred to as a “coordinator AP,” (interpreted as “sharing AP”) and AP2 and AP3 are referred to as “coordinated APs” (interpreted as “one or more shared access points”).”
In para [0057] of Seok, Seok discloses “As depicted in FIG. 4, a single TXOP obtained by AP1 can be shared with AP2 and/or AP3 by allocating part of the available bandwidth to a coordinated AP and using remaining bandwidth to serve a wireless STA. AP1 is referred to as a coordinator AP, and AP2 and AP3 are referred to as coordinated APs. AP1 sends data frames 402 and 401 (The data frame 401, at least, is interpreted as “a PPDU transmission from the sharing AP”) to STA1 and STA2, and STA1 and STA2 respond with corresponding ACK frames 404 and 403. Thereafter, AP1 continues to serve STA1, and AP2 acts as a coordinated AP to send a data frame 405 to STA3 (The data frame 403, at least, is interpreted as “at least one PPDU of a shared access point”). STA3 responds with a corresponding ACK frame 406. AP1 sends a data frame 407 to STA1, and STA1 response with a corresponding ACK frame 408. Multi-AP frame exchange sequence 400 occurs within a single TXOP assigned to AP1.).
Fig. 4 of Seok is reproduced herein below.
(FIG. 4 of Seok)
As shown in Fig. 4 of Seok, the start and/or end of the PPDU transmission (Data frame 405) of AP2 (shared AP) is not time-aligned with the start and/or end of a PPDU transmission (Data frame 401) from AP1 (sharing AP) within the Single TXOP.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Han's method by using the features of Seok in order to have more effective method such that "a single TXOP obtained by sharing AP can be shared with the shared AP and start and/or end of the PPDU transmission of the shared AP is not time-aligned with the start and/or end of a PPDU transmission from the sharing AP. Thus, Multi-AP frame exchange sequence occurs within a single TXOP assigned to AP1.
Applicant’s arguments, see 35 U.S.C. § 112, filed 10/13/2025, with respect to claims 44-64, have been fully considered and but they are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 44-64 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The claim recites the limitation (i) “cooperating with one or more shared access points …”; (ii) “coordinating the transmission of at least one PPDU of a shared access point …”; and (iii) “coordinating transmissions of acknowledgment information for each of the multiple PPDUs within the TXOP …”. The limitation (i) “cooperating with one or more shared access points of the wireless communication system by sharing the TXOP based on spatial reuse of at least some radio resources of the TXOP for transmission of multiple physical protocol data units, PPDUs, by each of the access points” renders the claims indefinite as it is unclear how it cooperates with one or more further access points of the wireless communication system.
Turning to instant specification (page 2, line 31-page 3, line 11 of the Specification of the instant specification), Applicants discloses that, as Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art,
For example, “Coordinated AP Time/Frequency Sharing in a Transmit Opportunity in 11be”, Internet document IEEE 802.11-19/1582r1 (URL: “https://mentor.ieee.org/802.11/dcn/19/11-19-1582-01-00be-coordinated-ap-time-and-frequency-sharing-in-a-transmit-opportunity-in-11be.pptx”, November 2019) proposes a time/frequency resource sharing mechanism for an enhancement of the WLAN technology referred to as EHT (Extremely High Throughput). In this mechanism multiple APs belonging to the same Extended Service Set (ESS) can coordinate and share among themselves their time/frequency resources within a TXOP. The proposed mechanism consists of the three phases, as schematically illustrated in FIG. 1A. The first phase involves transmission of a TX indication frame and a request frame. In the first phase an AP that has gained a TXOP, also denoted as the TXOP owner, indicates to other APs that it is willing to share the TXOP (by means of the TX indication frame), and one or more neighboring APs indicate their intention to participate in sharing the resources (by the request frame). The TXOP owner may also be referred to as “Sharing AP”, and the participating AP(s) may also be referred to as “Shared AP(s)”. The first phase may also be referred to as initial coordination phase. In the second phase the TXOP owner informs the participating APs about their allocated resources and a TX start time, and the participating APs inform their client STAs about their respective resource allocations. In the third phase the participating APs transmit on their respective allocated resources in the TXOP, beginning at the TX start time.
