Response to Amendment
Applicant amendments have overcome each and every objection stated in previous action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 16 September 2025 have been fully considered.
Regarding First Argument:
Applicant argues in substance that combination of prior art does not anticipate claim language and has combined aspects of now cancelled claims 53 and 62 in an attempt to overcome 101 rejection and prior art rejection.
Examiner agrees that combination of elements of now cancelled dependent claims into independent claim has overcome previous 101 rejection.
Regarding Second Argument:
Applicant argues in substance that prior art does not anticipate the disclosure and combinations of previously cited art do not teach the claimed invention. More specifically that the control message is not taught to be transmitted via beamforming and that the control message of the disclosure is not taught by the prior art.
As applicant has pointed out, beamforming is used in Abedini but argues that the content of the beamformed message is not disclosed. Paragraph 0012, as cited in the rejection, discloses that the relay device may receive from a base station information indicating a set of resources associated with a control message. More specifically that the method of communication between the base station and the relay station is beamforming as disclosed in 0042 and the message sent indicates control information as disclosed in 0012. Applicant further claims that the claimed control information differs from the control information in prior art. The claimed control information is not defined in the independent claims, and when claimed in dependent claim 52, Abedini discloses similar information in paragraph 0194. Therefore for at least the reasons mentioned, the rejection of the claims, as currently written, is proper and thus has been maintained.
Claim(s) 50- is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini in view of Sun (US 20200266951 A1).
Regarding Claim 50:
Abedini discloses:
A method of receiving a radio resource allocation at a relay radio device ([¶0021] method of wireless communication by a relay device) for at least one remote radio device in relayed radio communication with a radio access network (RAN) or a further radio device through the relay radio device,([¶0018] a wireless communications system in which a relay device communicates with a base station on a wireless backhaul link and relays signaling between the base station and a UE on a wireless access link.) the method comprising: receiving, at the relay radio device,([¶0042] The relay device 106 may receive the beamformed signal from the base station) a control message indicative of radio resources allocated to a device-to-device (D2D) communication between the at least one remote radio device and the relay radio device;
([¶0012] The second apparatus may be implemented as a relay device, such as an IAB node or other repeater. The second apparatus may receive, from a base station, information indicating a first set of resources associated with first control information for a relay device and indicating a second set of resources associated with at least one of data or second control information for at least one UE, [¶0031] UEs 104 may communicate with each other using device-to-device (D2D) communication link) ([¶0042] , the relay device 106 may transmit beamformed signals to the UE 104 in one or more transmit directions) and wherein the allocated radio resources are shared between the relay radio device and the remote radio device. ([¶0011] control information may be further communicated with the at least one UE via the relay device.)
Abedini does not disclose:
selecting, from a plurality of allocated radio resources received in the control message, radio resources to be used for the D2D communication
Sun discloses:
selecting, from a plurality of allocated radio resources received in the control message, radio resources to be used for the D2D communication ([¶0085] two or more UEs 120 (e.g., shown as UE 120a and UE 120e) may communicate directly using one or more sidelink channels (e.g., without using a base station 110 as an intermediary to communicate with one another). For example, the UEs 120 may communicate using peer-to-peer (P2P) communications, device-to-device (D2D) communications, a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) protocol (e.g., which may include a vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) protocol, a vehicle-to-infrastructure (V2I) protocol, and/or the like), a mesh network, and/or the like. In this case, the UE 120 may perform scheduling operations, resource selection operations, and/or other operations described elsewhere herein as being performed by the base station 110.)
Abedini and Sun are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Abedini to select resources for D2D communications as taught by Sun in order to implement a technique that improves the efficiency of radio resource utilization and/or avoids collisions and/or congestion in the presence of multiple remote radio devices (Instant Application [¶0005]).
