DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to applicant’s response filed under 37 C.F.R. §1.111 in response to a non-final office action. Claims 1, 5, 9, 13, 14, 16, 17, 20, and 24 have been amended; Claim 8 has been cancelled. Claims 1, 3-7, 9, 13-21, and 23-25 are subject to examination.
Acknowledgement is made to the Applicant’s amendments to claim 17 to obviate the previous objection to claim 17. The previous objection to claim 17 is hereby withdrawn.
Acknowledgement is made to the Applicant’s explanation of claim 1 language regarding the previous 112(b) rejection to claim 1. The previous 112(b) rejection to claim 1 is hereby withdrawn.
Acknowledgement is made to the Applicant’s amendments to claims 16 and 17 to obviate the previous 112(b) rejection to claims 16 and 17. The previous 112(b) rejection to claims 16 and 17 is hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Applicant’s Argument:
The applicant argues in substance that “Stating that the feature of ‘the non-anchor carrier has a channel number with a second offset to a downlink absolute radio frequency channel number’ in claim 1 would have been obvious in order to ‘represent carrier frequency with an absolute radio frequency channel number,’ as suggested by the Office Action at page 8 is clearly a tautology. The Patent Office is clearly using the language of the claim simply as a rationale for combining the references and appears to be engaged in impermissible hindsight.”
Examiner’s Response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The motivation to incorporate the teachings of Wang to include the use of a channel number with a second offset as taught by Nader is clearly provided in Nader [0156], which states “in order to be able to configure the UE to a non-anchor carrier, the carrier frequency information is conveyed in terms of Evolved-UTRA absolute radio frequency channel number (eARFCN) and an optional offset needed for guard-band/in-band operation.”
Applicant’s Argument:
The applicant argues in substance that “Xiou [sic] cannot be teaching that ‘the second offset between the anchor carrier and the non-anchor carrier is selected so that a number of subcarriers between the anchor carrier and the non-anchor carrier is less than eight of the subcarriers.’ Applicant thus respectfully requests that the Patent Office withdraw the rejection of claim 1 and allow the claim.”
Examiner’s Response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The rejection of the referenced amended claim 1 limitations does not rely on the teachings of Xiao, but rather on a combination of previously-cited references that include Sui. Sui teaches “the second offset between the anchor carrier and the non-anchor carrier is selected so that a number of subcarriers between the anchor carrier and the non-anchor carrier is less than eight of the subcarriers”. For example, Sui teaches at paragraph [0071] that “The non-anchor carriers can be placed next to the anchor carrier. For example, network node may transmit the non-anchor carriers next to the anchor carrier”. By this rationale, Sui teaches the amended limitations. As a result of the amendments to the claims, the Examiner has reformatted the rejection. See updated rejection below.
Regarding all other arguments presented by the applicant, the arguments are substantially the same as those which have already been addressed above and in the interest of brevity, the examiner directs the applicant to those responses above.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: “wherein the first operation mode comprises a standalone mode; and wherein the second operation mode comprises a guardband mode or an inband mode transmit, to the terminal device ...” should read “wherein the first operation mode comprises a standalone mode; wherein the second operation mode comprises a guardband mode or an inband mode; and transmit, to the terminal device ...”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-7, 9, 13-21, and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 1 and 20, claims 1 and 20 recite the limitation “the second offset between an anchor carrier and the non-anchor carrier is selected ...”. This limitation renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the “second offset” recited in this limitation corresponds to “a second offset to a downlink absolute radio frequency channel number” previously recited in the claims.
Regarding Claims 3-7, 9, 13-19, 21, and 23-25, claims 3-7, 9, 13-19, 21, and 23-25 are also rejected because they are dependent upon rejected claims 1 and 20 as set forth above and include limitations of the clams 1 and 20 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 13-15, 18-21, and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (WO 2019/156613 A1, hereinafter “Wang”) in view of Nader et al. (US 2019/0319764 A1, hereinafter “Nader”), 3GPP (TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #109-e, hereinafter “3GPP”), and Sui et al. (WO 2018/092084 A1, hereinafter “Sui”).