The omitted element to be added in claim 44, as “exchanging TX Indication frames and Request frames between the TXOP owner AP and the participating APs” The step of “exchanging TX Indication frames and Request frames between the TXOP owner AP and the participating APs” is considered essential element because, without the step of exchanging TX Indication frames and Request frames between the TXOP owner AP and the participating APs, how can the TXOP owner AP decide to share at least some of the radio resources of the TXOP with the participating APs, and how can it coordinate that TXOP owner AP with one or more further APs that have decided to share the TXOP?
The limitation (ii) “coordinating the transmission of at least one PPDU of a shared access point so that the start and/or end of the PPDU transmission is not time-aligned with the start and/or end of a PPDU transmission from the sharing AP” renders the claims indefinite as it is unclear how it coordinates the transmission of at least one PPDU of a shared access point so that the start and/or end of the PPDU transmission is not time-aligned with the start and/or end of a PPDU transmission from the sharing AP.
The omitted element to be added in claim 44, as “providing control information to the shared access point that control the transmission of at least one PPDU of a shared access point”. The step of “providing control information to the shared access point that control the transmission of at least one PPDU of a shared access point” is considered essential element because, without the above recited step, how can the sharing AP coordinate the transmission of at least one PPDU of the shared access point so that the start and/or end of the PPDU transmission is not time-aligned with the start and/or end of a PPDU transmission from the sharing AP?
The limitation (iii) “coordinating transmissions of acknowledgment information for each of the multiple PPDUs within the TXOP to avoid interference between the transmissions of the PPDUs and the transmissions of the acknowledgement information” renders the claims indefinite as it is unclear how it coordinate transmissions of acknowledgment information for each of the multiple PPDUs within the TXOP to avoid interference between the transmissions of the PPDUs and the transmissions of the acknowledgement information.
The omitted element to be added in claim 44, as “providing control information to the one or more additional access points that control the transmission of acknowledgement information.” Without the step of providing control information to the one or more additional access points that control the transmission of acknowledgement information, how can the TXOP owner AP coordinate the transmission of acknowledgement information for each of the multiple PPDUs within the TXOP?
Independent claims 53, 63, and 64, have similar limitation as of Claim(s) 44, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 44
Claims 45-52 and 54-62 depend from one of the independent claims, thus carry the same issues as described above, and therefore are rejected on the same grounds discussed above.
Claim 64 recites the duplicate “contend for access to a medium;” in lines 5 and 6. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 44-49, 51-59, and 61-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Coordinated Spatial Reuse: Focus on Downlink”, Han J, et al. Internet document IEEE 802.11-20/0590r2 (server date: 2020-07-16)(included in Applicant’s IDS submitted on 03/08/2023)(hereinafter “Han”) in view of Seok et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200245352A1)(hereinafter “Seok”)
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Han unless otherwise mentioned.
