DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Examiner acknowledges receipt of Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed with the Office on August 20th, 2026 in response to the Final Office Action mailed on February 25th, 2026. Per Applicant's response, Claim 1 has been amended and Claim 21 has been newly-added. All other claims remain in the previously presented form. Thus, Claims 1-21 now remain pending in the instant application. The Examiner has carefully considered each of Applicant’s amendments and/or arguments, and they will be addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) (i.e. Claims 1 & 21) contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 has been amended (and Claim 21 newly added) to now recite the limitations “the fixture structure being of the chamber or configured to be fastened, not at least in part via nor at least in part by the vibration isolator, to the chamber” (Claim 1) and “a collar configured to be fastened, not at least in part via nor at least in part by the vibration isolator, to the chamber” (Claim 21); these limitations constitute new matter that does not find support within the originally filed specification. In this case, each of these limitations constitutes a negative limitation. As noted in MPEP 2173.05(i), “any negative limitation or exclusionary proviso must have basis in the original disclosure”. Furthermore, “the mere absence of a positive recitation is not basis for an exclusion”. In this case, Applicant’s written description does not provide any written or descriptive basis for excluding fastening of the fixture structure (or collar) to the chamber via the vibration isolator. The Examiner has also reviewed Applicant’s supplied figures and finds that such an arrangement does not appear to be depicted (or readily apparent) within any of the supplied figures either. Applicant’s current response appears to take the position that it is readily apparent from the supplied figures that the fixture structure (and collar) is configured to be fastened, not at least in part via nor at least in part by the vibration isolator, to the chamber. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. There is nothing readily apparent or obvious in the supplied figures making clear that the fixture structure (or collar) is necessarily configured to be fastened, not at least in part via nor at least in part by the vibration isolator, to the chamber. In fact, as far as the examiner understands the invention of Claim 1, the only embodiment shown in the figures is that in which the fixture structure is “of the chamber”. In other words, since the figures do not even depict a fixture structure that is separate from (and attached to) the chamber, it is impossible for the figures themselves to depict this newly recited arrangement. As such, the original disclosure, as a whole, appears to have no basis for these exclusions in the claims. Therefore, this newly-recited negative limitation clearly constitutes new matter.
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 & 21 recite the limitations “the fixture structure being of the chamber or configured to be fastened, not at least in part via nor at least in part by the vibration isolator, to the chamber” (Claim 1) and “a collar configured to be fastened, not at least in part via nor at least in part by the vibration isolator, to the chamber” (Claim 21); this limitation renders the claim indefinite. As best understood by the Examiner, Applicant’s Figures 3A-4C best depict the recited invention. Paragraph 49 of the disclosure makes clear that the mounting chamber 330 forms the chamber where a vacuum environment is maintained. In other words, the original disclosure appears to merely provide basis for a fixture structure being “of the chamber”, as claimed. However, as far as the examiner understands, neither the written description nor the supplied figures disclose or depict a fixture structure being configured to be “fastened, not at least in part via nor at least in part by the vibration isolator, to the chamber”, as claimed. Absent any written description or figures relating to this newly recited language, it becomes impossible to know what arrangement is required for the fixture structure. Similarly, the original disclosure appears to merely provide basis for a collar being coupled to mounting chamber 330 in some fashion. However, as far as the examiner understands, neither the written description nor the supplied figures disclose or depict collar 312 being configured to be “fastened, not at least in part via nor at least in part by the vibration isolator, to the chamber”, as claimed. Absent any written description or figures relating to this newly recited language, it becomes impossible to know what arrangement is required for the fixture structure. Therefore, the metes and bounds of Claims 1 & 21 cannot be reasonably discerned, and as such, Claims 1 & 21 are rendered indefinite.
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 20th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Examiner’s responses can be seen below.