Regarding Claim 1, Wang teaches a method performed by a network node, comprising: obtaining a configuration indicating that the resource is associated to a second operation mode (Wang: the object is achieved by the first network node configured to operate in the wireless communications network. The first network node is further configured to initiate sending the first indication to the first wireless device, see p. 9 para. 2); and
transmitting, to a terminal device, a first message indicating that the resource is associated to the second operation mode (Wang: sending a first indication to a first wireless device … The first indication indicates that a first carrier … is: a) deployed in one of: a guardband mode and an inband mode, see p. 9 para. 2);
wherein the first operation mode comprises a standalone mode (Wang: the first carrier being a standalone NB-loT carrier operating within a NR carrier, see p. 9 para. 2);
wherein the second operation mode comprises a guardband mode or an inband mode (Wang: a first carrier… is deployed in one of: a guardband mode and an inband mode, see p. 9 para. 2); and
transmitting, to the terminal device, a second message indicating that a non-anchor carrier is associated to the second operation mode (Wang: The third indication may indicate that the second carrier may be deployed in the guardband mode or in the inband mode. The second carrier may be a non-anchor NB-loT carrier, see p. 20 para. 2).
Wang does not teach, wherein the non-anchor carrier has a channel number with a second offset to a downlink absolute radio frequency channel number;
wherein the second offset is selected from {-10, -9, -8, -7, -6, -5, -4, -3, -2, -1, -0.5, 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9};
wherein the second offset between an anchor carrier and the non-anchor carrier is selected so that a number of subcarriers between the anchor carrier and the non-anchor carrier is less than eight of the subcarriers.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nader teaches the non-anchor carrier has a channel number with a second offset to a downlink absolute radio frequency channel number (Nader: in order to be able to configure the UE to a non-anchor carrier, the carrier frequency information is conveyed in terms of Evolved-UTRA absolute radio frequency channel number (eARFCN) and an optional offset needed for guard-band/in-band operation, see paragraph [0156]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wang to include the features as taught by Nader above in order in order to be able to configure the UE to a non-anchor carrier (Nader: see paragraph [0156]).
Wang-Nader does not explicitly teach, wherein the second offset is selected from {-10, -9, -8, -7, -6, -5, -4, -3, -2, -1, -0.5, 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9};
wherein the second offset between an anchor carrier and the non-anchor carrier is selected so that a number of subcarriers between the anchor carrier and the non-anchor carrier is less than eight of the subcarriers.
However, in the same field of endeavor, 3GPP teaches the second offset is selected from {-10, -9, -8, -7, -6, -5, -4, -3, -2, -1, -0.5, 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9} (3GPP: carrierFreqOffset-NB-r13, see p. 152 highlights).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wang-Nader to include the features as taught by 3GPP above in order to utilize existing communication standards.
Wang-Nader-3GPP does not explicitly teach, wherein the second offset between an anchor carrier and the non-anchor carrier is selected so that a number of subcarriers between the anchor carrier and the non-anchor carrier is less than eight of the subcarriers.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sui teaches the second offset between an anchor carrier and the non-anchor carrier is selected so that a number of subcarriers between the anchor carrier and the non-anchor carrier is less than eight of the subcarriers (Sui: The non-anchor carriers can be placed next to the anchor carrier. For example, network node may transmit the non-anchor carriers next to the anchor carrier, see paragraph [0071]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wang-Nader-3GPP to include the features as taught by Sui above in order to efficiently utilize communication resources (Sui: see paragraph [0017]).
Regarding Claim 3, Wang-Nader-3GPP-Sui teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the configuration further indicates that an operation mode of the resource is changeable by the network node (Wang: the NB-loT MIB-NB may be reconfigured to indicate the NB-loT system is operating in a guardband or inband mode, see p. 19 para. 3).
Regarding Claim 4, Wang-Nader-3GPP-Sui teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the resource is used for narrow band internet of things communication (Wang: The first network node is further configured to initiate sending the first indication to the first wireless device configured to operate in the wireless communications network using NB-loT, see p. 9 para. 2).
