DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Regarding first argument:
Applicant argues in substance that amended claim language to claim that control information is sent from a base station and that control information being sent over RRC or MAC-CE overcomes previously cited prior art of Abedini.
Prior art Abedini still discloses that control information is sent from a base station to the relay device, see figure 6 of Abedini as well as paragraphs 0098-0168 as cited below. Prior art of Sun contains control information being sent via RRC or MAC-CE as cited below in paragraph 0129.
Regarding second argument:
Applicant argues in substance that the D2D described in Sun is different that D2D in the claim language.
Examiner agrees in part. The D2D as claimed is claimed as communication between the relay device and the remote radio device (UE). This is indeed different than the D2D described in Sun, it is not different in implementation however than the communication between the relay device and the UE as described in Abedini, (See figure 6). As far as the selection step, the base station in Abedini sends a priority message and the relay device performs a determination based on that priority and available resources which allocated resource to use for communications with the UE. Based on the claim language as currently written, this still reads on the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 50-52, 55-61, 64-69 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini in view of Sun (US 20200266951 A1).
Regarding Claim 50:
Abedini discloses:
A method of receiving a radio resource allocation at a relay radio device ([¶0012] a second method, a second computer-readable medium, and a second apparatus are provided. The second apparatus may be implemented as a relay device) for at least one remote radio device in relayed radio communication with a radio access network (RAN) or a further radio device through the relay radio device,([¶0018] a wireless communications system in which a relay device communicates with a base station on a wireless backhaul link and relays signaling between the base station and a UE on a wireless access link.) the method comprising: receiving from a basestation of the RAN, at the relay radio device,([¶0152] Referring to FIG. 6, for example, the relay device 606 may receive the resource configuration information 626 from the base station 602.) a control message indicative of a plurality of radio resources allocated to a device-to-device (D2D) communication between the at least one remote radio device and the relay radio device,
([¶0142] Referring to FIG. 6, in the downlink, the base station 602 may multiplex 630 the control information 614 on the first set of resources and the data/control information 616 on the second set of resources, and transmit the multiplexed control information 614 and data/control information 616 to the relay device 606.) selecting, from the plurality of allocated radio resources received in the control message, radio resources to be used for the D2D communication between the relay radio device and the at least one remote radio device or one of the at least one remote radio device. ([¶0154] , the relay device may determine which beam pair link and/or power setting the relay device is to apply when communicating the first control information and the at least one of data and/or second control information. Illustratively, if the relay device is unable to communicate the first control information and the at least one of data and/or second control information on overlapping time resources but the base station nonetheless configures the first and second sets of resources to be at least partially overlapping in time, then the relay device may determine to apply the beamforming configuration and power configuration associated with communication of the prioritized one of the first control information or the at least one of data and/or second control information while still attempting to communicate the deprioritized one the first control information or the at least one of data and/or second control information.) and wherein the allocated radio resources are shared between the relay radio device and the remote radio device. ([¶0166] Referring to FIG. 6, for example, the relay device 606 may relay the data/control information 616 or the data/control information 646 between base station 602 and the UE 604. In the downlink, the relay device 606 may transmit the data/control information 616 received from the base station 602 on the second set of resources to the UE 604. In the uplink, the relay device 606 may transmit the data/control information 646 received from the UE 604 to the base station 602 on the second set of resources, which may be multiplexed with the control information 644 on the first set of resources.)
Abedini does not disclose:
the control message comprising at least one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling and a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE);
Sun discloses:
the control message comprising at least one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling and a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE); ([¶0129] As further shown in FIG. 5, and by reference number 504, BS 110 may transmit information identifying the CORESET for the one or more shared radio frequency spectrum channels. That is, BS 110 may transmit information identifying the plurality of resource blocks included in the CORESET for the one or more shared radio frequency spectrum channels. In some aspects, the information identifying the CORESET may include the bitmap that was generated by BS 110. [¶0130] In some aspects, BS 110 may transmit the information in a signaling communication, such as a radio resource control (RRC) communication, a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) communication, a downlink control information (DCI) communication, and/or another type of signaling communication. )
Abedini and Sun are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Abedini to transmit control information via RRC or MAC-CE as taught by Sun in order to implement a technique that improves the efficiency of radio resource utilization and/or avoids collisions and/or congestion in the presence of multiple remote radio devices (Instant Application [¶0005]).
