DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In view of the amendment on claim 1 the rejection under U.S.C. 103 of claims 1-10 is withdrawn.
New analysis follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 and its dependent claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 07/17/26 is sufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 1-10 based upon a lack of However, upon further search and consideration, new analysis follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et. al. (KR20190093453A, as cited in IDS dated 3/10/23, reference made to attached English translation) in view of Isao et. al. (CNCN103606671A, reference made to English translation)
Regarding claim 1, 3, and 6-10, Lee discloses a positive electrode active material for a lithium secondary battery of the formula Li(Ni0.8Co0.1Mn0.1)O2, comprising:
secondary particles, wherein each secondary particle comprises an agglomerate of primary macro particles, wherein an average particle size (D50) of the primary macro particles is 2 μm and the crystallite size is 260 nm and an average particle size (D50) of the secondary particles is 6 μm (¶[0121])
but does not disclose wherein a part of a surface of each secondary particle is coated with a cobalt compound and an aluminum compound.
Isao, related to positive electrode materials, teaches a lithium nickel transition metal-based oxide with a surface coating containing Co and Al(¶[0016]) and are LiAlO2 and LiCoO2(¶[0017]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized adding the Co and Al coating layer to the positive electrode material of Lee would have reduced occurrence of side reactions and improved cycle performance and safety (¶[0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have added the coating layer of Isao to the positive electrode material of Lee to reduce occurrence of side reactions and improve cycle performance and safety.
Regarding claim 4, modified Lee teaches the positive electrode active material of claim 1 and Isao further teaches the cobalt coating may be Co3O4(¶[0017]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Lee teaches the positive electrode active material of claim 1 and Isao further teaches the aluminum coating component may be Al2O3(¶[0017]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Lee teaches the positive electrode active material of claim 1 and Lee further teaches a positive electrode comprising the positive electrode active material of claim 1(¶[0145]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Lee teaches the positive electrode active material of claim 1 and Lee further teaches a lithium secondary battery comprising the positive electrode active material of claim 1(¶[0147]).
Claim 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et. al. (KR20190093453A, as cited in IDS dated 3/10/23, reference made to attached English translation) in view of Isao et. al. (CNCN103606671A, reference made to English translation) and further in view of Baek et. al. (WO2019088806 as previously cited, reference made to US20200083524 as English translation).
Regarding claim 2, modified Lee teaches the positive electrode active material of claim 1 but does not disclose wherein the cobalt compound and the aluminum compound are in a dot pattern.
Baek, related to positive electrode materials, teaches a lithium nickel cobalt manganese based oxide(¶[0071]) with a surface coating containing Co and Al(¶[0072]) and further teaches the Co and Al coating may be partially formed on the surface covering 5% up to <100% of the surface which one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize these sections of coverage as dots(¶[0074]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized using the coverage of the coating layer as taught by Baek in the positive electrode material of Lee would achieve suppression of the occurrence of a side reactions, thereby improving life characteristics when used in a battery (¶[0072]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have used the coverage of the coating layer of Baek in the positive electrode material of Lee to provide a system where the coating on the surface of the active material suppresses the occurrence of side reactions thereby improving life characteristics when used in a battery.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.J.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1726 /RYAN S CANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726