DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-10, 12-22, 25, 26 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-10, 12, 14-20, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Gorokhov et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2010/0265913).
Consider claim 1; Gorokhov discloses a method performed by a wireless device (e.g. mobile terminal), the method being for handling a carrier to monitor paging, the wireless device operating in a wireless communications network, and the method comprising:
obtaining (par. 80, lines 2-6), from a first network node (e.g. base station) while in a first cell (par. 39, lines 4-9), first information indicating how the wireless device is to select a carrier to be used to monitor paging (par. 80, lines 11-17; par. 81, lines 21-26) based on a change in coverage due to a change in at least one of: a coverage condition and a cell to camp on (par. 85, lines 5-18; par. 88, lines 2-14), wherein the obtained first information indicates at least one of:
a first proviso that responsive to the wireless device camping on another cell in the wireless communication network and second information (e.g. cell selection data) on how to select the carrier (e.g. non-serving/first carrier) to be used for paging is provided in the another cell (par. 41, lines 4-10; par. 80, lines 2-11; par. 81, lines 1-8), the wireless device is to select the carrier to be used based on the second information (e.g. cell selection data) [e.g. handover (par. 85, lines 5-18; par. 88, lines 2-14)],
a second proviso that responsive to: a) the wireless device camping on another cell, b) the second information on how to select the carrier to be used for paging is absent in the another cell, and c) the first information indicating a fallback configuration, the wireless device is to select the carrier to be used based on the fallback configuration indicated in the first information,
a third proviso that responsive to: a) the wireless device camping on the another cell, b) the second information on how to select the carrier to be used for paging is absent in the another cell, and c) the first information lacks an indication of the fallback configuration, the wireless device is to select the carrier to be used based on a third carrier including a carrier derived based on an identifier of the wireless device, and
a fourth proviso that responsive to: a) the wireless device receiving the first information in the first cell, b) the wireless device camping on one or more other cells without being in connected mode, and c) the wireless device re-selecting the first cell, the wireless device is to select the carrier to be used based on the first information;
responsive to the first proviso being satisfied (par. 85, lines 5-18; par. 88, lines 2-14), selecting the carrier [e.g. handover (par. 85, lines 5-18; par. 88, lines 2-14)] based on the second information (e.g. cell selection data) provided in the another cell (e.g. non-serving/first carrier) (par. 41, lines 4-10; par. 80, lines 2-11; par. 81, lines 1-8);
responsive to the second proviso being satisfied, selecting the carrier based on the fallback configuration indicated in the first information;
responsive to the third proviso being satisfied, selecting the carrier based on based on the third carrier including the carrier derived based on the identifier of the wireless device;
responsive to the fourth proviso being satisfied, selecting the carrier based on the first information; and
tuning to the selected carrier to monitor paging (par. 80, lines 11-17; par. 81, lines 21-26).
Consider claim 3; Gorokhov discloses the obtained first information further indicates that at least one of: a sixth proviso that responsive to a measure of the coverage condition indicating poor coverage with respect to a first threshold (par. 85, lines 5-18), the wireless device (e.g. mobile terminal) is to select a fourth carrier (par. 85, lines 5-18), and a seventh proviso that responsive to the measure of the coverage condition indicating good coverage with respect to a second threshold, the wireless device is to select a fifth carrier.
Consider claim 4; Gorokhov discloses at least one of: the first information is received in dedicated signaling or in broadcasted information in the first cell, and the second information is received in broadcasted information in the another cell (par. 81, lines 1-19).
Consider claim 5; Gorokhov discloses at least one of the first information and the second information is received in an information element [e.g. cell selection data (par. 75, lines 1-25)].
Consider claim 6; Gorokhov discloses the first information indicates to the wireless device (e.g. mobile terminal) to select one of: an anchor carrier (par. 75, lines 1-25), a fixed carrier, and a first carrier assigned as dedicated paging carrier via dedicated signaling.
Consider claim 7; Gorokhov discloses the first information is received from a first network node (e.g. base station) operating in the wireless communications network (par. 39, lines 4-9; par. 80, lines 6-11).