Regarding Claim 51:
Abedini in view of Sun discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Abedini discloses:
wherein the control message is indicative of the at least one remote radio device or one of the at least one remote radio device to which the radio resources are allocated, ([¶0194] further includes a resource allocation component 1044 that obtains the first set of resources associated with the first control information for the apparatus)
Regarding Claim 52:
Abedini in view of Sun discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Abedini discloses:
wherein the control message is indicative of a remote radio device by at least one of: ([¶0051] As illustrated in FIG. 2A, some of the REs carry reference (pilot) signals (RS) for the UE) ([¶0051] The RS may include demodulation RS (DM-RS))
Regarding Claim 55:
Abedini in view of Sun discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Abedini discloses:
wherein: the at least one remote radio device comprises at least two remote radio devices; and the control message indicative of the radio resources comprises the radio resource allocations for both or each of the at least two remote radio devices. ([Abstract] An apparatus may configure a first set of resources associated with first control information for a relay device. The apparatus may configure a second set of resources associated with at least one of data or second control information for at least one UE, and the second set of resources may at least partially overlap with the first set of resources. The apparatus may transmit information indicating the first set of resources and the second set of resources to the relay device. Further, the apparatus may communicate, with the relay device, the first control information on the first set of resources and the at least one of data or second control information on the second set of resources, and the relay device may be configured to relay the at least one of data or second control information between the apparatus and the at least one UE.)
Regarding Claim 56:
Abedini in view of Sun discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Abedini discloses:
wherein the control message indicative of the allocated radio resources is further indicative of at least one radio resource being allocated for a predetermined time period, ([¶0149] information indicating the first set of resources associated with first control information for the relay device and indicating the second set of resources associated with at least one of data and/or second control information for at least one UE. In the downlink, for example, the information may indicate respective schedules based on which the relay device is to monitor and decode the first and second sets of resources.)
Regarding Claim 57:
Abedini in view of Sun discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Abedini discloses:
further comprising: transmitting, from the relay radio device, a capability message indicative of the relay radio device being capable of at least one of relaying the allocation of the radio resources and sharing the allocated radio resources. ([¶0144] At operation 802, the relay device may transmit, to a base station, information indicating a capability of the relay device to support communication of first control information and communication of at least one of data and/or second control information on overlapping time resources.)