With respect to independent claims
Regarding claim 44, Han teaches A method implemented by a sharing access point (Slide 6: AP1 (sharing AP)) in a wireless communication network of controlling wireless transmissions in the wireless communication system, the method comprising:
contending for access to a medium (Slide 4: 1. Preparation Phase: Preparation phase: before AP obtains TXOP)(Examiner’s note: “AP obtains TXOP” is interpreted as “contending for access to a medium”, see page 10, lines 9-12 of the Specification: For example, at least some of the involved APs 10 may contend for and share common resources. In particular, two or more of the APs 10 may contend for the same wireless medium or radio channel in order to obtain a TXOP. )
in response to gaining access to the medium, reserving a transmission opportunity, TXOP, on the medium (Slide 5: 2. Announcement phase: after AP obtains TXOP) (Slide 7: Function of Announcement frame: - Indicating the start of C-SR procedure. - Medium reservation (Setting NAV)) (Examiner’s note: “sending, by AP1, C-SR-A (CSR Announcement)” depicted in Slide 6 of Han is interpreted as “in response to gaining access to the medium, reserving a transmission opportunity, TXOP, on the medium”, see page 16, lines 24-27 of the Specification: At step 720, in response to gaining access to the medium, the AP reserves a TXOP on the medium. This may for example be accomplished by sending a message on the medium which indicates a duration of the reservation. In the examples of FIGS. 5 and 6 , the CSR ANN message also causes reservation of the TXOP.) ;
cooperating with one or more shared access points of the wireless communication system by sharing the TXOP based on spatial reuse (Slide 2: Coordinated SR (“Coordinated Spatial Reuse”), C-SR is a simple Multi-AP coordination scheme that can increase spectrum efficiency by reusing the same time/frequency resources among multiple BSSs) of at least some radio resources of the TXOP for transmission of multiple physical protocol data units, PPDUs, by each of the access points (Slide 5: 2. Announcement phase: after AP obtains TXOP. - If the AP is willing to share the obtained TXOP, it becomes a sharing AP. - Sharing AP’s action list: * Select the shared AP from the AP candidate set. ** Considering DL STA’s SINR of sharing AP. *Trigger the shared AP’s transmission using announcement frame. ** Essential information: AP ID, Tx power limit. 3. Transmission phase: after the potential shared AP obtains the shared TXOP)(Examiner’s: . See Slides 5-6 of Han as following:
(Slide 5 of Han)
(Slide 6 of Han)
Examiner’s note: The “2. Announcement phase:” and “3. Transmission phase” presented in Slides 5 and 6 of Han are interpreted as the claimed feature “cooperating with one or more further access points of the wireless communication system by sharing the TXOP based on spatial reuse of at least some radio resources of the TXOP for transmission of multiple physical protocol data units (see Slide 6, DL MUs (PPDUs) transmitted from (sharing)AP1 and (shared)AP2), PPDUs, by each of the access points”). As shown in Slide 6, AP1 (interpreted as “sharing AP”) transmits DL MU PPDUs to STA1-1 and STA1-2 within the shared TXOP. For each received PPDU, STA1-1 and STA1-2 respond by transmitting their respective BAs to AP1. Meanwhile, AP2 (interpreted as “one or more shared access points”) also transmits DL MU PPDUs to STA2-1 and STA2-2 within the shared TXOP, and in response, STA2-1 and STA2-2 transmit their respective BAs to AP2. Thus, Han teaches the multiple PPDU transmissions by each of the access points in a single TXOP. ;
(The missing/crossed out limitations will be discussed in view of Seok as follows.)
coordinating transmissions of acknowledgment information for each of the multiple PPDUs within the TXOP to avoid interference between the transmissions of the PPDUs and the transmissions of the acknowledgement information (Slide 8: Issue 3: Block Acknowledgement (BA) Separation (interpreted as “coordinating transmissions of acknowledgment information”) .
(Slide 8 of Han)
Examiner’s note: “Options for BA separation” presented in Slides 8-9 of Han are interpreted as the claimed feature “coordinating transmissions of acknowledgment information for each of the multiple PPDUs within the TXOP to avoid interference between the transmissions of the PPDUs and the transmissions of the acknowledgement information”. Han in the Slide 8 acknowledged the problem of the sharing the TXOP. Han discloses how to coordinate transmissions of acknowledgment information by option 1 (Non-overlapping resources for BA) and option 2 (Implicit BA for sharing BSS, and delayed BA for shared BSS).
As noted above, Han fails to teach the claimed feature “coordinating the transmission of at least one PPDU of a shared access point so that the start and/or end of the PPDU transmission is not time-aligned with the start and/or end of a PPDU transmission from the sharing AP” as recited in claim 44.
