DETAILED ACTION
Amendment to the claims was submitted on 01/21/2026, claims 2-4, 6, and 8 are canceled.
Claim Status
Claims 1, 5, 7, and 9-11 are under consideration
Claims 2-4, 6, and 8 are canceled
Claims 12-13 are withdrawn
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/31/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 7, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tachibana (US20130171569A1, published 2013) in view of Hashimoto (US20160139509A1, published 2016).
Regarding Claims 1, 5, 7, and 9-11,
Tachibana teaches a resist underlayer film composition comprising of a polymer obtained by condensation of a condensed body, the body being obtained by condensation of one or more kinds of a compound shown by the following general formula (1-1) with one or more kinds of a compound shown by the following general formula (2-3) and an equivalent body thereof [abstract], and an organic solvent [0029].
Tachibana teaches the compound with formula (1-1) may be fluorene, phenol, or 9,9-bis(4-hydroxyphenyl)fluorene (a bisphenol) [0077] and the compound with formula (2-3) may be adamantane carboaldehyde (adamantane carbaldehyde, containing a tricyclic aliphatic ring) [0089], where a terminal of the polymer would be expected to contain a recurring unit formed by the adamantane carbaldehyde.
Tachibana fails to teach a compound aligning with instant compound (B).
Hashimoto, analogous art, teaches a resist underlayer film forming composition comprising of a novolak resin formed by reacting an aromatic ring-containing compound with an aldehyde compound, where the aromatic ring containing compound may be fluorene, a bisphenol, phenol, or bisphenol S [abstract, 0077-0078], where bisphenol S aligns with the structure of instant compound (B) where n1 and n2 are 0, and Y1 is sulfonyl.
As both teach a resin formed from an aromatic ring containing compound which may be fluorene, phenol, or a bisphenol, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that using the bisphenol S of Hashimoto in the polymer of Tachibana would result in a comparable and expected polymer.
That is, the substitution of the bisphenol S of Hashimoto for the bisphenol of Tachibana, absent unexpected results, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application with the predictable result of forming a polymer, reading on instant claim 1. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (See MPEP § 2143, B).
Tachibana teaches alicyclic substituents may be further introduced to their polymer, including the following examples containing aliphatic rings which are bicyclic, tricyclic, and/or heterocyclic, including a bicyclic ring substituted with a C1 alkyl group [0119-0120], reading on instant claims 5 and 7.
Tachibana teaches including a crosslinking agent and an acid generator [0029], reading on instant claims 9-10.
Tachibana teaches performing a post application bake after spin coating their resist underlayer film composition [0138-0139, reading on instant claim 11.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 01/21/2026 with respect to the 102/103 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the new claim amendments. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hashimoto.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.N.L./ Examiner, Art Unit 1737 /JONATHAN JOHNSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1734