Regarding Claim 51:
Abedini in view of Sun discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Abedini discloses:
wherein the control message is indicative of the at least one remote radio device or one of the at least one remote radio device to which the radio resources are allocated, ([¶0194] further includes a resource allocation component 1044 that obtains the first set of resources associated with the first control information for the apparatus)
Regarding Claim 52:
Abedini in view of Sun discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Abedini discloses:
wherein the control message is indicative of a remote radio device by at least one of: ([¶0051] As illustrated in FIG. 2A, some of the REs carry reference (pilot) signals (RS) for the UE) ([¶0051] The RS may include demodulation RS (DM-RS))
Regarding Claim 55:
Abedini in view of Sun discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Abedini discloses:
wherein: the at least one remote radio device comprises at least two remote radio devices; and the control message indicative of the radio resources comprises the radio resource allocations for both or each of the at least two remote radio devices. ([Abstract] An apparatus may configure a first set of resources associated with first control information for a relay device. The apparatus may configure a second set of resources associated with at least one of data or second control information for at least one UE, and the second set of resources may at least partially overlap with the first set of resources. The apparatus may transmit information indicating the first set of resources and the second set of resources to the relay device. Further, the apparatus may communicate, with the relay device, the first control information on the first set of resources and the at least one of data or second control information on the second set of resources, and the relay device may be configured to relay the at least one of data or second control information between the apparatus and the at least one UE.)
Regarding Claim 56:
Abedini in view of Sun discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Abedini discloses:
wherein the control message indicative of the allocated radio resources is further indicative of at least one radio resource being allocated for a predetermined time period, ([¶0149] information indicating the first set of resources associated with first control information for the relay device and indicating the second set of resources associated with at least one of data and/or second control information for at least one UE. In the downlink, for example, the information may indicate respective schedules based on which the relay device is to monitor and decode the first and second sets of resources.)
Regarding Claim 57:
Abedini in view of Sun discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Abedini discloses:
further comprising: transmitting, from the relay radio device, a capability message indicative of the relay radio device being capable of at least one of relaying the allocation of the radio resources and sharing the allocated radio resources. ([¶0144] At operation 802, the relay device may transmit, to a base station, information indicating a capability of the relay device to support communication of first control information and communication of at least one of data and/or second control information on overlapping time resources.)
Regarding Claim 58:
Abedini in view of Sun discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Abedini discloses:
further comprising: receiving, from the remote radio device, a scheduling request for the relayed radio communication;([¶0054] The PUCCH may be located as indicated in one configuration. The PUCCH carries uplink control information (UCI), such as scheduling requests) and responsive to the scheduling request received from the remote radio device, transmitting a scheduling grant for the allocated radio resources or a subset of the allocated radio resources to the at least one remote radio device ([¶0081] In connection with one or more of the configurations for beamforming, power, transmission/reception switching, and/or relay deployment, the base station 502 may transmit associated scheduling information to the relay device 506. Scheduling information may indicate a time and/or duration for which an associated configuration is to be applied for at least one of beamforming,)
Regarding Claim 59:
Abedini discloses:
A method of transmitting a radio resource allocation to a relay radio device for at least one remote radio device in relayed radio communication with a radio access network (RAN) or a further radio device through the relay radio device,([¶0129] a method 700 of wireless communication. In some aspects, the method 700 may be performed by a base station, such as the base station 102/180, the base station 310, the base station 402, the base station 502, and/or the base station 602, described supra.) the method comprising: allocating radio resources to a device-to-device (D2D) communication between the at least one remote radio device and the relay radio device; ([¶0018] a wireless communications system in which a relay device communicates with a base station on a wireless backhaul link and relays signaling between the base station and a UE on a wireless access link.) transmitting, to the relay radio device, a control message indicative of the radio resources allocated to the D2D communication between the at least one remote radio device and the relay radio device; ([¶0012] The second apparatus may be implemented as a relay device, such as an IAB node or other repeater. The second apparatus may receive, from a base station, information indicating a first set of resources associated with first control information for a relay device and indicating a second set of resources associated with at least one of data or second control information for at least one UE, [¶0031] UEs 104 may communicate with each other using device-to-device (D2D) ([¶0042] , the relay device 106 may transmit beamformed signals to the UE 104 in one or more transmit directions) and wherein the allocated radio resources are shared between the relay radio device and the remote radio device. ([¶0011] control information may be further communicated with the at least one UE via the relay device.)
Abedini does not disclose:
selecting, from a plurality of allocated radio resources received in the control message, radio resources to be used for the D2D communication
Sun discloses:
selecting, from a plurality of allocated radio resources received in the control message, radio resources to be used for the D2D communication ([¶0085] two or more UEs 120 (e.g., shown as UE 120a and UE 120e) may communicate directly using one or more sidelink channels (e.g., without using a base station 110 as an intermediary to communicate with one another). For example, the UEs 120 may communicate using peer-to-peer (P2P) communications, device-to-device (D2D) communications, a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) protocol (e.g., which may include a vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) protocol, a vehicle-to-infrastructure (V2I) protocol, and/or the like), a mesh network, and/or the like. In this case, the UE 120 may perform scheduling operations, resource selection operations, and/or other operations described elsewhere herein as being performed by the base station 110.)