Regarding Claim 58:
Abedini in view of Sun discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Abedini discloses:
further comprising: receiving, from the remote radio device, a scheduling request for the relayed radio communication;([¶0054] The PUCCH may be located as indicated in one configuration. The PUCCH carries uplink control information (UCI), such as scheduling requests) and responsive to the scheduling request received from the remote radio device, transmitting a scheduling grant for the allocated radio resources or a subset of the allocated radio resources to the at least one remote radio device ([¶0081] In connection with one or more of the configurations for beamforming, power, transmission/reception switching, and/or relay deployment, the base station 502 may transmit associated scheduling information to the relay device 506. Scheduling information may indicate a time and/or duration for which an associated configuration is to be applied for at least one of beamforming,)
Regarding Claim 59:
Abedini discloses:
A method of transmitting a radio resource allocation to a relay radio device for at least one remote radio device in relayed radio communication with a radio access network (RAN) or a further radio device through the relay radio device,([¶0011] a first method, a first computer-readable medium, and a first apparatus are provided. The first apparatus may be implemented as a base station.) the method comprising: allocating a plurality of radio resources to a device-to-device (D2D) communication between the at least one remote radio device and the relay radio device,([¶0107] The base station 602 may configure 624 the first and second sets of resources based on one or more factors. In one aspect, the base station 602 may configure 624 the first and second sets of resources based on at least one of the configurations for the beam pair link(s), power setting(s), and/or capability(s) associated with communication with the relay device 606. transmitting, from a basestation of the RAN, to the relay radio device, a control message indicative of the radio resources allocated to the D2D communication between the at least one remote radio device and the relay radio device; ([¶0107] ([¶0142] Referring to FIG. 6, in the downlink, the base station 602 may multiplex 630 the control information 614 on the first set of resources and the data/control information 616 on the second set of resources, and transmit the multiplexed control information 614 and data/control information 616 to the relay device 606.) selecting, from the plurality of allocated radio resources received in the control message, radio resources to be used for the D2D communication between the relay radio device and the at least one remote radio device or one of the at least one remote radio device. ([¶0042] , the relay device 106 may transmit beamformed signals to the UE 104 in one or more transmit directions) and wherein the allocated radio resources are shared between the relay radio device and the remote radio device. ([¶0011] control information may be further communicated with the at least one UE via the relay device.)
Abedini does not disclose:
the control message comprising at least one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling and a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE);
Sun discloses:
the control message comprising at least one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling and a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE); ([¶0129] As further shown in FIG. 5, and by reference number 504, BS 110 may transmit information identifying the CORESET for the one or more shared radio frequency spectrum channels. That is, BS 110 may transmit information identifying the plurality of resource blocks included in the CORESET for the one or more shared radio frequency spectrum channels. In some aspects, the information identifying the CORESET may include the bitmap that was generated by BS 110. [¶0130] In some aspects, BS 110 may transmit the information in a signaling communication, such as a radio resource control (RRC) communication, a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) communication, a downlink control information (DCI) communication, and/or another type of signaling communication. )
Abedini and Sun are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Abedini to transmit control information via RRC or MAC-CE as taught by Sun in order to implement a technique that improves the efficiency of radio resource utilization and/or avoids collisions and/or congestion in the presence of multiple remote radio devices (Instant Application [¶0005]).
Regarding Claim 60:
Abedini in view of Sun discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Abedini discloses:
wherein the control message is indicative of the at least one remote radio device or one of the at least one remote radio device to which the radio resources are allocated, ([¶0194] further includes a resource allocation component 1044 that obtains the first set of resources associated with the first control information for the apparatus)
Regarding Claim 61:
Abedini in view of Sun discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Abedini discloses:
wherein the control message is indicative of the at least one remote radio device or one of the at least one remote radio device to which the radio resources are allocated by at least one of: ([¶0051] As illustrated in FIG. 2A, some of the REs carry reference (pilot) signals (RS) for the UE) a time domain and/or a frequency domain in which the control message is transmitted; a demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) sequence;
Regarding Claim 64:
Abedini in view of Sun discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Abedini discloses:
wherein: the at least one remote radio device comprises at least two remote radio devices; and the control message indicative of the radio resources comprises the radio resource allocations for both or each of the at least two remote radio devices. ([Abstract] An apparatus may configure a first set of resources associated with first control information for a relay device. The apparatus may configure a second set of resources associated with at least one of data or second control information for at least one UE, and the second set of resources may at least partially overlap with the first set of resources. The apparatus may transmit information indicating the first set of resources and the second set of resources to the relay device. Further, the apparatus may communicate, with the relay device, the first control information on the first set of resources and the at least one of data or second control information on the second set of resources, and the relay device may be configured to relay the at least one of data or second control information between the apparatus and the at least one UE.)