In analogous art, Seok discloses the “coordinating the transmission of at least one PPDU of a shared access point so that the start and/or end of the PPDU transmission is not time-aligned with the start and/or end of a PPDU transmission from the sharing AP” (para [0056] of Seok: a single TXOP obtained by an AP1 can be shared with AP2 and/or AP3. AP1 is referred to as a “coordinator AP,” (interpreted as “sharing AP”) and AP2 and AP3 are referred to as “coordinated APs” (interpreted as “one or more shared access points”).)(para [0057] of Seok: As depicted in FIG. 4, a single TXOP obtained by AP1 can be shared with AP2 and/or AP3 by allocating part of the available bandwidth to a coordinated AP and using remaining bandwidth to serve a wireless STA. AP1 is referred to as a coordinator AP, and AP2 and AP3 are referred to as coordinated APs. AP1 sends data frames 402 and 401 (The data frame 401, at least, is interpreted as “a PPDU transmission from the sharing AP”) to STA1 and STA2, and STA1 and STA2 respond with corresponding ACK frames 404 and 403. Thereafter, AP1 continues to serve STA1, and AP2 acts as a coordinated AP to send a data frame 405 to STA3 (The data frame 405 is interpreted as “at least one PPDU of a shared access point”). STA3 responds with a corresponding ACK frame 406. AP1 sends a data frame 407 to STA1, and STA1 response with a corresponding ACK frame 408. Multi-AP frame exchange sequence 400 occurs within a single TXOP assigned to AP1.).
Fig. 4 of Seok is reproduced herein below.
(FIG. 4 of Seok)
As shown in Fig. 4 of Seok, the start and/or end of the PPDU transmission (Data frame 405) of AP2 (shared AP) is not time-aligned with the start and/or end of a PPDU transmission (Data frame 401) from AP1 (sharing AP) within the Single TXOP.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Han's method by using the features of Seok in order to have more effective method such that "a single TXOP obtained by sharing AP can be shared with the shared AP and start and/or end of the PPDU transmission of the shared AP is not time-aligned with the start and/or end of a PPDU transmission from the sharing AP. Thus, Multi-AP frame exchange sequence occurs within a single TXOP assigned to AP1.
Regarding claim 53, Han teaches A method implemented by a shared access point (Slide 6: AP2 (shared AP)) of the wireless communication system of controlling wireless transmissions in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
contending for access to a medium (Slide 4: 1. Preparation Phase: Preparation phase: before AP obtains TXOP)(Examiner’s note: “AP obtains TXOP” is interpreted as “contending for access to a medium”, see page 10, lines 9-12 of the Specification: For example, at least some of the involved APs 10 may contend for and share common resources. In particular, two or more of the APs 10 may contend for the same wireless medium or radio channel in order to obtain a TXOP. );
in response to a sharing access point of the wireless communication system gaining access to the medium and reserving a transmission opportunity, TXOP, on the medium (Slide 5: 2. Announcement phase: after AP (interpreted as “sharing AP”) obtains TXOP) (Slide 7: Function of Announcement frame: - Indicating the start of C-SR procedure. - Medium reservation (Setting NAV)) (Examiner’s note: “sending, by AP1, C-SR-A (CSR Announcement)” depicted in Slide 6 of Han is interpreted as “another access point of the wireless communication system gaining access to the medium and reserving a transmission opportunity, TXOP, on the medium”,), cooperating with the sharing access point by sharing the TXOP based on spatial reuse of at least some radio resources of the TXOP for transmission of multiple physical protocol data units, PPDUs, by each of the access points (Slide 5: 2. Announcement phase: after AP (interpreted as “sharing AP”) obtains TXOP. - If the AP is willing to share the obtained TXOP, it becomes a sharing AP. - Sharing AP’s action list: * Select the shared AP from the AP candidate set. ** Considering DL STA’s SINR of sharing AP. *Trigger the shared AP’s transmission using announcement frame. ** Essential information: AP ID, Tx power limit. 3. Transmission phase: after the potential shared AP obtains the shared TXOP).) See Slides 5-6 of Han.