Regarding Claim 5, Wang-Nader-3GPP-Sui teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first message indicates that the resource comprises the anchor carrier (Wang: The first carrier may be, in some examples, an anchor NB-loT carrier, see p. 15 para. 4); and
wherein a center frequency of the anchor carrier has a first offset to a frequency raster (Wang: The standalone NB-loT DL anchor carrier may be shifted by either +/- 2.5 kHz or +/- 7.5 kHz away from the 100 kHz raster grid, see p. 19 para 3).
Regarding Claim 6, Wang-Nader-3GPP-Sui teaches the method according to claim 5, wherein the second operation mode comprises the guardband mode (Wang: The first indication indicates that a first carrier … is: a) deployed in one of: a guardband mode and an inband mode, see p. 9 para. 2).
Regarding Claim 7, Wang-Nader-3GPP-Sui teaches the method according to claim 5, wherein a granularity of the frequency raster is 100KHz (Wang: The channel raster of the downlink of NB-loT systems is on a frequency grid of 100 kHz, see p. 4 para. 5); and
wherein the first offset is selected from {-7.5, -2.5, 2.5, 7.5} KHz (Wang: the frequency offset to the 100 kHz grid is a minimum of ±2.5 kHz and ±7.5 kHz, see p. 5 para. 1).
Regarding Claim 13, Wang-Nader-3GPP-Sui teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the configuration further indicates that the non-anchor carrier is associated to the second operation mode (Wang: In another example of embodiments herein, a non-anchor NB-loT carrier, e.g., the second carrier 142, … may be operating in inband mode together with an anchor carrier, see p. 20 para. 1).
Regarding Claim 14, Wang-Nader-3GPP-Sui teaches the method according to claim 1, as outlined above.
Sui further teaches, wherein a space is arranged between the non-anchor carrier and the anchor carrier (Sui: A second carrier can be received in standalone spectrum, the second carrier separated from the first anchor carrier by less than 400 kHz, see paragraph [0020]); and
wherein the space includes 0 to 7 of the subcarriers (Sui: The non-anchor carriers can be placed next to the anchor carrier. For example, network node may transmit the non-anchor carriers next to the anchor carrier, see paragraph [0071]).
The rationale and motivation for adding the teaching of Sui is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 15, Wang-Nader-3GPP-Sui teaches the method according to claim 14, wherein a carrier spacing from a center of the anchor carrier to a center of the non-anchor carrier is 180+n*15 kHz, n=0 (Wang: A PRB may be understood as a unit of transmission resource consisting of 12 sub carriers in the frequency domain, that is, 180 kHz wide in frequency, see p. 3 para. 2; Sui: Since … all the subcarriers fulfill the 15 kHz spacing and are orthogonal to each other, there is no need to place any guardband between the two carriers, see paragraph [0071])
The rationale and motivation for adding the teaching of Sui is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 18, Wang-Nader-3GPP-Sui teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the network node comprises a base station (Wang: the first network node … may be a radio network node, such as a radio base station, see p. 14 para. 3).
Regarding Claim 19, Wang-Nader-3GPP-Sui teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first message comprises a broadcasting message including a master information block and/or a system information block (Wang: In some embodiments, the initiating sending … may be performed via one of: a) Master Information Block (MIB) … and c) system information block (SIB), see p. 18 para. 9).
Regarding Claim 20, Wang teaches a network node, comprising: a processor (Wang: The embodiments herein in the first network node may be implemented through one or more processors, see p. 28 para. 4); and
a memory, the memory containing instructions executable by the processor (Wang: The first network node may further comprise a memory … arranged to be used to store obtained information, … and applications etc. to perform the methods herein when being executed in the first network node, see p. 28 para. 5), whereby the first network node is operative to: obtain a configuration indicating that a resource is associated to a first operation mode, or indicating that the resource is associated to a second operation mode (Wang: the object is achieved by the first network node configured to operate in the wireless communications network. The first network node is further configured to initiate sending the first indication to the first wireless device, see p. 9 para. 2); and
transmit, to a terminal device, a first message indicating that the resource is associated to a second operation mode (Wang: sending a first indication to a first wireless device … The first indication indicates that a first carrier … is: a) deployed in one of: a guardband mode and an inband mode, see p. 9 para. 2);
wherein the first operation mode comprises a standalone mode (Wang: the first carrier being a standalone NB-loT carrier operating within a NR carrier, see p. 9 para. 2);
wherein the second operation mode comprises a guardband mode or an inband mode (Wang: a first carrier… is deployed in one of: a guardband mode and an inband mode, see p. 9 para. 2); and
transmit, to the terminal device, a second message indicating that a non-anchor carrier is associated to the second operation mode (Wang: The third indication may indicate that the second carrier may be deployed in the guardband mode or in the inband mode. The second carrier may be a non-anchor NB-loT carrier, see p. 20 para. 2).