Regarding Claim 65:
Abedini in view of Sun discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Abedini discloses:
wherein the control message indicative of the allocated radio resources is further indicative of at least one radio resource being allocated for a predetermined time period, ([¶0149] information indicating the first set of resources associated with first control information for the relay device and indicating the second set of resources associated with at least one of data and/or second control information for at least one UE. In the downlink, for example, the information may indicate respective schedules based on which the relay device is to monitor and decode the first and second sets of resources.)
Regarding Claim 66:
Abedini in view of Sun discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Abedini discloses:
further comprising: receiving, from the relay radio device, a capability message indicative of the relay radio device being capable of at least one of relaying the allocation of the radio resources and sharing the allocated radio resources. ([¶0144] At operation 802, the relay device may transmit, to a base station, information indicating a capability of the relay device to support communication of first control information and communication of at least one of data and/or second control information on overlapping time resources.)
Regarding Claim 67:
Abedini in view of Sun discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Abedini discloses:
further comprising: transmitting, to the relay radio device, a scheduling request for the relayed radio communication; ([¶0054] The PUCCH may be located as indicated in one configuration. The PUCCH carries uplink control information (UCI), such as scheduling requests) and responsive to transmitting the scheduling request, receiving, from the relay radio device, a scheduling grant for the allocated radio resources or a subset of the allocated radio resources to the at least one remote radio device ([¶0081] In connection with one or more of the configurations for beamforming, power, transmission/reception switching, and/or relay deployment, the base station 502 may transmit associated scheduling information to the relay device 506. Scheduling information may indicate a time and/or duration for which an associated configuration is to be applied for at least one of beamforming,)
Regarding Claim 68:
Abedini discloses:
A device for receiving a radio resource allocation at a relay radio device for at least one remote radio device in relayed radio communication with a radio access network (RAN) or a further radio device through the relay radio device, ([¶0018] a wireless communications system in which a relay device communicates with a base station on a wireless backhaul link and relays signaling between the base station and a UE on a wireless access link.) the device comprising: a memory operable to store instructions ([¶0027] may be stored on or encoded as one or more instructions or code on a computer-readable medium.) and processing circuitry operable to execute the instructions, ([¶0026] an element, or any portion of an element, or any combination of elements may be implemented as a “processing system” that includes one or more processors. ) whereby the device is operative to: receive from a basestation of the RAN, at the relay radio device,([¶0152] Referring to FIG. 6, for example, the relay device 606 may receive the resource configuration information 626 from the base station 602.) a control message indicative of a plurality of radio resources allocated to a device-to-device (D2D) communication between the at least one remote radio device and the relay radio device, ([¶0142] Referring to FIG. 6, in the downlink, the base station 602 may multiplex 630 the control information 614 on the first set of resources and the data/control information 616 on the second set of resources, and transmit the multiplexed control information 614 and data/control information 616 to the relay device 606.) select, from the plurality of allocated radio resources received in the control message, radio resources to be used for the D2D communication between the relay radio device and the at least one remote radio device or one of the at least one remote radio device. ([¶0154] , the relay device may determine which beam pair link and/or power setting the relay device is to apply when communicating the first control information and the at least one of data and/or second control information. Illustratively, if the relay device is unable to communicate the first control information and the at least one of data and/or second control information on overlapping time resources but the base station nonetheless configures the first and second sets of resources to be at least partially overlapping in time, then the relay device may determine to apply the beamforming configuration and power configuration associated with communication of the prioritized one of the first control information or the at least one of data and/or second control information while still attempting to communicate the deprioritized one the first control information or the at least one of data and/or second control information.) and wherein the allocated radio resources are shared between the relay radio device and the remote radio device. ([¶0166] Referring to FIG. 6, for example, the relay device 606 may relay the data/control information 616 or the data/control information 646 between base station 602 and the UE 604. In the downlink, the relay device 606 may transmit the data/control information 616 received from the base station 602 on the second set of resources to the UE 604. In the uplink, the relay device 606 may transmit the data/control information 646 received from the UE 604 to the base station 602 on the second set of resources, which may be multiplexed with the control information 644 on the first set of resources.)