Examiner’s note: The “2. Announcement phase:” and “3. Transmission phase” presented in Slides 5 and 6 of Han are interpreted as the claimed feature “cooperating with one or more further access points of the wireless communication system by sharing the TXOP based on spatial reuse of at least some radio resources of the TXOP for transmission of multiple physical protocol data units (see Slide 6, DL MUs (PPDUs) transmitted from (sharing)AP1 and (shared)AP2), PPDUs, by each of the access points”). As shown in Slide 6, AP1 (interpreted as “sharing AP”) transmits DL MU PPDUs to STA1-1 and STA1-2 within the shared TXOP. For each received PPDU, STA1-1 and STA1-2 respond by transmitting their respective BAs to AP1. Meanwhile, AP2 (interpreted as “shared AP”) also transmits DL MU PPDUs to STA2-1 and STA2-2 within the shared TXOP, and in response, STA2-1 and STA2-2 transmit their respective BAs to AP2. Thus, Han teaches the multiple PPDU transmissions by each of the access points in a single TXOP. ;
(The missing/crossed out limitations will be discussed in view of Seok as follows.)
for each of the PPDUs transmitted by the access point, coordinating transmission of acknowledgement information for the PPDU within the TXOP with transmission of acknowledgement information for the PPDUs transmitted by the other access point to avoid interference between the transmissions of the PPDUs and the transmissions of the acknowledgement information (Slide 8: Issue 3: Block Acknowledgement (BA) Separation, see Slide 8) .
(Slide 8 of Han)
Examiner’s note: “Options for BA separation” presented in Slides 8-9 of Han are interpreted as the claimed feature “coordinating transmission of acknowledgement information for the PPDU within the TXOP with transmission of acknowledgement information for the PPDUs transmitted by the other access point to avoid interference between the transmissions of the PPDUs and the transmissions of the acknowledgement information”. Han in the Slide 8 acknowledged the problem of the sharing the TXOP. Han discloses how to coordinate transmissions of acknowledgment information by option 1 (Non-overlapping resources for BA) and option 2 (Implicit BA for sharing BSS, and delayed BA for shared BSS).
As noted above, Han fails to teach the claimed feature “coordinating at least one PPDU transmission from the shared access point with the sharing AP so that the start and/or end of the PPDU transmission from the shared access point is not time-aligned with the start and/or end of a PPDU transmission from the sharing access point” as recited in claim 53.
In analogous art, Seok discloses the “coordinating at least one PPDU transmission from the shared access point with the sharing AP so that the start and/or end of the PPDU transmission from the shared access point is not time-aligned with the start and/or end of a PPDU transmission from the sharing access point” (para [0056] of Seok: a single TXOP obtained by an AP1 can be shared with AP2 and/or AP3. AP1 is referred to as a “coordinator AP,” (interpreted as “sharing AP”) and AP2 and AP3 are referred to as “coordinated APs” (interpreted as “shared AP”).)(para [0057] of Seok: As depicted in FIG. 4, a single TXOP obtained by AP1 can be shared with AP2 and/or AP3 by allocating part of the available bandwidth to a coordinated AP and using remaining bandwidth to serve a wireless STA. AP1 is referred to as a coordinator AP, and AP2 and AP3 are referred to as coordinated APs. AP1 sends data frames 402 and 401 (The data frame 401, at least, is interpreted as “a PPDU transmission from the sharing access point”) to STA1 and STA2, and STA1 and STA2 respond with corresponding ACK frames 404 and 403. Thereafter, AP1 continues to serve STA1, and AP2 acts as a coordinated AP to send a data frame 405 to STA3 (The data frame 405 is interpreted as “the PPDU transmission from the shared access point”). STA3 responds with a corresponding ACK frame 406. AP1 sends a data frame 407 to STA1, and STA1 response with a corresponding ACK frame 408. Multi-AP frame exchange sequence 400 occurs within a single TXOP assigned to AP1.).
Fig. 4 of Seok is reproduced herein below.
(FIG. 4 of Seok)
As shown in Fig. 4 of Seok, the start and/or end of the PPDU transmission (Data frame 405) of AP2 (shared AP) is not time-aligned with the start and/or end of a PPDU transmission (Data frame 401) from AP1 (sharing AP) within the Single TXOP.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Han's method by using the features of Seok in order to have more effective method such that "a single TXOP obtained by sharing AP can be shared with the shared AP and start and/or end of the PPDU transmission of the shared AP is not time-aligned with the start and/or end of a PPDU transmission from the sharing AP. Thus, Multi-AP frame exchange sequence occurs within a single TXOP assigned to AP1.
