DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed January 6, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1 – 7 are pending in the application with claim 8 being cancelled.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 – 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, lines 5-6: “opposite the base plate” should read --opposite the lower base plate--.
Claim 1, line 13: “from the base plate” should read --from the lower base plate--.
Claims 2 – 6 are objected to for being dependent on claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mihara et al. (JP 2006112353 – herein after Mihara; cited by applicant on IDS dated 03/14/2023) in view of Yano et al. (JP 2018204521A – herein after Yano) and further in view of Umezaki et al. (JP 2016/089665 – herein after Umezaki).
In reference to claim 1, Mihara teaches (see translation and disclosed figures) a packaged compressor (¶1) comprising:
an electric motor (19; ¶36) having (in view of fig. 2) an axial direction (↔) that lies in a first direction, which is horizontal (this horizontal direction being “↔” in view of fig. 2) {axial direction of the motor is further labelled as “d1” in fig. A below};
a compressor body (8) that is driven by the electric motor and compresses a gas (see ¶28);
a housing (1; see ¶22), including a lower base plate (1E, see fig. 1/2) and a top plate (1F, see fig. 1/2) opposite the lower base plate, that houses the electric motor and the compressor body (as evident from fig. 1/2);
a cooling air inlet (29, see fig. 5) disposed through a side surface (right surface, in view of fig. 4) of the housing (1);
a cooling air outlet (41, see fig. 6) disposed through the top plate (1F) of the housing (1); and
a cooling fan (38, see fig. 4) that is disposed on a side (left side, in view of fig. 4) of the electric motor (19) opposite of the cooling air inlet (29) [see ¶85 of translation: “Further, in the embodiment, the intake duct 30 is provided with the intake fan 32 and the exhaust duct 34 is provided with the exhaust fan 38. However, the present invention is not limited to this, and a configuration may be adapted in which a cooling fan is provided in one of the intake duct and the exhaust duct, and the cooling fan is omitted from the other duct”; thus, in view of this disclosure, in an alternate configuration, fan 38 in duct 34 is viewed as a cooling fan in fig. 4 while fan 32 in duct 30 being absent] such that a projection of an axis of rotation (axis of rotation can be viewed as axis extending in a direction “↔” in view of fig. 4 or direction labeled “d2” in fig. A below) of the cooling fan (38) lies in a second direction, which is horizontal (this horizontal direction being “↔” in view of fig. 4 and is labelled “d2” in fig. A below),
a partition plate (see fig. A below) extending vertically,
wherein the cooling fan induces (see fig. 5 and ¶65-¶66) a flow of cooling air that flows in from an outside of the housing via the cooling air inlet (29), thereafter flows around the electric motor (19), and thereafter flows out to the outside of the housing via the cooling air outlet (41).
Fig. A: Edited figs. 2, 4 and 6 of Mihara to show claim interpretation.
Mihara does not teach the packaged compressor comprising the partition plate “extending vertically from the lower base plate to the top plate, which partitions the cooling fan from the compressor body and forms a fan duct in which the cooling fan is entirely disposed, the partition plate including a circular vent having a diameter less than a diameter of the cooling fan”.
However, Yano teaches a packaged compressor, comprising (see fig. 2) a partition plate (13) extending vertically from the lower base plate (10d) to the top plate (10c), which partitions the cooling fan (40) from the compressor body (20) and forms a fan duct (11c) in which the cooling fan (40) is entirely disposed, the partition plate (see fig. 5 and ¶65-¶66) including a circular vent (13d) having a diameter less than a diameter of the cooling fan (40).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the packaged compressor of Mihara such that the partition plate extends vertically from the base plate to the top plate, which partitions the cooling fan from the compressor body and forms a fan duct in which the cooling fan is entirely disposed, the partition plate including a circular vent having a diameter less than a diameter of the cooling fan as taught by Yano for noise and/or airflow management. Using the partition to define a specific fan duct or chamber ensures that the cooling air induced by the fan is drawn through a structured path, thereby preventing bypass. The partition and ducting ensure that the cooling fan draws all induced air directly through the circular vent, forcing the cooling air to pass over the intended target – the electric motor – before exiting.
Mihara, as modified, does not teach the packaged compressor “wherein the second direction intersects the electric motor, wherein the cooling fan is configured such that the diameter of the cooling fan is greater than a height dimension of the electric motor, and wherein the cooling fan is disposed such that an axial-direction projection plane of the cooling fan includes a portion overlapping the electric motor, a portion positioned above the electric motor and not overlapping the electric motor, a portion positioned below the electric motor and not overlapping the electric motor, and a portion not overlapping the electric motor in a radial direction of the cooling fan extending away from the electric motor that is parallel to the axial direction of the electric motor”. However, these features are dependent on sizing of the cooling fan and/or sizing of the electric motor.