Abedini and Sun are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Abedini to select resources for D2D communications as taught by Sun in order to implement a technique that improves the efficiency of radio resource utilization and/or avoids collisions and/or congestion in the presence of multiple remote radio devices (Instant Application [¶0005]).
Regarding Claim 60:
Abedini in view of Sun discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Abedini discloses:
wherein the control message is indicative of the at least one remote radio device or one of the at least one remote radio device to which the radio resources are allocated, ([¶0194] further includes a resource allocation component 1044 that obtains the first set of resources associated with the first control information for the apparatus)
Regarding Claim 61:
Abedini in view of Sun discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Abedini discloses:
wherein the control message is indicative of the at least one remote radio device or one of the at least one remote radio device to which the radio resources are allocated by at least one of: ([¶0051] As illustrated in FIG. 2A, some of the REs carry reference (pilot) signals (RS) for the UE) a time domain and/or a frequency domain in which the control message is transmitted; a demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) sequence;
Regarding Claim 64:
Abedini in view of Sun discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Abedini discloses:
wherein: the at least one remote radio device comprises at least two remote radio devices; and the control message indicative of the radio resources comprises the radio resource allocations for both or each of the at least two remote radio devices. ([Abstract] An apparatus may configure a first set of resources associated with first control information for a relay device. The apparatus may configure a second set of resources associated with at least one of data or second control information for at least one UE, and the second set of resources may at least partially overlap with the first set of resources. The apparatus may transmit information indicating the first set of resources and the second set of resources to the relay device. Further, the apparatus may communicate, with the relay device, the first control information on the first set of resources and the at least one of data or second control information on the second set of resources, and the relay device may be configured to relay the at least one of data or second control information between the apparatus and the at least one UE.)
Regarding Claim 65:
Abedini in view of Sun discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Abedini discloses:
wherein the control message indicative of the allocated radio resources is further indicative of at least one radio resource being allocated for a predetermined time period, ([¶0149] information indicating the first set of resources associated with first control information for the relay device and indicating the second set of resources associated with at least one of data and/or second control information for at least one UE. In the downlink, for example, the information may indicate respective schedules based on which the relay device is to monitor and decode the first and second sets of resources.)
Regarding Claim 66:
Abedini in view of Sun discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Abedini discloses:
further comprising: receiving, from the relay radio device, a capability message indicative of the relay radio device being capable of at least one of relaying the allocation of the radio resources and sharing the allocated radio resources. ([¶0144] At operation 802, the relay device may transmit, to a base station, information indicating a capability of the relay device to support communication of first control information and communication of at least one of data and/or second control information on overlapping time resources.)
Regarding Claim 67:
Abedini in view of Sun discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Abedini discloses:
further comprising: transmitting, to the relay radio device, a scheduling request for the relayed radio communication; ([¶0054] The PUCCH may be located as indicated in one configuration. The PUCCH carries uplink control information (UCI), such as scheduling requests) and responsive to transmitting the scheduling request, receiving, from the relay radio device, a scheduling grant for the allocated radio resources or a subset of the allocated radio resources to the at least one remote radio device ([¶0081] In connection with one or more of the configurations for beamforming, power, transmission/reception switching, and/or relay deployment, the base station 502 may transmit associated scheduling information to the relay device 506. Scheduling information may indicate a time and/or duration for which an associated configuration is to be applied for at least one of beamforming,)
Regarding Claim 68:
Abedini discloses:
A device for receiving a radio resource allocation at a relay radio device for at least one remote radio device in relayed radio communication with a radio access network (RAN) or a further radio device through the relay radio device, ([¶0018] a wireless communications system in which a relay device communicates with a base station on a wireless backhaul link and relays signaling between the base station and a UE on a wireless access link.) the device comprising: a memory operable to store instructions ([¶0027] may be stored on or encoded as one or more instructions or code on a computer-readable medium.) and processing circuitry operable to execute the instructions, ([¶0026] an element, or any portion of an element, or any combination of elements may be implemented as a “processing system” that includes one or more processors. ) whereby the device is operative to: receive, at the relay radio device, a control message indicative of radio resources allocated to a device-to-device (D2D) communication between the at least one remote radio device and the relay radio device; ([¶0012] The second apparatus may be implemented as a relay device, such as an IAB node or other repeater. The second apparatus may receive, from a base station, information indicating a first set of resources associated with first control information for a relay device and indicating a second set of resources associated with at least one of data or second control information for at least one UE, [¶0031] UEs 104 may communicate with each other using device-to-device (D2D) communication link) ([¶0042] , the relay device 106 may transmit beamformed signals to the UE 104 in one or more transmit directions) and wherein the allocated radio resources are shared between the relay radio device and the remote radio device. ([¶0011] control information may be further communicated with the at least one UE via the relay device.)