Abedini does not disclose:
the control message comprising at least one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling and a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE);
Sun discloses:
the control message comprising at least one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling and a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE); ([¶0129] As further shown in FIG. 5, and by reference number 504, BS 110 may transmit information identifying the CORESET for the one or more shared radio frequency spectrum channels. That is, BS 110 may transmit information identifying the plurality of resource blocks included in the CORESET for the one or more shared radio frequency spectrum channels. In some aspects, the information identifying the CORESET may include the bitmap that was generated by BS 110. [¶0130] In some aspects, BS 110 may transmit the information in a signaling communication, such as a radio resource control (RRC) communication, a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) communication, a downlink control information (DCI) communication, and/or another type of signaling communication. )
Abedini and Sun are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Abedini to transmit control information via RRC or MAC-CE as taught by Sun in order to implement a technique that improves the efficiency of radio resource utilization and/or avoids collisions and/or congestion in the presence of multiple remote radio devices (Instant Application [¶0005]).
Regarding Claim 69:
Abedini discloses:
A device for transmitting a radio resource allocation to a relay radio device for at least one remote radio device in relayed radio communication with a radio access network (RAN) or a further radio device through the relay radio device, ([¶0018] a wireless communications system in which a relay device communicates with a base station on a wireless backhaul link and relays signaling between the base station and a UE on a wireless access link.)the device comprising: a memory operable to store instructions ([¶0027] may be stored on or encoded as one or more instructions or code on a computer-readable medium.) and processing circuitry operable to execute the instructions, ([¶0026] an element, or any portion of an element, or any combination of elements may be implemented as a “processing system” that includes one or more processors. ) whereby the device from a basestation of the RAN and is operative to: allocate a plurality of radio resources to a device-to-device (D2D) communication between the at least one remote radio device and the relay radio device,([¶0107] The base station 602 may configure 624 the first and second sets of resources based on one or more factors. In one aspect, the base station 602 may configure 624 the first and second sets of resources based on at least one of the configurations for the beam pair link(s), power setting(s), and/or capability(s) associated with communication with the relay device 606. transmit, from a basestation of the RAN, to the relay radio device, a control message indicative of the radio resources allocated to the D2D communication between the at least one remote radio device and the relay radio device; ([¶0107] ([¶0142] Referring to FIG. 6, in the downlink, the base station 602 may multiplex 630 the control information 614 on the first set of resources and the data/control information 616 on the second set of resources, and transmit the multiplexed control information 614 and data/control information 616 to the relay device 606.) selecting, from the plurality of allocated radio resources received in the control message, radio resources to be used for the D2D communication between the relay radio device and the at least one remote radio device or one of the at least one remote radio device. ([¶0042] , the relay device 106 may transmit beamformed signals to the UE 104 in one or more transmit directions) and wherein the allocated radio resources are shared between the relay radio device and the remote radio device. ([¶0011] control information may be further communicated with the at least one UE via the relay device.)
Abedini does not disclose:
the control message comprising at least one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling and a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE);
Sun discloses:
the control message comprising at least one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling and a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE); ([¶0129] As further shown in FIG. 5, and by reference number 504, BS 110 may transmit information identifying the CORESET for the one or more shared radio frequency spectrum channels. That is, BS 110 may transmit information identifying the plurality of resource blocks included in the CORESET for the one or more shared radio frequency spectrum channels. In some aspects, the information identifying the CORESET may include the bitmap that was generated by BS 110. [¶0130] In some aspects, BS 110 may transmit the information in a signaling communication, such as a radio resource control (RRC) communication, a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) communication, a downlink control information (DCI) communication, and/or another type of signaling communication. )
Abedini and Sun are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Abedini to transmit control information via RRC or MAC-CE as taught by Sun in order to implement a technique that improves the efficiency of radio resource utilization and/or avoids collisions and/or congestion in the presence of multiple remote radio devices (Instant Application [¶0005]).