Wang does not teach, wherein the non-anchor carrier has a channel number with a second offset to a downlink absolute radio frequency channel number;
wherein the second offset is selected from {-10, -9, -8, -7, -6, -5, -4, -3, -2, -1, -0.5, 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9};
wherein the second offset between an anchor carrier and the non-anchor carrier is selected so that a number of subcarriers between the anchor carrier and the non-anchor carrier is less than eight of the subcarriers.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nader teaches the non-anchor carrier has a channel number with a second offset to a downlink absolute radio frequency channel number (Nader: in order to be able to configure the UE to a non-anchor carrier, the carrier frequency information is conveyed in terms of Evolved-UTRA absolute radio frequency channel number (eARFCN) and an optional offset needed for guard-band/in-band operation, see paragraph [0156]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wang to include the features as taught by Nader above in order in order to be able to configure the UE to a non-anchor carrier (Nader: see paragraph [0156]).
Wang-Nader does not explicitly teach, wherein the second offset is selected from {-10, -9, -8, -7, -6, -5, -4, -3, -2, -1, -0.5, 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9};
wherein the second offset between an anchor carrier and the non-anchor carrier is selected so that a number of subcarriers between the anchor carrier and the non-anchor carrier is less than eight of the subcarriers.
However, in the same field of endeavor, 3GPP teaches the second offset is selected from {-10, -9, -8, -7, -6, -5, -4, -3, -2, -1, -0.5, 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9} (3GPP: carrierFreqOffset-NB-r13, see p. 152 highlights).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wang-Nader to include the features as taught by 3GPP above in order to utilize existing communication standards.
Wang-Nader-3GPP does not explicitly teach, wherein the second offset between an anchor carrier and the non-anchor carrier is selected so that a number of subcarriers between the anchor carrier and the non-anchor carrier is less than eight of the subcarriers.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sui teaches the second offset between an anchor carrier and the non-anchor carrier is selected so that a number of subcarriers between the anchor carrier and the non-anchor carrier is less than eight of the subcarriers (Sui: The non-anchor carriers can be placed next to the anchor carrier. For example, network node may transmit the non-anchor carriers next to the anchor carrier, see paragraph [0071]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wang-Nader-3GPP to include the features as taught by Sui above in order to efficiently utilize communication resources (Sui: see paragraph [0017]).
Regarding Claim 21, Wang-Nader-3GPP-Sui teaches the network node according to claim 20, wherein the configuration further indicates that an operation mode of the resource is changeable by the network node (Wang: the NB-loT MIB-NB may be reconfigured to indicate the NB-loT system is operating in a guardband or inband mode, see p. 19 para. 3).
Regarding Claim 23, Wang-Nader-3GPP-Sui teaches the network node according to claim 20, wherein the resource is scheduled for narrow band internet of things communication (Wang: The first network node is further configured to initiate sending the first indication to the first wireless device configured to operate in the wireless communications network using NB-loT, see p. 9 para. 2).
Regarding Claim 24, Wang-Nader-3GPP-Sui teaches the network according to claim 20, wherein the first message indicates that the resource comprises an anchor carrier (Wang: The first carrier may be, in some examples, an anchor NB-loT carrier, see p. 15 para. 4); and
wherein a center frequency of the anchor carrier has a first offset to a frequency raster (Wang: The standalone NB-loT DL anchor carrier may be shifted by either +/- 2.5 kHz or +/- 7.5 kHz away from the 100 kHz raster grid, see p. 19 para 3).