Consider claim 8; Gorokhov discloses sending a first indication to the first network node, the first indication indicating a capability of the wireless device (e.g. mobile terminal) to support a change of paging carrier (par. 60, lines 1-13) based on a change in coverage due to a change in at least one of: the coverage condition and the cell to camp on (par. 85, lines 5-18; par. 88, lines 2-14), and wherein the obtained first information (par. 80, lines 6-11) is based on the sent first indication (par. 60, lines 1-13).
Consider claim 9; Gorokhov discloses obtaining second information in the another cell indicating how to select the carrier to be used for paging in the another cell (par. 80, lines 2-6; par. 81, lines 1-8), and wherein the carrier is further
Consider claim 10; Gorokhov discloses the coverage condition is determined based on a measure of radio coverage estimated by the wireless device (e.g. mobile terminal) (par. 85, lines 5-18).
Consider claim 12; Gorokhov discloses a method performed by a first network node (e.g. base station), the method being for handling a carrier to monitor paging, the first network node operating in a wireless communications network, and the method comprising:
generating a message (par. 52, lines 1-7; par. 55, lines 1-5) comprising first information indicating how the wireless device is to select a carrier to be used to monitor paging (par. 80, lines 11-17; par. 81, lines 21-26) based on a change in coverage due to a change in at least one of: a coverage condition and a cell to camp on (par. 85, lines 5-18; par. 88, lines 2-14), wherein the obtained first information indicates at least one of:
a first proviso that responsive to the wireless device camping on another cell in the wireless communication network and second information (e.g. cell selection data) on how to select the carrier (e.g. non-serving/first carrier) to be used for paging is provided in the another cell (par. 41, lines 4-10; par. 80, lines 2-11; par. 81, lines 1-8), the wireless device is to select the carrier to be used based on the second information (e.g. cell selection data) [e.g. handover (par. 85, lines 5-18; par. 88, lines 2-14)],
a second proviso that responsive to: a) the wireless device camping on another cell, b) the second information on how to select the carrier to be used for paging is absent in the another cell, and c) the first information indicating a fallback configuration, the wireless device is to select the carrier to be used based on the fallback configuration indicated in the first information,
a third proviso that responsive to: a) the wireless device camping on the another cell, b) the second information on how to select the carrier to be used for paging is absent in the another cell, and c) the first information lacks an indication of the fallback configuration, the wireless device is to select the carrier to be used based on a third carrier including a carrier derived based on an identifier of the wireless device, and
a fourth proviso that responsive to: a) the wireless device receiving the first information in the first cell, b) the wireless device camping on one or more other cells without being in connected mode, and c) the wireless device re-selecting the first cell, the wireless device is to select the carrier to be used based on the first information; and
sending the message comprising the first information to the wireless device (e.g. mobile terminal) (par. 80, lines 2-11; par. 81, lines 1-8).
Consider claim 14; Gorokhov discloses the obtained first information further indicates that at least one of: a sixth proviso that responsive to a measure of the coverage condition indicating poor coverage with respect to a first threshold (par. 85, lines 5-18), the wireless device (e.g. mobile terminal) is to select a fourth carrier (par. 85, lines 5-18), and a seventh proviso that responsive to the measure of the coverage condition indicating good coverage with respect to a second threshold, the wireless device is to select a fifth carrier.
Consider claim 15; Gorokhov discloses at least one of: the first information is sent in dedicated signaling or in broadcasted information in the first cell, and the second information is received in broadcasted information in the another cell (par. 81, lines 1-19).
Consider claim 16; Gorokhov discloses the first information (e.g. cell selection data) is sent in an information element (par. 75, lines 1-25).
Consider claim 17; Gorokhov discloses the first information indicates to the wireless device (e.g. mobile terminal) to select one of: an anchor carrier (par. 75, lines 1-25), a fixed carrier, and a first carrier assigned as dedicated paging carrier via dedicated signaling.
Consider claim 18; Gorokhov discloses the first information is sent to the wireless device (e.g. mobile terminal) (par. 80, lines 2-11; par. 81, lines 1-8).