Claim(s) 54 and 63 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini in view Sun as applied to claim 50 above and further in view of Hosseini (US 20190261327 A1) hereafter Hosseini.
Regarding Claim 54:
Abedini in view of Sun discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Abedini discloses:
further comprising: transmitting, from the relay radio device to the remote radio device, ([¶0165] the relay device may transmit the at least one of data and/or second control information to the at least one UE) ([¶0140] The relay device may be configured to forward the at least one of data and/or second control information on the second set of resources to the base station from the UE.) and transmitting, from the relay radio device to the remote radio device, an acknowledgment indicative of at least one of the reception of the data transmission and a relaying of the data transmission to the RAN or the further radio device. ([¶0141] the first control information may include backhaul DCI for which uplink ACK feedback with the base station is configured. When configured, the base station may receive ACK feedback from the relay device indicating successful reception of the DCI carried at least partially on the first set of resources (e.g., over the backhaul link).)
Abedini in view of Sun does not disclose:
a grant for a data transmission from the remote radio device to the relay radio device, wherein the control message indicates the grant;
Hosseini discloses:
a grant for a data transmission from the remote radio device to the relay radio device, wherein the control message indicates the grant; ([¶0077] UE 115-a may be capable of communicating over sTTIs. Further, UE 115-a may be allocated or configured with one or more RB sets or Control Resource Sets (CORESETs), including one or more RBs, for receiving control information. In some cases, UE 115-a may find one or more grants specific to UE 115-a in an RB set, such as downlink grants which may provide an indication of resource allocation for receiving downlink data transmissions. [¶0041] The UEs 115 described herein may be able to communicate with various types of base stations 105 and network equipment including macro eNBs, small cell eNBs, gNBs, relay base stations, and the like.)
Abedini, Sun and Hosseini are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Abedini in view of Sun to transmit a grant as taught by Hosseini in order to implement a technique that improves the efficiency of radio resource utilization and/or avoids collisions and/or congestion in the presence of multiple remote radio devices (Instant Application [¶0005]).
Regarding Claim 63:
Abedini in view of Sun discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Abedini discloses:
further comprising: receiving, from the relay radio device, ([¶0165] the relay device may transmit the at least one of data and/or second control information to the at least one UE) ([¶0141] the first control information may include backhaul DCI for which uplink ACK feedback with the base station is configured. When configured, the base station may receive ACK feedback from the relay device indicating successful reception of the DCI carried at least partially on the first set of resources (e.g., over the backhaul link).)
Abedini in view of Sun does not disclose:
a grant for a data transmission from the remote radio device to the relay radio device, wherein the control message indicates the grant; transmitting to the relay radio device a data transmission on the allocated radio resources from the remote radio device to be relayed to the RAN or the further radio device;
Hosseini discloses:
a grant for a data transmission from the remote radio device to the relay radio device, wherein the control message indicates the grant; transmitting to the relay radio device a data transmission on the allocated radio resources from the remote radio device to be relayed to the RAN or the further radio device; ([¶0077] UE 115-a may be capable of communicating over sTTIs. Further, UE 115-a may be allocated or configured with one or more RB sets or Control Resource Sets (CORESETs), including one or more RBs, for receiving control information. In some cases, UE 115-a may find one or more grants specific to UE 115-a in an RB set, such as downlink grants which may provide an indication of resource allocation for receiving downlink data transmissions. [¶0041] The UEs 115 described herein may be able to communicate with various types of base stations 105 and network equipment including macro eNBs, small cell eNBs, gNBs, relay base stations, and the like.)
Abedini, Sun and Hosseini are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Abedini in view of Sun to transmit a grant as taught by Hosseini in order to implement a technique that improves the efficiency of radio resource utilization and/or avoids collisions and/or congestion in the presence of multiple remote radio devices (Instant Application [¶0005]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUGH MARK ASHLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463