Regarding claim 63, it is an access point claim corresponding to the method claim 44, Han does not explicitly teach the limitations “communication circuitry for communicating over a wireless communication medium” and “processing circuitry operatively connected with configured to:”.
Seok teaches the above recited limitations:
communication circuitry for communicating over a wireless communication medium (FIG. 19 of Seok, A communication or network interface 1908)(para [0089] of Seok: A communication or network interface 1908 includes one or more transceivers and allows the computer system 1912 to communicate with other computer systems, networks, or devices via an electronic communications network, including wired and/or wireless communication and including an Intranet or the Internet (e.g., 802.19 wireless standard), and
processing circuitry operatively connected with configured to: (FIG. 19 of Seok, a central processing unit (such as a processor or a CPU) 1901)(para [0089] of Seok: In the example of FIG. 19, the exemplary computer system 1912 (e.g., a multi-band cooperative wireless access point AP or a multi-band cooperative wireless station STA) includes a central processing unit (such as a processor or a CPU) 1901 for running software applications and optionally an operating system.).
Regarding claim 64, it is an access point claim corresponding to the method claim 53, Han does not explicitly teach the limitations “communication circuitry for communicating over a wireless communication medium” and “processing circuitry operatively connected with configured to:”.
Seok teaches the above recited limitations:
communication circuitry for communicating over a wireless communication medium (FIG. 19 of Seok, A communication or network interface 1908)(para [0089] of Seok: A communication or network interface 1908 includes one or more transceivers and allows the computer system 1912 to communicate with other computer systems, networks, or devices via an electronic communications network, including wired and/or wireless communication and including an Intranet or the Internet (e.g., 802.19 wireless standard), and
processing circuitry operatively connected with configured to: (FIG. 19 of Seok, a central processing unit (such as a processor or a CPU) 1901)(para [0089] of Seok: In the example of FIG. 19, the exemplary computer system 1912 (e.g., a multi-band cooperative wireless access point AP or a multi-band cooperative wireless station STA) includes a central processing unit (such as a processor or a CPU) 1901 for running software applications and optionally an operating system.).
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim 45, Han and Seok teach The method according to claim 44, further comprising: Han further teaches
providing control information to the one or more shared access points, wherein the control information coordinates the transmissions of the acknowledgment information for each of the multiple PPDUs within the TXOP by: (Slide 7: Essential contents of announcement frame (interpreted as “control information”): - Per-AP info for each shared AP)
scheduling the transmissions of the acknowledgement information on radio resources of the TXOP which are distinct from radio resources assigned for transmission of the PPDUs (Slide 7: Non-overlapping frequency resource allocation for block acknowledgement info (interpreted as “the acknowledgement information on radio resources of the TXOP which are distinct from radio resources assigned for transmission of the PPDUs”, see Slide 8)) (Slide 8: Non-overlapping frequency resource allocation for BA is determined by the sharing AP and included in the announcement frame (interpreted as “providing control information … by scheduling the transmissions of the acknowledgement information …”))(Slide 9: [Option 1] Non-overlapping resources for BA in detail. Two-level BA separation (Examiner’s note : The separated resource allocation (upper 40MHz and lower 40MHz) is distinct from the radio resources (80MHz) for the transmission of the PPDUs as shown in Slide 9); or
(Slide 9 of Han)
scheduling transmissions of the acknowledgement information to different ones of the sharing access point and the one or more further access points on radio resources of the TXOP which are time-aligned with respect to each other (See Slides 6 and 9 of Han: Each BA of BAs to AP1 and AP2 are time-aligned with respect to each other).