Consider claim 19; Gorokhov discloses receiving at least one of: a) a first indication from the wireless device (par. 55, lines 1-5; par. 60, lines 1-13) and b) a second indication from a second network node operating in the wireless communications network, the first indication or the second indication indicating a capability of the wireless device to support a change of paging carrier based on a change in coverage due to a change in at least one of: the coverage condition and the cell to camp on (par. 60, lines 1-13), and wherein the sent first information (par. 80, lines 6-11) is based on the received first indication (par. 55, lines 1-5; par. 60, lines 1-13).
Consider claim 20; Gorokhov discloses the coverage condition is determined based on a measure of radio coverage estimated by the wireless device (e.g. mobile terminal) (par. 85, lines 5-18).
Consider claim 25; Gorokhov discloses a wireless device (e.g. mobile terminal), the wireless device being for handling a carrier to monitor paging (par. 81, lines 21-26), the wireless device being configured to operate in a wireless communications network (par. 43), and the wireless device being further configured to:
obtaining (par. 80, lines 2-6), from a first network node (e.g. base station) while in a first cell (par. 39, lines 4-9), first information indicating how the wireless device is to select a carrier to be used to monitor paging (par. 80, lines 11-17; par. 81, lines 21-26) based on a change in coverage due to a change in at least one of: a coverage condition and a cell to camp on (par. 85, lines 5-18; par. 88, lines 2-14), wherein the obtained first information indicates at least one of:
a first proviso that responsive to the wireless device camping on another cell in the wireless communication network and second information (e.g. cell selection data) on how to select the carrier (e.g. non-serving/first carrier) to be used for paging is provided in the another cell (par. 41, lines 4-10; par. 80, lines 2-11; par. 81, lines 1-8), the wireless device is to select the carrier to be used based on the second information (e.g. cell selection data) [e.g. handover (par. 85, lines 5-18; par. 88, lines 2-14)],
a second proviso that responsive to: a) the wireless device camping on another cell, b) the second information on how to select the carrier to be used for paging is absent in the another cell, and c) the first information indicating a fallback configuration, the wireless device is to select the carrier to be used based on the fallback configuration indicated in the first information,
a third proviso that responsive to: a) the wireless device camping on the another cell, b) the second information on how to select the carrier to be used for paging is absent in the another cell, and c) the first information lacks an indication of the fallback configuration, the wireless device is to select the carrier to be used based on a third carrier including a carrier derived based on an identifier of the wireless device, and
a fourth proviso that responsive to: a) the wireless device receiving the first information in the first cell, b) the wireless device camping on one or more other cells without being in connected mode, and c) the wireless device re-selecting the first cell, the wireless device is to select the carrier to be used based on the first information;
responsive to the first proviso being satisfied (par. 85, lines 5-18; par. 88, lines 2-14), selecting the carrier [e.g. handover (par. 85, lines 5-18; par. 88, lines 2-14)] based on the second information (e.g. cell selection data) provided in the another cell (e.g. non-serving/first carrier) (par. 41, lines 4-10; par. 80, lines 2-11; par. 81, lines 1-8);
responsive to the second proviso being satisfied, selecting the carrier based on the fallback configuration indicated in the first information;
responsive to the third proviso being satisfied, selecting the carrier based on based on the third carrier including the carrier derived based on the identifier of the wireless device;
responsive to the fourth proviso being satisfied, selecting the carrier based on the first information; and
tuning to the selected carrier to monitor paging (par. 80, lines 11-17; par. 81, lines 21-26).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 13, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gorokhov et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2010/0265913) in view of Woodmansee et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2003/0095513).
Consider claim 2, as applied in claim 1; Gorokhov discloses the claimed invention except: a fifth proviso that responsive to the wireless device entering idle mode, the wireless device is to select a first carrier assigned as dedicated paging carrier via dedicated signaling and continue to apply the obtained first information until the wireless device enters connected state next time.
In an analogous art Woodmansee discloses a fifth proviso that responsive to the wireless device entering idle mode (par. 46, lines 1-7; par. 47), the wireless device is to select a first carrier assigned as dedicated paging carrier via dedicated signaling (e.g. underlying carrier frequency) and continue to apply the obtained first information until the wireless device enters connected state next time (par. 46, lines 1-7; par. 47).