Abedini does not disclose:
selecting, from a plurality of allocated radio resources received in the control message, radio resources to be used for the D2D communication
Sun discloses:
selecting, from a plurality of allocated radio resources received in the control message, radio resources to be used for the D2D communication ([¶0085] two or more UEs 120 (e.g., shown as UE 120a and UE 120e) may communicate directly using one or more sidelink channels (e.g., without using a base station 110 as an intermediary to communicate with one another). For example, the UEs 120 may communicate using peer-to-peer (P2P) communications, device-to-device (D2D) communications, a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) protocol (e.g., which may include a vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) protocol, a vehicle-to-infrastructure (V2I) protocol, and/or the like), a mesh network, and/or the like. In this case, the UE 120 may perform scheduling operations, resource selection operations, and/or other operations described elsewhere herein as being performed by the base station 110.)
Abedini and Sun are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Abedini to select resources for D2D communications as taught by Sun in order to implement a technique that improves the efficiency of radio resource utilization and/or avoids collisions and/or congestion in the presence of multiple remote radio devices (Instant Application [¶0005]).
Regarding Claim 69:
Abedini discloses:
A device for transmitting a radio resource allocation to a relay radio device for at least one remote radio device in relayed radio communication with a radio access network (RAN) or a further radio device through the relay radio device, ([¶0018] a wireless communications system in which a relay device communicates with a base station on a wireless backhaul link and relays signaling between the base station and a UE on a wireless access link.)the device comprising: a memory operable to store instructions ([¶0027] may be stored on or encoded as one or more instructions or code on a computer-readable medium.) and processing circuitry operable to execute the instructions, ([¶0026] an element, or any portion of an element, or any combination of elements may be implemented as a “processing system” that includes one or more processors. ) whereby the device is operative to: allocate radio resources to a device-to-device (D2D) communication between the at least one remote radio device and the relay radio device; ([¶0012] The second apparatus may be implemented as a relay device, such as an IAB node or other repeater. The second apparatus may receive, from a base station, information indicating a first set of resources associated with first control information for a relay device and indicating a second set of resources associated with at least one of data or second control information for at least one UE, [¶0031] UEs 104 may communicate with each other using device-to-device (D2D) communication link) transmit, to the relay radio device, a control message indicative of the radio resources allocated to the D2D communication between the at least one remote radio device and the relay radio device; ([¶0012] The second apparatus may be implemented as a relay device, such as an IAB node or other repeater. The second apparatus may receive, from a base station, information indicating a first set of resources associated with first control information for a relay device and indicating a second set of resources associated with at least one of data or second control information for at least one UE, [¶0031] UEs 104 may communicate with each other using device-to-device (D2D) communication link) ([¶0042] , the relay device 106 may transmit beamformed signals to the UE 104 in one or more transmit directions) and wherein the allocated radio resources are shared between the relay radio device and the remote radio device. ([¶0011] control information may be further communicated with the at least one UE via the relay device.)
Abedini does not disclose:
selecting, from a plurality of allocated radio resources received in the control message, radio resources to be used for the D2D communication
Sun discloses:
selecting, from a plurality of allocated radio resources received in the control message, radio resources to be used for the D2D communication ([¶0085] two or more UEs 120 (e.g., shown as UE 120a and UE 120e) may communicate directly using one or more sidelink channels (e.g., without using a base station 110 as an intermediary to communicate with one another). For example, the UEs 120 may communicate using peer-to-peer (P2P) communications, device-to-device (D2D) communications, a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) protocol (e.g., which may include a vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) protocol, a vehicle-to-infrastructure (V2I) protocol, and/or the like), a mesh network, and/or the like. In this case, the UE 120 may perform scheduling operations, resource selection operations, and/or other operations described elsewhere herein as being performed by the base station 110.)
