CTNF 18/026,806 CTNF 85477 DETAILED ACTION 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-01 AIA The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112(a): (a) IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention. The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112: The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor of carrying out his invention. 07-31-01 Claims 16-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 16 recites: An organic electroluminescent device comprising: at least one light-emitting layer, the at least one light-emitting layer comprising one or more sublayers, wherein the one or more sublayers are adjacent to each other and as a whole comprises: at least one host material; at least one phosphorescence material; and at least one emitter to emit light with a full width at half maximum (FWHM) of less than or equal to 0.25 eV; and optionally at least one thermally activated delayed fluorescence (TADF) material, and wherein an outermost sublayer from the one or more sublayers comprises at least one material selected from the group consisting of the at least one phosphorescence material, the at least one emitter, and the at least one TADF material. The material requirements include: at least one host material at least one phosphorescence material at least one emitter to emit light with a full width at half maximum (FWHM) of less than or equal to 0.25 eV The specification provides a written description of host materials as known by those skilled in the art (page 51) The specification mentions the term phosphorescent materials twice on page 315 with no specific examples. The phosphorescence materials (emitters) are listed but not limited to organoboron compounds (pages 170-188). Per MPEP 2163(II)(A)(3)(a)(ii), the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by (A) actual reduction to practice, (B) reduction to drawings, or (C) by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. A "representative number of species" means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. Applicant has presented a limited number of examples where there is a reduction to practice and there are limited examples of actual chemical structures in comparison to the magnitude of chemical materials encompassed by claim 16. There is no combination of identifying characteristics presented which would allow a skilled artisan to determine which types of materials would achieve a full width at half maximum (FWHM) of less than or equal to 0.25 eV. While there are examples in the Specification, this does not support the full scope of the claim. By having a claim written as such, the scope for a combination of generic materials would extend beyond the material requirements supported in the Specification. Applicant has failed to supply a written description of the claimed invention with sufficient detail so that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude the inventor had possession of the claimed invention which raises issue for all claims 16-32. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 16-19 and 29-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (US 2020/0136059 A1) . Regarding Claims 16-19 , Hong teaches organic light emitting diode (OLED) 300 in . including first and second electrodes 310 and 320 facing each other, and an emitting unit 330 as an emission layer disposed between the first and second electrodes 310 and 32 (paragraph 51). The EML 360 includes a first EML (EML1) 362 including a first compound and a second compound, and a second EML (EML2) 364 including a third compound and a fourth compound (paragraph 60). PNG media_image1.png 498 458 media_image1.png Greyscale Figure 2 show sublayers 362 and 364 as adjacent sublayers of light emitting layer 360. (EML1) 362 includes a first compound (corresponding to applicants’ 1st compound, a host), the second compound (corresponding to applicants’ phosphorescent material), a third compound (corresponding to applicants’ 2 nd host), and a 4 th compound (corresponding to applicants’ TADF material). The final luminescence occurs in the fluorescent or phosphorescent material , efficient energy transfer becomes possible and high color purity can be realized. As the efficiency of the energy transfer from fourth compound, i.e. the delayed fluorescent material in the EML2 364 to the second compound, i.e. the fluorescent or phosphorescent material in the adjacent EML1 362 is improved, the OLED 300 can enhance its luminous efficiency so as to realize hyper-fluorescence. In addition, since the final luminescence in the EML1 362 occurs with the fluorescent or phosphorescent material, which has a narrow FWHM (full width at half maximum) compared the delayed fluorescent material, being shifted the excited state to the ground state, the color purity of the OLED 300 can be improved (paragraph 79). Since the final luminescence in the EML 360 occurs as the second compound transitions from the excited state to the ground state, it may be preferable to use a compound having a narrow FWHM as the second compound (paragraph 138) [Tian ( Energy Fuels 2021,35,19139−19145) teaches a narrow-band emission at 568nm with a full width at half maximum (fwhm) of 41nm/ 0.13eV in the diluted toluene solution. The corresponding OLED emitted a narrow electroluminescence at 592nm with a fwhm of 54nm/0.19eV. The office views the above a support for a narrow-band emission at 568nm with a full width at half maximum (fwhm) range of ~ 0.19eV. The office also views Tain supporting the position that the a narrow FWHM (full width at half maximum) of Yong is in applicants’ required range (per claims 16-19). Regarding Claim 25 , The office views the formulation of the host(s), phosphorescent material, emitter, TADF material and solvent(s) as result effective variables for forming a suitable organic layers with goof film forming properties. A skilled artisan would have found it obvious prior to the filing date of the invention after varying the weight levels of the cited components to have arrive at a weight ratio producing the desired emission efficiency which would have overlapped the claimed weight ratios, absent unexpected results (per claim 25). Regarding Claims 31-32 , Hong teaches organic light emitting diode (OLED): PNG media_image2.png 632 890 media_image2.png Greyscale The first compound (corresponding to applicants’ 1st compound, a host). The second compound (corresponding to applicants’ phosphorescent material) The third compound (corresponding to applicants’ 2 nd host) The fourth compound (corresponding to applicants’ TADF material) Figure 7 shows the following: one host material has a lowermost excited singlet state energy level E(S1H) and a lowermost excited triplet state energy level E(T1H); the at least one phosphorescence material has a lowermost excited singlet state energy level E(S1P) and a lowermost excited triplet state energy level E(T1P); and the at least one emitter has a lowermost excited singlet state energy level E(S1ˢ) and a lowermost excited triplet state energy level E(T1ˢ); and the at least one TADF material has a lowermost excited singlet state energy level E(S1E) and a lowermost excited triplet state energy level E(T1) (per claims 31-32). Regarding Claims 29-30 , Hong teaches it is known in the art that when electrical charges are injected into an emitting layer between an electron injection electrode (i.e., cathode) and a hole injection electrode (i.e., anode), electrical charges are combined to be paired, and then emit light as the combined electrical charges are canceled (paragraph 4). As Hong teaches a commonly known method to product light from an OLED, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of invention to produced light from the OLED of Hong via applying an electrical charge which reads on the instant limitations, absent unexpected results (per claim 29). The office views the selection of suitable host and dopant pairs to produce light of a desired wavelength as well within the scope of skill artisan, absent unexpected results (per claim 30). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to GREGORY D CLARK whose telephone number is (571)270-7087. The examiner can normally be reached on 8AM-4PM M-F. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jennifer Chriss can be reached on 571-272-7783. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /GREGORY D CLARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786 Application/Control Number: 18/026,806 Page 2 Art Unit: 1786 Application/Control Number: 18/026,806 Page 3 Art Unit: 1786 Application/Control Number: 18/026,806 Page 4 Art Unit: 1786 Application/Control Number: 18/026,806 Page 5 Art Unit: 1786 Application/Control Number: 18/026,806 Page 6 Art Unit: 1786 Application/Control Number: 18/026,806 Page 7 Art Unit: 1786 Application/Control Number: 18/026,806 Page 8 Art Unit: 1786 Application/Control Number: 18/026,806 Page 9 Art Unit: 1786