In regards to Applicant’s argument that “The Office Action refers to Figures 1A-F and 2 of Quartarone and asserts that ring 126 corresponds to the claimed vibration isolator, that the member 119 corresponds to the claimed fixture structure, and that the lower set of pins 135 corresponds to the claimed stop structure. However, there is no apparent disclosure or teaching of, for example, the claimed fixture structure being of the chamber or configured to be fastened, not at least in part via nor at least in part by the vibration isolator, to the chamber. From Figures 1A-1F and 2, it is apparent that member 119 is not part of chamber 220. Further, it can be seen from Figures 1A-1F and 2 of Quartarone that, assuming member 119 is "fastened" to chamber 220 (which Applicant does not concede), the member 119 has to be "fastened" to chamber 220 at least in part via isolator or at least in part by isolator 126. If the chamber is below isolator 126 then the member 119 is fastened to the chamber at least in part via isolator 126 since isolator 126 is shown in Figures 1C, 1 D, 1 E and 1 F of Quartarone between and in contact with component 103 (attached to the alleged chamber below) and member 119. Otherwise, if the chamber is above isolator 126 then the member 119 is fastened to the chamber at least in part by isolator 126 since isolator 126 is shown in Figures 1C, 1 D, 1 E and 1 F of Quartarone in contact with member 119 and provides at least an upward pressure to keep the member 119 in contact with the component 109 (attached to the alleged chamber above)”, the Examiner must respectfully disagree. Applicant appears to have misunderstood the previous office action as it relates to the “vibration isolator” within Quartarone. Applicant appears to refer to the upper elastic ring 126 in the remarks, and asserts that the fixture structure 119 is fastened to the vacuum chamber 220 via the upper elastic ring 126. However, to reiterate the previous office action, the “vibration isolator” in Quartarone is the lower elastic ring 126 (not the upper elastic ring 126). In other words, Applicant’s remarks misunderstand (or mischaracterize) the previous office action to the point that the Applicant’s argument is ultimately rendered moot. Quartarone’s Figures 1B-1C & 2 clearly depict the fixture structure 119 being fastened, not at least in part via nor at least in part by the vibration isolator, to the vacuum chamber 220. As such, the fixture structure 119 is clearly configured to be fastened to the chamber 220, as claimed. Quartarone goes on to details how this fastening between the fixture structure 119 and the vacuum chamber 220 is achieved is by stating “second component 105 has a flange 109 for connection to a connection flange of a vacuum chamber at one end” (para. 25), “Intermediate component 119 has, at an opposite end, connecting component 125 arranged to be coupled with connecting component 113 of second component 105 for connecting second component 105 to intermediate component 119” (para. 30) and “second component 105 and intermediate component 119 are connected through a bayonet insertion with radial teeth 113a of second component 105 offset relative to radial teeth 125 of intermediate component 119 and subsequent rotation of the components relative to axis S” (para. 33). It is clear from these disclosures that Quartarone’s fixture structure 119 is configured to be fastened to the chamber 220 via a bayonet connection without ever involving the lower elastic ring 126 (i.e. vibration isolator), as claimed. Therefore, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-16, & 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2014/0197627 to Quartarone et al.
In regards to independent Claims 1 & 21, and with particular reference to Figures 1A-2, Quartarone et al. (Quartarone hereinafter) discloses:
1. A system (Fig. 2; Abstract; paras. 2-3) comprising: a vibration isolator (lower elastic ring 126; see Figs. 1A-1B and para. 31; also shown, but not labeled, in Fig. 2) configured to be coupled (at least indirectly, via component 103) to a housing (203) of a vacuum pump (210) configured to exhaust fluid from a chamber (220) (para. 2), the vibration isolator configured to isolate vibrations generated by the vacuum pump during operation (paras. 40, 42) and arranged along an axis of the system (Fig. 2); a stop structure (lower pins 135; Fig. 1B) located along the axis (Fig. 1B) and arranged to be disposed between (i.e. axially between) the vacuum pump housing and an adjacent fixture (lower set of recesses/slots 133; para. 35; Figs. 1A-1C), the stop structure configured to prevent displacement of the vacuum pump housing relative to the fixture above a threshold amount by contact with the fixture (paras. 34-35), wherein the displacement of the vacuum pump housing is configured to be within the threshold amount during normal operation (as shown in Fig. 1A and discussed within para. 35); and a fixture structure (119; “intermediate component”; para. 27; Fig. 1B) located along the axis (Figs. 1A-1C) and having (i.e. monolithically forming) the adjacent fixture (Figs. 1A & 1B), the fixture structure being of the chamber, or configured to be fastened, not at least in part via nor at least in part by the vibration isolator, to the chamber without fastening force passing via the stop structure (fixture structure 119 is configured to be fastened to the chamber 220 (as shown in Fig. 2) via a bayonet connection that does pass through or involve the lower elastic ring 126 (i.e. vibration isolator); see paras. 25, 30, & 33 & Fig. 1), wherein the vibration isolator is located between (i.e. axially between) at least part of the fixture structure and the stop structure (Figs. 1B-1C), wherein the fixture is immovable, in use, relative to the fixture structure (fixture 133 is monolithically formed with fixture structure 119, and thus, is immovable), and wherein at least part of the fixture structure, in use, surrounds the vibration isolator (fixture structure 119 circumferentially surrounds vibration isolator 126; Figs. 1C-1E).