Abedini and Sun are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Abedini to select resources for D2D communications as taught by Sun in order to implement a technique that improves the efficiency of radio resource utilization and/or avoids collisions and/or congestion in the presence of multiple remote radio devices (Instant Application [¶0005]).
Claim(s) 54 and 63 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini in view Sun as applied to claim 50 above and further in view of Hosseini (US 20190261327 A1) hereafter Hosseini.
Regarding Claim 54:
Abedini in view of Sun discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Abedini discloses:
further comprising: transmitting, from the relay radio device to the remote radio device, ([¶0165] the relay device may transmit the at least one of data and/or second control information to the at least one UE) ([¶0140] The relay device may be configured to forward the at least one of data and/or second control information on the second set of resources to the base station from the UE.) and transmitting, from the relay radio device to the remote radio device, an acknowledgment indicative of at least one of the reception of the data transmission and a relaying of the data transmission to the RAN or the further radio device. ([¶0141] the first control information may include backhaul DCI for which uplink ACK feedback with the base station is configured. When configured, the base station may receive ACK feedback from the relay device indicating successful reception of the DCI carried at least partially on the first set of resources (e.g., over the backhaul link).)
Abedini in view of Sun does not disclose:
a grant for a data transmission from the remote radio device to the relay radio device, wherein the grant is comprised in the radio resource allocation received at the relay radio device;
Hosseini discloses:
a grant for a data transmission from the remote radio device to the relay radio device, wherein the grant is comprised in the radio resource allocation received at the relay radio device; ([¶0077] UE 115-a may be capable of communicating over sTTIs. Further, UE 115-a may be allocated or configured with one or more RB sets or Control Resource Sets (CORESETs), including one or more RBs, for receiving control information. In some cases, UE 115-a may find one or more grants specific to UE 115-a in an RB set, such as downlink grants which may provide an indication of resource allocation for receiving downlink data transmissions. [¶0041] The UEs 115 described herein may be able to communicate with various types of base stations 105 and network equipment including macro eNBs, small cell eNBs, gNBs, relay base stations, and the like.)
Abedini, Sun and Hosseini are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Abedini in view of Sun to transmit a grant as taught by Hosseini in order to implement a technique that improves the efficiency of radio resource utilization and/or avoids collisions and/or congestion in the presence of multiple remote radio devices (Instant Application [¶0005]).
Regarding Claim 63:
Abedini in view of Sun discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Abedini discloses:
further comprising: receiving, from the relay radio device, ([¶0165] the relay device may transmit the at least one of data and/or second control information to the at least one UE) ([¶0141] the first control information may include backhaul DCI for which uplink ACK feedback with the base station is configured. When configured, the base station may receive ACK feedback from the relay device indicating successful reception of the DCI carried at least partially on the first set of resources (e.g., over the backhaul link).)
Abedini in view of Sun does not disclose:
a grant for a data transmission from the remote radio device to the relay radio device, wherein the grant is comprised in the radio resource allocation received at the relay radio device transmitting to the relay radio device a data transmission on the allocated radio resources from the remote radio device to be relayed to the RAN or the further radio device;
Hosseini discloses:
a grant for a data transmission from the remote radio device to the relay radio device, wherein the grant is comprised in the radio resource allocation received at the relay radio device transmitting to the relay radio device a data transmission on the allocated radio resources from the remote radio device to be relayed to the RAN or the further radio device; ([¶0077] UE 115-a may be capable of communicating over sTTIs. Further, UE 115-a may be allocated or configured with one or more RB sets or Control Resource Sets (CORESETs), including one or more RBs, for receiving control information. In some cases, UE 115-a may find one or more grants specific to UE 115-a in an RB set, such as downlink grants which may provide an indication of resource allocation for receiving downlink data transmissions. [¶0041] The UEs 115 described herein may be able to communicate with various types of base stations 105 and network equipment including macro eNBs, small cell eNBs, gNBs, relay base stations, and the like.)
Abedini, Sun and Hosseini are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Abedini in view of Sun to transmit a grant as taught by Hosseini in order to implement a technique that improves the efficiency of radio resource utilization and/or avoids collisions and/or congestion in the presence of multiple remote radio devices (Instant Application [¶0005]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUGH MARK ASHLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463