Regarding claim 46, Han and Seok teach The method according to claim 45, wherein: Han further teaches
for a first set of the PPDUs (Slide 9: C-SR Transmission of sharing AP
(DL MU PPDU), Examiner’s note: PPDUs for STA1 and STA2), the control information schedules transmissions of the acknowledgement information to the respective access point on first radio resources of the TXOP which are time-aligned with respect to each other (Slide 9: BA separation among sharing/shared Aps. - E.g. upper 40MHz for sharing AP, lower 40MHz for shared AP). Examiner’s note: The BAs of STA1 and STA2 are transmitted via upper 40MHz (The upper 40MHz is interpreted 40M40nterpreted as “first radio resources of the TXOP”)). Each BA of STAs 1-2 are time-aligned with respect to each other), and
(Slide 9 of Han)
for a second set of the PPDUs (Slide 9: C-SR Transmission of shared AP (DL MU PPDU), Examiner’s note: PPDUs for STA3 and STA4), the control information schedules transmissions of the acknowledgement information to the respective access point (Slide 9: Shared AP) on second radio resources of the TXOP which are time-aligned with respect to each other (Slide 9: BA separation among sharing/shared Aps. - E.g. upper 40MHz for sharing AP, lower 40MHz for shared AP). Examiner’s note: The BAs of STA3 and STA4 are transmitted via lower 40MHZ (The lower 40MHz is interpreted as “second radio resources”). Each BA of STAs 3-4 are time-aligned with respect to each other).
Regarding claim 47, Han and Seok teach The method according to claim 46, Han does not explicitly teach wherein an end time of the first radio resources is before transmission of the second set of PPDUs.
It, however, discloses the had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Seok.
Seok discloses the claimed limitation “wherein an end time of the first radio resources is before transmission of the second set of PPDUs” (para [0057] of Seok: a single TXOP obtained by AP1 can be shared with AP2 and/or AP3 by allocating part of the available bandwidth to a coordinated AP and using remaining bandwidth to serve a wireless STA. AP1 is referred to as a coordinator AP, and AP2 and AP3 are referred to as coordinated APs. AP1 sends data frames 402 and 401 (interpreted as “first set of the PPDUs”) to STA1 and STA2, and STA1 and STA2 respond with corresponding ACK frames 404 and 403 (interpreted as “acknowledgement information to the respective access point on first radio resources of the TXOP which are time-aligned with respect to each other”, see FIG. 4). Thereafter, AP1 continues to serve STA1, and AP2 acts as a coordinated AP to send a data frame 405 to STA3. STA3 responds with a corresponding ACK frame 406. AP1 sends a data frame 407 to STA1 (the data frames 405 and 407 are interpreted as the “second set of the PPDUs”), and STA1 response with a corresponding ACK frame 408. Multi-AP frame exchange sequence 400 occurs within a single TXOP assigned to AP1.).
Examiner’s note: The end time of the first radio resources for ACK frames (403, 405) is before transmission of the second set of PPDUs (405, 407). Fig. 4 of Seok is reproduced herein below.
(FIG. 4 of Seok)
Regarding claim 48, Han and Seok teach The method according to claim 45, wherein: Han further teaches
the control information schedules the transmissions of the acknowledgement information according to a time-periodic pattern (Slide 7: Essential contents of announcement frame(interpreted as “control information”). – Common info, Duration of C-SR procedure triggered by announcement frame (interpreted as “a time-periodic pattern”).); or
the control information schedules the transmissions of the acknowledgement information after the transmission of the PPDUs in the TXOP (Examiner’s Note: see Slide 9, The transmissions of the acknowledgement information(“BA”) after the transmission of the PPDUs in the TXOP); or
the control information indicates, for at least a first of the PPDUs to be transmitted by the access point, a duration for transmission of the PPDU (Slide 5: Transmission phase: after the potential shared AP obtains the shared TXOP … C-SR transmissions (including block acknowledgement) of the sharing/shared APs occur simultaneously in the shared TXOP) (see Slide 6, the scheduling depicted in Slide 6 regarding “a duration for transmission of the PPDU”); or
the control information indicates, for at least a first of the PPDUs to be transmitted by the access point, a duration for the transmission of acknowledgement information for the PPDU (Slide 5: Transmission phase: after the potential shared AP obtains the shared TXOP … C-SR transmissions (including block acknowledgement) of the sharing/shared APs occur simultaneously in the shared TXOP) (see Slide 6, the scheduling depicted in Slide 6 regarding a duration for the transmission of acknowledgement information for the PPDU); or
the control information indicates, for at least a first of the PPDUs to be transmitted by the access point, a combined duration for the transmission of the PPDU and transmission of acknowledgement information for the PPDU (see Slide 6, the scheduling in Transmission Phase is interpreted as “a combined duration for the transmission of the PPDU and transmission of acknowledgement information for the PPDU”); or
the control information indicates a modulation and coding scheme, MCS, to be applied for the transmissions of the acknowledgement information.