21. A system (Fig. 2; Abstract; paras. 2-3) comprising: a vibration isolator (lower elastic ring 126; see Figs. 1A-1B and para. 31; also shown, but not labeled, in Fig. 2) configured to be coupled (at least indirectly, via component 103) to a housing (203) of a vacuum pump (210) configured to exhaust fluid from a chamber (220) (para. 2), the vibration isolator configured to isolate vibrations generated by the vacuum pump during operation (paras. 40, 42) and arranged along an axis of the system (Fig. 2); a stop structure (lower pins 135; Fig. 1B) located along the axis (Fig. 1B) and arranged to be disposed between (i.e. axially between) the vacuum pump housing and an adjacent fixture (lower set of recesses/slots 133; para. 35; Figs. 1A-1C), the stop structure configured to prevent displacement of the vacuum pump housing relative to the fixture above a threshold amount by contact with the fixture (paras. 34-35), wherein the displacement of the vacuum pump housing is configured to be within the threshold amount during normal operation (as shown in Fig. 1A and discussed within para. 35); and a fixture structure (119; “intermediate component”; para. 27; Fig. 1B) located along the axis (Figs. 1A-1C) and having (i.e. monolithically forming) the adjacent fixture (Figs. 1A & 1B); and a collar (113a; Figs. 1C-1E) configured to be fastened, not at least in part via nor at least in part by the vibration isolator, to the chamber (apparent in Fig. 2; component 105, which forms collar 113a, is directly fastened to the vacuum chamber 220, and thus, does not involve the lower elastic ring 126 (i.e. vibration isolator)) and configured to prevent displacement of the vacuum pump housing along the axis above an axial threshold amount (139; Fig. 1E; paras. 37-39), wherein the displacement of the vacuum pump housing is configured to be within the axial threshold amount during normal operation (Figs. 1D & 1E; paras. 37-39), wherein the vibration isolator is located between (i.e. axially between) at least part of the fixture structure and the stop structure (Figs. 1B-1C), wherein the fixture is immovable, in use, relative to the fixture structure (fixture 133 is monolithically formed with fixture structure 119, and thus, is immovable), and wherein at least part of the fixture structure, in use, surrounds the vibration isolator (fixture structure 119 circumferentially surrounds vibration isolator 126; Figs. 1C-1E).
In regards to Claim 2, Quartarone discloses that the vibration isolator (126) is configured to inhibit transmission of the vibrations from the vacuum pump housing to the chamber (220) (paras. 40, 42).
In regards to Claim 4, Quartarone discloses that during normal operation of the vacuum pump, the stop structure is spaced from the fixture (as shown in Figs. 1A).
In regards to Claim 5, Quartarone discloses that the spacing is maintained between surfaces of the stop structure and the fixture in a radial direction (as shown in Fig. 1A).
In regards to Claim 6, Quartarone discloses that the spacing is maintained between surfaces of the stop structure and the fixture in an axial direction (as shown in Fig. 1A).
In regards to Claim 7, Quartarone discloses that the stop structure is configured to contact the fixture and prevent displacement of the vacuum pump housing above the threshold amount in an event of a malfunction of the vacuum pump (paras. 34-35).
In regards to Claim 8, Quartarone discloses that the stop structure is fixed relative to the vacuum pump housing (radial pins 135 are fixed to pump housing component 205; see Fig. 1A and paras. 35 & 46), and wherein the spacing prevents vibration from being transmitted from the vacuum pump housing via the stop structure, to the fixture (this is implicit; see also para. 39, which describes how a lack of contact between components dampens vibration).
In regards to Claim 9, Quartarone discloses that the stop structure is a separately formed structure (i.e. separate pins 135) that is fixedly connected to the vacuum pump housing (Figs. 1A-1B).
In regards to Claim 10, Quartarone discloses that the stop structure is integrally formed as part of the vacuum pump housing (Figs. 1A-1B; Applicant should note that it has been held that “integral” is sufficiently broad to embrace constructions united by such means as fastening and welding. In re Hotte, 177 USPQ 326, 328 (CCPA 1973); in this instance, Quartarone’s stop structure (135) and vacuum pump housing (203) are fastened together, thereby forming an integral construction, as claimed). If Applicant truly desires a monolithic structure, then such a specific arrangement must be positively recited within the claim (and supported by the originally-filed specification).
