DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “an area of an orthographic projection of the part area of the first wiring regarded as the first electrode on the substrate is greater than an area of an orthographic projection of the other part of the first wiring on the substrate,” as recited in claim 1, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the first wiring” should read “the wiring” (lines 8, 9-10 and 11). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0119244 A1 (hereinafter “Kwon-2020”).
Regarding claim 1, Kwon-2020 discloses an array baseplate, comprising:
a substrate (110; Fig. 4; [0056]);
a drive unit (130, 140, 150; Figs. 3, 4; [0074]) disposed on one side (bottom side) of the substrate; and
a light-emitting unit (PX; Fig. 1; [0054]) comprising at least one light-emitting subunit (120; Fig. 4; [0056]) and disposed on a side (top side) of the substrate away from the drive unit, wherein the light-emitting unit is electrically connected to the drive unit through a wiring (121P, CP1; Fig. 4; [0105]-[0107]) penetrating the substrate, and at least part area (a bottom surface of first semiconductor layer 121; Fig. 4; [0059]) of each light-emitting subunit is in direct contact with the substrate; and
the each light-emitting subunit comprises a first electrode (121P; Fig. 4; [0064]), a part area (121P; Fig. 4; [0064]) of the first wiring is regarded as the first electrode, and an area of an orthographic projection of the part area of the first wiring regarded as the first electrode on the substrate is greater than an area of an orthographic projection of the other part (CP1; Fig. 4; [0105]-[0107]) of the first wiring on the substrate (Fig. 2, which is a top (plan) view, shows the area of the first pad electrode 121P is greater than the area of the first connection unit CP1).
Regarding claim 2, Kwon-2020 discloses the array baseplate comprises a first wiring (121P, CP1; Fig. 4; [0105]-[0107]) and a second wiring (123P, CP2; Fig. 4; [0105]-[0107]), the light-emitting subunit comprises an epitaxial layer (121, 122, 123; Fig. 4; [0059] and [0116]-[0117]); the first wiring and the second wiring are electrically connected to the epitaxial layer, and the first wiring and the second wiring are electrically connected to the drive unit ([0105]-[0108]);
wherein, at least part area (a bottom surface of first semiconductor layer 121; Fig. 4; [0059]) of the epitaxial layer is in direct contact with the substrate.
Regarding claim 4, Kwon-2020 discloses at least part area (CP1; Fig. 4; [0105]-[0106]) of at least one wiring (121P, CP1) of the first wiring and the second wiring passes through the substrate and extends to the side of the substrate disposing the drive unit, and is electrically connected to the drive unit.
Regarding claim 5, Kwon-2020 discloses the light-emitting unit comprises one light-emitting subunit (120; Fig. 4; [0056]), the substrate is provided with a first through hole (VH (right); Fig. 4; [0105]) and a second through hole (VH (left); Fig. 4; [0105]), at least part area (CP1) of the first wiring is located in the first through hole, and at least part area (CP2) of the second wiring is located in the second through hole ([0106]).
Regarding claim 6, Kwon-2020 discloses the first wiring is located in the first through hole (Fig. 4), a part area (123P) of the second wiring is located on a side (top side) of the epitaxial layer away from the substrate, and the other part area (CP2) of the second wiring is located in the second through hole (Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon-2020 in view of US 2022/0020812 A1 (hereinafter “Kwon-2022”).
Regarding claim 10, Kwon-2020 discloses the array baseplate according to claim 1.
Kwon-2020 does not disclose a material of the substrate comprises silicon.
Kwon-2022 teaches a material of the substrate (110; Fig. 3A; [0048]) comprises silicon.
Kwon-2020 and Kwon-2022 are analogous art because they both are directed to display devices including light emitting diodes (LEDs) and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kwon-2020 with the specified features of Kwon-2022 because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to select a material of the substrate to comprise silicon, as taught by Kwon-2022, in order to leverage the ubiquity and technological maturity of silicon as a substrate material.
Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). MPEP 2144.07.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 13, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 9-10: “Kwon-2020 only discloses the first pad electrode 121P, but fails to disclose the content about the orthographic projection of the first pad electrode 121P, thus a person skilled in the art does not know how to set the orthographic projection of the first pad electrode 121P based on Kwon-2020. However, in claim 1 of the present application, an area of an orthographic projection of the part area of the first wiring regarded as the first electrode on the substrate is greater than an area of an orthographic projection of the other part of the first wiring on the substrate, which is not taught by Kwon-2020. Kwon-2022 is also silent about this distinguishing feature. In summary, none of the cited reference documents discloses the limitations of amended claim 1. Therefore, claim 1 is patentable.”
In response, Fig. 2 of Kwon-2020 shows a top (plan) view of one pixel comprising three sub-pixels SPR (red), SPG (green), and SPB (blue). Kwon-2020 explains: “FIG. 2 is an enlarged plan view of a single pixel on the upper surface of the substrate of a display device according to an exemplary aspect of the present disclosure” ([0056], lines 1-3). As shown in Fig. 2 of Kwon-2020, the area of the first pad electrode 121P is greater than the area of the first connection unit CP1. In other words, the area of the rectangle corresponding to the first pad electrode 121P is greater than the area of the rectangle corresponding to the first connection unit CP1 when viewed from above. Because Fig. 2 is a top view of a single pixel on the upper surface of the substrate 110, Fig. 2 therefore discloses an area of an orthographic projection of the first pad electrode 121P on the substrate is greater than an area of an orthographic projection of the first connection unit CP1 on the substrate. In the current rejection of claim 1, the first pad electrode 121P has been mapped to “a first electrode” and “a part area of the first wiring is regarded as the first electrode” as claimed. The first connection unit CP1 has been mapped to “the other part of the first wiring” as claimed. Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that Fig. 2 of Kwon-2020 discloses “an area of an orthographic projection of the part area of the first wiring regarded as the first electrode on the substrate is greater than an area of an orthographic projection of the other part of the first wiring on the substrate” as recited in claim 1. Accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwon-2020 is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER M ALBRECHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811