Regarding Claim 25, Wang-Nader-3GPP-Sui teaches the network according to claim 20, wherein the second operation mode comprises the guardband mode (Wang: The first indication indicates that a first carrier … is: a) deployed in one of: a guardband mode and an inband mode, see p. 9 para. 2).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang-Nader-3GPP-Sui in view of Rathonyi et al (US 2018/0249511, hereinafter “Rathonyi”).
Regarding Claim 9, Wang-Nader-3GPP-Sui teaches the method according to claim 1, but does not teach, wherein the second message comprises a contention resolution message.
However, Rathonyi teaches the second message comprises a contention resolution message (Rathonyi: The subsequent message may be for instance a downlink message or an uplink message, such as Message 2, 3 or 4 in an LTE-based random access procedure (e.g. ... a contention resolution message) ... the subsequent message in some embodiments may be communicated on a non-anchor carrier, see paragraph [0011]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wang-Nader-3GPP-Sui to include the features as taught by Rathonyi above in order to utilize existing LTE messaging infrastructure (Rathonyi: see paragraph [0011]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang-Nader-3GPP-Sui in view of Takaoka et al. (US 2012/0057449 A1, hereinafter “Takaoka”).
Regarding Claim 16, Wang-Nader-3GPP-Sui teaches the method according to claim 1, but does not teach, further comprising: applying an inverse fast Fourier transform for radio signals on the resource; and
applying the inverse fast Fourier transform and/or the fast Fourier transform for radio signals out of the resource separately from the inverse fast Fourier transform and/or the fast Fourier transform applied to the radio signals on the resource.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Takaoka teaches, applying an inverse fast Fourier transform for radio signals on the resource (Takaoka: the present invention includes an arranging step of arranging a signal of a first channel to frequency resources of a first slot and a second slot ... and a transforming step of applying inverse discrete Fourier transform (IDFT) or inverse fast Fourier transform (IFFT) to the signals arranged in the first channel, see paragraph [0030]); and
applying the inverse fast Fourier transform and/or the fast Fourier transform for radio signals out of the resource separately from the inverse fast Fourier transform and/or the fast Fourier transform applied to the radio signals on the resource (Takaoka: the present invention includes an arranging step of ... arranging a signal of a second channel in a frequency resource located a predetermined frequency interval apart from a frequency resource of the frequency resources of the first slot in which the first channel is arranged, and a transforming step of applying inverse discrete Fourier transform (IDFT) or inverse fast Fourier transform (IFFT) to the signals arranged in ... the second channel, see paragraph [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wang-Nader-3GPP-Sui to include the features as taught by Takaoka above in order to suppress changes in an instantaneous power distribution characteristic of a time waveform of a transmission signal in a predetermined time segment in which the signal is transmitted (Takaoka: see paragraph [0031]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang-Nader-3GPP-Sui in view of Lewis (US 2020/0169447 A1, hereinafter “Lewis”).
Regarding Claim 17, Wang-Nader-3GPP-Sui teaches the method according to claim 1, but does not teach, applying common public radio interface channels and filtering processes for radio signals on the resource; and
applying common public radio interface channels and filtering process for radio signals out of the resource separately from the common public radio interface channels and filtering process for radio signals on the resource.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lewis teaches, applying common public radio interface channels and filtering process for radio signals on the resource (Lewis: A number of channel filters separate the individual channels of the respective base station into independent streams of samples. These individual streams of samples corresponding to signals transferred over each channel of the RBSs are scheduled and serialized by a scheduler and a serializer for transmission over high speed digital links such as Common Public Radio Interface (CPRI) links, see paragraph [0007]); and
applying common public radio interface channels and filtering process for radio signals out of the resource separately from the common public radio interface channels and filtering process for radio signals on the resource (Lewis: A number of channel filters separate the individual channels of the respective base station into independent streams of samples. These individual streams of samples corresponding to signals transferred over each channel of the RBSs are scheduled and serialized by a scheduler and a serializer for transmission over high speed digital links such as Common Public Radio Interface (CPRI) links, see paragraph [0007]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wang-Nader-3GPP-Sui to include the features as taught by Lewis above for high-speed digital communication (Lewis: see paragraph [0007]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/P.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/SHARMIN CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416