In regards to Claim 11, Quartarone discloses that the stop structure comprises one or more teeth (the radial pins 135 form teeth, as claimed; Figs. 1A-1B).
In regards to Claim 12, Quartarone discloses that the fixture comprises one or more slots (133) to receive the one or more teeth of the stop structure (Figs. 1A-1B).
In regards to Claim 13, Quartarone discloses that a spacing is maintained between each of the one or more slots and the one or more teeth (Fig. 1A and para. 35).
In regards to Claim 14, Quartarone discloses that the one or more teeth of the stop structure contact the one more slots of the fixture to prevent rotation of the vacuum pump upon malfunction (“pins 135 abut against the walls of radial recesses 133 to prevent further rotation”; para. 35).
In regards to Claim 15, Quartarone discloses that the one or more teeth of the stop structure are made of a specified material that has a desired plastic deformation property (this reads on any material at all, including those with zero plastic deformation) to absorb kinetic energy of the vacuum pump upon failure (“pins 135 abut against the walls of radial recesses 133 to prevent further rotation” indicates absorption of kinetic energy; para. 35).
In regards to Claim 16, Quartarone discloses that the stop structure is disposed between the vacuum pump and the vibration isolator and fixedly coupled to the vacuum pump and the vibration isolator (Figs. 1A-1B & 2 clearly show that the stop structure 135 is 1) arranged axially between the vacuum pump 210 and the vibration isolator 131 and 2) fixedly coupled to the vacuum pump and the vibration isolator).
In regards to Claim 18, Quartarone further discloses a collar (121) configured to prevent displacement of the vacuum pump housing along an axis of rotation of the vacuum pump above an axial threshold amount, wherein the displacement of the vacuum pump housing is configured to be within the axial threshold amount during normal operation (paras. 39-42).
In regards to Claim 19, Quartarone discloses that the collar (121) comprises one or more portions (121a, 123) attached to a fixed structure (flange 111 of pump housing 203; see Fig. 1B and 2), and shaped to conform with a peripheral shape of the vacuum pump housing (as shown in Figs. 1B-1F).
In regards to Claim 20, Quartarone discloses that the collar (121) has a ring like structure (Figs. 1A-1B) comprising: a first portion (121a) of the one or more portions; and a second portion (123) of the one or more portions configured to couple (i.e. monolithically) with the first portion (Fig. 1B) forming a ring (“toroidal”; para. 29), the first portion and the second portion configured to be attached around a periphery of the vacuum pump (Figs. 1B-1F; paras. 27-33).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 & 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the best available prior art fails to disclose that the vibration isolator is configured to inhibit transmission of the vibrations from the vacuum pump housing to a chamber within which vacuum is created by the vacuum pump, wherein the fixture forms part of the chamber (Claim 3), much less that the chamber comprises a pocket to receive the vibration isolator and/or the stop structure (Claim 17).
Quartarone (applied above) is considered to be the most relevant prior art document. While Quartarone discloses that the vibration isolator 126 is configured to inhibit transmission of the vibrations from the vacuum pump housing to a chamber 220, he does not further provide the recited “fixture” 133 (i.e. lower slots 133) as part of chamber 220 (rather, Quartarone discloses the fixture 133 on a separate fixture structure 119, as detailed above). Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to have provided a fixture 133 within Quartarone’s chamber 220 because 1) there would have been no reason to have provided a fixture at this location, and 2) such a design change would have required significant impermissible hindsight in light of Applicant’s own disclosures. Similarly, Quartarone’s vacuum chamber 220 lacks the recited “pocket” to receive the vibration isolator and/or the stop structure (rather, Quartarone is designed to mount the vibration isolator and stop structure outside of the vacuum chamber, as detailed above). Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to have provided a pocket within Quartarone’s chamber 220 for these elements as claimed because 1) there would have been no reason to have provided these elements inside the vacuum chamber, and 2) such a design change would have required significant impermissible hindsight in light of Applicant’s own disclosures.
The Examiner further notes that US 7,341,1423 to Kabasawa and US 6,485,254 to Davis disclose additional stop structure arrangements for vacuum pump assemblies similar to that of Applicant’s invention, but neither of these references overcomes the deficiencies in Quartarone.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER B COMLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
ABC