However, Umezaki teaches a packaged compressor, comprising a cooling fan (FM) with a projection of an axis of rotation (“d2”; see fig. B below) that lies in a second direction (↨ in view of fig. B below) which intersects an electric motor (M), wherein the cooling fan (FM) {please note that fig. B below shows front view (top picture) and right view (bottom picture) of the compressor}
is configured such that a diameter (labelled “d” in fig. B below) of the cooling fan (FM) is greater than a height dimension (labelled “h” in fig. B below) of the electric motor (M), and
wherein the cooling fan is disposed such that an axial-direction projection plane (plane perpendicular to the axis of rotation of the fan; labelled “P” in fig. B below; this plane can also be viewed as “plane corresponding to top/bottom view”) of the cooling fan includes a portion (viewed as portion labelled “p2” in fig. B below) overlapping the electric motor (M), a portion (viewed as portion labelled “p3” in fig. B below) positioned above the electric motor [this portion “p3” is considered to be “above” the motor M when bottom view of the motor is considered] and not overlapping the electric motor, a portion (labelled “p1” in fig. B below) positioned below the electric motor and not overlapping the electric motor [this portion “p1” is considered to be “below” the motor M when bottom view of the motor is considered], and a portion (labelled “p4” in fig. B below) not overlapping the electric motor in a radial direction of the cooling fan extending away from the electric motor that is parallel to the axial direction (“axial direction” being a horizontal direction “d1” in view of top picture seen in fig. B below) of the electric motor [this portion “p4” is considered to be in radial direction extending “away” the motor M when bottom view of the motor is considered].
Fig. B: Edited fig. 6(a)-(b) of Umezaki to show claim interpretation.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the packaged compressor of Mihara by modifying the cooling fan’s duct for accommodating a larger cooling fan such that the fan’s diameter is greater than a height dimension of the motor as taught by Umezaki for the well-known purpose of increasing the motor surface that would be subject to cooling for a better cooling of the motor.
Thus, Mihara, as modified, teaches the packaged compressor, wherein the cooling fan (modified Mihara’s cooling fan in view of Umezaki’s teaching) is disposed on a side of the electric motor (of Mihara) opposite the cooling air inlet such that a projection of an axis of rotation of the cooling fan lies in a second direction, which is horizontal, and intersects the electric motor (of Mihara) [in view of the proposed modification, the projection of modified fan’s axis of rotation is “on” the electric motor, thus intersecting the electric motor], wherein the cooling fan is further configured such that the diameter of the cooling fan is greater than a height dimension of the electric motor, and wherein the cooling fan is disposed such that an axial-direction projection plane of the cooling fan includes a portion overlapping the electric motor, a portion positioned above the electric motor and not overlapping the electric motor, a portion positioned below the electric motor and not overlapping the electric motor, and a portion not overlapping the electric motor in a radial direction of the cooling fan extending away from the electric motor that is parallel to the axial direction of the electric motor.
In reference to claim 2, Mihara teaches the packaged compressor, wherein the cooling air inlet (29) is arranged such that a vertical-direction projection plane (in view of fig. 5: plane into and out of page in vertical direction) of the cooling air inlet overlaps the electric motor (19).
In reference to claim 3, Mihara teaches the packaged compressor, wherein the packaged compressor includes a separator (42) that separates a liquid from the compressed gas delivered from the compressor body (see ¶61), wherein the compressor body (2) is coupled to one axial side of the electric motor (1), wherein the separator (18) is coupled to a lower side (downstream side) of the compressor body (2) {in view of disclosure in ¶24, ¶61, ¶81, following connection is present: compressor body 8/8’ > piping 5/5’ > tank 3/4/3’ > piping 7/7’ > air dryer 42}, and wherein the cooling air inlet (29) is arranged such that (in view of fig. 5) the vertical-direction projection plane of the cooling air inlet overlaps the electric motor (19).
Mihara does not teach the packaged compressor wherein “a lower edge of the cooling air inlet is positioned below a lowest point of the electric motor”.
However, Umezaki teaches a packaged compressor wherein (see fig. 5a) a lower edge of the cooling air inlet (25a) is positioned below a lowest point of the electric motor (M).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cooling air inlet in Mihara’s packaged compressor such that its lower edge is positioned below a lowest point of the electric motor as taught by Umezaki for the purpose of making the cooling air inlet larger for allowing more cooling air to enter into the packaged compressor, thus further improving the cooling of the components within the packaged compressor.
In reference to claim 4, Mihara teaches the packaged compressor, wherein the packaged compressor includes an inlet duct (30) that is arranged so as to cover the cooling air inlet (29) and guides the cooling air (see arrows A, B, C in fig. 5) from the cooling air inlet to the electric motor (see ¶37).