It is an object of Gorokhov’s invention to provide a method of improving quality of wireless communications. It is an object of Woodmansee’s invention to provide a method of managing wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Gorokhov by including an idle state, as taught by Woodmansee, for the purpose of effectively providing services in a telecommunications system.
Consider claim 13, as applied in claim 12; Gorokhov discloses the claimed invention except: a fifth proviso that responsive to the wireless device entering idle mode, the wireless device is to select a first carrier assigned as dedicated paging carrier via dedicated signaling and continue to apply the obtained first information until the wireless device enters connected state next time.
In an analogous art Woodmansee discloses a fifth proviso that responsive to the wireless device entering idle mode (par. 46, lines 1-7; par. 47), the wireless device is to select a first carrier assigned as dedicated paging carrier via dedicated signaling (e.g. underlying carrier frequency) and continue to apply the obtained first information until the wireless device enters connected state next time (par. 46, lines 1-7; par. 47).
It is an object of Gorokhov’s invention to provide a method of improving quality of wireless communications. It is an object of Woodmansee’s invention to provide a method of managing wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Gorokhov by including an idle state, as taught by Woodmansee, for the purpose of effectively providing services in a telecommunications system.
Consider claim 26, as applied in claim 25; Gorokhov discloses the claimed invention except: a fifth proviso that responsive to the wireless device entering idle mode, the wireless device is to select a first carrier assigned as dedicated paging carrier via dedicated signaling and continue to apply the obtained first information until the wireless device enters connected state next time.
In an analogous art Woodmansee discloses a fifth proviso that responsive to the wireless device entering idle mode (par. 46, lines 1-7; par. 47), the wireless device is to select a first carrier assigned as dedicated paging carrier via dedicated signaling (e.g. underlying carrier frequency) and continue to apply the obtained first information until the wireless device enters connected state next time (par. 46, lines 1-7; par. 47).
It is an object of Gorokhov’s invention to provide a method of improving quality of wireless communications. It is an object of Woodmansee’s invention to provide a method of managing wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Gorokhov by including an idle state, as taught by Woodmansee, for the purpose of effectively providing services in a telecommunications system.
Claims 21, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gorokhov et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2010/0265913) in view of Dinan (U.S. Patent Number: 8,427,976).
Consider claim 21, as applied in claim 12; Gorokhov discloses the claimed invention except: sending third information to a second network node operating in the wireless communications network, the third information indicating a paging carrier configured by the first network node to page the wireless device after a connection release.
In an analogous art Dinan discloses sending third information to a second network node operating in the wireless communications network (col. 30, lines 34-49), the third information indicating a paging carrier configured by the first network node (col. 30, lines 34-49) to page the wireless device (col. 22, lines 20-32) after a connection release (col. 32, lines 26-29).
It is an object of Gorokhov’s invention to provide a method of improving quality of wireless communication in a multi-carrier environment. It is an object of Dinan’s invention to provide a method of paging in a multicarrier communications system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Gorokhov by including communicating with another base station, as taught by Dinan, for the purpose of enhancing the handover process in a wireless network.
Consider claim 22, as applied in claim 12; Gorokhov discloses the claimed invention except: receiving a third indication from a second network node operating in the wireless communications network, the third indication indicating a paging carrier configured by the first network node, or another network node, to page the wireless device.
In an analogous art Dinan discloses receiving a third indication from a second network node operating in the wireless communications network (col. 30, lines 34-49), the third indication indicating a paging carrier configured by the first network node, or another network node, to page the wireless device (col. 22, lines 20-32; col. 30, lines 34-49).
It is an object of Gorokhov’s invention to provide a method of improving quality of wireless communication in a multi-carrier environment. It is an object of Dinan’s invention to provide a method of paging in a multicarrier communications system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Gorokhov by including communicating with another base station, as taught by Dinan, for the purpose of enhancing the handover process in a wireless network.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within
TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not
mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the
shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any
extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
Examiner should be directed to Joel Ajayi whose telephone number is (571) 270-1091. The Examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday from 7:30am to 5:00pm and Friday 7:30am to 4:00 pm.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Anderson can be reached on (571) 272-4177. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/JOEL AJAYI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646