Regarding claim 49, Han and Seok teach The method according to claim 45, Han further teaches wherein at least a part of the control information is transmitted in a message for coordinating the sharing of the TXOP by the access points (Slide 7: Function of Announcement frame (interpreted as “a message for coordinating the sharing of the TXOP”), -Indicating the start of C-SR procedure, -Medium reservation (Setting NAV), -Soliciting transmission of shared AP(s)). Examiner’s note: see page 18, lines 25-27 of the Specification: “In some scenarios, at least a part of the control information is transmitted in a message for coordinating the sharing of the TXOP by the APs, such as in the above-mentioned CSR ANN frame”.
Regarding claim 51, Han and Seok teach The method according to claim 44, Han further teaches wherein transmissions of the acknowledgement information by different access points share radio resources of the TXOP (see Slide 9)
Seok disclose the “based on orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing”. Seok discloses that, in para [0011] of Seok, the second wireless AP schedules the RU using a Coordinated OFDMA Announcement (COA) control frame. Seok further5 discloses that, in para [0067] of Seok, the coordinator AP allocates the bandwidths, lengths, and additional TXVECTOR parameters for DL and UL transmission. The allocation can be announced using a Coordinated OFDMA Announcement (COA) control frame sent to one or more coordinated APs.
Regarding claim 52, Han and Seok teach The method according to claim 44, Han further teaches wherein time-aligned transmissions of the acknowledgement information to different access points share radio resources of the TXOP based on spatial reuse or spatial reuse with transmit power control (Slide 5: 3. Transmission phase: after the potential shared AP obtains the shared TXOP,
-If an AP receives the announcement frame successfully and is willing to participate in the C-SR transmission, the AP becomes a shared AP,
- Shared AP’s action list:
Set Tx power based on the guide obtained from the announcement frame, - `C-SR transmissions (including block acknowledgement) of the sharing/shared APs occur simultaneously in the shared TXOP
- Assumption: start/end time of C-SR transmissions are aligned).
(Examiner’s note: See slide 6, AP1 and AP2, time-aligned transmissions of the BAs to AP 1 and AP2 share radio resources of the TXOP based on spatial reuse or spatial reuse with transmit power control)
Regarding claim 54, Han and Seok teach The method according to claim 53, further comprising: Han further teaches
receiving control information from the sharing access point (Slide 6: C-SR-A from AP1 (interpreted as “the sharing access point”) (Slide 7: Essential contents of announcement frame (interpreted as “control information”): - Per-AP info for each shared AP); and
based on the control information, coordinating the transmission of acknowledgment information for the PPDU within the TXOP with transmission of acknowledgement information for the PPDUs transmitted by the sharing access point (Slide 5: `C-SR transmissions (including block acknowledgement) of the sharing/shared APs occur simultaneously in the shared TXOP)(See Slides 6: transmitted BAs (from STA1-1, STA 1-2, STA2-1, and STA2-2 are aligned (coordinated)).
Regarding claim 55, Claim 55, has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 45, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 45.
Regarding claim 56, Claim 56, has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 46, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 46.
Regarding claim 57, Claim 57, has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 47, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 47.
Regarding claim 58, Claim 58, has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 48, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 48.
Regarding claim 59, Claim 59, has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 49, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 49.
Regarding claim 61, Claim 61, has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 51, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 51.
Regarding claim 62, Claim 62, has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 52, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 52.
Tentative Indication of Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 50 and 60 appear to contain allowable subject matters pending on satisfactory of overcoming above 112 rejection. The claims contain the following underlined features which, when combined with other features of the claim, prior art of record failed to anticipate or render obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application was filed:
“wherein the transmissions of the acknowledgement information are triggered by a message after the transmission of the PPDUs in the TXOP.”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WON JUN CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411