Claims 5 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mihara in view of Yano and further in view of Umezaki, Sasage et al. (JP 2005-171957 – herein after Sasage; cited by applicant on IDS dated 03/14/2023) and evidenced by Linnemann et al. (US 2014/0300221 – herein after Linnemann).
Mihara teaches the packaged compressor, wherein the electric motor (19) includes (see fig. 8): a rotation shaft (19B); a rotor (not labelled but present) attached to the rotation shaft; a stator (not labelled but present) arranged apart from and on an outer-circumference side of the rotor; a casing (19A) to which the stator is attached, as in claim 5.
Mihara does not teach the packaged compressor, wherein the electric motor further includes: a plurality of fins that are formed outside the casing and extend in the axial direction of the electric motor, as in claim 5.
However, Sasage teaches a packaged compressor, wherein the electric motor includes: a rotation shaft (not labelled but present, see fig. 2); a rotor (61, see fig. 2) attached to the rotation shaft; a stator (62, see fig. 2) arranged apart from and on an outer-circumference side of the rotor; a casing (63, see fig. 1/2) to which the stator is attached; and a plurality of fins (65, see fig. 1) that are formed outside the casing and extend in the axial direction (↔) of the electric motor.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the electric motor in Mihara’s packaged compressor with a plurality of fins as taught by Sasage in order to allow for better heat dissipation of the motor, as evidenced by Sasage (see ¶42, ¶54-¶55), because addition of fins to the motor case increases its surface area by exposing more surface to the cooling air.
Mihara, as modified, teaches the electric motor (see fig. C below) is configured such that it has an axial dimension L1 between a load-side end surface of a core of the rotor or a core of the stator and a load-side end of the plurality of fins, an axial dimension L2 between a non-load-side end surface of the core of the rotor or the core of the stator and a non-load-side end of the plurality of fins, and an axial dimension L3 of the core of the rotor or the core of the stator [note: “load-side”= side closer to the pump element and “non-load-side” = side farther from the pump element], as in claim 5.
Fig. C: Edited fig. 8 of Mihara to show proposed modification.
Mihara, as modified, remains silent on the electric motor additionally configured “such that a sum total (L1+L2) of the axial dimension L1 and the axial dimension L2 is longer than the axial dimension L3”, as in claim 5; “such that the axial dimension L1 is longer than the axial dimension L2”, as in claim 6; “such that the axial dimension L1 is shorter than the axial dimension L2”, as in claim 7.
The above claimed relationships depends on axial length sizing of the rotor and stator components in the electric motor. As evidenced by Linnemann (see ¶25, ¶45 and figs. 2, 3 and 5), “axial length of rotor” and “axial length of stator” in the electric motor housing with fins is/are a result effective variable since their lengths determine the power size/output or power generated by the electric motor.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the “sum total (L1+L2) of the axial dimension L1 and the axial dimension L2 longer than the axial dimension L3”, and “the axial dimension L1 longer than the axial dimension L2” or “the axial dimension L1 shorter than the axial dimension L2” since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Further, applicant places no criticality on the claimed relationship (see ¶31-¶34 of pg. pub of the instant application) [With regards to statements in ¶31-¶34 such as “Thereby, an axial dimension L of the fins 31 can be increased, and this in turn can increase the surface area of the electric motor 13 cooled by cooling air,..”, “thermal effects from the compressor body 14 to the electric motor 13 may be reduced...”; “mechanical loss of the rotation shaft 23 may be reduced,..”: please note, the phrase “can/may” indicates a possibility or probability).
Response to Arguments
The arguments filed January 6, 2026, with respect to Mihara and Umezaki, for amended claim 1 in view of newly added limitation of “partition plate” have been fully considered but they are moot. The amendment to independent claim 1 changed the scope of the claim. As a result, the prior arts have been re-evaluated and re-applied to claim 1, in view of newly found reference of Yano.
With respect to following argument “Even further, absent impermissible hindsight having the benefit of Applicant's disclosure, one having ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to modify the configuration of Mihara with a larger cooling fan ostensibly shown in Umezaki because, as stated in Mihara, "there is a demand for making the soundproof box as small as possible and miniaturizing the whole compressor." Paras. [0006]; see also para. [0008]. Further, Mihara already includes a fan 38 that provides adequate intake cooling air and one having ordinary skill in the art would not look to use a larger fan because a main objective is to reduce the size of the package type compressor”, this argument was previously addressed in the last office action. No additional remarks are present and thus, this argument is not found to be persuasive for same reasons as discussed in the last office action.
Conclusion
/CHIRAG JARIWALA/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/ESSAMA OMGBA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3746